Cedant - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: Cedant
Host's Web Site: Cedant.com
Click the link above to visit this host's site

Average customer rating: 3.39 out of 10 based on 75 votes

 
[Reviews 1-50] ∑ [Reviews 51-75]


 

Typical Blundering Hosting Service - Review by submitted on June 25, 2002
Customer's web site: www.classic-camera.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 25, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: 12.00 a month plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE - Apprarently this company is under new management, facing a lawsuit and as a result they switched servers on customers without any warning.  They have ruined my web site, do not answer their phone or return email complaints - Today I started downloading my files & will be seeking a new Hosting Services. 

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Cedant sucks it up - Review by submitted on June 25, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 25, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Recently Cedant moved my site from Linux to Solaris.  In the process, the broke every sub domain on my site and all domains.  They wouldn't even resolve correctly.  And that downtime was for over 1 1/2 weeks.

The also screwed up my email accounts because they stopped using procmail in the migration and give an estimated back-on-line time of 60 days for my email.  Likewise they no longer offer SMTP access and their POP3 access is flaky, sometimes allowing POP access, sometimes not.

If you choose hosting, DO NOT choose Cedant.  You have been warned.  I'm migrating my stuff off as soon as I can.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Was good then the shit hit the fan - Review by submitted on June 24, 2002
Customer's web site: glogower.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 24, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Standard
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
Cedant was an excellent hosting company until the upgrade. I have lost email and continually receive phone calls that emails are getting bounced back. I also cannot do simple edits of my web pages without having to ftp the file and edit it. What was once great customer service has now gone down hill. I'm no looking for another web hosting company. Itís a shame that Cedant botched the upgrade and turned it into a downgrade.

Stay away until they get there shit back on track, that's if they will.


Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Data Loss - Review by Tom submitted on June 24, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 24, 2002): Private
Plan used: standard
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Cedant recently performed some systems upgrades. Part of the up-grade was a new web-mail site which turned out to be worse than the old one. Regardless, some where during the upgrade they lost my wife's entire mail box and all of the addresses from my own mail box. When I contacted support they gave me a lot of BS and tried avoiding the situation. Finally, they admitted to the data loss and confessed that they were unable to restore it... Time to find a new host a post a review....
I had all good experiences with Cedant before this but the loss of customer data and the inability to restore it is completely unacceptable.

Sincerely,
Tom

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 20, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 20, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I have had more trouble with Cedant in the past several weeks and it has dramatically affected business... everything from inaccessible web pages (on an important public launch date), inaccessible email, screwed up mail list, etc., etc., etc. All of this without any advance notice. All of this without ANY response to phone calls and email. I am now researching new hosting companies.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 11, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $12.95
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Their "change in data centers" has turned into a total fiasco.  Stay away from these clowns.  I will be moving my domain elsewhere ASAP.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Upgrade went okay for me --- but - Review by submitted on June 11, 2002
Customer's web site: www.time4terry.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 11, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Standard
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
I have one major issue with the update and that is Cedant didn't give us any advance notice that it was going to happen.  It seems to me that would have been a good customer relations.  I didn't know about the upgrade until I got an email telling me it happened. 

Well, before I was with Cedant I was hosted by Jumpline.com, talk about problems, don't even think of using Jumpline.

As far as Cedant's upgrade, I had 2 problems which I was able to fix myself, the first was my email settings.  Why do they always have to change that?? I was lucky to get the upgrade notice.  The second problem was more severe.  My site was out of date.  Apparently they restored the wrong back up files, just like Jumpline did.  I was never able to get my Jumpline files restored, but was able to restore the currents files myself after 2 attempts.  Okay some of you may have bigger problems, but I'm happy, I at least have my site up and running. Mine is a simple MS Frontpage site.  I didn't have to use the Cedant support system, because they documented fixes to my problems and all I needed to do was to follow the directions.

I am going to stay with Cedant.  But, they better NOT mess me up!!!

