ICDSoft - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: ICDSoft
Host's Web Site: ICDSoft
Click the link above to visit this host's site

Average customer rating: 9.1 out of 10 based on 316 votes

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-100] [Reviews 101-150] [Reviews 151-200] [Reviews 201-250] [Reviews 251-300] [Reviews 301-314]


 

Great Support Service! - Review by Josephine submitted on December 7, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 7, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I just got ICDSoft's webhost plan and I almost couldn't believe their outstanding customer service.  Their $5/month rate is already unbeatable.  To be honest, there are lots of webhosts out there who offer similar plans/services but none of them beat ICDSoft's customer support.

Before I purchased their plan, I emailed them with 5 questions of their plan's services and offer, and I could not believe it when they wrote me back within 10 mins.  It's almost like they had a computer generating email replies! I forgot to ask about their FTP accounts availability, send them another email, and they wrote me back within 5 mins.  After I puchased their plan, I ran into some technical problems and had to email tech support for help, and their online support system is quick and helpful.  My problem was solved within 15 mins.  Their prompt and friendly/helpful services made me chose their service.  I'd still stick with them even if they increase my monthly plan.

I've read alot of reviews about ICDsoft and at first I wasn't sure if what I read are true.  But after using them, I believe it.  I'm sure one of their main success is their customer/tech support system.  It's even quicker than dialing a toll-free number and having to put on hold for 5 mins for an answer.  These guys know how to run a successful business.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Potential customer thwarted - Review by William Mackie submitted on December 3, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 3, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
I read the reviews here and decided to give them a shot.

I went to their page and signed up for a year: $65 and registered the domain who-me.org

Well, I was billed, but then the next day when I was wondering why I hadn't received any email from them, I contacted their support. To their credit, the support staff was very prompt with their replies by email.

Unfortunately, the support staff had no record of my purchase and had not set anything up.  They said they needed a confirmation number for the transaction (I don't recall receiving one and I checked my web history and couldn't locate one from the cached transction pages). They offered to set me up temporarily until I could figure out what happened definitively, but I declined. 

I called my bank and verified that my account had been billed.  It had.

So, next I called clickbank (the folks that provide the billing for ICDsoft) and asked them if there was a record of the transaction.  The woman on the phone acknowledged that the transaction had occurred.  I said that the support folks at ICDsoft needed a transaction confirmation.  She said that she could provide one.  At this point though, I also inquired about just getting my money back and she said that she could also accommodate me if I wished a refund.

I opted for a refund from clickbank rather than risk any more difficulties with ICDsoft.  When I stated such to the clickbank representative, she said that she understood my point of view, but that under normal circumstances, ICDsoft is a very good company that clickbank enjoys a good business relationship with.

Probably just a mix-up somewhere, but it made me rethink my initial decision.


Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Simply Better - Review by submitted on November 28, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 28, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $60/year
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Compared to Hostsave and ADDR, ICDSoft is like achieving Web hosting nirvana.  The benefits of their hosting service are numerous and generous. 

But the real selling point is their customer service.  It exists and its fast.  Usually a response within minutes, not hours or days, if at all. 

I highly recommend ICDSoft.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very Good Host - Review by Richard Thomason submitted on November 26, 2002
Customer's web site: www.thecabal.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 26, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5.00 / month
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I was skeptical of the price, but after reading some reviews here I gave them a shot.  I've been very impressed with ICDSoft ever since.  I run a PHP/MySQL message board on my site and it was very easy setting up the MySQL base in their control panel.

I think their control panel is one of the best around, and their support has always answered my emails within just a couple hours. I host 5 other sites with 5 different hosts, and so far ICDSoft has provided a better uptime and better support than all of the others.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Icd rock - Review by Davidk submitted on November 23, 2002
Customer's web site: www.sonicspin.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 23, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
They have never gone down in 3 months for me :D
And the customer service is amazing

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

i didn't know how to act... - Review by submitted on November 21, 2002
Customer's web site: www.randysbonsai.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 21, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: only
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
We'd been with addr.com for years, and finally switched out of frustration.  Any Addr.com user will understand...

I made the switchover at 11pm on a Saturday nite, and submitted a question on how to handle the guestbook.  Imagine my shock when I had a reply within 5 minutes!

