Canaca.com - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: Canaca.com
Host URL:

Average customer rating: 3.72 out of 10 based on 15 votes


 

Canaca is OK - Review by submitted on July 15, 2003
Customer's web site: www.zipspots.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 15, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: I have 3 site. Two are basic, one is advanced.
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
Yes, the tech support could be beefed up but I haven't had too many reasons to call tech support. I'd estimate an hour or so outage every two months. They are NOT marketing savvy...in other words.. don't expect a chatty exchange of ideas. They DO make me a little nervous...like maybe I'll wake up tomorrow and they'll be gone...but what hosting service can you TRULY depend on? For the money...it works for me.

Representative of Canaca.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Poor customer service - Review by submitted on May 28, 2003
Customer's web site: www.inannasgarden.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 28, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: reseller
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
When I first set up with Canaca almost a year ago I had a number of problems.  These were resolved usually after several emails.  It seemed to get better for awhile, but now....  Last week I noticed that the several of my domains were no longer listed in the MX records.  I contacted Canaca to fix this problem.  They fixed that but broke a redirect I had them setup last September.  The website has been unavailable since Friday.  I haven't had any response to my emails since Monday.  I am seriously considering moving my sites to another host.

Representative of Canaca.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

excellent - Review by fredda submitted on February 16, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 16, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: advanced
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
never had any downtime with them or any problems whatsoever, excellent customer service, i have no complaints about this company, they care about there custumers and spend a great deal of time makign sure everything is running well. thumbs up canaca!!!

Representative of Canaca.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Improved Dramatically - Review by Bobby Digital submitted on February 2, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 2, 2003): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
This company has gone from often problems to never having any. For Months now not 1 flaw.. very impressive

Representative of Canaca.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

close but no cigar - Review by alice submitted on November 29, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 29, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: advanced (unix)
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 6 out of 10
while they offer a good range of features for the price, there are too many downtimes.

this wouldn't be as bad if there was some form of customer support to let us users know what's going on.


Canaca.com representative's response:

We have improved dramatically. We have not had downtime in months. I am sorry if you were not happy with the server before but I could say now I am proud of our achievements.

 

 

CANACA SUCKS! POOR customer service, Loads of DOWNTIME!!!!!! - Review by Anonymous submitted on November 16, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 16, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: basic
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
These guys are THE worst hosting co I've ever encountered. I cannot believe they are still in business. I suppose the only way they stay in biz is by ripping off their customers by charging for quality hosting while providing ****-hosting in actuality. they They treat their customers like #@$#$-ass-puke, and that's only the rare time in which they respond!!!!

I've been hosting with them almost a year and our site is frequently malfunctioning due to Canaca's internal problems: hardware failures (which have happened on numerous occasions)-->these guys DO NOT know how to manage a hosting technology platform at all; "software upgrades"-->they do upgrades w/o letting you know and they will take your site down or email down in the middle of the freakin' business day for "maintenance" or other rediculous excuses. Either these guys are LIARS and they're saying this to hide the fact that their ineptitude or they are MORONS and really doing upgrades in the middle of the day!?!?!? Which is it?


Regardless, these guys SUCK!!!! Who does an upgrade to email servers, etc. in the middle of the business day without even warning their client? Especially when it results in a client's primary email address going down. And I'm talking long-periods of time here too (ie. can you imagine your email going down for more than 24 hours and those who send you emails sometimes not even getting bounce backs!!!) What the #@$#@#$???

These guys are amateur clowns with absolutely NO mind for customer service. I thought I was getting a good deal when I signed up with them, but all I got were headaches, and LOADS of embarrasement too when my site/email address constantly goes down in the middle of the day.

If you host with them, I guarantee that you will leave so ANGRY you'll want to SUE THEM!!! I'm contemplating it, but I don't think they have any money to waste my time going after.

I am LEAVING Canaca right away as I cannot stomach their bullsh%t any longer, nor deal with their incompetence and total lack of customer respect.




Representative of Canaca.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Plain Bad - Review by Anonymous submitted on September 15, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 15, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
1. Accounting:
They don't give out invoices??
They are too busy to answer
your questions.

