Cedant - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: Cedant
Host's Web Site: Cedant.com
Click the link above to visit this host's site

Average customer rating: 3.39 out of 10 based on 75 votes

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-75]


 

I don't understand the negatives - Review by submitted on August 30, 2003
Customer's web site: www.arcmag.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 30, 2003): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: Advanced
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I've been a Cedant customer for three years, and I have had outstanding service for the entire time. When I call, someone answers. When I e-mail someone answers.

My only (and I mean ONLY) complaint was when they took a 6 hour span on my deadline day to update their mail server and didn't tell me. Six hours of downtime (and even then only for 6 hours of pop mail delays) doesn't seem bad to me.

I really can't comprehend any of the negative reviews here because they are so alien to my experience. I had a Mysql problem, and customer support had it fixed in less than a day. My site is fast and always up.

I actually inquired about a VPS server with Cedant, and the sales person was very knowledgeable and up front about the pluses and minuses.

I've recommended Cedant to a number of friends, and I can honestly say that none of them have ever complained about my recommendation.

By the way, I currently host 5 sites with Cedant, and I haven't had a problem with any of them.

Perhaps I am the exception in this group, but I find that hard to believe.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

I am really happy - Review by submitted on August 2, 2003
Customer's web site: www.cippug.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 2, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Standard
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I have to say that I have only had good luck with Cedant. They have failed to return a call only once. I must say that I did have problems getting a new website registered through their third party registrar, but their side of things was up and running in minutes. They have been courteous and helpful to me even helping me get my Movable Type site set up.

Peace,

Fr. Bill Kessler

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Wicked happy with Cedant - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 1, 2003
Customer's web site: wickedgoodgames.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 1, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: standard
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
This is my second year of hosting with Cedant and I have no complaints. E-mail responses from customer service have been quick, in fact I often get multiple responses : ) I've experienced no down time at all, even during the server migration last year. I recently e-mailed them voicing concern about the bandwidth afforded with their respective plans.  This in view of the much higher allowable amounts by providers like IpowerWeb, Globat, LunaPages and others.  Within an hour I got a response that I wouldn't be charged for going over my plan amount thru September.  When I visited their site a few days later I noticed those allowances had been increased for each plan!!
Cedant is the first and only hosting service I've used so I have little to compare it against except my personal experience which has been very good to this point.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Cedant is a fabulous choice - Review by Dolly M. Garlo submitted on July 17, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 17, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Standard
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Cedant's customer service is top rate.  They respond quickly and thoroughly in language even non-technically proficient folks can understand.  This has allowed me to learn how to more easily handle my website and mailing lists myself.  The only reason I didn't give them straight 10's in my evaluation is because I have only one other web hosting experience to use as a comparison.  They fall in the excellent category, though, as far as I'm concerned and this has been a consistent experience for me. 

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Contempt for the customer - Review by submitted on June 11, 2003
Customer's web site: drwende.info
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 11, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
My adventures with Cedant started when they forgot to set up my domain by their usual deadline. The latest and greatest is that their STMP server got fouled up yesterday. No mention of this was on the support site. This morning, however, there's a support updated backdated to yesterday afternoon (when no such message was there) claiming the problem was fixed by 5 p.m. yesterday. It wasn't. The voicemail status update says all systems are normal. They aren't. I can accept that systems sometimes get screwed up, but I choke on being lied to about how and when repairs will take place. This is the most contemptuous approach to customer service that I've seen in a long time.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent customer service and no down time - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 6, 2003
Customer's web site: www.susanframe.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 6, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Basic Account
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
My first website has been hosted on Cedant for 17 months as of June 2003. Cedant's customer service has been great, especially for a novice webmaster. There has been no down time. They notify via email far in advance of server upgrades. I chose this company for two more websites and have received the same high level of customer support. 