We selected them because of the high reviews, and the price.

We've had the account with ICDSoft for a couple of months now, with no complaints.


Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

What a Deal! What Great Service! - Review by Sparrow submitted on November 21, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 21, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: 333 meg
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Can't say enough good about ICDSoft! From services offered to price to tech support, they are wonderful people to work with.  My tech support requests have always been responded to within 24 hours, usually much less.  Looking forward to many years with their hosting services.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

ICDSOFT = GREAT - Review by submitted on November 12, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 12, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
Their tech support is AWESOME! The control panel is very user friendly. The features:price ratio is outstanding.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Wow - Review by submitted on November 8, 2002
Customer's web site: www.budzilla.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 8, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: The Only Plan
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I switched to ICDSoft yesterday from a local ISP, mostly on the strength of the reviews I had read. I had one small question for tech support, which was answered within three minutes. I contacted ICD, placed my order, received the ftp info, pointed the DNS to ICD, and I was up and running within 14 hours max. Speed is as good or better than my ISP that was just eleven miles away, the control panel and online help are amazing, and I have five times the disk space for less than one-fifth the cost. Should have switched a long time ago.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

ASK ME ABOUT ICD SOFT! - Review by Anonymous submitted on November 7, 2002
Customer's web site: www.punchbusters.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 7, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
This host is great for my large website. The customer service is outstanding! I have a very large Online Bargain Shopping site and I update it constantly throughout each day with no problems.
I had a few problems at first, but their support team got me up and running and have answered all my questions, usually in a matter of minutes, and have even done the work for me when I can't figure it out! Their site STATS area is a HUGE help for me in tracking hits, files, and visits, etc..
I'd stay with them even if the monthly price increased.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great Host For Large Site - Review by Anonymous submitted on November 7, 2002
Customer's web site: www.punchbusters.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 7, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
The customer service is outstanding! I have a very large Online Bargain Shopping site and I update it constantly everyday with no problems.
I had a few problems at first, but their support team got me up and running and have answered all my questions, usually in a matter of minutes, and have even done the work for me when I can't figure it out! Their site STATS area is a HUGE help for me in tracking hits, files, and visits, etc..
I'd stay with them even if the monthly price increased.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great for the price - Review by submitted on November 5, 2002
Customer's web site: www.hains.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 5, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
ICDSoft certainly gives you a lot for your money. However, they appear to be a company that is still getting started. This is a good thing in the long run, but not as good right now.

The major issue I have is that the login to the control panel is not encrypted, as far as I can tell. So, if someone were really interested in your site, they could watch your traffic to the server, and steal your login username and password - enabling them full access to modify your site.

Another issue I have with them is their features that are "coming soon." For some of these features, they will give you un-released versions if you ask for them, but if you need it now, you might want to try somewhere else.

The last issue I have is with performance. The company is based in China. So, although they have servers elsewhere, occasionally responses are slow. This is most notable when using a desktop email client to contact the POP servers.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

These chinese IT peeps rock!!!!!!!!! - Review by submitted on November 4, 2002
Customer's web site: www.goodnamegames.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 4, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: all
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Take this host!! I mean it! Their support is so fast you start wondering wether a supercomputer is answering your quesrions. They respond within 20 minutes!!!! and I do mean 20 minutes max and in 3 minutes avarage.


Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very Good - Review by Anonymous submitted on November 1, 2002
Customer's web site: www.wiredcafe.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 1, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have had no problem with ICDsoft. The best part is their 24/7 support. My questions have always been answered within 10min.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Remarkably Good (so far) - Review by John submitted on October 30, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 30, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Unbelievably good response time with customer service requests.  Courteous and quick.  Servers (web, email)have all worked as sold.  But with all these businesses, you never know about tomorrow.  And remember - this is a Chinese operation.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

No communication since purchase - Review by submitted on October 30, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 30, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I have been using this service since the beginning of August.  I am not a web designer in the least of ways, but was able to figure out enough to setup, post, and maintain my website with relative ease.  I am a network consultant and felt it imperative to have a presence in the community as-well-as my own domain name, particularly for email.