2. Technical Support:
Non-existant.

3. Servers ALWAYS crash

Representative of Canaca.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

sucks - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 30, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 30, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Advanced/reseller
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
We have been with them for two months and have had nothing but trouble.  DNS problems especially.  Tech support can take days to answer and don't seem to really read the questions asked. I am waiting to hear back about a refund.

Representative of Canaca.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Canaca's Service - Review by Greg Van de berghe submitted on August 8, 2002
Customer's web site: sheerdestiny.com
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 8, 2002): Private
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Although down time in inevitable with any hosting company I have found Canaca to be quick in resolving any hardware problems they have encountered. When Canaca boasts 99+% up time they are right on the mark.

The technical help I have received has always been courteous and correct with all my calls.
One thing I must say is that their accounting system has always been correct and that is a weak point with many companies.
I see no reason whatsoever to change my hosting company.


Representative of Canaca.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Beware save your hard earned cash! - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 2, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 2, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I can't believe that any hosting company could be so uncaring.

I am leaving ASAP!

That won't be easy.  Who can you trust today.

Representative of Canaca.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Pfft - Review by submitted on July 30, 2002
Customer's web site: www.webwaymonsters.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 30, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Corporate
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Well... they seem to have quite a bit of problems with downtime. Their downtime always seems to coincide with our high traffic periods. Add to that the fact that they upgraded their PHP program, which hosed our message board for over a week til they found the problem.. I'd say we're getting our money's worth.

However, their tech folks do answer emails and seem to genuinely care about our problems... So I gave them a 3.

Representative of Canaca.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very disappointing - Review by Stefanowitsch submitted on July 23, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 23, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: advanced
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I've been with them for many years and as my contract finally has to be renewed after another year, I certainly won't go with them anymore. I will change to Featureprice. Canaca.com was ok 4 years ago but over time they lost touch. They take too long to reply to requests and if they do, their emails are short, wrong, unreadable (no CR/LFs used) and don't contain any useful information. Sometimes I doubt that they really read your questions. Never ask them more than one question at the time as they will fail to respond to them. They NEVER fixed my issues with neomail, and they never upgraded it after promising it every month for more than a year now. Emails can't be sent to certain hosts, they are returned to the wrong sender if sent using their webmail interface. It's one big list of issues and they simpy never fixed them. How hard can it be to install a new webmail interface? If you don't ask for much, then they are ok, but don't think you will ever get any serious help. They had serious problems for several weeks over the last year but at least they gave me 1 month free last year to make it up. However, that doesn't really help if support is nowhere. As I said, they went from good to very bad within the last years. It all got that bad when they became part of hosting4everyone.com. Go somewhere else! You will find much better deals out there. They will change stuff on their servers without telling you in advance.  You will all have to look it up in their FAQs if you will ever find something in there. They just show you when the FAQs have been updated, but they don't tell you which part. So you will have to search like an crazy. This is no way to run a serious helpdesk. They disabled their own search engines and never came up with a useful replacement. They will not support their own CGI-Scripts. "These scripts are there, but we don't use them". Great! There you are, wondering why their own scripts aren't working anymore. Really bad. At least their servers were running ok for the last few months now.

Representative of Canaca.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

big mistake - Review by elaine submitted on April 15, 2002
Customer's web site: megalomania.ca
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 15, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
a year's worth of webhosting was over 200$--more than they said in their page! they wouldn't give me a refund!

uptime... to get started took 2 weeks.

Representative of Canaca.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Getting stated - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 12, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 12, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: 1 year advanced
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I used there Control panel to change my password to something I could remember. But my password was over 8 characters which I didn't know was the limit. now the old and new passwords dont work. Now I am waiting for almost a week and counting after paying for the site to actually being able to use it.
Tech support is slow.

Representative of Canaca.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Utterly awful - Review by Steve submitted on March 6, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 6, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Unbelievably bad. They were constandly down, and had maybe -- MAYBE -- 90% uptime. Completely unacceptable. All of a sudden we would find our site shut down because we hadn't paid -- granted, that's their right, but we were supposed to be invoiced and we never, ever heard from them.

Representative of Canaca.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.