Jumpline.com - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: Jumpline.com
Host's Web Site: Jumpline.com Web Hosting
Click the link above to visit this host's site

Average customer rating: 2.09 out of 10 based on 77 votes

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-75]


 

general - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 16, 2003
Customer's web site: www.outofthewater.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 16, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: VDS500
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Terrific reliability, good support.  The only thing I don't like is that they do not stay on top of upgrading things like PHP and MySQL.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

24/7? - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 5, 2003
Customer's web site: www.bananaseat.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 5, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Basic Plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
A support team working round the clock has left my site 100% down for 3 weeks...for the 2nd time...in an 8 week period.

First time it was fixed with no explanation. Do you really need more details than that? I have them.

I bet if I try to register jumplinestinks.com with them, after I finally get this site off of their system, they might get the hint.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

DISASTER, DISASTER, DISASTER - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 14, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 14, 2003): Private
Plan used: VDS 500
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
DODGING EMAIL TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS.  ASKING A QUESTION, NEVER GETTING AN ANSWER.  UPGRADED TO VDS1000, AND SITE WENT DOWN, LOST EMAIL, LOCKED OUT OF FTP....ALL THIS,AT NO EXTRA CHARGE.


Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Jumpline is quite good, as low-cost web hosts go - Review by submitted on July 13, 2003
Customer's web site: www.lindseyhaun.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 13, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: basic service
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
I have had many inexpensive web hosts over the past 6 years, and frankly, most of them were poor. Inexpensive web hosts are NOT for newbies or the faint of heart.  If you need TLC, then you will pay for it.

Jumpline is the first host I found that offers a reasonable trade off between up time and cost.  They are worth what they charge, and their downtime is minimal.  They have very nice documentation which is current and useful. They also normally respond to my requests for assistance.  Note that I always check the documentation before asking for assistence.

I was with Jumpine when they upgraded in early 2002.  It was, frankly, a disaster.  My site was down for a week, and then when it came back, it was a month-old copy of the site.  Being an IT professional myself, I had my own backups and quickly restored the site.  I did, however, loose all of my mailing lists. Aside from that bad experience, Jumpline has been quite good.  They are the 4th web host I have had since I started with Geocities back in 1997-1998.

I would not trust ANY inexpensive web host with the security of my data or the integrity of my mailing lists or databases.  At my previous web host, Tera-Byte.com, my MySQL database dissappeared one day, and their management suggested that my PHP code (containing only INSERT and UPDATE statements, must have somehow caused the problem---and there was no possiblity of restoring the database.  That debacle cost me several months of valuable data and caused me to switch from tera-byte to jumpline.

I have priced 'better' web hosts, and they run 3-5 time the price that Jumpline charges me.  Frankly, for the amount I pay, Jumpline offers a very decent level of service.

You get what you pay for.  If you want cheap, then you have to be flexible.  It is better to make do with something that works AND is affordable.  Jumpline works AND they are affordable.

Earlier this year (2003), I went ahead and hosted my own personal website with Jumpline. I am happy with the level of service I receive on that site also.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Class action tort (lawsuit) - Review by Webmaster submitted on June 29, 2003
Customer's web site: CFOGlobal.net
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 29, 2003): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
IMHO Jumpline.com needs to hear from an attorney. If anyone wants to join in on a "class action" contact me. Jumpline.com has put the hurt on my business. I plan to retaliate, legally.

For those interested contact me personally @ maddog@nethere.com

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Jumpline Is Awful! - Review by CFO Director submitted on June 28, 2003
Customer's web site: www.cockfightsonline.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 28, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Reseller VDS Account
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
For fear of being censored, I will say only this: Save yourself a lot of time and heartache and DON'T use Jumpline.  Their after-hours online "24/7" customer service is horrible and not at all expeditious.  One example of this - when we first started with them, the whole account became so messed up they had to delete it and start again (uploads and all), then later, I kept getting errors, and they finally discovered it was still feeding off the deleted "ghost" account settings (which still remains to this day!)