Since going live I have never had the need to contact ICD as I haven't run into any pressing issues or concerns.  For me, like others, web hosts should be a silent force to my work and business.  If I don't know they are there, all the better as it means I haven't run into any issues of note.  I am very please.

My only issue is when I check email.  Every time it asks for password even though it is checked. I haven't requested help, as it really doesn't bother me.

I am also impressed with Dimitar's response to a potential client who was quite understandably frustrated with the response she received.  Rather than making excuses, he admitted a degree of fault and a remedy.  Ethical business practices aren't dead!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Coming back for more. - Review by G.D. submitted on October 29, 2002
Customer's web site: www.lilikoicandles.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 29, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $60
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I began using ICDSoft over a year ago and have never had any problems with anything.  I've even got my sister to use the control panel after a little coaxing (she's somewhat computer illiterate).  I was asked to do a friends website and immediately chose ICDSoft to host it. 
Thanks guys.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

For $5 a month it can't be beat! - Review by submitted on October 29, 2002
Customer's web site: www.redesigning-spaces.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 29, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5/month
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
The customer service is fantastic! I usually have answers to my problems within minutes of my email.  The only complaint I have is with their email software.  There are 2 available programs.  The one program has a problem with e-mails containing links, and it always displays those emails as not being read.  The other program seems to have a hard time with html pages, and doesn't display clickable links (to correct the problem with the other program I'm assuming).  Another problem is that numerous times I get emails back from people containing garbled "code" telling me that this is what they received. 
Aside from the minor glitches in the email programs, I am very pleased with the service and have recommended them to friends.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great Hosting In Every Aspect!!! - Review by Zero-P submitted on October 29, 2002
Customer's web site: www.zerop.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 29, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5/month
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
These guys are great!!! Excellent price, AMAZING support, and the servers are always up and running.
If you're looking for a web hosting service, ICDSoft is it!!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

These guys are THE benchmark in support - Review by submitted on October 25, 2002
Customer's web site: www.websiterego.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 25, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5 - Pay yearly, 333MB, 5GB Transfer + goodies
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Prior to this web host I was with another "budget" host.

Comparing the 2 now, it would be criminal to call ICDsoft "Budget". They offer THE ULTIMATE in support and service, not to mention the product itself is an absolute package for the price.

My most recent questions were answered in (minutes):

10,8,4,4,11,6,6

EArly days for me yet (less than a month) but I have every confidence in these people, they are a well-bonded team.

E-mail me personally if you want to know more.

110% recommended, and I would have no hesitation in joining an affiliate program if they had one!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent, prompt service and great price! - Review by submitted on October 17, 2002
Customer's web site: www.cindalemont.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 17, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10


Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Far superior to previous, fantastic response times - Review by submitted on October 16, 2002
Customer's web site: www.tweak.net.au
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 16, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: their only one :)
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Their support has been fantastic.  Very very speedy turnarounds, and not just with a boiler plate answer.  I've asked very particular questions, (generally about how to configure apache the way I wanted it, and also with questions regarding nested SSIs) and they've come through normally in less than an hour, and often in less than 15 minutes with a proper answer, and the relevant link to the full documentation for me in the future.

Their control panel is far superior to the one at my previous company, and is continually undergoing improvements.  (I've asked twice for changes to the file manager and had them implemented overnight)

They seem to have more good stuff on the way too, as they even seem to be preparing to add ssh access to your site.

Very very very happy with their work.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent ICD...GoodJob Dimitar! - Review by submitted on October 14, 2002
Customer's web site: www.asiaimpulse.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 14, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: All
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
When I first contacted ICDsoft, I wondered why they can provide such bargaining price and queried for their service...however...after I first registered my 1st site...I requested to be partner of ICDsoft.
They are good...believe it or not? My company is now promoting their service in HK and receiving more and more happy customer feedback...
I can only say...you will have nowhere to find such good hosting company anymore...Try it now...only $50....it will change your world, your vision and your life!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on October 10, 2002
Customer's web site: www.kiklous.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 10, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5 per month
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Well friends, I left AtfreeWeb thinking they were very ordinary and too restrictive/greedy with trying to charge extra for POP/SMTP boxes, to my suprise there worst hosts out there .. yeap ICDsoft well I can honestly say that ICDsoft must be on a dial up !!!! I get 7 times, out of 10, timeouts/host unavailable !!! and not only that shockingly slow with ping of 500ms+ most other US based hosting companys have 120ms ping BOTTOM LINE
Dont doit they are a waste of money. I am currently trying to get a refund ...
ONE THING To their credit is:

Website interface control panel, webmail, all looking like a million bucks BUT the damn thing too slow & unreliable. 

