Host Department - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: Host Department
Host URL:

Average customer rating: 2.54 out of 10 based on 14 votes


 

Blowing smoke up my arse - Review by submitted on August 12, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 12, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Linux - Enterprise (their best plan)
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
06/16/03 - set up 2 Enterprise accounts .... 07/31/03 - noticed my sites are down, sent angry email .... 08/01/03 they tell me they pulled server down due to a "spammer problem", site is back up .... 08/07/03 site down again, sent very irate email .... 08/09/03 they tell me a hacker was running DOS on server, site back up .... 08/12/03 sites down again, I'm looking for a new host!

Representative of Host Department?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on August 7, 2003
Customer's web site: umrahandhajj.com hudaanews.com
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 7, 2003): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: Unix
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10


Representative of Host Department?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Satan incarnate - Review by submitted on July 31, 2003
Customer's web site: www.TheSlimyMudhole.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 31, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
These people are liars, frauds, cheats, whatever you want to call it.  They have a 99.9% uptime guarantee, but my site is down constantly.  When I confront them about it, they assure me that my site has been up, and it must be problems with my computer!!!! Why even bother having an uptime guarantee if you refuse to fulfill your half of the bargain!?

I am CONSTANTLY talking to someone on their Live Help -- but no one there speaks english coherently! It's maddening because we can't understand each other!

My site is down constantly, poor, poor, POOR (and RUDE!) customer service, and I KNOW I'm not getting all of my emails.  Do NOT NOT NOT NOT NOT under ANY circumstances sign up for Host Department.

EVER!

Representative of Host Department?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Flase Promotion - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 8, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 8, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Unix Express
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
For that one good rating shown below, HostDepartment is not under New Management. It is run by a New Zealander named Jimmy Rianto Tanzil. What to learn more, perform a search on Google. They even post false positive rating and comment on Hosting Assured to keep their ratings up. When they speak of hosting so many sites. its their free sefive that they're speaking of, not their paid services.

Representative of Host Department?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

can it get much worse than this nightmare? - Review by submitted on June 4, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 4, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Sounded like a good idea at the time but, after giving these guys every chance to get their act together, we are essentially dead in the water.  I found this review site because I am desperately searching for something better... and it looks like I could close my eyes and pick on and do better than this.  Yesterday our email was down...  sent mails dissapearing into the ether,, bit delivered, no error message...  emails to us returniing FATAL ERROR, unable to resolve.  Can't, and haven't been able to, get into their control panel, emnails to tech support coming back as undeliverable (unknown domain), yadda yadda yadda.  I want off this boat now!!

Representative of Host Department?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

E-mail, control panel and support all down... - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 3, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 3, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Linux Express 100 MB - 2 domains
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Tried going to my sites today but the mail server, control panel to access my Linux server and HostDepartment's support are all down. Can't contact anyone there. Oddly, my sites are still up but everything else is not working.

Anybody have the same experience?

Had other problems with them a few months and I think I've had enough with them. Going to look for another host... again.

Representative of Host Department?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Stay away from these guys!!! Do NOT host with them! - Review by elbo_chew submitted on May 17, 2003
Customer's web site: AddSight.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 17, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Ok, I'm a pretty laid back guy.  I've been hosting and doing web sites since mosiac first came out in the early 90s.  So I know the problems one can have.  But I have to say Host Department is the worst experience I've ever had, and that's saying something.  Do not under any circumstances host with them.  They are bad in almost every area.

I wasn't able to get asp scripts that have been running for 2 years to work there.  I was ignored by customer support for 2 weeks.  They set my directories up so people could see my files and download them.  And I couldn't fix this even by using the correct settings in the control panel.  My web site was up and down like a ping pong ball and my mail bounced almost every day for more than a few hours.

The guy below who says they are under new management must be a shill for the company.  They still suck.

Representative of Host Department?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Donny submitted on May 15, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 15, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Unix
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
The service is completely unbelievable. I am lost for words. It really does beggar belief whn even the tech support guys advise you to use another service!

DON'T GO NEAR... AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!

Representative of Host Department?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

A working site I use for testing - Review by John Whelpley submitted on May 12, 2003
Customer's web site: www.donethatjob.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 12, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Unix Express plus
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
I've read all the negative comments about this host. Also noticed all of them (at the time I read them)used windows hosting package. A big mistake in the first place. The host mentions the fact they do not do windows particularly well. Mainly because windows doesn't.

Anyway I've been using HostDepartment for 6 or 8 months and haven't had any problems.Email got wacked a couple of times but I've had that on other servers as well...and as often. Not a major assessment of this outfit. I use this host to test scenerios for other hosts. I like the fact I can have total control of the host. I don't need to contact anyone. Just do it. Works every time.

Representative of Host Department?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

If it changed, it changed for the worst! - Review by Sean Stapleton submitted on April 8, 2003
Customer's web site: www.seans.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 8, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Windows 2000 Xpress Plus
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Webmail configuration changes weekly - and something new is always broken. Weekly have 5-10 failures of outbound email because 'aol.com' (or other) is 'not in list of rcpthosts'. Downtime is bi-weekly at least and excessive.

Tech support is slow to respond, poorly trained, and i have to talk to them way to freaking much.

They are CHEAP as heck, and I know the old addage about getting what you paid for, but I expected them to be able to handle the basics, like email!!

Representative of Host Department?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Host department sucks - Review by submitted on March 24, 2003
Customer's web site: swellcheck.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 24, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: win 2000 Xpress Plus
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I have been with Host department for less than two months, and I am looking for another host right now. My site has been down for several hours on several different occaisions, and their live support sucks. I tried to go to my site today, and received an windows login screen. I was unable to gain access to the site. Live support is claiming that the server is being rebuilt because of virus problems. I asked the rep why they didn't have backups, the reply was I don't know I just answer the phones. Absolutely do not host with these morons.

Representative of Host Department?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Their services has changed! - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 19, 2003
Customer's web site: www.java-scripts.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 19, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Their enterprsie packages
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Those ratings before me are not valid anymore since Host Department is under a different management now. Their services are simply superb! Never had any problems at all hosting 12 of my mega sites with them! To check their credibility I'd suggest you to check their ratings at Hosting Assured (hostingassured.findmyhosting.com). That is the ratings made by their clients after the management switch. Good luck with your search!

Representative of Host Department?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

What a NIGHT MARE! - Review by Whopperstopper submitted on March 15, 2003
Customer's web site: www.surf-masters.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 15, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: 100 mb 3GB windows xpress
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
All of the previous nightmares and more... the tech support will not answer your online chat request.. I have sat over an hour numerous times only to get I am sorry the server is being maintained, and being restored right now... I hope it will be up in 3 or 4 hours.. why dont you check back then. The servers were completely down several times during the 3 months I was hosted with them. Usually on Fridays they would go down, and stay down over 24 hours, and sometimes until MOnday Morning.

The only thing timely about the service was the bill and collection of their money.. that always worked flawless.

Save your money and your hair... go somewhere else!

Representative of Host Department?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Ridiculous - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 11, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 11, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Shared
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
This company is run by an individual in New Zealand who tries to obfuscate his true location by using a mail-drop in Sarasota, FL. The toll free # is forwarded to people in their homes that the owner pays $1000 a month to handle sales calls.

No phone support is offered otherwise. Their technical personnel have no expertise whatsoever and do not even know how to setup us many features.

Every statement made by their personnel was false or misleading.

Representative of Host Department?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.