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Totally worthless - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 11, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 11, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: vds500
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
The VDS technology is a good idea, but Jumpline restricted it so much that it is totally worthless. They advertise "6 websites for $14.95 a month", but that is misleading. what you get is 6 virtual hosts instead (domains or sub-domains). They don't allow remote access to the database, their control panel is a total disaster and I can go on and on. Just wasted the $30 setup (I should know better) and a lot of time trying to make the darn thing work. AVOID IT AT ALL COST!

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Control Panel upgrade cost me my mailing list - Review by submitted on June 10, 2003
Customer's web site: helgen.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 10, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Jumpline was a decent, reliable host with next day email support. Then they upgraded the control panel with no notice and wiped out my email list. The tech support offered no solution but to type in the list again by hand. No backup, no workaround, no import or export.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

How to lose customers in a hurry! - Review by submitted on June 2, 2003
Customer's web site: www.kiboho.co.za
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 2, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
While I was out of the country my credit card details changed. Before I had an opportunity to update the details and pay for the month's service, all my web-site details were wiped off their system with no opportunity for retrieval. I am not surprised when I read about other people's experience with this lousy company.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

They've done it again - Review by Anna submitted on April 26, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 26, 2003): N/A
Plan used: Plus and Reseller
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Jumpline has now changed their services and now only ofer two plans. Older plus and standard users were not informed of the changes. If you are a jumpline customer on the plus plan you will be paying the $24.95 a month for 300 megs and new customers are paying $14.95 for the same thing. I asked them about this and was told the $14.95 plan is yearly, and that if I wanted it I would have to sign up as a new customer and pay setup fees. I have been a customer at Jumpline for over three years. They could have at least given us an option to upgrade or at least told us they were making these changes.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Upgrade was really downgrade - Review by anonymous submitted on April 3, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 3, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
This company ran fine for six months, after which they did an "upgrade" which wreaked all kind of havoc both on our site, server performance, and their customer service. And the transition was not handled properly as well. Since the upgrade in late winter, '02, the support was abysmal.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Is this cheating? - Review by Hal submitted on March 11, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 11, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: basic
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
OK, they automatically charge your credit card when the next term comes up. But I cancelled Jumpline service the day before and still get charged for the next month I'm not using. I complain. Answer, "That's the way we set up our billing computers to work. There's nothing I can do." Does everybody have to squeeze the last dollar?
I change my primary and secondary name servers fields at Network Solutions to that used by my new ISP. The page accepts the change, but when I check again after 72 hours, Jumpline is back in the fields. I finally place a problem call to VeriSign. A week after that the change finally propagates. I don't know that Jumpline had anything to do with my DN problem. But the money sours my opinion of Jumpline. I never did like their current administration interface.


Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Poor Customer Service - Review by Susan submitted on March 5, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 5, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
On a recent issue I called to renew a domain name...I was told 'no problem, we'll take care of it'...well they didn't, now my client's domain name is in redemption and they cannot or I should say will not help rectify their mistake...needless to say as a web designer holding 40-45 accounts with them...I'm moving ALL OF THEM!!!!!

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

They Denied My Cancellation - Review by submitted on February 27, 2003
Customer's web site: nolongerthere.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 27, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: standard
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I started out thinking very highly of JumpLine.Com.  When they changed their control panel, they went from good to poor.  I heard that they were using Alabanza before, but I don't know who they're using now. The Alabanza control panel was the main draw for JumpLine.Com.

Anyway, I tried to cancel a domain, after the change happened.  They renewed me because I didn't cancel the day before my domain expired.  OK, it made me mad, but I accepted my mistake.  However, I cancelled all of my domains at that point.  All hosting accounts were cancelled on their web site interface (which gives you NO CONFIRMATION).  When the expiration date arrived, instead of cancelling my account, they renewed it, charged my credit card, and refused to refund the money.  They denied that any cancellation was ever requested. 

Since they don't provide confirmation, it becomes the customer's word against theirs.