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on October 6, 2002
Customer's web site: www.biotekservices.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 6, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I've had this host for a few months, I'm very pleased with how quickly tech support responded and resolved my problems. That is a breath of fresh air in the computer industry.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Wonderful - Review by submitted on October 5, 2002
Customer's web site: www.duality.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 5, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5/mo
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have been with ICDSoft for about 7 months thus far, and had wonderful experiences... I initially signed up largely for the price, but also because of great reviews I found about it.  Everything is easy, the hosting has been stable as can be, and the one time I needed to get in touch with tech support for a problem the response was immediate and very helpful. It has everytrhing I need and I have not only referred family and friends to them, but I plan on setting up 2 new domains with them within the next month.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

I'm impressed! - Review by submitted on October 5, 2002
Customer's web site: clarepark.ca
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 5, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: The only plan they offer
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have just moved my site to this host.  The company I was with formerly is in difficulties, and since I was only paying by the month I thought it would be prudent to move.

After reading through all the reviews for this host I decided to try them out. (I was VERY impressed that a host representative has responded to the (few) negative reviews.)

So far everything has been as promised.  Set up was almost instantaneous and getting my site (and four subdomains) up and running has been problem free.  (Even installing my CGI scripts was a piece of cake!)

Several questions sent to support have been answered VERY promptly and completely.

I particulary like having the ability to set up ftp subaccounts for each of my subdomains, and having a cgi-bin for each of these subdomains (something which was not possible on my former host's server).

At this price, with what you get and the high level of support ICD Soft has to be one of the best hosting deals possible.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

IMPRESSED SO FAR! - Review by Jana Webre submitted on October 3, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 3, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have been held hostage by the worlds WORST! host for the past year...Infinology.com (Stay Away!!!) In searching for a new host I began by locating those who had toll free phone numbers, and I tried calling them.  If I got no answer to the calls or to the messages I left on their recorders..they were marked off the list.  Then I began emailing support on those who I could not call.  ICDSOFT Blew everyone of them away! Many times I was still plunking out questions while I was receiving answers to others...and that was a weekend! (I have also done this at various times of the night..always the same wonderful response!) They seem to be very helpful and they assure me that if I am not happy witht hem, I will get a full refund of my money..no matter how long I have had them.  That is quite a promise! I am going to give them a try....so far, they have nothing but accolades from me!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Happy Camper - Review by submitted on October 2, 2002
Customer's web site: www.firesidesingers.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 2, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I was quite nervous about hosting my site with ICDSOFT because it seemed to good to be true.  So much webspace and so many features for so little money seemed to good to be true.  My former host gave great service but was charging 2x the money for 10% of the webspace and fewer features. I did not want to switch hosts but I needed more space and could not afford to spend more money so I searched and searched for a new host.  I came accross what looked like a great deal at www.netprotech.net.  They promise 200MB for .99/mo.  I just couldn't pass up this great deal, only I paid the money and never did get my site working.  After a 2 weeks of frustration I asked for my money back (which I still have not received btw) and looked for another host.  I read the reviews on this site for ICDSOFT and decided to give them a try hoping it would not be another disaster.  I am happy to say that I was very pleasantly surprised! My site was created in just a couple hours and was available within 12 hours.  I contacted support for help 3 time in the month or so that they have hosted my site and they completed the requests incredibly fast.  The longest time to complete was 7 min, the fastest was 3 min.  WOW.  The only thing preventing me from giving them 10 is that the control panel is a bit weak in my view but for the money they are a terrific value! If you are looking for a bargain host you won't be disapointed with ICDSOFT.  ... No I do not have any affiliation with them nor do I wish to resell their sites, they are just a great host period.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by m.m. submitted on September 29, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 29, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: ICDSoft
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
i can say they have the most affordable rate, good service, friendly & prompt support people.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great support, great tools, great deal - Review by submitted on September 21, 2002
Customer's web site: scvagt.org
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 21, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5/mo.
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
It took almost 3 days to transfer over our existing domain name, but other than that, this transition has been very straightforward.  I was able to put our entire site up on the server quickly, set up e-mail accounts (some by web mail, others by pop-server, and others by forwarding to their regular e-mail), set up a mysql database to allow for an interactive calendar, and put up pages programmed in PHP.  The only claims I've seen that make me rate them a 9 instead of a 10 are that they have a secure server ("coming soon", but not an issue for us), and that they support C++ programmers (if you create an executable program compatible with RedHat 7.2, only link to standard libraries, and have it accessible through CGI, then I guess they even have that).

