DreamHost - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: DreamHost
Host URL:

Average customer rating: 9.49 out of 10 based on 23 votes


 

FANTASTIC: reliable, affordable, all around GREAT! - Review by Anissa Thompson submitted on August 29, 2003
Customer's web site: www.anissat.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 29, 2003): N/A
Plan used: Sweet Dreams
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I was introduced to DreamHost when 2 separate clients of mine needed site redesigns... I "converted" about a year & 1/2 ago, and have been happier with each passing month! The account panel is easy to use, and allows me to help clients with their own accounts through my access. DH consistently keeps feature upgrades, including new software releases and security updates, on the forefront of their service. I've currently got about 90% of my client base hosting their sites with DH!

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

DreamHost Rules - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 5, 2003
Customer's web site: Digitalgravy.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 5, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Crazy Domian Insane $9.95/mo.
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I was with ValueWeb before, they suck.  Uptime, Tech Support and, all other services are all A+ I reccoment to every one.

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Perhaps one of the best hosting out there. - Review by Tara submitted on July 27, 2003
Customer's web site: tckingdoms.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 27, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Sweet Dreams
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Let's just say that I love Dreamhost. Before I was hosted with them, several people had made recommendation for them. So I looked into them and other hosting services out there. After studying their Sweet Dreams package, I realised that they might be on the expensive side, but I'd rather pay a bit more for a reliable hosting than less for a crappy one.

I am not approaching my third year of hosting with them. They are really reliable and friendly. Granted they got their downtimes at times, but it really isn't all that bad at all.

Their customer service is wonderful. When I first started out, I had no clue what was going on, and I think I might have really annoyed them with my questions, but they answered every reply professionaly and nicely.

What I think amaze me is that I am still paying the same price, and their packages has improved without charging us customers. I started outu with 150 MB / 5 Gig of Bandwidth / 5 FTP and Subdomain accounts and etc. However now I am getting, 500 MB / 25 Gig of Bandwidth / 15 FTP and Subdomain. That's alot for even me. But they do come in handy.

I'd recommend them to anyone and they really deserve more praise. ^_^

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Awesome Host - Review by Lissa submitted on June 30, 2003
Customer's web site: www.lissaexplains.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 30, 2003): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: Strictly Business
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I've been hosted with Dreamhost for 3 years, and they haven't let me down once.  I think their best feature is their rewards program.  I have the "strictly business" account which I get for free because of referrals I've sent their way.

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

I meant 10 out of 10!!! - Review by Warren submitted on June 18, 2003
Customer's web site: www.wardogcreative.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 18, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: 9.95/month
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Oops, I hit "submit" before I realized the radio button was at "5".

I've been with DreamHost for about 8 months now and have had no problems to speak of. They've had some brief outtages, but usually had pretty good uptime >99.9%. They even moved data centers without disrupting my service too much (12 a.m to 3 a.m. local time, with plenty of advance notice given).

No unresolved service issues, either. The lack of phone support bothered me at first, but hasn't been an issue.

I'd say it's a good deal on a good service.

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Fantastic! - Review by submitted on April 25, 2003
Customer's web site: rose-and-claw.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 25, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Sweet Dreams
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Without a doubt, the most user-friendly site for techno-dunce website owners such as myself. The most clear and concise admin panel...E-mail setup is a breeze...their E-mail help responds within an hour. You get a minimum of one phone support callback per month if needed...

By far the best I've seen out there. They could be a wee bit more competitive on price, but the trade-off is by far worth it, as even a 12 year old can administer a website with DreamHost.

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Good & reliable service - Review by Jan van Gessel submitted on March 4, 2003
Customer's web site: www.2central.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 4, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Crazy domain
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Staff is helpfull as well as entertaining.
Planned upgrades, downtime and problems are promptly reported to their customers and you are kept up to date on developments.
The large amount of options accesible through the webpanel might confuse a beginner.

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent hosting, good value - Review by submitted on February 20, 2003
Customer's web site: mu.ranter.net
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 20, 2003): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: Crazy Domain Insane (extra domain, since rolled into basic plan)
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I've been hosted on DH since 1999, and have had no problems with them whatsoever.  Everything works as it should, downtime is minimal and planned downtimes are announced and very short.  One thing which is significant about Dreamhost is that unlike many service providers (in any industry), they reflect costs to the customer whenever their own costs go either way, so while everyone will charge you more when their own costs go up, DH has reduced my own costs to reflect things that become cheaper for them.  My plan has decreased in price significantly and my services increased when they got a better deal for themselves.  I was very impressed.  The only problem some people may have is the lack of phone support, but email support turnaround has been extremely fast and very helpful.

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Fantastic Host - Review by submitted on January 23, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 23, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Crazy Domain Insane
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have had a site hosted with this company for nearly two years now. I have never been disappointed. They have an excellent price, combined with excellent service. The control panel is fantastic and allows everything to be done without having to talk to someone. I am in complete control of everything.

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent host - Review by Karol submitted on January 13, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 13, 2003): Private
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: Private
Technical quality rating: Private
Cost rating: Private
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Offers all the techie extras you could want, great knowledge database to answer questions and top notch support.  A vast improvement in just a few years.  Highly recommend. 