I am in the process of getting the charge removed from the credit card.  I also contacted the BBB, the Attorney General of Ohio and am searching for other avenues to correct this abuse.  They will probably get away with what they did, but I will make them earn their ill-gotten booty. 

Please folks, make sure you report businesses like JumpLine.Com to the appropriate agencies.  It helps other people to not fall into the same trap.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

terrible - Review by Maisha submitted on February 21, 2003
Customer's web site: serviceproject.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 21, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: 14.95/month
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Based on the variety of services they provide, Jumpline would be a fabulous host - if only the services actually *worked*! Even after the "upgrade" last year in which they had the audacity to change all the directory structures and paths to things like perl and mysql so that none of my perl programs worked any longer, and I had downtime and things didnt work for seemingly no reason (i second someone else's comment that they are not very proactive about acknowledging bugs) I stayed with them because they offered so many features.  But recently i tried to access a mysql database that i've had with them for years and it wouldnt work.  after speaking to someone who admitted he didnt know anything about mysql or perl, i got blown off by customer support.  that was the last straw.  i'm looking elsewhere and would not recommend this company.  if they are ever able to get through their growing pains i'd reconsider them.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great host! - Review by submitted on February 20, 2003
Customer's web site: utrove.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 20, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: There Pro plan
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
This people are great! any time I had a question or problem, they helped me out right away! There csr's were verry friendly and knowledgeable and were patient with me during my growing pains! Recommend them to everyone I talk to!

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Jumpline really sucks. - Review by Anonymous submitted on January 24, 2003
Customer's web site: www.cryptonomicon.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 24, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: standard
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I'm not sure where to begin other than to say that for over two years I put up with their pitiful service because I'm too lazy to move my domain and I wasn't sure I would be moving to someplace worse. So... let's see... what bad things did they do..

Start off by looking at the Ohio Better Business Bureau. There are about 8 unanswered complaints about these jokers.

Missing Files: So.. my site just stopped working. I ssh'd in to discover that a couple critical .php files were just plain missing. Tech support can't tell me where they are.

DNS is down (again): Every now and again DNS goes down, and you can't get an authoratative answer. Tech support can't even spell DNS.

Severe Password Damage: Something happened a couple months ago and the web-form based site admin tool that I ocassionally use stopped working. I.e. it wouldn't let me log in. During this time frame I couldn't do database admin through the command line either. Nor could I change my email password(s). Apparently they have a master file of passwords for all the different tools they use. By default, they go in and copy the same password everywhere. After a couple of weeks, someone there finally noticed they had prepended two spaces in front of one of the passwords.

Wild disk usage / database flag for MySQL: During the above problem, tech support activated debug mode for MySQL without telling me. Before I knew what happened, I had a 150 Mb log file. I asked support to turn debug mode off. After about three days they admitted that they didn't know how to do this and that they would have to call tech support for the company that sold them their hosting software to figure out how to do it. After another week, no reply; no reply after two weeks. After three weeks of really large log files, they said they wouldn't turn off debug mode and that I shouldn't have turned it on (funny thing is.. they're the ones that turned it on.) Eventually I figured out that I could just softlink the logfile to /dev/null and restart MySQL.

Random outage. "oh. we had to go down for maintainence." is something you hear a lot.

Lost mail. If you go over quota, new mail is silently deleted. What you're supposed to do is bounce back to the sender indicating that the message couldn't be delivered.

More password problems. Web server was misconfigured to allow links back to the rest of the filesystem. Attacker figured this out, grabbed the master password file mentioned above, rooted my box.

Router misconfiguration. Couldn't route to my server from asia for a couple of weeks. During debug, their "network engineer" asked me what traceroute was.

SSL problems. We never got SSL to work. They inserted some bizarre configuration directive into their virtual hosting environment. Nothing I did could get anything other than text/html to come across an SSL link (i.e.-images and stylesheets had to come across non-SSL.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Don't use them - Review by Bruce submitted on December 19, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 19, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Dedicated VDS
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I used their "dedicated VDS" package. They would not support addition of any of the common perl modules (DBI, DBD, math, etc.).