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on May 24, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 24, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Advanced
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I cancelled my service and they continued to bill me for 4 months after. Had to cancel my credit card just to get them to stop.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

No communication! - Review by submitted on April 14, 2003
Customer's web site: www.iliadbooks.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 14, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Cedant changed all of their e-mail servers and settings and conveniently neglected to inform their customers. We lost a week of e-mail, thanks to this policy.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

poor support/hosting - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 5, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 5, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: standard
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I have been with them for several years.  Cedant is cheap because that is what they are worth.  The support service does not reliably respond to email requests and the phone support can not necessarily supply answers to questions.  Lastly, I feel they need to be more customer focussed

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Wrongfully billed, corrupted executable files, wouldn't refund - Review by Meg submitted on February 18, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 18, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Cedant was my host for about a year.  I stopped at the end of that because they went through an "upgrade." The "upgrade" lasted for weeks longer than they had stated it would.  They billed customers the entire time, even though no one could access pages during this time (it was also started before they said it would, so we were locked out of our files before we could back up).  They refunded some of my money after I contacted them about it.  I believe that it should have been initiated by them, however.  They also corrupted many of my files, rendering my webpage dead (the executable files also stored indices to all other pages, of which there were over 200).  I had to write to them 5 times over about 3 months to cancel my account with them.  They continued to promise that my information (credit card and contact info) was out of their systems.  I received bills anyway.  A couple of times, they billed my credit card without my authorization.  I have another friend who used them who is still being billed, 6 months after this disaster (I just cancelled my card).

A month after, they sent out information denouncing other companies that had been picking up their pissed-off ex-customers, saying that they were preying on Cedant's misfortune and should be ignored.  Ridiculous.

There were also numerous emails about wrongful billings that were just plain ignored. The five I listed before were those they actually responded to.

If there's a worse webhosting company out there, I don't know of it.

The quality of hosting could be better now, but I woudln't trust them if the same people own the company.  Certainly don't give your credit card number to them.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

The worst internet experience I have ever had - Review by Anonymous submitted on February 16, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 16, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Mive Merchant
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
If you plan to use a shopping cart system AVOID THESE PEOPLE! They do not have a clue what to do.  They left me hanging and I had to switch to a more competent web host.  Tech Svc is horrible. I even complained to the president of the company twice and he never responded! Company pride must roll downhill from here!

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

horrible host - Review by Anonymous submitted on February 8, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 8, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
This company went down the tubes fast. I tried to to cancel my account, but couldn't reach anyone by phone, and I didn't get an e-mail response. This company was as bad as it get

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Unbelievably poor service - Review by Erik Dempsey submitted on February 6, 2003
Customer's web site: www.itlphoenix.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 6, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
They charged me twice for my domain, then they let it expire. They barely offered an appology and I had to fight with them to get credit for the two months which the domain was inactive.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Not good any more! - Review by Gregg submitted on January 19, 2003
Customer's web site: shadylanebmx.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 19, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: basic
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
They changed everything about 6 months ago and now maintaining a simple site is a time wasting chore. Phone calls are not returned, emailed problems sometimes get a response like "we'll make a note of your problem", but they don't fix anything. I know this sounds stupid but I can't upload ANY file that begins with the letter P! And they don't know how to fix it! Sometimes I go to the control panel and my files are not even listed so that I can do work. If you like wasting all your time waiting for a weak and slow control panel to function then this the host for you.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Going down, down, down, down - Review by submitted on January 4, 2003
Customer's web site: shadylanebmx.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 4, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I started with them a year ago and I was happy at first. Then they changed operating systems and they lost my site. After about a week we got it back but things just are not the same. They keep making changes, always for the worse. I don't get replies on my support request, phone or email. Today I couldn't upload any file that began with a P and all my jpegs and gifs are all screwed up when viewed at the site. Again, no support replies. No use even trying to fix the site, everything I do is damaged so I'll just have to delete and upload again. What a complete waste of time. Run! Stay away from this company! I'm searching for a replacement right now! Gregg

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great Host, Lot of Options - Review by KS submitted on December 19, 2002
Customer's web site: souffle.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 19, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Advanced
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
The company seems to have gone through some large trouble a while back, but I have never had a problem with them. 

PROS: Inexpensive (for JSP/ASP and other advanced features), excellent site speed, easy to use control panels, good tech support (see cons, below) and customer service (pleasant, answer the phone).

