DeZines Web Hosting - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: DeZines Web Hosting
Host URL:

Average customer rating: 3.34 out of 10 based on 8 votes


 

Untitled - Review by Mark Parmenter submitted on January 10, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 10, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: pro virtual
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
Cost is too high for services.
Tech support was good but has gotten worse.  I have lost parts of my site and had to restore them.  Simple things like FP Extensions cost more, which is why I'm leaving them.  They need to get competitive with the lower cost services.  I have had trouble with my POP accounts many times.  They offer no spam filtering.  I'm outta there.

Representative of DeZines Web Hosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Dezines Going Downhill Fast - Review by Jim Kloss submitted on January 7, 2003
Customer's web site: www.talkeetna-alaska.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 7, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Virtual Pro
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Dezines used to be a quality company interested in serving customers.  I've been with them about 3 years, and in the last 6 months, they've undergone some drastic changes.  Support people are barely civil.  They aren't interested in solving problems - just putting off customers.  For example, the PHP they have available is over 2 years old. When asked if they had plans to update to a newer version, the reply came "Probably not".  There are many other instances of this sort of lack of desire to be helpful technically.

If you're NOT a technical users, then Dezines is probably fine.  You are the kind of customer they want.  Low usage, easy money.  But, seeing as how they charge twice what many others charge, and offer 1/2 of the options, you'd really do better to look elsewhere.

Representative of DeZines Web Hosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Hosts White Supremacist/Anti-Semitic Sites - Review by Anonymous submitted on October 27, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 27, 2002): Private
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
http://www.liesexposed.net/nfp/

Hosts Hate Sites

White supremacy, anti-Semitism, racism galore. Do your share to fight hate by not associating with companies that host them. Itís a free country for them to spew, and itís a free country for us to choose.

[mod - snipped]

Representative of DeZines Web Hosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Jaber submitted on September 20, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 20, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
They do not answer phone calls, and when tech support answers emails they are rude and condescending. The email forms on our site suddenly stopped working. Dezines tech told me that it was my problem and I should "deal" with it. I explained that I had made NO changes to my site in months, and the forms suddenly stopped working. She told me that it couldnt be their formMail program because they havent had any other complaints yet. I have since moved my forms pages to another host until my contract is up with dezines, and on the other host they work fine. I can not wait until my contract is up.

Representative of DeZines Web Hosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

horrible customer service - Review by submitted on September 18, 2002
Customer's web site: www.DrumsOnTheWeb.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 18, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Expert -1 account, Pro Virtual - 3 account, Virtual - 17 accounts, Parked - 3 accounts
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
have hosted 20 sites with them for the past 5 years... customer service has deteriorated to an abysmal state.

I am very torn... the sites are basically ALWAYS up... which is what you want from a host. But if you do need their help for anything... it's nonexistent.

Representative of DeZines Web Hosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on April 2, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 2, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
they do not answer their phones, they do not respond to messages that are left for them and do not respond to e-mail.

Representative of DeZines Web Hosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

solid - Review by Anonymous submitted on February 20, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 20, 2002): N/A
Plan used: NT
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
They do what they say they will do.  They offer a simple web hosting service.  Never had trouble with it.  But there are cheaper hosts for what they offer.

Representative of DeZines Web Hosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


© 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.