I would like to see support for sending over tar files (compressed sites) and uncompressing them on my site, but even without that, I'm highly impressed.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This is a GREAT web host! - Review by Laura submitted on September 20, 2002
Customer's web site: www.DoggoneHappy.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 20, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
This is a GREAT cheap service. I am amazed at how much I get get for the price. I have not had any problems either.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Damn Slow Servers. I'll stay, reluctantly... - Review by U.D. submitted on September 17, 2002
Customer's web site: www.uriahduffy.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 17, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: The only One
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
First off I'll echo everyone's service experience. Extreme top notch, if not the BEST EVER, but you can read the other reviews for that.

Everything is a dream come true, until I realized that my sole reason for switching servers can not be provided by ICDSoft! Speed. I would love for people to be able to listen to samples of my music, but the site is just too damn slow. Slower than my previous host- a G3 on DSL in my friends bedroom!

I've tested the speed of downloads on and from many different sites. ICDSoft's throughput was the most erratic and slow; many times it felt like I was accessing them on a dial-up or something. I invite any user of ICDSoft to try the same tests as me... your sites are slllooow. I guess it's fine if you don't have any graphics or multimedia files that will most likely be cancelled by your viewers.

ICD'd auto response to this issue is "The download rates indeed may vary depending on the traffic in our networks, the network of your ISP and all the networks in between.". OK, but this is true for EVERY website in the world! I want to know why ICDSoft's speed sucks so bad, and if there is any hope in the future (ie. US, not HongKong based Servers) that this will get better. I'm even willing to pay for it!

I signed up 2 days ago and am currently riding the fence as to cancel service or not. Again, everything else is a dream come true.

I know I'm just ONE customer and that they probably can afford to lose me, but I can only hope that the issue is aknowledged and fixed. Then I'd Reccomend ICD to everyone I know!

Reluctantly staying...

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent Service, even the General Manager helped within 5 minutes of email contact! - Review by Kelly Warner submitted on September 16, 2002
Customer's web site: www.loopdoctor.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 16, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $60/Annual Plan
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I was having a bit of trouble with a port issue on my computer which kept me from using the ICDSoft Control Panel.  I was desperate for immediate help and contacted ICDsoft through a somewhat unusual route.  Not only did I recieve a response within minutes, but it was given by the ICD General Manager who really knew her stuff.

Thanks to them for great service!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Outstanding price, service, support, and features!!! - Review by submitted on September 16, 2002
Customer's web site: newsuse.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 16, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5.00 a month 333Mb of space 5Gb transfer @ $60
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
As soon as I signed up, I was sent an e-mail with every little peice of information I needed to get started! There control panel is idiot proof! Nothing is hard about their service! A first time internet user can easily get their own site started and running within a day or two with no help! They have very direct help at www.suresupport.com. You get a discount for hosting more domains with them! You can use www.yoursite.com or yoursite.com! You can access your e-mail using your favorite e-mail program! They have FTP! You can use FrontPage to upload your site! Whatever you need, they have! If they don't, just ask! It's too easy! They backup weekly! They can do it all! The price is Perfect!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Tops in all respects - Review by submitted on September 16, 2002
Customer's web site: www.tobygoldman.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 16, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Easy setup, fast response from tech support (via email only). No problems. What more can you ask for 5.00/month? For simple web site hosting, they can't be beat.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent overall value; Easy-to-use control panel; Poor online documentation - Review by Oliver submitted on September 15, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
They are an excellent overall value.  The online control panel is easy-to-use and gives you a pretty reasonable amount of control.  The only downsides I have seen are that the online documentation is exceedingly poor with cursory explanations and is usually inadequate.  But if you are reasonably technical it shouldn't be too much of a hinderance.  Also, they dont seem to provide any email security features or authentication.