Their support supervisor was arrogant and belligerant. He even laughed as I was told they did not support things.

This is the poorest support I have ever encountered!

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Jumpline a VERY POOR hosting choice! - Review by submitted on October 30, 2002
Customer's web site: audio-restoration.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 30, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: $14/month, 50 mb storage.
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Just too many problems with these people.  They claim 24/7 support, however you will find this is not the case, at least certainly not by telephone.
I had paid monthly for some time, then took a yearly payment arrangement.  After their "upgrade" debacle, few things worked properly, and I could not use my preferred browser (Netscape 4.7) to work on my site or "control panel", and had to use IExplorer instead.  Complaints about this fell on deaf ears at Jumpline.

They put my site out of commission for days at their "upgrade" time... some IDIOT renamed my index page to something else making my site in-accessible to my clients!

In short, these people have messed up big time in too many areas... they are not pro-active and really don't seem to pay any attention to the customer service aspect of their business... in fact, it is mostly "customer dis-service".
I have cancelled my hosting with them and moved to another company.

As a last insult added to injury, Jumpline would not refund a pro-rated balance of what I had paid them for the year.  It amounted to $53.56 which isn't a really big deal, but it certainly reveals the pettiness of the organization.  Oh yes, they will credit my account with them for that amount, and maintain the credit for one year, whereupon they will absorb the amount if not used.
I suppose I could register another domain name with them and then transfer it to another registrar when the account is used up, but that is about all I could do to use the balance.  I would certainly NEVER use them again for hosting after my current experiences with them.

Do yourself a BIG favour, save yourself the grief, and don't deal with them.


... Graham Newton

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

The Best - Review by submitted on September 27, 2002
Customer's web site: cdlnow.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 27, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Plus
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I think its the best hosting company on the market today. I know they had some problems with their converstion but now they are adding produts everyday and the customer support get back within 30 minutes how much better can it get.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on September 21, 2002
Customer's web site: www.rainforestart.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 21, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: $34.95... They don't offer it anymore
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I was a jumpline customer for about three years with no problems but when they changed over to a new system around March of 2002, I couldn't even upload files to my web site.  They kept trying to fix the problem but were not able to get my site up. 

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

missing files, missing site... no return emails! - Review by Anonymous submitted on September 19, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 19, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Plus
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
When Jumpline changed their control panels all around, it threw me a little bit, but I got used to it... but one day everything seemed to be missing! My webpage would not show up, and my file manager indicated that everything was gone!! Of course we panicked, there was a lot of lost work... repeated emails, NEVER a reply... and then one day, it all came back (this was after a period of at least several days, if not a week).  We were still billed for that period of time and NEVER heard ANYTHING back from their support department.

on the up side their prices are good and they offer a lot.  but we will be switching soon because we want to use our site for e-commerce and quite frankly another outage like that could put us out of business!

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Jumpline, go away. - Review by Dave submitted on September 18, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 18, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Premium
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I cant add much more to what everyone
has said other than jumpline wasnt
bad before their merger but after the
merger, you couldnt get a straight
answer from anybody.  Spend your
money elsewhere.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

The upgrade that turned into a downgrade - Review by D. Gunn submitted on September 18, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 18, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Good host until the upgraded their servers earlier
this year.  Now they have a mountain of problems
and customer service is not able to respond to them.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Badest service of all times - Review by submitted on July 20, 2002
Customer's web site: www.trademile.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 20, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Standard plan $14.95 per month
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
At my opinion the make the badest service of all times, my website is down up to 4 time per day, web monitoring service detects some timeouts per day. No explanation from host service people for all that.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Not too bad - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 17, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 17, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: standard
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
I have had my site with Jumpline for the past 5 years... For the price, it is a good deal.  Granted, the net interface "upgrade" is not as good as the old, but their customer support and tech support has improved greatly.  You need to know what you are doing to use this hosting company.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Colin Teubner submitted on July 9, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 9, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Pro
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10


Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Worst ever - Review by submitted on June 19, 2002
Customer's web site: www.ukchauffeurs.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 19, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Standard and Plus plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10

They were kiked out by Alabanza
for not paying their bills
and as such did not get their
contract renewed and failed to warn their
clients of the problem which caused
many sites ours included to desapear
for two weeks no email were answered
they put their interest before
their client their selfish
action caused us to loose our high ranking
in a major search engine
also their new control panel is the worst i ever seen
Don't even think about using them!

