Interland - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: Interland
Host URL:

Average customer rating: 2.07 out of 10 based on 156 votes

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-100] [Reviews 101-150] [Reviews 151-155]


 

SUXXX - Review by Andrej submitted on June 17, 2002
Customer's web site: www.handytel.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 17, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
They changed prices - never informed, they changed options and give less for more money, never informed. Long distance call (Europe to USA) with tech support for 1:45 hours?!!?
Didn't resolve anything.

They constantly play something and I lose files, or permissions.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Site always down, and a SCAM! - Review by submitted on June 15, 2002
Customer's web site: www.brandonfisher.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 15, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: True Advantage (IIS/ASP)
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
You can read everything at: http://www.brandonfisher.com/thatsucks/interlandwebhosting/

I prepaid for two years of service because when I asked James Walker at Interland "What happens if I decide I would like to shut down my site, or switch hosting services in a few months? what is the refund policy?" he replied "If you cancel within 30 days we give you a full refund. If you cancel after that, you will receive a pro-rated refund" I had no reason to doubt that because I trusted James, I had no reason to believe what he said wasn't true, and I couldn't find anything on Interland's web site about refund policies.

Now that I decided to switch hosting services, Interland is telling me it is not their policy to give ANY refund for prepaid service. I only used 2 1/2 months of service but they want to charge me for a full two year's worth of service (even though my site will no longer be taking up space on their servers, or using their bandwidth). NO PRORATED refund!!! They pulled the old "do you have it in writing" crap as if I had some reason NOT to trust what THEIR customer service (sales) representitive told me. A prorated refund sounded reasonable to me, it would have seemed unreasonable for me to ask for a transcript of our conversation in writing. Let me be clear, I was NOT asking them for a full refund, only a prorated refund.

The reason many companies give you a "discounted" rate when pay for a "term" up front is because they get to use or draw interest on that money right away, instead of yourself. Normally I wouldn't do that, but the risk was mitigated when James told me about the prorated refund policy.

So now... even though I have paid for it for the next TWO YEARS, I'm not using any space on Interland's servers, I'm not using any of their bandwidth, I'm not calling and using their technical support, AND they're drawing interest on MY money that I paid for service I'm not receiving.


Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Since ICOM take over worst CS - Review by Pat submitted on June 11, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 11, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: acquire - don't know what plan I'm on
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Before they took over ICOM my experience was great.  Since then it's been a nightmare and this is just a small private website use by a group of 14 people

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Crammed Slow Servers - Review by submitted on June 6, 2002
Customer's web site: www.tommycastro.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 6, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Windows Advanced (Shared Hosting)
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
I've had a number of very slow accesses when using FTP to update my site. About twice a month I get Server Not Available, Server Timed-Out, etc., where it grinds to a halt.  They have had problems providing space for my MS Access database queries.  The SQL Server database has run fairly quickly, by contrast.  Today I had a photo returned to the browser instead of my HTML page.  This being indicative of some major screw-ups on their server (I imagine!).

Their attitude is 'things are working now' (after awhile), and my favorite: Upgrade to a more expensive plan.

They may have been good a couple of years ago, but now I think they are trying to squeeze more profit out of their user base, by sacrificing space and performance.

I would look elsewhere, until they get their act together.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

They ate my unborn children - Review by submitted on June 3, 2002
Customer's web site: www.rclogic.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 3, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Simply tragically awful.  Caused many sleepless nights do to the painful and horrible service.  I have no finger nails now.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Lousy service - Review by submitted on May 18, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 18, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Made unauthorized charges to renew, dispite numerious request have still not heard from anyone in sales.  Their site for support is confusing

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Lousy customer service - Review by submitted on May 8, 2002
Customer's web site: www.pencilstubs.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 8, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I spent around 3 years with Interland, and only paid for the first year.  In the beginning I lost about a year and half of data collected due to their problems, and lost half of my hair trying to deal with their so called technical support.  I highly recommend steering wide of Interland.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Sucks and swallows - Review by Pencilneck submitted on April 28, 2002
Customer's web site: www.4130products.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 28, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: unknown, they took over Icom.
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Interland.com took over web hosting company Icom.com.  I was wondering why all of a sudden my web site went down, no email service and I couldn't log into my FTP server.  Very poor transition (misleading term, transition would mean some content was carried over).  Of course they are more than happy to try and bill me. 

