Affordable Host - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: Affordable Host
Host URL:

Average customer rating: 4.15 out of 10 based on 18 votes


 

What happened to "personal attention"? - Review by Kenneth G. Wilk submitted on August 5, 2003
Customer's web site: www.guysingirdles.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 5, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
Communications with this company has gone right down the toilet. You used to be able to talk to a person, but now you must communicate with "tickets".  Also, my older stats are no longer accessible.

Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Was ok, last year sucked - Review by Mikko submitted on July 13, 2003
Customer's web site: www.sorl.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 13, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: next to smallest
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
changed server when i was gone, lost 1 months email, quote "sorry". Also server speeds get worse all the time. Started well, ended in hell, now Im moving.

Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

loved em at one time, dispise them now - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 2, 2003
Customer's web site: www.kettlewell.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 2, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: mid level option
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Customer support lousy.  They used to be great, but many mistakes over the last 6-9 months.  I'm currently moving away from them

Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Another one with the same story - Review by David submitted on May 30, 2003
Customer's web site: art-without-artifice.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 30, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Option 1
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
I was also a big fan of Affordable Host until about the time they made the changes.  They were good technically, very inexpensive, and very responsive.  My renewal time both with them and my other host came about the time of their big move.  I sent them an email to ask some questions about moving to them and renewing.  No response.  Another.  No response.  An email to the owner.  No response.  After a few tries, I got a response that said they have no record of my email, because when they get too bogged down with customer emails, they just delete them all! I wrote to the owner about that.  No response to that either!
Forget that company.  I moved my sites to Coastland Technologies, and am very happy with CoastlandTech. 

Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Too many mistakes - Review by submitted on April 29, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 29, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Linux server, minimum price plan
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I've had a couple of sites served with them for about three years. They offer very low prices and OK reliability but mediocre service.

Initially I was impressed with their fast and useful response to my occasional technical questions. In the last 18 months or so their service has been spotty at best, with tech support often taking a day or two to respond with terse, not-so-useful answers.

One used to be able to just send them e-mail when you had a question, but now you must go through their help system to file a "ticket". Their support system is tedious to use, requiring navigation through several pages to reach the entry form.

On two occasions they changed the IP of their server hosting my sites, and since I do not use their DNS my site and all my incoming e-mail went dead until I figured out the problem. In consultation with them they repeatedly gave me incorrect IP addresses, which made troubleshooting extremely frustrating. I never was able to recover the missing mail.

Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Downhill slide - Review by abzu submitted on April 6, 2003
Customer's web site: www.burningwheel.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 6, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
Started off great with good, friendly tech support.
It's now terrible. My site went down twice in two months. Tech support is terrible. The first time the site went down TS was doing an "upgrade" and my site ceased functioning. When I asked them about it they said, "I don't know why your site worked in the first place---good lucking fixing it."
Not really the right answer when it was their fault my site stopped working in the first place.
Second time my site went down it was due to a hacker attack on their server. In all fairness, that is bad news and nobody's fault. The server was "destroyed" in the attack and affordable, apparently, doesn't understand the word "backup." Rather negligent in my opinion.
Their tech support engine, "The Help Desk" is terrible as well. It's obscure, convoluted and flakey.

Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Horrible support - Review by submitted on March 11, 2003
Customer's web site: www.macmusesw.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 11, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
My site which I paid for has now been down over 2 months. Help requests go around in circles. they don't knwo what they are doing here. Stay away!

Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

STAY AWAY!! - Review by PB submitted on March 5, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 5, 2003): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: Private
Technical quality rating: Private
Cost rating: Private
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
They failed to register my URL and I lost the domain name. They say it was the fault of openSRS/tucows. Did not notify me. I have requested a refund and as yet have received no notice of it. Customer support was slow and ineffective. Owner did not respond to 5 emails. Took no responsibility ans did not apologize. AVOID AT ALL COST!

Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Poor Customer Service - Review by submitted on March 3, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 3, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: option 3
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
The uptime is good but everytime we renew there is a problem. This is our second year with AH and may be the last.
They need to work on their support issues, It's never their fault attitude is not good.

Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Once good, now not recommended - Review by Jim submitted on February 1, 2003
Customer's web site: kearman.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 1, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: $45/year
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
A couple of years ago I began hosting customer sites with AH. When I put my own site there in the Fall of 2002, I immediately had problems. I don't expect perfection, but I do expect timely and polite support. Their tech support was anything but. I felt like I was taking a test, having to rephrase the same simple questions to get an honest answer. After many wasted hours, I finally gave up and moved my site elsewhere. I think AH outgrew its ability to support its customer base. A real shame because it used to be a good company. I definitely recommend against using them now.

Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Loved them till fall 2002 - Review by Ron Johnson submitted on January 31, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 31, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Various
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
These people were really great for the first 18 months with them, so I moved all the sites I support to them. Since fall 2002, they've become slow to respond or totally unresponsive in both tech support and sales.

My advice: Take your chances with some other hosting service!

Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Customer Support has gone way down! - Review by submitted on October 11, 2002
Customer's web site: www.chinchillaclub.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Option 3
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
They offer a free domain with option 3 and higher but when my two sites hit their one year anniversary neither one was renewed.  I had to contact the help desk and it took a week to get a response and then another 4 days for the renewal to take effect so my site was down for almost two weeks.  Now they have moved the sites to a new server and none of my cgi scripts or phps work properly.  It takes an average of 3 days for help tickets to get a response and then if it is a question it will take another 3 days for them to get back to you.  I have been battling with them to get my site fixed for 3 weeks and parts are still down.
The price is great and the service used to be good.  Opening a new account probably won't have technical problems, however if timely customer support is important to you I would suggest finding another host.

Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

was great, now stinks - Review by Anonymous submitted on September 6, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 6, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
My first two years using this service went smoothly, but 2002 has been a year of bogged down servers, downtime, overwhelmed customer support staff, and now a poorly executed move to a new datacenter in which customers have to ask to be moved to faster servers and then have to copy files over ourselves, when our accounts finally get working. Setting up new accounts used to be easy, now virtually every step involves a trouble ticket and a delay.


Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

hard to get help - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 16, 2002
Customer's web site: madmousergraphics.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 16, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Option 3
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
I've had problems with account renewals not showing up or credited to the wrong account, wrong account expiration dates, passwords not working, etc.
Help Desk is a pain to use and of little help. Very rude replies. Took me a week to get a a working webstats log installed.
Was one of the biggest boosters of AH. I'm moving my sites and my customers sites elsewhere.
These are business sites and I can't waste my time trying to get AH to run a business.

Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Good deals, good support, fair uptime - Review by Matt submitted on August 9, 2002
Customer's web site: www.capndesign.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 9, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Option 2
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
The best thing about this host is that they are affordable.  You can have a year of hosting and a domain for $20.
The only problem I've had is with the occassional downtime.  Although it is relatively rare, it usually comes in sizeable chunks (a few hours).

Nonetheless, I definitely recommend the host.

Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Was great now horrid! - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 5, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 5, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Option 1, 2, and 3
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Wow, this host "affordablehost" used to be Soooo cool.

Simple emails to the techs and simple answers back by emails.

They installed one of the most clunky, inefficient help desk things I've ever seen, and as they have grown apparently hired people that are just there to work 8 hours grab a paycheck and get away.

In fact the only problems I've had to uh... TRY to get with them to solve lately have been problems created by them screwing something up.

Some of their responses to my queries have been pretty disrespectful especially for a guy who has brought them 10 accounts!!!!!!


Geez! 10 accounts!!! Man I guess that ain't important enough to them anymore.

Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Personalized attention - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 4, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 4, 2002): Private
Plan used: Option 1
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
For only $45 a year, you get your own domain name and 50 mb of disk space, plus 100 email accounts.  I had setup problems because of the new top-level .name domain I'm using, but they were cleared up with personal attention from the owner in two hours.

Representative of Affordable Host?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.