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

My site down for 5 days, no return emails yet - Review by submitted on June 11, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: ASP enabled package
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Avoid this host. Since their upgrade with a no name company their service has turned into jello. This is ridiculous.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Avoid hosts who "upgrade" like the plague - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 10, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 10, 2002): Private
Plan used: their top $19/mo plan
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
Cedant were fantastic until June 6.  Then everything turned to ka ka.  Their standard "support" autoresponder for every email now whines that "Pending litigation with our previous data center forced us to expidite the migration of accounts".

Boo hoo.  What this means is that they completely destroyed the websites of a huge number of people with absolutely no forewarning.  Five days later and we still can't SSH in and a whole host of features (which are still advertised on their home page) have completely disappeared.  Support requests go unanswered for days, and then the likelihood is that a)your request will be misread and they'll email you a totally unrelated form letter or b)the uninterested tech will give the ubiquitous cover-all false-promise: "that should be fixed in a few days".  Grrrrrr.

This complete disdain for existing clients seems to be a hallmark of the "discount" web hosting industry. Exactly the same thing happened only recently with jumpline.net, and a couple of years before that with valueweb.net.  Stay away from both of these companies, but keep in mind that ALL web hosts, EVERY SINGLE ONE, don't give a damn about you once you've signed up.

Cedant: It is NOT an excuse that you now have a "hugely increased workload". To totally ignore the pleas of your customers for days (and perhaps weeks), to accept their money with a big grin and then refuse to fix the servers on which their sites are hosted is CRIMINAL.  How much prior notice did YOU have that you would need to change data centers? How hard would it have been to mirror all of your client's sites (say one month beforehand) and fix the problems before people's broken sites went live?

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

My site has been down for 60 hours - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 9, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 9, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: standard
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
I am a new customer, and my site has been down 60 hours since their "upgrades" or a.k.a. their merger with APlus.net. There was no warning...my site just went down, and nobody is answering the phone. My emails are answered with a form letter...so there is virtually no customer service right now. I don't understand because I thought Cedant was supposed to be so great (which is why I chose them). I also found out that there is a class action suit against them...which is why they had to move accounts to new servers so quickly. Don't sign up with Cedant. They're in transition, and you don't need the headache.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Cedant is Melting Down - Review by Dan Meek submitted on June 9, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 9, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: 18.95
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
They were good until last week.  They got bought by some other company.  They tried to move to a different data center and messed up my web sites and my email horribly.  They put my domain names into an endless DNS loop, thus totally destroying my web site and all of my email addresses.  They says they have no idea how long it will take to fix these problems.

I am moving on.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

"Upgrade botched" - Review by submitted on June 8, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 8, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
So called upgrade brought about by litigation with their previous data center provider.

Appalling change management-- transferred old data files (lost 1- 2 weeks data); several applications no longer work; email going to old and new servers!!!

Previously they provided execellent service but this past few weeks have been a nightmare.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Cedant Self-Destructs - Review by Dan Meek submitted on June 7, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 7, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
They were okay until this week.  They tried to move to another data center.  Doing so destroyed access to my sites and my email.  I still cannot access my email.  They gave me incorrect information repeatedly on the new IP addresses.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great until today - Review by Jon Plummer submitted on June 6, 2002
Customer's web site: jonplummer.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 6, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Standard Plan
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
Cedant has been a great host until today, when they began a series of planned server upgrades that have rendered many of their customers' sites non-functional.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great until their upgrade - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 5, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 5, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Webmaster
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
We've been with Cedant since we started in 1999 and have 2 sites with them. Great support; the speed of their response to your email depends on your plan (the more expensive the plan, the faster they answer your emails).

However, things deteriorated during their upgrade:

1. They moved our site to another server, thus screwing up our formmails and secure order forms without notifying us. The notice came two days after our site has been screwed up.

2. A week after their upgrade, formmail still doesn't work; our discussion board disappeared; and our secure server pages do not work.

3. Many functionalities which we paid for -- autoresponders, ability to view log files, delete email accounts -- have disappeared.