But don't get me wrong, the benefits of this host seem to greatly outweigh the few negatives.



Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

The First and the Last - Review by submitted on September 15, 2002
Customer's web site: www.blvdeast.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5/Month+ $5 domain
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I always hosted with the free/ads service. I decided that I needed a more profesional service, and ICD was it. Support, great. The longest time was 4 hours that was when they helped me set up my XMB guestbook. Never had a downtime, and no problems at all. My only cons is that you can't have a chat room script on the server, and I would like more control on the emails, set size limits.. Other then that. I don't think I would need to switch anything for a long time

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great Host - Review by Anonymous submitted on September 14, 2002
Customer's web site: www.sarasotaccna.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 14, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5/month
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I added a second site with this host and have had 2 other people begin to use their services.  We are all happy.  I have gotten quick responses to my customer service requests. http://www.moraca.org and http://www.sarasotaccna.org

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on September 12, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 12, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: basic plan
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Very responsive.  It is the cheapest I have seen.  The ability to have 5 subdomains is great.  They did a great job of transferring my domain name.  It was only $5 more.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

The best for cheap! - Review by Lea submitted on September 12, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 12, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $65/year for domain+hosting
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I would have given this place 10/10, because it is excellent, but because I'm stingy and it doesn't have EVERYTHING I want, I only give it a 9.  I wish it had an option to host another domain in the same account, as well as more than 5GB of bandwith/month (just in case).

Other than that, though, it's great.  The support is perfect (FAST!!) and the features are more than enough for an individual or small company.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very poor treatment/not happy at all - Review by K. O'Donnell submitted on September 11, 2002
Customer's web site: new potential customer
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 11, 2002): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: Private
Technical quality rating: Private
Cost rating: Private
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I contacted the above company to inquire as to web hosting services.  I have been doing various sites for yers under free servers but am now in need of increased space and multiple visitor capability therefore am new to hosting as a whole and needed some clarification on the specifics.  I received the response to these questions as if "I have to ask then I probably don't need their services"! Excuse me? how insulting.  I will definately be taking my business elswhere to a company a little more user friendly.  Thank god I found out now and not further down the road cause this soon to be out of business company is obviously for computer geeks and more advanced users.
ICDSoft representative's response:

I decided not to comment this review, but to post a copy of the e-mail exchange between Kristi O'Donnell and our Support. However, i don't like the way my staff responded and the people who did it will get fined $60, the amount of the lapsed sale.

Hello
If you do not know what is hosting then you probably do not need our services.

Best Regards
Support
ICDSoft
----- Original Message -----
From: Kristi O'Donnell
To: ICDSoft
Sent: Wednesday, September 11, 2002 4:09 AM
Subject: Re: ?????'s


I was under the impression that it was 120 sorry...tired. Now for this do I do my site or do you? What exactly is hosting?

ICDSoft wrote:


Hello

No, we're a hosting company only. And our price is actually $60 per year, not $120

Best Regards
Support
ICDSoft
----- Original Message -----
From: Kristi O'Donnell
To: pr@icdsoft.com
Sent: Wednesday, September 11, 2002 3:09 AM
Subject: ?????'s


Hello

I'm looking for someone to host my new site. Need to know do you have a design company you conspire with?

I'm kind of new to this all could you please tell me in detail what you do for only 120 bucks a year? You do have a nice fast site though. Let me know please Kristi O'Donnell

 

 

COMMENDABLE! - Review by AJ D submitted on September 5, 2002
Customer's web site: www.website12.com/adeezines
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 5, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Only Plan
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I've only just registered for hosting with this site today & because of domain registration problems my site isn't currently up. Anyway, I've come across many questions which I directed to their support team & they are amazing. They're very quick with their responses & I'm IMPRESSED. Not only that but the whole package itself, I mean the price is way below competitors. Good job!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Hung Bui submitted on September 5, 2002
Customer's web site: www.hnbui.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 5, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: $5/month
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Everything went so smoothly, from setup to getting customer support.