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Tech support is awful - Review by submitted on April 27, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 27, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: True Advantage
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I have two domains with them. Tried to add email to one domain, but in the process they screwed up both of my email accounts. My company was without email for 36 hours. Incompetent idiots.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Don't use Interland - Review by Lee Weal submitted on April 27, 2002
Customer's web site: www.fivetonine.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 27, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Interland's customer service is the worst I have ever dealt with -- and I've been through many web hosts.  Their online service 'help' is extremely confusing and doesn't work.  They never respond to emails. Whatever you do, don't give your money to this company!

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Can't even renew a domain - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 21, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 21, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: True Basic
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I tried to renew a clients domain name which expired, of course never recieved a notification that it was due.  I called the sales rep to renew thought all was well a couple of weeks later checked the whois and it was never renewed.  Called a second time thought it was renewed waited a week checked the whois not renewed.  Called the incompetent sales rep to renew a again checked the whois 2 days later not updated and the domain was now available to be registered.  Called the sales rep left voice mail with my cell phone number and explained the problem they never called me back.  I ended up registering the domain new to protect my clients domain name they have it painted on a fleet of service vans.  I feel that they left me vulnerable to a lawsuit with my client if someone else registered their name.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

CGI gone fishing for 3 weeks on a Perl driven web site! - Review by Ricardo Aguilar submitted on April 15, 2002
Customer's web site: www.guame.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 15, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Unix hosting @ $50/month
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Call after call, email after email and in my site down for 3 weeks. The problem: All scripts stopped working at the same time. The resolution: the problem was never fixed, so I now host the site with another company. Here are some of the responses I got by email from Interland (note the dates):

Thank you for using Interland.  Your problem has been Escalated.

Please reference the Ticket Number: 635795 Opened on: 9/18/2001 4:55:48 PM if you encounter the same problem again.

Issue History on Ticket:
9/18/2001 4:57:43 PM - GEORGIA DIXON - Ricardo, said perl scripts just stop working.

Issue History on Ticket:
10/9/2001 2:35:28 PM - ELLENI ASSEGED - The customer has a perl script that stops executing.


Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Could care less, no time for customers - Review by submitted on April 13, 2002
Customer's web site: opticsarena.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 13, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
We have several sites up or going up with this abominable outfit. Miss reregistration by a day. Verisign sent them a fax on Monday telling to resubmit papers and text file. A10 minute job according to my Verisign rep.
One week later after several calls and emails, we have no one else to call. They can not stay in business like this

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

The absolute worst host I've used - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 4, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 4, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Was VServer Pro
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Another Vservers/Hostpro happy customer destroyed by Interland.  Stay away from these people at all costs! The only reason I give them a 2 rather than a one is because the site was often up.  I found customer support to be unavailable, incompetent and even hostile.  After I moved to a real company, they stated their intention to continue to charge me for service, refuse to cancel and threatened to turn me over to collections if I did not continue to allow them to charge me for services not rendered. (no contract) The only way I got them to stop charging my card was a specific threat of criminal fraud charges against their CEO with their local State's Attorney.  Truly a nightmare.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

bad service - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 2, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 2, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
Trying to get someone knowledgeable
on the phone when we had a
problem was difficult.  However,
our site was up and running most of
the time