CONS: tech support only available through email or voicemail. Never have been able to reach an actual human on the first try. However, they do respond quickly and are knowledgeable.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Unreliable systems, pathetic billing system - Review by submitted on December 11, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 11, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: standard
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I was with Cedant for about 2 years. After the upgrade in June, my site was down a lot and email was not accessible. I switched in August. I read several reviews on this site that talked about billing problems, so before I switched I called my credit card company and told them I lost my card. They canceled the card and issued me a new one. After I switched to another hosting company, I got an email invoice from Cedant, and then email telling me my card was no longer valid, and that they were unable to collect for the next year. They threatened to disable my website. I responded to the email explaining that I was no longer their customer, but the emails kepts coming (I probably got 10 of them over the next month). I started forwarding them to tech support. I guess they eventually figured it out. At least they cooperated in the trasfer and did it in a timely manner. I guess I should have given them a 2.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on December 7, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 7, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Basis
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
Had problems with email when Cedant switched servers but it seems to be working OK now. When I would call Cedant they answered the phone. When I emailed them they always responded. Just signed up for another year.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Just plain awful - Review by Greg submitted on December 1, 2002
Customer's web site: www.heybro.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 1, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
The web-hosting itself has been all right, but the email is amazingly unreliable.  The mail servers go down regularly (followed by Cedant emailing its customers after the fact to tell us that they had been "upgrading" their mail servers).

Tech support is non-existant.  They never ever answer their phone or call back customers who leave messages.

I'm shopping for a new host as we speak.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Decent web host - Review by Anonymous submitted on November 20, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 20, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: $12.95/month
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I see some have been unhappy, however my service has been fine for the most part, with only 2-3 brief service outages.  In all cases, customer support responded within a few hours through e-mail.  Also, they just finished upgrading to a new mail server to increase reliability.  I'm definitely more happy with them than my previous host, better service, more features with it's control panel, better value, and very fast setup.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Absolutely Terrible!!!!!!!!!!! - Review by Elena submitted on November 15, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 15, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: standard
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Cedant used to be pretty good.  I've been with them for about 2 years.  Now they're awful!! Their email servers go down at least 4-5 times a week and their tech support never answers the phone.  They never return calls, either.  This is seriously the worst hosting service.  DO NOT USE THEM!!!

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Seems okay - Review by Doug Hurd submitted on November 4, 2002
Customer's web site: BernardKay.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 4, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Moderate amount of space and features.  No problems noticed.  Probably better deals out there

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

From good to total nightmare - Review by submitted on September 30, 2002
Customer's web site: motorcyclephilippines.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 30, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Have no idea they changed it completely without my agreement
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I have been using Cedant Web Hosting for quite some time and was very impressed with them until a few months ago when everything changed when they split with their business partners.

My sites were suddenly in total chaos as they moved them without any warning to new servers.  I was getting thousands of error message emails per day from the forums software while users were emailing their complaints at the mess.  It cost me a huge amout in programmers time, online charges etc desperately sorting out the mess they created.

After this chaos there were far less features than what my original agreement included and they started billing me huge amounts.  When I complained they said ignore the big invoices, they were a mistake but they deducted the huge amounts from my credit card anyway!

Last month my credit card expired so as they had proved they are dishonest and cannot be trusted I asked for their bank details and paid the next invoice (while looking for a new hosting company) by direct bank to bank transfer.  I immediately sent them a copy of the transaction details.

They continued sending threatening emails and when I complained and again sent a copy of the bank transaction details I got the same answer - just ignore the invoices.

Nearly two weeks later I get a new invoice for only US$4 so I assumed all was OK except for the fact that the US$4 was for something I had never agreed to.

Two days later I get another invoice for over US$200 and they shut down my Web site.

I post this warning because they had a great reputation and I even recommended them myself but they have become an absolute nightmare so people need to be warned.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Worst e-mail host ever - Review by Kevin Engellenner submitted on September 26, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 26, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Advanced
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Cedant hosts two sites for us, but we need them most for reliable POP mail and they have performed unbelievably poorly for us in this area.  Aside from outages that can last from hours to days (during which they won't even answer the main phone number, let alone tech support) I highly suspect that they support spammers, as they have absolutely no filtering in place.  The amount of spam we have experienced using Cedant has created a nightmare for us, and they are unwilling to do anything about it. We are moving to get rid of them entirely.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

TOTAL $%^&* - Review by Jeremy submitted on September 17, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 17, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
WORST HOST EVER, NO SUPPORT, BILLING ERROS EMAIL PROBLEMS, WENT FROM GUY RUNNING IT OUT OF HIS BASEMENT TO A COMPANY OF MAYBE 2 EMPLOYEES. CANT DROP SERVICE BECAUSE THEY WONT ANSWER THE PHONE!

