HostYard - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: HostYard
Host's Web Site: HostYard
Click the link above to visit this host's site

Average customer rating: 4.92 out of 10 based on 3 votes


 

Downtime and Reliability - Review by Brandon submitted on October 2, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 2, 2002): Private
Plan used: Standard - $59 per year
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
For the price of the hosting, HostYard is a good competitor. They're cheap, and they offer pretty good service. The customer support forum was nice, and the admin (Dylan) always responded to my questions within 24 hours.

The problem was downtime. I'd be down for 24 hours at a time, or 48, or longer. I would go post on the customer support board, but not only would nothing be done for 24 hours if Dylan didnt come around, but the boards would be down just the same as my site.

I've recently come across other providers with the same prices, and comparable services, with the added bonus of unbeatable customer support (24/7) and no downtime so far.

If HostYard dropped it's price $10 or $20, they'd be a better competitor (I remember when prices were a lot lower at HY, they're slowly increasing). For now, though, I'm going to have to go with the other provider, simply because it's the same price for BETTER hosting.

Representative of HostYard?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Way too much downtime - Review by Tim Mann submitted on September 7, 2002
Customer's web site: www.gloria-dei-belmont.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 7, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Original $40/year plan (current $60/year plan is similar)
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
I used to think that HostYard was a good deal, but others have far surpassed them now.  The features, amount of space, and amount of transfer per month you get for the price at HostYard are okay (though not quite as good as, for example, ICDSoft.com).  While HostYard has been stagnant in service quality and has increased prices for new subscribers, others have been coming onto the market with better offerings and far better service.

HostYard falls down badly on the issue of downtime and prompt customer service.  If you're unlucky enough to be on a server machine that goes down, you can expect it to be down for about 48 hours with little or no word on when it will come back up again.  I typically had this experience several times a year during the years that I had web sites and POP mailboxes hosted at HostYard.

HostYard appears to be a one-man operation run from South Africa with the servers physically located in the US.  So if the owner happens to be off on a trip and something breaks, nothing happens while he's gone.  Even when he's around, it seems like there is usually a delay in getting things fixed caused by the fact that if physical access to the machines is needed, he can't do anything personally; he can only contact his upstream host in the US and ask them to fix it.


Representative of HostYard?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Good - Review by submitted on December 23, 2001
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 23, 2001): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
They were having some teething problems, and the price couldn't be beat.  I just needed a little more reliability at the time.  My dad still has his site there and the problems are a thing of the past

Representative of HostYard?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.