Interland - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: Interland
Host URL:

Average customer rating: 2.07 out of 10 based on 156 votes

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-100] [Reviews 101-150] [Reviews 151-155]


 

The best hosting around :) - Review by submitted on September 1, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 1, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I like it more than other providers


Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Satisfied but worried - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 29, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 29, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: True Basic Linux
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
My company's site has had excellent uptime.  It's a modest-sized, simple site, with a minimum of changes and no scripting.  Traffic is light by Internet standards.

The site has been quick to serve pages, any time that I've checked it.

Just once, near the startup, I needed customer service to fix FTP access permissions, and they did it quickly.

Site statistics are informative and the data collection appears to be reliable.  A bug in the download of site statistics to Excel has been unresolved for several years (I gave up on bugging them-- they didn't seem to have a clue what was wrong).  So, I download the stats into Word.  That works reliably.

Email (via Intermail) has been high in reliability and uptime.  Email administration is easy.

I've encountered no billing errors.

However, looking at the reviews and ratings on webhostratings has me plenty worried, and I'd like to save some money, too.  I may change.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Mourning Burlee takeover - Review by submitted on August 20, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 20, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
What all the other bad reviews said.  Burlee was fantastic.  Interland has been cumbersome and frustrating.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on August 10, 2003
Customer's web site: squeakyfiddle.com
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 10, 2003): Private
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I was a satisfied Burlee customer. After Interland took over I had ongoing problems with site downtime, mail outages, loss of web stat logs, and unresponsive email tech support.

Before I cancelled my account I called Customer Service. Because of what appears to be a loop in their phone forwarding system I was bounced from one from Customer Service rep to another, 4 in all. I asked each one the same question: As a prior Burlee customer, would I receive a partial, prorated refund based on a year's pre-payment. One rep said she didn't know the answer. One rep said she "believed that yes, prorated refunds were the policy". Two reps said that "it is the policy of Interland to make partial refunds for unused pre-paid accounts". All of them said that I would have to confirm this with Billing. I attempted to call billing, using 1. a number that one of the reps gave me and 2. allowing another rep to forward me. I was cut off the first time and left on hold for 45 minutes the second time.

I cancelled my account and asked for a partial refund. Interland responded with :

"We are sorry to hear that you are cancelling this account with Interland.  We value
your business and would like to help with any unresolved issues.  The account,
squeakyfiddle.com, will be cancelled.  Unfortunately, according to
Burlee/Communitech guidelines and procedures, no refund is available.  However, if
there is anything we can possibly do to change your mind about cancelling your
account, please re-submit this ticket within 2 business days."

I have asked my credit card company to dipute this.

(I gave their Customer Service a 2 because of a single phone transaction with one polite, intelligent and efficient technical whiz. Otherwise that rating would also have been 1)

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

ecommerce slow - Review by submitted on August 8, 2003
Customer's web site: anomynous
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 8, 2003): N/A
Plan used: bluehalo
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
miva running on their server is beyond slow

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 6, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 6, 2003): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
What I fond the most ammusing about these complaints are those who state how wonderful HostPro was and how it went so far down hill when they were bought out by Interland.

Guess what? It was the other way around.  HostPro bought Interland! Interland had recently spent a lot of money on advertising so HostPro decided that they would take advantage of that and just switch their name over to Interland after the buy out....But Host Pro was soooo great...Hahahahaa.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Acquisition nigtmare - Review by submitted on August 4, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 4, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
After my web host provider HostPro was acquired by Interland, the service went downhill and support was poor. My home page inexplicably lost data and when I inquired about it they said that everthing was ok on their end and that I should redo the page and reload the site. I did this but it still didn't view properly. In frustration, I just let it go for about six weeks and then all of a sudden, the page began to view properly 'on it's own'. Obviously someone at Interland discovered and fixed the problem. When I redisigned my site, I left Interland.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Fabulous - Review by submitted on August 3, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 3, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Platinum Business Solutionsnand true basic
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I recently got a website custom built with just every option you can think of for $95...The value care customer service is great...I hosted w/ them before and tech support was lacking , but I have value care live support instead of online support.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

don't understand concept of service - Review by linda submitted on July 31, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 31, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
To have my problem resolved took 4 days with 10 different techs - who gave conflicting information, promised to call back in an hour, called and asked me how they could help when i had filled out a detailed ticket, phones busy or get disconnected on hold, sales person told different than tech, down a lot- lots of hiccups, one tech said couldn't do what i wanted and another said no problem, manager finally manually did it and promised to get back with how to avoid next time (didn't)