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

bad sales reps - bad mergers - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 26, 2002
Customer's web site: i53.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 26, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: vserver pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
i was originally with Vservers which mergered with HostPro which was innocuous enough but then another merger with INTERLAND....bad...bad...they gave everyone their "OWN" sales rep...mine didn't know anything...first they wanted me to leave my vserver pro to one of their interland plans...none was as good as the vserver so we didn't change...then they altered the vserver pro from the original specs and only after alot of complaints from other vserver pro plan holders did they recant and go back to the orginal plan specs...then started the downtown...for one week not even one week ago we were down as much as we were up...when you called the tech they even had changed their recorded greeting to say they knew they had zone problems and were trying to fix it...as if to say 'don't talk with us ...just live with it until it's fixed'....back to my sales rep...the vservers nameserve is ns1.nameserve.net out of seatle...the interland nameserve is dns.? something out of atlanta...anyway...my brillant sales rep...told me when i added some new virtual hosts that i had to have my new hosts under the dns. nameserve and left my original 12 hosts under the ns.nameserve...which meant all my new clients could not get any mail as the info that i added was pointing to seatle when the new hosts were actually in atlanta...i knew the problem and tried to convey it to my rep who keep insisting that was not the reason for no mail...on top of that no dns managers are on staff at night and no one had the rights to fix anything on ns.nameserve...but when i talked with my rep of course he said they could have fixed it...that was when he still answered my emails...it finally got to the point he wouldn't answer my email or my calls ... i had to request formally a new sales rep as no one else was supposed to help me but him...the new rep...NEVER answered one of my emails or calls...so i have started the transfer of all of my hosts to another site....big hassle YES...worth it YES YES YES...


Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Mis-Represented - Review by ProAuto submitted on March 25, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 25, 2002): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
We were gauranteed no interuption of services in writting.  We've experienced interuption of email services every day since migration.  Not a single day has gone by that we haven't had some type of problem with the service from Interland.
Tech support don't know their rear-ends from a whole in the ground.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Interland's migration team is the most incompetent I have ever seen - Review by submitted on March 23, 2002
Customer's web site: www.tgpersonals.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 23, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: They never told me which plan I was migrated to, either.
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
My match making / personal ads web site was originally hosted with tricreations.com and had no real problems for almost two years.  Then Interland acquired Tricreations in a deal with Interliant.  On 12/30/01 I got an email saying that my site would be mirrored to Interland servers on 01/04/02 and that I would be contacted "within 72 hours" to check off on the new site before they swap over to it on the DNS. 
Nothing happened, so I tried to get a hold of someone at Interland to find out what went wrong but they never got back to me (other than to send me an email encouraging me to sign up for their Data Recovery Service at an additional per month fee).  I didn't worry about it any more.
Then on 02/13/02, right before Valentine's Day, my personals site became suddenly unavailable.  I called tech support and they told me they had no information about my site, other than that by looking at netsol.com they could see it was registered to the wrong DNS servers, so I would need to contact Network Solutions to update it to Interland's DNS servers myself! I found out my new IP address at Interland and how to FTP to it etc., got my site over at that IP address, contacted Network Solutions, and got the site back online in about a week. 
I thought my worries were over.
Then on 03/22/02, Interland replaced my live site with a month old copy they had pulled off the old Tricreations server! And replaced the front page of my site with a message that currently reads "[This site] recently moved to a new server.  Please click here to continue." But the link points back to the same page! It is a link back to itself! Plus, they wiped out all the scripts I had modified to run on their new server, as well as a month worth of user ads (placed since I had done my own back up via 56K modem of the entire ads database). 
I called tech support and they apologized but said they had not made a back up copy before replacing my site with a month old copy, so I would need to rebuild the site on my own, if I could.
Well, suffice it to say that the "moved to a new server" part will be right in a few days.  It just won't be an Interland server!

