Iarna - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: Iarna
Host URL:

Average customer rating: 4.34 out of 10 based on 10 votes


 

Simply the worst - Review by Paul submitted on July 5, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 5, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Windows Gold
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Ever since Iarna got took over by Hostway the service is atrocious. Expect at least one major outage a week from these guys whether its server down or an IIS crash which they seem blind to. Outages last from anywhere between 4hours to a day, my worst being 5 days.

Stay well clear!

Representative of Iarna?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on January 25, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 25, 2003): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
lots od time-outs. Do not use it!
This is based on my experienses.

Representative of Iarna?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

SiteControl Rocks - Review by submitted on July 25, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 25, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Silver Windows
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Have liked alot the use of the hosting control panel.  Lets me use all features like ODBC.

New silver plan is very good, no phone support but you can do everything via controlpanel. Also domain names are good prices.

Representative of Iarna?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Robert submitted on July 11, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: none
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
As far as service goes, these guys know what they are doing. However they are not very forthcoming about costs/charges you will incur for services not asked for. If you ask any advice or for some changes to be made to your account, you will not be advised there WILL be a cost. You will find out only if you check your bank statements regularly and notice non-agreed account debits to IARNA.

Representative of Iarna?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Well intentioned but unimpressive - Review by submitted on May 18, 2002
Customer's web site: www.translogistica.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 18, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Hosting professional
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
4 notable outages in 6 weeks, two lasting 6 hours or more. Emails to their US counterpart (as the UK ones bounce) get a response which is either a patronising autoresponder or a patronising human response, and then it would appear that nothing is done. 

With no UK out-of-hours support, the total site failure (mail and web for Iarna.com and my own hosted with them) which began at about 1830pm on Friday 17th May 2002 will probably last through the weekend. Nope, it just ended at 0744 on Saturday May 18th.  So maybe someone works weekends after all.
Note that other sites hosted here (assuming www.soundslive.co.uk is still hosted here) may or may not have been available.

They offer to support Coldfusion sites, which let's face it means they are looking for business customers.  But they offer consumer-level support.  Except that if I was a consumer, I would mostly use my email out of normal working hours so I would, in effect, have no support.

We started off just hosting our static site and email with them, in advance of putting up a large coldfusion and database application.  I wonder...

When it is up, my hosted site is very quick, and when their customer service is in, it is pretty responsive.  I do also like the control panel which gives a great deal of control.  But their claim of 99.97% availability must be based on some aggregate figure across the corporation, because by my calculation, the single outage 6 weeks ago put them at 99.8%, and when combined with the current one (12 hours and counting), things are not looking good

Representative of Iarna?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on April 5, 2002
Customer's web site: vghost.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 5, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
So far everything we've asked for has been done immediately and even tasks that other ISP's have taken days over has been done within 24 hours.

Their control account allows a vast number of functions to be self administered as well.


Representative of Iarna?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on March 31, 2002
Customer's web site: www.soundslive.co.uk
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 31, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Enterprise, 400MB, 40POP3 emails, 4GB Traffic
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
In the last 10 days I have lost over 40 hours because of various faults with their servers, they do not have any technicians on standby after normal working hours Mon to Fri, they do not use an answering service and very rarely respond to emails and they have the nerve to boast 99.97+ % Network uptime

Iarna representative's response:

Some problems were present on the same server as Tom. Due to some sporadic site traffic issues. These are issues that do effect virtual hosting clients, rare that they are.

There have been no further issues and one of our engineers kindly re-wrote code on this client's web site whilst his programmer was away to allow it work becuase of a ASP coding error.

 

 

Support - Review by Anonymous submitted on February 25, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 25, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Hosting Professional
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
IARNA seem a pretty good company.  Harder to get at during out of office hours but always answer the phone and the guys there are pretty quick at getting stuff done.
Stuff isnt the cheapest, but then again i havent had a problem so i suppose thats something.

Representative of Iarna?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on January 13, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 13, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: personal
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
No phone-based customer support...only email.  This presents a problem when the email server they are hosting is down, and your site is as well (e.g. there is no way to communicate with them)

Claim to have 24/7 customer support via email, yet failed to respond in any form to queries within a 24 hour period..not even an autoresponder indicating that they are aware of problems and are attempting to fix them.

no answering machine on their phone line or any attempt to generally communicate status of situations to customers when the systems are clearly having trouble and set expectations about repair times.



Representative of Iarna?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.