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great hosting and support, BUT... - Review by Derek submitted on December 6, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 6, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Crazy Domain Insane
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
Dreamhost offers great pricing, reliable service and excellent support.

BUT, they may not be right if you are using Frontpage. Dreamhost, like many others, uses UNIX based servers. They are able to run some/most Frontpage extensions but beware. Frontpage is designed to run on Windows based servers and not all features are compatible with UNIX. If you are using simple extensions like hit counters or message boards you'll be fine. But if you need to create online forms or other FORMMAIL it will only work with a Windows server.

I continue to use Dreamhost for my sites that do not need ful Frontpage support and recommend them highly. Just be sure they can handle your site before signing up.

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent Host - Review by submitted on November 4, 2002
Customer's web site: www.davidgagne.net
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 4, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Crazy Domain Insane / Others
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
DreamHost has never given me any problems.  They are a terrific web host and I recommend them highly.  I have several sites which receive a high amount of traffic and multiple email accounts and they have never disappointed.  The only drawback to DreamHost is that they do not allow ASP and / or MS SQL Server.

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very good. Recommend Highly - Review by Jeff submitted on October 15, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Code Warrior
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I like this host a lot. I have been with them for more than a year now.

I have had several minor problems and their tech support handled them very promptly.

They seem to offer new features often and support them even more than I expect them to. You can probably find something out there that costs $1 less per month, but you can't find a better value.

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

excellent support - Review by tom submitted on August 6, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 6, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
i asked them a fairly esoteric question about wrapping a PHP script in a CGI (to run the script with user-level privileges) and received _two_ replies in a short time.  both were informative and their solutions worked right away.

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Patrick submitted on August 4, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 4, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Sweet Dreams
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Great web interface for account control.  Friendly tech support

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Responsive and generous - Review by Bill Selig submitted on August 3, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 3, 2002): N/A
Plan used: Crazy Insane
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I've been pleased with their responsiveness and services. They always seem to be giving me more for the price I've paid (and sometimes what they gave me was a costed extra so I got to reduce my cost). Informative and friendly in their communications.

I also appreciate that the site is self managable. I don't have to "get someone to do something for me." I have control over everything myself.

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent host! - Review by submitted on June 22, 2002
Customer's web site: www.texaschapbookpress.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 22, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Code Warrior
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
We've been with Dreamhost for 3 years, with a very large, complex site. Their service has been reliable from the beginning.

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

EXCELLENT! - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 19, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 19, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: Sweet Dreams
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I've been with DreamHost for 4 years. They host 6 domains for me and there is VERY little to complain about. The tech turnaround time has slowed somewhat due to growth, but they are completing a 100% overhaul of servers, they just bought a new block of IP's, so they don't take the blame for email problems - they had been using an upstream provider, password protected directories is point and click, I could go on.

One thing that to me is very important: DreamHost is very picky about their security. They are supercops on keeping the system secure. Some may not like that, but if you are going to use them for e-commerce, you will appreciate it very much. At least DH cares! So many hosts give security short thrift (much to the detriment of their customers).
I rate DreamHost a solid "A"

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Solid and improving - Review by Michael Kleinert submitted on May 15, 2002
Customer's web site: insidelongbeach.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Various
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I've had some mixed feelings about Dreamhost, although they are mostly very solid. Support responses are pretty good, but have dropped to 24 hour turnaround. This is a bit below what I'd expect from them, and I hope that they'll straighten it out. They've also been going through a lot of changes and upgrades lately, so there has been an occasional problem. They run a very tight/secure system, which has it's pros and cons - it's more difficult to get third-party scripts running, but if you are interested in high-security, they are good at managing their systems in this regard. Overall - they give you a lot of power with full control over everything through their very unique control panel - you can be completely autonomous controlling every aspect of all your accounts/domains with Dreamhost. Overall, a particularly good pick if you've got multiple domains to host and manage.

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Reliable, Easy - Review by submitted on March 17, 2002
Customer's web site: whitecarp.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 17, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Crazy Domain Insane
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I'm new at this, but found DH's site reliable and very easy to use.  They've been responsive to my questions and problems.  My uploads are a snap!

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Love them - Review by Anonymous submitted on February 12, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 12, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
They are dependable, friendly, cheap and have the weirdest sense of humor.  What more could you want?

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on January 27, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 27, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Their SMTP server sucks ass and I always lose my inbox - their tech support is not helpful. Their cgi script for mailing lists eats ..... DREAMHOST, I HATE YOU!

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

WONDERFUL - Review by Anonymous submitted on January 13, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 13, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: Crazy Domain
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Having been with DreamHost for over six years, I can tell you they are superb! Downtime is not even an issue - not worth mentioning - I think on the web panel it says 99.98% for http, ftp and 99.93% for POP/SMTP email. They do it right. My plan is only &9.95 and it does everything I need it to -- if I want to host another site their, it's only $4.95. I really don't see where I could do better than DREAMHOST. http://www.dreamhost.com
Mike
Oklahoma City

Representative of DreamHost?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.