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

service is a mockery - Review by submitted on March 20, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 20, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 6 out of 10
My site is always up that I know of; so that part has been good for me but if you call for customer service they are pretty poor. The people don't kno wwhat they are talking about and they wnat to charge you for everything. The service is a mockery.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

stay away - Review by submitted on March 16, 2002
Customer's web site: www.graphictraphic.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 16, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: ecco
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
spotty email service, continually timesout sending and receiving, when it works at all. No problems with web service. Customer service responds fast and couteously but are of vitrually no help in that problems not solved. Was with ICOM previously, then the buyouts which were when problems began.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 15, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 15, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Linux Business Hosting
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Very reliable and quick to respond to support issues

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

They don't pay their bills - Review by submitted on March 13, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 13, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
This host was supposed to register
my domain name and set me up with an
area for my site.  They did those things,
but what they did not do is pay
internic for my domain registration.
For 3 months I got notices from
internic, and almost lost my domain
before Interland paid them - after
many, many phone calls from me.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

unending problem - Review by submitted on March 12, 2002
Customer's web site: duhita.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 12, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: ICOM
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
My service was originally with ICOM. After Interland bought them and they migrated my account, my website never worked properly.  Cgi mail script never worked. POP hardly worked. Lost business.  Non-existent customer service.  One guy refused to talk to me.  Online help request was never quite solved.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

POP3 disasters - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 11, 2002
Customer's web site: www.lswpub.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: ? it was transferred to them from Hostpro
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Although our web site seems to be operating OK, Interland is totally incapable of delivering reliable POP3 e-mail service.  My mail box is constantly out of service and their tech support doesn't know how to restore it in less than days!

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Lot's of problems - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 7, 2002
Customer's web site: continental-refrig.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 7, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: TrueBasic
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Had Hostpro until they were bought out by Interland. Conversion was a mess - sites were down, lost our email forwarding, and lost one of our sites. Had to open a new hosting account. Randomly, our email forwarding would reset to old addresses. Called support they would deny having any problems. Took about 4 tries to get it fixed. No documentation provided for admin. Auto update of reporting doesn't work. Looking to switch.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by June submitted on March 7, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 7, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Another "lost" ICOM site.  Happy with ICOM since 1999, no notice of changes.  Site just "disappeared".  Repsonse from email TS was "use online trouble form", which couldn't do because couldn't log in to support site.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

What a joke - Review by crash submitted on March 6, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 6, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Mission and Freedom originally from HostPro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Any company that makes it's resellers sit on hold for over 4 hours isn't worth the time of day. They have absolutely no concern for their customers and could care less about satisfaction. They hire techsupport based on their LACK of knowledge and hand them a knowledge base that is sorely lacking. They don't even know how to run their own servers! Need a DNS record fixed - forget it, they will just mess it up.

All they want is your money, they over charge for everything.

We didn't chose them, they merged with HostPro (who was GREAT).

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Evil Incarnate - Review by howard submitted on March 6, 2002
Customer's web site: www.starless.com
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 6, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Happy ICOM customer for over 2 years. They always came through.  Nothing but pain with Interland.  Email server is usually inaccessable; FTP often connects to others' sites instead of mine.  Lost files twice, with no apologies. Site down at least 15 times in three months.  Worst service I've ever experienced with any company in any business anywhere.  Praise be, contract is up & I'm looking for a new host.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Extemely poor hosting - Review by submitted on March 4, 2002
Customer's web site: www.docstrats.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 4, 2002): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Our customers report sending email and we never receive it.  Unable to access the administrative interface at times.  Email goes down periodically.

We were locked out of a secure section of our website for several days due to Interland's servers permissions not set correctly.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Want my VServers back... - Review by Steve Wagner submitted on March 4, 2002
Customer's web site: www.ciroque.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 4, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: VServers NT Lite
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Things have degraded rapidly since VServers was taken over by Interland.

Questions posed about upgrading my hosting are not met with direct answers, instead I am directed to the vague - and poorly hyperlinked - support pages which ultimately place you at the generic marketing page telling you the prices.

I have need to have custom ActiveX controls on the web server, VServers allowed me to do this, Interland does not.

I am still using the service but looking actively to change...