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Simply, the worst - Review by submitted on July 30, 2003
Customer's web site: wdoa.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 30, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Communitech 350MB/ unlimited bandwidth
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I was hosted happily by Communitech for almost 2 years.  Then Interland bought Communitech.  Within a few months they moved the servers from KC to Atlanta.  All hell broke loose.  The server never worked correctly at the new location.  Tech support told me (and I have it in writing) on various occasions, "the server is overloaded", "we can't do anything about the performance issues", "why don't you switch to one of our other plans" (one much more expensive).  I found tech support at Interland to be ineffective at best, and lying SOB's at worst.  Stay away from Interland at all costs.  To quote the mighty robot from Lost in Space "Danger Will Robinson, Danger".

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Dreadful... - Review by JP submitted on July 30, 2003
Customer's web site: www.krookedstix.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 30, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Virtual Hosting
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Like many here I was swallowed by Interland, (formerly Communitech.Net) of which I moved to from Bluedomino on the advice of webmaster that had credibility with us.  Communitech.Net was outstanding, most notably the personalized tech support, specifically in helping to solve PHPMyAdmin issues, and some script debugging.  Server speeds were adequate to good.  Incidentally BlueDomino was also good save for a few problems that I could easily overlooked, big picture since they are/were very reliable, but ultimately moved due to their MySql database setup. (Behind a firewall).  And then there is Interland... I would honestly say that tech support has actually been responsive and they have solved a couple of problems, e.g. mail server problems, but many times they were completely unable to solve issues at all with responses such as, "Unable to duplicate the problem".  Other times their tech support people were either so "dry" or downright rude, I wanted to throw the telephone through a window.  But the bottom line here is server performance or lack thereof in their case.  My site goes down all the time for very short periods, and when it is up, 90% of the time, their server housing my site is so slow that it is literally unusable.  I was so ticked off immediately after discovering that Communitech.Net was purchased by them, and I told them so...  I have since sent an email in addition, to using their online cancellation script to make sure I have a copy after reading other nightmare scenarios.  Luckily for myself, the card I gave them expires this month, so I stand a damn good chance of being free from them without begging them to stop charging my C.C. every 3 months.  Glad I did not pre pay a year.  I won't prepay the next company more than a quarter either in fear of being gobbled up by this horrendous company...

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Why haven't I changed host earlier.. submitted on July 29, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 29, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
The BEST part was when they "upgraded" the server and in the process DELETED all our users accounts, we had some very happy customers trying to get to our FTP site... looked good on us. Thank you interland, and GOODBYE.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Stay FAR AWAY from Interland - Review by Jack O'Neill submitted on July 29, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 29, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Basic, advanced and dedicated
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
We had a half dozen sites hosted by Innerhost, a small company in Miami. Their performance and service was great...until they were absorbed by Interland. Since then, our sites go down every other day, support people are unresponsive, technical people are incompetent and sales staff doesn't return phone calls. Where Innerhost's people were always willing to go the extra mile, Interland's attitude is generally "#%&* you." They keep sending apology messages from the CEO, and every time they do, the service gets even worse!

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

I guess i thought wrong. - Review by submitted on July 24, 2003
Customer's web site: www.3rdpixeldesignstudio.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 24, 2003): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: Blue Halo, True Advantage
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
i wish i could change the post i made:

Never had a problem (10 / 10) by wendell frohwein submitted on March 12, 2003

well just this past week there service for me went to shi*. i have 13 websites under my account, and boy am i hearing it now from my customers about there service. thanks allot interland. -=/

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Performance vs. Service - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 23, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 23, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: b200 (Blue Halo)
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
I certainly agree with the complaints about customer support.  I've had my share of frustration with them, most of the time knowing what needs to be done but not being able to get anyone to do it.  It is a mixed bag when it comes to getting help.  You just have to get lucky to have a problem solved, and that usually takes a number of days.  More training for the staff would probably help matters, giving more uniformity and expertise.

I only forward email from Interland, but the email members complain about disappearing email from time to time.

OK, so that's the fair share of complaining about this service.  On the other hand, the site has been running pretty well for a couple of years.  Most of the time there are no problems to deal with and the site is acceptibly responsive.