4. Downtime is now pretty bad. This morning, we were off the web for 3 hours. We were down again in the afternoon.

One good thing about the upgrade: since 1999, our site has been slow. Many people complained that the homepage takes a long time to load, if ever it will load. With their changes, our site now loads very quickly.

Billing: Beware in giving your credit card number. Even if you tell them you'll pay by check, they will still bill that card -- even if you already paid by check! Worse, your double payment does not reflect in your statement and their billing department would even tell you that they do not charge the credit card that you previously gave. We had to send them a screenshot of the credit card statement to prove that they indeed are charging the card.

Customer Support: Some of the technical guys answer your questions thoroughly and assists you quickly. Some are too lazy to even think straight. They don't even know what they are talking about when you ask questions.

Cost: Pretty expensive for the amount of data transfer. For $50, you only get 8GB and they say that is the most that they can give.

Good for starting sites, but not for sites that have already grown.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent! - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 27, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 27, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Basic and Standard (multiple websites)
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I've hosted a few different websites through Cedant. They are efficient, dependable, and have GREAT customer service. Any time I've contacted their customer service with a question, almost immediately I received a response. Very friendly, very knowledgable. Highly recommend Cedant Web Hosting!

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Nice package - Review by Mark Smith submitted on May 13, 2002
Customer's web site: www.4horse.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 13, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 6 out of 10
Their tech support is good, the cost vs. features is great. The only down side I've found was periodic slow access speed, especially with FTP.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great Value - Review by submitted on April 14, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 14, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Basic and Standard
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Cedant has been very reliable and trouble free. Only used customer service once, but they were extremely responsive. I have used them to host 3 sites so far. Initial setup was fast and easy as claimed - with no setup charges.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Top Notch Customer Service - Review by sara submitted on April 14, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 14, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: standard
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
From someone who is quite jaded by now at the level of customer support most online services provide, Cedant is always a breath of fresh air.  They always provide an amazingly prompt and friendly and more importantly HELPFUL response! I recommend them to all looking for a web host.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

billing and support problems - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 14, 2002
Customer's web site: interlot.com
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 14, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: standart
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
This company has "steeling money" from your account problem. They bill you twice for the same time taking money on different dates or billing you for three months in advance without your permission. After all they're deaf and you can't get your money back. AVOID!

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Beware - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 11, 2002
Customer's web site: www.guitargraphics.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 11, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: premium
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Had them for 2 weeks and they couldnt get my name and isp resovled
finaly i just gave up. there tech support would be better if they had monkees doing it.they were pleasent but incompetent i was told several times that problem was fixed but it never was.dont use this service be afraid very afraid

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

So far, so good - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 24, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 24, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Standard
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I "jumped" to Cedant after my previous hosting service screwed up big time.  After 1 week, I am pleased with this host.  Response time on my web site and access to my email account is much faster. I didn't have 1 problem transferring my site to Cedant. I use Front Page, and everything published on the first try, unlike my previous host. Setting up email was easy and fast. Emails and calls to tech support were answered promptly. (I thought I had a problem, but didn't).  Pre-sale support was good.  They answered my questions within 10 minutes and it was a Saturday. I really like the Control panel and the site statisics package they use. (http-analzye)

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 7, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 7, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Never any problems. Customer support has always resolved any questions quickly.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Cedant fails to deliver - Review by eric brown submitted on February 26, 2002
Customer's web site: civsoft.com
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 26, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I set up an account on Cedant's web
site.  They promised 10 minute setup
and a confirmation email.
1 hour later, no response. I emailed
them, no response. 2 hours later, I
emailed them, no response.  It has
now been 24 hours, and no response.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Give Cedant a try. - Review by submitted on February 26, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 26, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Standard
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Great value! Cedant set my site up quickly, provides solid technical support, by phone or email, and provides site configuration tools that are easy to use.

Representative of Cedant?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 
[Reviews 1-50] ∑ [Reviews 51-75]

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


© 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.