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Unstable Service - Review by submitted on September 17, 2002
Customer's web site: www.designisle.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 17, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: webmaster
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I had a large number of accounts hosted with Cedant. Their service was very stable. Then a few months ago they started changing servers and so on and it's been nothing but headaches since. I lost ecommerce customers because they where not able to receive their orders etc etc.
Not to mention I registered my domain with them and now they can't change the DNS for me so I am stuck!
yes I am still hosted there ONLY because to date I can't get them to release my DNS to a new server.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

E-mail down for 4 hours today! - Review by submitted on September 17, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 17, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Standard
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Cedant is pretty pathetic.  I really wanted to go with a local host (they're just down the road from me).  But, they're just too clueless technically, and from a customer relations perspective they truly suck.

They had a LOT of e-mail problems back in June.  I was going to bail on them then, but got busy with other projects, and their service improved in July/August.

But, yesterday their e-mail servers were down for an hour or so.  And, today they have been down since 1pm PDT (it's now 5pm).

When I can get through on the phone at all, their message states that "the problem will be fixed by 2:30", then "the problem will be fixed by 3:30", then "the problem will be fixed by 4:30".

Out of literally HUNDREDS of times trying to call in to their tech support, I think I've gotten a live human twice.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by S Billingsley submitted on September 13, 2002
Customer's web site: www.celebrityitems.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 13, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Offered free 30-day trial with money-back guarantee, lousy service during that month, had to go out of my way for over a month after that to get them to refund my $52.85 and then they only refunded $12.95, saying the rest was my domain name and nonrefundable which they did not state up front, noticed they changed their "guarantee page" during that month, curt email responses

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Worst Company...stay away! - Review by SSW submitted on August 29, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 29, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
They Suck! Worst Customer Service and they have no idea how to run a company.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Cedant are No Longer the Best Host - Review by Shane McDonald submitted on August 23, 2002
Customer's web site: www.shanemcdonald.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 23, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Advanced / 200Mb
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
I hosted 9 websites with Cedant between April 2000 and August 2002, when I started my move away from Cedant. between 2000 and June 2002 I found Cedant to be very well able to do their jobs, a good host, great services and good price.

After June 2002, they had made so many changes to the webservers that my sites looked very bad, they reconfigured PHP which meant I had to recode and relocate over 100 PHP scripts, Changed the webmail client and database frontend.

Basically, I was no longer happy and my sites were going up and down every so often. I tried ringing and all I got was voicemail. Support e-mails were just copied and pasted into a reply, from their website. At one stage I got 6 replies with the same text in them.

By November 2002 I plan to have all my sites migrated to a new host.


Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

STAY AWAY! - Review by submitted on August 11, 2002
Customer's web site: pause4paws.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 11, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Advanced
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
THEY KEEP CHARGING MY CREDIT CARD WHEN I CANCELLED THEIR SERVCICE OVER A MONTH AGO! I AM FILING FRAUD CHARGES WITH MY CARD COMPANY!

Cedant used to be wonderful. They WERE great. Now they are down right awful. We have been patient for 2 months and we are losing business because of THEM! We have had hosting by Cedant for the last year and then all of a sudden (WITH NO NOTICE TO THEIR CLIENTS) they "upgraded" and things have been AWFUL ever since. They also removed MANY features that we were paying for. They removed the SMTP feature and we had NO notice to find another SMTP server for outgoing email. 96% uptime is FALSE! They have NO 24/7 technical support as they advertise. I have been calling and emailing for 45 days with NO response. Our emails have been down for close to a month. We have recieved NUMEROUS customer complains from our customer stating they have sent us email and we never responded (WE NEVER GOT THEIR EMAILS!) Our emails were returned to sender.. IT WAS/IS A NIGHTMARE! LOST EMAIL=LOST BUSINESS for us. They used to be wonderful, now they don't care about their clients. Email to their support is always returned back to us. When you call and get a recording stating the mailbox is full and you can't even leave a message, that should have been our clue to RUN!!!