However, IMO, we are paying way more than we need to.  We are in the process of changing to a more reasonably priced plan or migrating to a different hosting service.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Poor reliability, poor service, abused by the abuse department - Review by submitted on July 19, 2003
Customer's web site: www.labmice.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 19, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: BlueHalo 300
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
In June 2003, the Vserver my site was being hosted on was hacked repeatedly by someone who inserted a script onto all of the pages of the hundreds of sites hosted on that server prompting any visitors to those sites to download a Trojan execuable, and launching JS/CISP virus warnings for any vistor running McAfee. I notifed tech support on a Monday evening, and they were at best apathetic. By Wednesday the problem had spread to 2 other servers affecting hundreds of sites, and the staff was still unable to secure the servers. This attack reoccoured several times during the next few weeks and was affecting 20,000 people a day that were visiting my site. Interland still didn't care, took hours during each incident to clean up the servers and were generally slow to respond and apathetic about the entire issue. Losing visitors and my credibility fast, I moved to Interland's BlueHalo servers which were supposed to be more stable and secure. In my first week, (July 14) Interland started having technical issues with the BlueHalo servers, and shut down my site (without notifying me for 14 hours) claiming that a script I was allegedly running was causing High CPU utilization. (My site isn't running any server side scripts, SSL, shopping cart, downloads, JAVA, Perl, CGI, ASP, or anything else that remotely resembles a script ro could cause high CPU usage.) Although I called tech support repeatedly between 7/14-7/15 no one ever told me my server had been shut down by the abuse department(at 7:30 pm on Monday) until Tuesday at 2pm. They have been unable to identify what "script" caused the outage, (we aren't running any, but they aren't changing their tune), there is nothing in the web logs to indicate any abnormal activity and the Code Manager logs (which monitors scripts for errors) is empty. I did discover that another site on the same server was shut down for the same reason (related?), the server was the subject of a Denial of Service Attack (Tuesday -Wednesday), and a hardware failure on both of the Windows and Linux BlueHalo servers later in the week. This is business class hosting? I'm currently in the process of filing for a refund, but have to disprove the abuse departments claims first, and the whole thing is just a nightmare. My requests to speak to a manager have been ignored, and no one will connect you to anyone in the abuse department to handle the request directly. I can't imagine how much money I could have lost if I was running a shopping cart or sales based business on Interland. Defintely would not recommend this host for anyone who cares about there business!!!!!

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

What A Nightmare - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 16, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 16, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: TrueAdvanced Plan
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
A billing nightmare. Our accounting dept. was ready to rip out their hair when our site got put on credit hold for non-payment of our account but the bill was not due until the following month. Then it took them a couple of days to verify that our account was not in fact overdue and to put our site back up. In total our site was down 3 days for their screw up. We are currently sourcing out a new hosting company.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on July 11, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 11, 2003): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Incredibly incompetent billing department. Renewals are rarely if ever accurate. They cash checks but don't apply the payment then turn the sites off for non-payment.  Good product, good tech support, but their billing hassles aren't worth it.  INTERLAND BILLING IS INCOMPETENT, UNPROFESSIONAL, AND COSTLY TO DEAL WITH.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very BAD - Review by submitted on July 9, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 9, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: burlee
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
This outfit acquired Burlee Hosting which provided me descent service for many years. But when Interland took over e-mail stopped working properly - headers were not propagated so you could no longer filter e-mail.  It took about a month for support to agree that there was a problem but they said that they did not intend to fix it but insisted I switch to another e-mail server (at extra cost).  I cancelled service and they refused to refund unused 6 months of service.  Tech support e-mail always bounced due to "mailbox full." This outfit is horrible!