Almost all support questions are responded within minutes.

Wish everything in life is that easy!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

For the money, you can't beat this one! - Review by Pat Hayzlett submitted on September 3, 2002
Customer's web site: www.cottonwoodfarmssporthorses.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 3, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Basic Hosting and Domain, paid annually, plus additional accounts.
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have hosted domains with other companies, many costing much more money than ICDSoft, but NEVER received as many perks and the quality of Tech Support as this one. I stumbled upon this web hosting company by accident while searching for cheap hosting plans with FrontPage Extensions and personal cgi-bin access.  Boy! Am I glad I found ICDSoft.  Since hosting my first web site with them months ago, I have moved 2 other domains and am in the process of setting up a 4th account.  Their set up process is simple. Even a newbie (person with very little experience) could set up a new domain or transfer an existing one. Once your account is set up, configuring it is a breeze with their easy to use control pannel.  Turning on FrontPage extensions only took minutes instead of hours or days like other hosts.  Setting up POP Email accounts was easy.  Even setting up a discussion board which uses the personal cgi-bin and accesses the MySQL database feature has been relatively easy on the server side (the only problems were with configuration settings within the script).  Tech support, when you need them, is SO fast at responding I can't hardly believe it.  Even having the server located in Hong Kong hasn't been a drawback.  I haven't seen any slowdown at all in the web site performance since I moved it. These guys and gals really have their "stuff" together. Like I said, for the money - you can't beat ICDSoft.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Slow site - Review by Anonymous submitted on September 1, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 1, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Considered switching from current web host to theirs after reading all the reviews.

Thought it was great that there were quite a few reviews (mainly good), but after I visited their main site, I noticed their site is really really slow.

Makes me wonder if those reviews are legitimate. Also, all the bad reviews seem to be responded to by the same 2 people.

hmm....be careful, people. I'm not saying they're making up reviews but how can so many people have great reviews about their speed and services, but yet the company's website is so slow.
Are you running your main site on a dialup account?

Please respond as I would love to hear back from you.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

So good I bought from them three times - Review by submitted on August 28, 2002
Customer's web site: billnot.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 28, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: There is only one!
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I was not unhappy with the service from my previous hosts, but I needed more room and more facilities and I chose ICDSoft after reading reviews here.  I was not disappointed.  In the last couple of months, I have not only transferred my main domain to them, but also another I already owned, and I have bought a third through them.  They have kept their side of the bargain magnificently; things have been up and running within minutes - only the DNS resolution has taken longer, and there's not a lot they can do about that! Thoroughly recommended. The only reason I have given their customer service a 9 rather than a 10 is because they appeared to misunderstand one of my questions, and answered a different problem but it was soon put right)

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very Impressed - Review by submitted on August 26, 2002
Customer's web site: www.kartar.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 26, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
After some bad experiences with other hosts I did a lot of reading to find a host.  I eventually selected ICDSoft and was very nervous about what I perceived as a very cheap host.

The setup and migration of my site went perfectly however.  I was highly impressed with the fast setup and the excellent support.  This was particularly evident when I was having a problem with a CGI script and could not see what the problem was.  After requesting ICDSoft's support in debugging the problem I was surprised and extremely pleased when the Support staff member had not only diagnosed my problem but fixed the script. 

Service above and beyond the call!

Very pleased with the whole service overall and have recommended them to a number of people.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Support is Terrific! - Review by Vlad submitted on August 22, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 22, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5 per year
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Their support is great, in fact they always respond even before 24 hours period ends. They are really helpful.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

They are AWESOME - Review by Mark submitted on August 20, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 20, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5 one
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have to say these guys are great for how much you pay.  I came here to find out who I should take, with there rating here I decided to use them for hosting my site and boy am I glad I did.  They have TONS of features and options you can use for FREE and there customer service is insane!!! I mean how can you charge ONLY $5 a month and still get same day service and follow-ups from the Supervisor no less??? I dont know how they do it but I"m more than pleased with them and there service, especially since I'm new at all of this.


Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-100] [Reviews 101-150] [Reviews 151-200] [Reviews 201-250] [Reviews 251-300] [Reviews 301-314]

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.