Here is just an example of the emails we get back when we try to email them THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR 2 MONTHS!:

Subj: Returned mail: see transcript for details
Date: 7/10/2002 4:19:53 PM Eastern Daylight Time
From: MAILER-DAEMON@smtp.abac.com
Sent from the Internet (Details)



The original message was received at Wed, 10 Jul 2002 13:19:20 -0700 (PDT)
from imo-m07.mx.aol.com [64.12.136.162]

----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
billing@cedant.com>
(reason: 553 5.3.5 system config error)

----- Transcript of session follows -----
553 5.3.5 smtp.cedant.com. config error: mail loops back to me (MX problem?)
554 5.3.5 Local configuration error


Final-Recipient: RFC822; billing@cedant.com
Action: failed
Status: 5.3.5
Diagnostic-Code: SMTP; 553 5.3.5 system config error
Last-Attempt-Date: Wed, 10 Jul 2002 13:19:26 -0700 (PDT)


Received: from imo-m07.mx.aol.com (imo-m07.mx.aol.com [64.12.136.162])
by smtp.abac.com (8.11.6/8.11.6) with ESMTP id g6AKJJ474241
for billing@cedant.com>; Wed, 10 Jul 2002 13:19:20 -0700 (PDT)
by imo-m07.mx.aol.com (mail_out_v32.21.) id a.1ac.4e55182 (4239)
for billing@cedant.com>; Wed, 10 Jul 2002 16:13:41 -0400 (EDT)
Message-ID: 1ac.4e55182.2a5def75@aol.com>
Date: Wed, 10 Jul 2002 16:13:41 EDT
Subject: Fwd: Returned mail: see transcript for details
To: billing@cedant.com
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="part1_1ac.4e55182.2a5def75_boundary"
X-Mailer: AOL 7.0 for Windows US sub 10516




Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

The death of Cedant - Review by Peter submitted on August 1, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 1, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Like others, I was thrilled with the service at Cedant... until the June upgrade. E-mail became very flaky. I recently transferred one of my domains to a more reliable host that runs their own data center (not a reseller).

Now Cedant is double-billing me. (sigh)

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Cendant put me out of business!!! - Review by Steve Landon submitted on July 31, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 31, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: All
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Stay away from Cedant. I first went with them 3 years ago and there have been nothing but problems.
Everything went to hell in June 2002
when they moved from Alabanza to
abac.com . Constant email problems, no support, deleted features. They essentially put me out of business and now it's a slow crawl back to try and find a good, solod web host.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Used to be pretty good, but now rather frustrating - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 28, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 28, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: $20 / month
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
They are still having problems, a month after their move.
* Email to us bouncing back to our customers with "email server configuration error", and then works an hour later
* Unable to reach our site sometimes
* Unanswered emails
* Can never get anybody on the phone

Yes, they have handled some problems, and it's a bit better than the first week of their move.  They are probably trying very hard.

We've been waiting, assuming they'd tidy up all the lose ends.  The sporadic email bounces our customers get make us look bad.

It's hard to believe that, a month after the move, email keeps going up and down.  Cedant, PLEASE, fix this.

We are moving.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on July 23, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 23, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Cedant just went through an upgrade from Linux to Sun servers I think, and it has been a complete mess. Leaves me to believe that they did not do enough testing and training before moving all of their customers' files to new servers. PHP and mail preferences have been reported lost. I have not been able to access my database for weeks, email was not working for a while, and the once wonderful customer support is gone. Can't get anyone to email me back, can't get anyone on the phone.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

I LOVED, now I HATE - Review by submitted on July 21, 2002
Customer's web site: www.webuildpages.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 21, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: reseller
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I am a reseller, and I host about 25 sites with them.  I've been with them for about 3 years.  I LOVED them.  Even baked them cookies one Christmas for providing me so much help (I've never done this for any company -ever!).  In June all this went to HELL.  NO E-mails, no response to help, accounts went to shit, still can't access some accounts, no E-mail responded to, not able to reach any human on the phone, no call backs.  My Dear Love has turned to HATE HATE HATE - I'm currently seeking an alternative.
I'm still having major E-mail problems!

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Went from Good to BAD - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 20, 2002
Customer's web site: www.whitegyr.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 20, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Reseller
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Almost no technical support after they upgraded the system, their telephone mailboxes are always full so you can't even leave a message. I've had sites offline for several days and NO response to my emails. Their billings are frequently in error.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Bad for Business - Review by MJ submitted on July 19, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 19, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: 2 on Webmaster plan, 3 on basic plan
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I was very satisfied with Cedant's service before the "UP"grade. I had 5 sites hosted by them. I liked the user-friendly layout of the control panel, the accessibility of the log files, the easy to use email manager.

Since the upgrade, their service went down the tubes. The control panel is different and less useful. The email manager is terrible now. Several features are lost.