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Shockingly Bad Before, Shockingly Bad Now - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 8, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 8, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Dialtone dedicated unix server
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I used to use HostPro, and Interland bought it. They were so bad that I switched to Dialtone. Then Interland bought Dialtone. The problems are worse now than they were last time around. Tech support says they are fixing the problem, only to make it worse. We are currently trying to move my 300 clients elsewhere ASAP because THEY ARE ALL DOWN for the second day in a row. How can this company stay in business with service this bad? Scratch that, with NO service? Please oh please don't let Interland buy whatever company I switch to this time. I fear losing my customers and my livelihood.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Billing Department Nightmare - Review by submitted on June 27, 2003
Customer's web site: www.rtoforms.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 27, 2003): N/A
Plan used: Blue Halo
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Interland moved my site, shut it down for non payment (I didn't owe them, they had a credit card) and finally when a rep, mr. walker, agreed to remove an incorrect "Set-up" charge, they charged my card, I disputed and won, they deleted my account after claiming they weren't paid for what was just agreed was an incorrect billing.  This was all done with no notification of action.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Interland ... Excellent - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 24, 2003
Customer's web site: www.eurolloyd.com & www.eltexpress.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 24, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Blue Halo
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Excellent customer support 24/7.
Good value for the money.
Have never had any problems with their servers or uptime.


Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

do not care about customers - Review by submitted on June 20, 2003
Customer's web site: www.trinidadexpress.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 20, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: DEDICATED
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
We have been hosted with Interland dedicated at $1200 a month for 4 years. We have had mixed results. Two nights ago they froze our server without contacting us over a misunderstanding about payment whic was 50% our fault. However our site is still not live 48 hours later and we are a national newspaper. They exhibit the worst customer care I have seen and do not seem to uderstand or care about customers who depend on them for service

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Downtime is more then Uptime - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 17, 2003
Customer's web site: www.qmediagroup.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 17, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: #2
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
The worst customer support of any company I have ever encountered.  No return phone calls, no return emails, no response from any administration staff, downtime has last over five days.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Unbelievably Bad - Review by Ray submitted on June 14, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 14, 2003): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I was a Burlee customer for over two years and always very satisfied until a few months ago when they became an Interland company. Since being taken over by Interland, the down time of my site has been so excessive that users email the site asking if there is something they (or us) can do to correct the access problems. When I called Interland they were always very nice on the phone but basically told me that since acquiring Burlee the "transition has been very difficult" Too difficult for me - I recently moved my site to a new hosting compoany and am now trying to get a refund (I have 9 months paid in advance) from Interland. My advise - you would have to be insane to let Interland host your site.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Still debiting my credit card!!! - Review by Robert submitted on June 4, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 4, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: Private
Technical quality rating: Private
Cost rating: Private
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I cancelled my hosting on Interland a couple of years ago and pointed my site at my new hosts DNS servers. But in spite of emails to them they have started debiting my credit card again ...

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Read this before choosing Interland! - Review by Mike submitted on May 29, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 29, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: TrueAdvantage
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I have experienced every problem you can with Interland.  There are so many hosting companies out there why choose them.  Do you think all of these negative reviews mean anything...obviously.  To back this up simply visit http://www.google.com/ and search "Interland Sucks" look at all the results.  If you go to the trouble to create a webpage on how much you hate interland because they screwed you over then they must really suck.  So in summary interland sucks, don't use them.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

I haven't had many problems - Review by ES submitted on May 27, 2003
Customer's web site: www.ehabweb.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 27, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I was inherited by Interland when they bought ICOM's customer base, it was a bumpy transition, but has been stable for a long time now, great response times, support is by email.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Poor Customer Support - Review by Keith submitted on May 23, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 23, 2003): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
After paying monthly fees and having reciepts Interland has insisted that payment has not bee received.  Customer support refused to work on resolving the issue.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Absolutely bites...Flee from these idgets... - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 22, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 22, 2003): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I enjoyed HostPro and its services.  Unfortunately, they sold out to Interland and crap ensued.

They cut my email service without notice.  They used old contact information that I had already updated with HostPro before the acquisition.

Now, I'm have to wait 24 - 72 hours (yes, brothers and sisters, 2 - 3 DAYS) before they will get my email back up.  Even better, my mail doesn't seem to be accumulating so it's bouncing back to the senders.

Lovely.

And since I'm in the midst of tracking down my next job, I don't know who sent what and who decided not to deal with it and drop me from consideration.

These guys make the people at the Dept. of Motor Vehicles look efficient.

Run far, far away. 