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

my site is lost - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 2, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 2, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: I don't even know what I was migrated to!
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Interland bought up AT&T's small business hosting. Including my account. Now my site is lost. They can't help me, I have to sit on hold again next week and hope for help. I have no email and no website.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

They killed me - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 1, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 1, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: $50
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Interland bought or somehow acquired ATT's small business hosting. Without warningl, they pulled my site off- and didn't bother to point to their new DNS (they could easily have done this through Network Solutions) After an hour trying to get through, i was told to have my site pointed to their name server...it will take three days. I have lost business and money because they really don't care.

I told them they may lose customers because of this, and the guy actually said they have "very understanding" customers.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Horrible service - Review by Yvonne submitted on March 1, 2002
Customer's web site: www.Gammon4Fun.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 1, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Support issues take days to resolve.  They do not shield their customers from maintenance.  The transition to Win2K caused my site to be down for days.  They changed their pricing structure so I had to downgrade to a lower priced package.  Interland decided that meant I needed to be on a different server.  For 4 days now my domain name gets a 404.  I cannot FTP to either the old site or the new site.  Absolutely no help other than e-mail claiming "everything is fixed". 

Interland accepts no responsibility for problems or overloaded servers.  They reply with inane suggestions that have nothing to do with the real issue.

I'm searching for a new host right now.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

stink stink stink stink - Review by submitted on February 28, 2002
Customer's web site: joesmachine.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 28, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
truely there isn't enough room here but i will abreviate, I was with icom for years, absolutely no problem at all, then interland bought them, site was down all the time, e-mail is a disaster, site finally works but e-mail never will. support is a push this number to that number finally ending up hanging up, e mail support is non existant, except for the automatic reply, lots of help,Ha ha. got to move right away, no choice, thanks for this site, i have learned a lot of others having simular problems, i wouldn't want to buy stock in that company. by the way i listed my email adress from them but it doesn't get thru, when i move it might work again, Joe

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

"lost" my web site - Review by DennisF submitted on February 28, 2002
Customer's web site: www.finnenterprises.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 28, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: eco
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Had my website for 3+ years with ICOM.  Interland bought them out and a few months later my site was "temporarily unavailable".  NO response from tech support for 9 days of downtime! Finally got an email saying - "sorry, we lost your site and can not recover it.  Want to rejoin with a higher priced package?".  They may suck, but they do have nerve!

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Pathetic - stay away from these people - Review by Rick submitted on February 23, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 23, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I had 2 domains with ICOM and Interland took them over in February.  The 'Migration' was the worst thing I have ever experienced on line! They lost all my content, they removed my MS Frontpage extensions, took a week to get them back up so I could replace all my content, then have the nerve to increase my rates! Just try ot get them on the phone or even find an address to email them, good luck. STAY AWAY FROM THESE IDIOTS. 

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

www.Interland Sucks.com - Review by Jon Fussle submitted on February 21, 2002
Customer's web site: www.jonfussle.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 21, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: I was with ICOM
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Hmmm... what to say.  I was with ICOM before they were sucked into that giant hole of a company, Interland.  I'd have given ICOM a 10 if they were still around.  I always had prompt service and so on... a 10 all the way around.  Now my e-mail never works, my website, thank god, is still up for the most part, and I've only had a hard time with FTP 1 out of 4 times... but I get on up to 10 times a week...  I'm just extremely frustrated with them, and if I can just figure out how to swich hosts... (thankfully my contract expires at the end of this month.) Good luck to anyone with Interland.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great - Review by submitted on February 19, 2002
Customer's web site: food.ginontap.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 19, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Freedom 250
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Their tech support is great, the quality of service is very good (there are occasional routing problems that aren't actually on there end, but it is a factor), and it's a great value for the price.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Get out of Interland !! - Review by Anonymous submitted on February 18, 2002
Customer's web site: duhita.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 18, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Absolutely horrible service. 
Unreliable. No support.
Just waiting to get out myself.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