SMTP service disappeared. They have been assuring me that it will be up and running anywhere from 24 hours to 2 days- that was 2 months ago! Still, no working smtp service. The webmail times out after a matter of minutes. Some of the email accounts were actually deleted. Some became inaccessible: passwords no longer worked, log-ins to the webmail were refused.

I have been sending emails to support for 2 months. Every third one is responded to with a standard no-helpful response and only addressed some of my concerns. Their office must be like a circus run by monkeys.

They do not answer their phone anymore. Sometimes the mailbox is full, so you can't leave a message. They may or may not return calls. It is equally difficult to reach sales or billing.

My company is losing business due to Cedant. I am switching hosting companies immediately. I gave it time to get their kinks worked out, but apparently the kinks are there to stay.

Stay away from this company.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

From very good to disaster - Review by Carol submitted on July 17, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 17, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: standard Acct
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
They have been consistently great until the beginning of June for my business sites - now we have lost emails, denials of some problems and support staff who keep asking the same questions repeatedly (when the problem has been repeatedly explained).
Since June 1, the only thing they have been prompt with, was debiting my credit card for 2 x hosting for a year.
Am urgently looking for another host as 6+ weeks of major problems has exceeded my patience

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

down the tubes - Review by submitted on July 16, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 16, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: reseller
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I have been happy with cedant for years, I host 10+ sites with them at any given time, but since they did their surprise Upgrade (aka downgrade), email on all my accounts is nothing short of a nightmare. I gave them over a month to try and get things settled, but if I don't find a new host immediately, I won't have any clients left from this nightmare!

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Crash & Burn!!! - Review by submitted on July 15, 2002
Customer's web site: www.shastasoftware.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Standard
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I've used cedant for nearly a year.  They used to be great, but around the first of June, they went to hell.

Like the other reviewers have noted, the main problem is in their e-mail servers.  I've had numerous instances where e-mails sent to me by my clients has been lost.  Also, most Monday mornings have seen at least an hour or two of "unable to connect to mail server" type messages.

I have attempted to contact their tech support many times via e-mail and only received a handful of replies.  I've also attempted to call their tech support phone number, over 100 times...not once have I reached a live human being.  I have left numerous (non-profane) voice mails, but not once has a call been returned.

I have even attempted to call their Sales and Billing departments, but cannot reach a live person. 

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Dishonest Billing, Also - Review by Dan Meek submitted on July 11, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 11, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: 18.95
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I cancelled my Cedant account on June 10.  Since then, they charged my credit card for July and August.  Email to their billing email address bounces! This is now, in my view, a dishonest operation.  Beware!

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Used to be good - Review by Chris submitted on July 11, 2002
Customer's web site: www.buy-tec.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 11, 2002): N/A
Plan used: Advance / Standard / Reseller
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Cedant were one of the best hosts I had found until about six weeks ago.  Since then they have removed all technical support via phone, never return emails, and have gotten themselves into a whole world of trouble with customer service.  I host 10 websites with them and today I will be closing my account with them.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

AWFUL Technical Support - Review by submitted on July 10, 2002
Customer's web site: www.collectorsaddition.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 10, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Advanced
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Cedant used to be wonderful. They WERE great. Now they are down right awful. We have been patient for 2 months and we are losing business because of THEM! We have had hosting by Cedant for the last year and then all of a sudden (WITH NO NOTICE TO THEIR CLIENTS) they "upgraded" and things have been AWFUL ever since. They also removed MANY features that we were paying for. They removed the SMTP feature and we had NO notice to find another SMTP server for outgoing email. 96% uptime is FALSE! They have NO 24/7 technical support as they advertise. I have been calling and emailing for 45 days with NO response. Our emails have been down for close to a month. We have recieved NUMEROUS customer complains from our customer stating they have sent us email and we never responded (WE NEVER GOT THEIR EMAILS!) Our emails were returned to sender.. IT WAS/IS A NIGHTMARE! LOST EMAIL=LOST BUSINESS for us. They used to be wonderful, now they don't care about their clients. Email to their support is always returned back to us. When you call and get a recording stating the mailbox is full and you can't even leave a message, that should have been our clue to RUN!!!