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Simply works - Review by submitted on May 21, 2003
Customer's web site: www.kuckuk.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 21, 2003): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: Freedom 250 (formerly VServer)
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I started using their services back in 1997 when they were called VServers.com. They subsequently got bought by Hostpro which in turn got bought by Interland. During all the years I never had any problems with them. Their service is very reliable. I never lost any data or any mail. If you know what you're doing (Unix, PHP, MySQL, sendmail configuration) and just want to get your job done without any surprises then this provider is for you.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Bought Out Communitech - KILLED IT! - Review by ehartman submitted on May 20, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 20, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Ever since they took over our accounts when they bought out Communitech - ever since then it's been constant HTTP, MySQL and SMTP outages.  Actually had a tech tell me that the server was full! If you rely on your website, do not rely on Interland! Communitech's site is still up, so don't sign up with them either!

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

STAY AWAY - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 13, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 13, 2003): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
No Service, No Tech Support. Flush your money down the toliet if you go with this comapny. At least you will get to see something happen.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Interland Holds You Hostage - Review by Cronus submitted on May 9, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 9, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Dedicated Unmanaged
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
I too, was a HostPro customer - come back HostPro, we love you!

After Interland took over the service went downhill so rapidly you got a sinking feeling every time you used their totally useless (and often ignored) online problem tracking system.

Of course, the online system does not work for HostPro customers, so you're on your own or you have to be creative on how you contact them.

We all know Interland's accounting system is basically broken - but broken in their favor, of course.

Basically they claimed I owed them money, I disputed it and nothing seems to happen after that.

Eventually they cut off your service and disallow access to data. No notice. No warnings. No "red bills". No "Final Notice". Nothing. They just cut you off.

When you call to complain and get access to your data, you're immediately in hostage situation. You pay everything they ask for, plus $1000 "reconnect fee" and then they might give you access in 24-48 hours.

Hint: you can negotiate the "fee" but you have to be persistent and escalate all the way up as far as you can.

However, you will pay them what they ask or you will not get your data. It is my distinct impression that they do this deliberately to leverage payment from you.

A word from the wise. If you do choose Interland, do not let accounting errors slip by, they will come back to haunt you unexpectedly when you find your machine disconnected without warning.


Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Interland Nightmare - Review by Tom submitted on May 3, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 3, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Dedicated
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
I found reading the customer reviews soothing as I am going through my Interland nightmare!

I have a dedicated server, due to a $47 billing error, they shut my site down.  I corrected (so I thought) my billing error on Friday afternoon.  Evidently, they did not.  They shut the site down again.  I called the top person at the site on the weekend.  He could not override the billing error.  He said call back on Monday morning. 

Interland was a good host at one time.  Time for a new host!!!

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

we thought you were kidding when you canceled - Review by john brainard submitted on May 2, 2003
Customer's web site: www.cursion.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 2, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: domain reseller
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I was originally with Web2010, and then HostCentric, and finally Interland.  Things were basically okay with Web2010, but then things started to take a turn for the worse when was dragged over to HostCentric.  It dropped off the charts when Interland bought HostCentric.  They screwed up several domain records (I finally got them away thankfully).  Finally, I gave up and went elsewhere.  I am currently working with my credit card company to get them to quit charging me.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Just awful - Review by submitted on April 30, 2003
Customer's web site: www.4m-ent.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 30, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: NetValue I believe
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
After the HostPro merger, there were no upgrades and they "encouraged" me to switch to one of their plans.  I paid more, lost Java servlet support and I was getting unsubscribed to newsgroups because the email was always down.  I switched to CommuniTech.net but the sales person neglected to tell me they had merge with Interland (even though I was complaining about them the whole time.) My last client with them had their site disappear.  They had botched the email address and the credit card expired.  They had a valid phone and fax number but did not attempt a contact to keep the site up and running.  They seem to take over an existing company, don't upgrade and then try to get you into one of their plans.  Too bad, HostPro and CommuniTech.Net were first rate.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Interland Sucks!! - Review by doc submitted on April 29, 2003
Customer's web site: www.freshfloridacars.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 29, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I was with communitech.net for 3 years and the service was great. They were bought out by Interland AKA Suckland! My site is down more than it is up. Mail server is a Joke!!

Stay Away from this bunch of morons!