HORRIBLE, AWFUL, The PITTS - Review by submitted on February 15, 2002
Customer's web site: www.covacvag.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
This company took over my previous web host's business and in the process knocked out my e-mail redirecting, guestbook and messageboard.  ALL without warning that they were doing anything! And to top it all off I spent over 30 minutes on HOLD trying to get to a technical support person.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on February 12, 2002
Customer's web site: www.pointafter.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 12, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Poor support. e.g., I submitted a problem on Jan 31st and as of Feb 10th, it wasn't solved.  They also deleted some of my .dat files and made no attempt to recover them.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Terrible Service - Review by Mark submitted on February 12, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 12, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Just to have a new DNS entry entered into their system has taken two weeks and it's still not complete.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Non-Existent Customer Service - Review by submitted on February 11, 2002
Customer's web site: www.valhallasf.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
During their aquistion of ICOM, Interland service has been horrible. I've lost access to FTP and my site has been down almost constantly. No "human" has answered the phone (after 30+ minute waits) or has personally responded to e-mails. I thought ICOM service was excellent. Now that Interland is running the show, I'm not very impressed.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Michael submitted on February 10, 2002
Customer's web site: www.scott-productions.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 10, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Due to buyouts originally begining with ICOM, then by Interliant, now by Interland - service & reliability have gone down. My sites and email have been inaccessible beyond a resonable amount of time.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Harry submitted on February 8, 2002
Customer's web site: tropicalgardensofmaui.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 8, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Never accepted any responsibility for down time or lost e mail. Very rarity responded to tech questions. They prefer to blame customer or suggest a completely irrelevant answer.
They dont seem to care about customers.
It's to bad a company that big that can spend all that money on those full page color ads doesn't put more into quality service.
This is a publicly traded company investors!!

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

very very lousy - Review by submitted on February 3, 2002
Customer's web site: www.essensa.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 3, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: true basic
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
The customer service is weak and delayed. the tech support services never get fixed the same errors are repeated every week.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Incredibly poor service - Review by Ted Green submitted on February 1, 2002
Customer's web site: www.vedit.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 1, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I originally hosted with "Hostpro" in 1997 when they were a small company and gave reasonable service. As Hostpro got larger, their service got worse. Now with Interland, it is complete dis-service. Ftp works one day and not the next. If you report any problem, they reset the DNS records to "default" which disables our email server. Even the most minor problem takes 3-5 days to maybe "fix". STAY AWAY! (Obviously I am looking for another hosting company.)

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Worst Service Ever Encountered. - Review by PaulS submitted on January 31, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 31, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Poor hosting services.
Shabby technical support.
Unable to deliver on contracted development services.
Sales people will promise anything (read lie) to get your business, and then lie about what was promised.
Management provides no help whatsoever!
Withholds deposits ... practically had to engage lawyers to get refund for services not provided (cancelled).
Avoid at all cost.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Worst Customer Care... - Review by Anonymous submitted on January 30, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 30, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: TrueBasic Linux
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I have hosted with Interland for the past 2 years, and have had nothing but grief with their customer service, and overall quality. My agent, was/is rude, and ignorant, although he is suppose to be one of the best in the company. This doesn't say much for the rest of their company unfortunately. I would not recommend anyone to this provider, unless you are in for a big let-down. Sorry, I don't like slandering, but this company needs great improvement.

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Poor Service, Unprofessional Behaviour - Review by submitted on January 30, 2002
Customer's web site: www.chasedomain.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 30, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I subscribed for hosting the site at hostpro which was acquired by Interland. Despite their claims of 24 X 7 support, the support was atrocious both during and outside office hours. I cancelled the service within 3 days and asked for a refund. (I was verbally told that, if dissatisfied, I can cancel the order withoin the first month). I did not even receive an acknowledgement. Since then I have sent several reminders to them but they have kept on deducting the money from my account. Ultimately, I had to cancel my credit card with my card company. Now I receive emails from them saying that they will suspend a service that they have not been providing in the first instance!

Representative of Interland?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-100] [Reviews 101-150] [Reviews 151-155]

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.