Here is just an example of the emails we get back when we try to email them THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR 2 MONTHS!:

Subj: Returned mail: see transcript for details
Date: 7/10/2002 4:19:53 PM Eastern Daylight Time
From: MAILER-DAEMON@smtp.abac.com
Sent from the Internet (Details)



The original message was received at Wed, 10 Jul 2002 13:19:20 -0700 (PDT)
from imo-m07.mx.aol.com [64.12.136.162]

----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
billing@cedant.com>
(reason: 553 5.3.5 system config error)

----- Transcript of session follows -----
553 5.3.5 smtp.cedant.com. config error: mail loops back to me (MX problem?)
554 5.3.5 Local configuration error


Final-Recipient: RFC822; billing@cedant.com
Action: failed
Status: 5.3.5
Diagnostic-Code: SMTP; 553 5.3.5 system config error
Last-Attempt-Date: Wed, 10 Jul 2002 13:19:26 -0700 (PDT)


Received: from imo-m07.mx.aol.com (imo-m07.mx.aol.com [64.12.136.162])
by smtp.abac.com (8.11.6/8.11.6) with ESMTP id g6AKJJ474241
for billing@cedant.com>; Wed, 10 Jul 2002 13:19:20 -0700 (PDT)
by imo-m07.mx.aol.com (mail_out_v32.21.) id a.1ac.4e55182 (4239)
for billing@cedant.com>; Wed, 10 Jul 2002 16:13:41 -0400 (EDT)
Message-ID: 1ac.4e55182.2a5def75@aol.com>
Date: Wed, 10 Jul 2002 16:13:41 EDT
Subject: Fwd: Returned mail: see transcript for details
To: billing@cedant.com
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="part1_1ac.4e55182.2a5def75_boundary"
X-Mailer: AOL 7.0 for Windows US sub 10516



Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Cedant melts down - Review by submitted on July 9, 2002
Customer's web site: www.tedweinstein.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 9, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
For several months I was intermittently happy with Cedant's hosting of my site, but then in the aftermath of their switch to a Solaris system and a new upstream provider (which was clearly necessary) their mail system seems to have melted down and their responsiveness has plummeted.  "We need an additional mail server" their support email says, although how this can have come as a surprise is a mystery.  "It will take 10-14 days" is equally silly - with a credit card I could buy them a new mail server and have it delivered and installed by any of scores of vendors in less than 24 hours.  Sadly, I am now actively looking for a new Web host.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Cedant can't figfure out DNS any more - Review by submitted on July 9, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 9, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Basic with some extra bandwidth
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Since they changed over to their new source, now running Solaris instead of Linux, we've had at least two days (in a month) where our email bounces and our customers see "Circular DNS definition, unable to complete email". DNS is not rocket science; but answering the tech support phones is I guess. Their helpful telephone status reports that "All Systems Are Fine" but at least three companies I know that use Cedant for email are currently unpingable.
Hard for me to keep this up, even tho I've had a pretty good year with them. I can't have my customers calling me to tell me my DNS is messde up when I'm in the busienss of making computers and software work.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 8, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 8, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Support not very useful. Particularly with upgrades that were not planned.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Stay Away - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 1, 2002
Customer's web site: texascomputerhelp.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 1, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Two different plans
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I have had two web sites hosted with them for about two years. I never had a problem until this fiasco in June. Cannot FTP or use their file manager to upload files. Thankfully I don't use them for email. What a disaster! Now, of course, I can't even get through to them.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Now Cedant Continues Billing for Cancelled Service - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 30, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 30, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: 18.95
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Lastest Cedant fiasco is billing.  They continue to charge my credit card for the account I cancelled.  When I attempt to respond to them, using the correct address billing@cedant.com, the email bounces.  Also bouncing are support@cedant.com and sales@cedant.com.

If you want to give away your money and get nothing, this is the place.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

New Data-Center Isssues - Review by Stephen submitted on June 28, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 28, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: 7.95 personal
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
I agree with the others that the service was great up until the datacenter changeover.  Since then support has been slow and emails from the company have been uniformly unprofessional; they complain about their old data center and ask everyone not to change hosts on them.
Further, while my site is still up, today is the second morning this week that I have been unable to access my email account.  Outlook can't download it and the webmail url provided to me can't connect.  Earlier this week it was only down for about an hour, but today it has been down for at least three.  Mail to support@cedant.com bounces back and I have yet to receive a response to my report sent on their automated website form.
Unless they can guarantee that these mail-server problems are going to stop, I'm going to have to get another host.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-75]

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.