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Burlee/Interland Merger Nightrmare - Review by submitted on April 29, 2003
Customer's web site: www.radspecsys.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 29, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: no idea.. was "merged" from Burlee
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I was a very happy camper for 3 years, using Burlee.com. Then it happened. Burlee merged (got bought out) with Interland and my nightmares began. As I am tyoing this message, my site www.radspecsys.com, is totally whacked. Two days ago, a client called and asked me "Is this The RevNew Group?"... Huh? What are you talking about? He replied, go to your website...
I discovered that entering www.radspecsys.com brings up a message about "Thanks for visiting the RevNew Group.. this site currently under construction..".
I immediately checked WHOIS to make sure my name had not lapsed.. and I am good until 2006.
Then I called the wonderful Interland support number.
"What is your domain name?" .. easy answer...
"What is your secret word?" Huh, what the heck is a secret word? I told them I don't have one... The brilliant technician told me .. no problem, we'll email it to you... Helloooooooooo... that is why I am calling .. my site is whackked , including mail service.... so how the heck can I get it... "Well then I can't help you sir...". After I was put on hold for about 15 minutes... I talked with a supervisor and explained the situation. He took all the information. I was told that "I just spoke to the technicians... your site should be back up in 15 minutes.." That was 15 minutes and 48 hours ago....
Every call to Interland.... I have to go thru the same damn drill.. even after I give them a ticket number of the problem. Thi smorning I was told "Microsoft IIS has 24 hours to recpond.." I told him, "Well, 24 hours was up 24 hours ago....". Loonnggggg pause.... I could hear ther wheels slowly turning. "Then I heard the same phrase again "Can you hold on please?" ... "Do I have a choice?"

I am disturbed at several issues.
a. Burlee.com never notified users of the merger/change.
b. Interland switched me to an IIS system.
c. Interland support to date has been very under-whelming. Burlee was great! Interland is horrible.

If youare considering Interland ... please contact me Bfirst, unless you like not havinf a web presence, then I recommend Interland 100%!


Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Interland - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 24, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 24, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: VServer
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
The great thing about hosting with Interland is you know things cannot get any worse. Interland has set a benchmark in poor service which is hard to surpass.

I stick with Interland because they are the devil you know. There are no surprises. Their service is poor, their customer relations are worse and they make little attempt to hide it. When you play a game of "InterTicker" (or Interland Support Ticket System) you know the game could last for weeks.

Interland promises 24/7 support and they deliver on their promise (in as far as it true that you may submit a ticket 24/7). The promise ends there. Their first answer takes usually takes 2-3 days. As sure as your last support experience was pure hell, you can bet your next is going to be no different.

Their first 'solution' is invariably wrong. But spare a thought for their support staff (under-staffed or under-trained?), do they really have the time to read your problem? Clearly not, because they just skim through it. And so they generally completely misunderstand the problem.

As a result it is necessary to re-open the support ticket. This means your ticket goes to the back of the queue while you wait another 2-3 days. If you are lucky, the second reply may be adequate, so you will have waited 6 or 7 days in total. This must be 24/7 support in action.

Alas! This would not be Interland if things were always this prompt. I have in the past waited 21 days while Interland attempted to correctly setup a zone file for a domain. On major issues, support staff first go through a period of denial which last 7 - 9 days. This is followed by a period of pure incompetence which can last up to 5 days. Finally, after the head-scratching is complete, the staff must actually begin to work on the problem because then it is only another 5 or 10 days and they sort it out.

During these delays, you can mail any Interland address you can find. As you get desperate and you begin losing your own customers due to your hosting problem, you might even try the sales department and moan to your sales rep. The great thing about Interland is their ability to ignore you. You can fathom their staff's likely e-mail addresses by assembling the probable address using their surname and initial @interland.com. You know it reached them because it never bounced. Hell, you can fill in as many feedback forms as you like, but Interland just don't give one iota. It is remarkable that no matter what lengths you go to, they simply do not care. This is also evident by their lack of response to a public forum such as this one. 

The one good thing about these delays is they give you an opportunity to warn others. Like now, I have been waiting for a reply from them for 6 days. After 3 days, Interland gave their standard robotic (and incorrect) answer...and then closed my ticket on the 6th day.

In terms of support, I have come to expect nothing from Interland, and this is exactly what I get. A big 'Thank You' to Interland! You never cease to amaze me. In my books you will always be No.1 (so what if it's from the bottom).

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Terrible - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 23, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 23, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
We were unfortunate to have our host boughtout by Interland this spring. It's been a disaster ever since. Our site is now deathly slow most of the time, and it's unreachable entirely much of the time. Interland alternately blames this on malicious attacks on their servers and the moving of our site over to their servers. It's been nearly a month since the switchover and service has been terrible from the get-go. Trouble tickets are all but ignored by Interland. Trying to track a trouble ticket at their site is impossible most of the time, since they can't manage to get their _own_ site up.

Stay away.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Interland is Horrible! - Review by Old Burlee.com Customer submitted on April 23, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 23, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Apparently the "Fails Daily" Plan...
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Just the worst... We were on Burlee.com which was a GREAT plan, then Interland (IdiotLand?) bought them and nothing has worked well since.  Email goes down repeatedly, websites down for days at a time, polite but incompetent customer service reps, etc.  Would avoid at all cost!

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Disgruntled submitted on April 22, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 22, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Virtual Dedicated
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
These guys are horrible. A complete joke when it came to customer service. After a nightmare setup they DROPPED MY CALLS ON THE TECH SUPPORT LINE!

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Soon to be "ex-customer"... - Review by BC submitted on April 22, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 22, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
We were originally with Communitech and were very happy with our service.  CT was acquired by Interland and since that time, our up time is running around 40% Just today, I called into their support line (as I have done just about every day for the last 4 weeks) to inquire as to when our email and website would be back up.  The support rep indicated that a "technician had just made a change to our server (because I escalated the call) and it would be back up in 2 to 4 hours (propagation time).  Last straw.  Don't waste your $$ with these guys...

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Too angry to name a title - Review by submitted on April 22, 2003
Customer's web site: gardeners-bookstore.com
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 22, 2003): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Contracted for domain name registrations. They not only lost my domain, my copyright, but failed to help in any recovery. See our www.gardeners-bookstore.com site and click on Contractorswebsite.com for full text of the problems.  Do not use the Internet for www.contractorswebsite.com as the last we checked our copyrighted name was being used by Nationwide Marketing to market a porno site.

Three years work DOWN THE TUBES Because of INTERLAND's Failure to complete a contract. 

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Interland Sucks - Review by SLPAGE submitted on April 18, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 18, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
They bought out Communitech.net and everything that could go wrong did.  Problems are lasting 2-3 weeks before being corrected.  I'm bailing on them as quickly as possible

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Site chronically down - Review by Jared submitted on April 17, 2003
Customer's web site: www.keystonepictograph.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 17, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Website, MIVA store w/ SSL
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
In the past three months, my site has been down in the middle of the month for anywhere from three to six days. Very little is done to inform me of an ETA for a fix, to inform that there is a problem, or to tell me what the problem is. After my site is restored, it invariably takes at least another day to restore my online store, the most important aspect of the website. Interland never seems to take note that this additional feature needs attention after a server-wide outtage. I am facing bankruptcy because of the technical problems on my site. I'd estimate that the site has been down for at least 2 of the past 12 weeks.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Everyone Else Has Summed It Up Nicely... - Review by Jim Taylor submitted on April 16, 2003
Customer's web site: www.jtdata.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 16, 2003): N/A
Plan used: One of their Basic Plans a few years ago. They have changed.
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Can't say much more than what has been said.  The bad thing is they just bought Communitech, who was wonderful, so I am out looking again.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

INTERLAND STINKS!!!! - Review by submitted on April 16, 2003
Customer's web site: www.FosterParentTraining.com, www.AVegasWedding.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 16, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Don't know as they renamed all the Communitech plans.
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Interland just bought Communitech.  The past 3 weeks have been hell for all of CT's clients! Lots of down time (even at this moment), impossible to access their support by phone, etc.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Dodge Support Questions and Uptime - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 14, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 14, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I was with Communitech for 4 years and now they are owned by Interland. Interland took over in mid March with terrible results. My Web site goes down at least 3 times a week now for up to 12 hours at a time. As I write this my control panel and the support section of Interland/Communitech has been down for about 12 hours and comes up with a 500 Internal Server Error!

I open Support Tickets on problems and they close them without ever addressing them or notifying me about them. No response from them!! NONE. Also, Interland lies of when the site is down. I have done multiple traceroutes which all say the site is down. Interland support must be idiots as they make up the most insane excuses and then claim the site wasn't down when the traceroute shows it was!!!! I hate being treated like an idiot. That is so not cool for them. What a unprofessional company Interland is! Give it time as they will put themselves out of business due to terrible support. Over the past month I have had accumulated at least 3 solid days of complete Web site failure! Thanks Interland!!

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-100] [Reviews 101-150] [Reviews 151-155]

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.