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

OK Start - killed themselves with the "Upgrade" - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 10, 2002
Customer's web site: www.distraxshuns.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 10, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: standard
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I have had our band's website hosted with Jumpline for 3 years, und have had a few annoying problems over the years.  Mainly having to do with the RealAudio Server.  Each time I would contact Jumplineand they would write me back, usually within 24 hours, with a snotty mesage saying that everything worked fine and they didn't see anything wrong.  Low and behold when I went and checked it out it did work fine.  After doing some research it turns out that it worked fine only because they went in and changed the .ram files.  From the looks of it, they kept changing server ports without telling anyone, and only when I complained they would fix the problem them selves and then treat me like I was crazy.  Whatever...

Then came this "upgrade" they went through.

It was not an upgrade by any means.  Yes they may have better hardware and software than before, but who cares when the interface is harder to use, you get charged for the space their software takes, and we lost about %80 of the features the old interface had.

The worst part was the way they screwed up the e-mail system.  I am just glad we are a band with only 12 e-mails or it would have taken me forever to sort out and fix the 50 e-mails allowed on the site with the plan I had.

They claimed that they did daily backups to there system and all sites housed there, but after the upgrade of the site I was suddenly seeing the site as it was 3 months ago, before a total redesign.  My e-mails were replaced with ones even older than that.  One was put back on from a guy that hadn't been in the band for a year.

I was getting a terrible reponse from their "customer support" people until I emailed them a copy of their own service agreement highlighting where they did not follow the terms.  Since then customer supports whole attitude changed, for a wek or so, then it was back to normal snotty responses.

The site was paid for up through July, and that is when I will be moving it.  I am rebuiling the redesigned site to put with a new hosting company.

I guarantee that I will be doing my research this time.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

From a decent start to a sad flop - Review by Rick submitted on May 27, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 27, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: Standard reseller -- $12.50/per domain
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
When I first started hosting with Jumpline in '99, it was actually a half-decent service. I had an IP address for every domain, they had a decent control panel, as well as a reseller's version of the control panel to manage accounts, etc... I really had no complaint.

Then, service began to get dramatically slower. Neither PHP or MySQL were kept up-to-date, and sometimes changes I made in the control panel weren't applied. After a few months of this continual slowing of service, I complained to tech support. They didn't bother to get back to me for a month, and then advised me that there would be an "upgrade". This upgrade is the single miggest joke I have ever seen. The control panel, while somewhat klunky-looking, had at least served its purpose. Now it was replaced by this weird Sphera package, that essentially did NOTHING, other than give you the illusion of control by letting you change a few minor settings. I complained again, and by the time they responded to my complaint a month later, I had already decided to move all my sites to a dedicated server at Dialtone Internet.

Good bye, and good riddance.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Couldn't get any worse than this - Review by submitted on May 26, 2002
Customer's web site: skerrigan.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 26, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Standard
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
The speed was very slow in my area (S Fla). Too often I was simply unavailable, which of course brought complaints from my customers.

After the (suprise) upgrade I was unable to access my database, and e-mail to tech support went un-answered.  And gone was SSH access, also.  Some upgrade!

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

WARNING - DON'T USE JUMPLINE - Review by Mike Brewer submitted on May 17, 2002
Customer's web site: www.sa-wa-ro.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 17, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Pro
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Since their 'upgrade' (ha!) bad got worse got to impossible. Their inhouse software takes up space in my paid for space, they loaded up a 3 week old version of the site, with many pages missing, hackers used their formail cgi to hack into my email and send out spam so that I ended up with over 10,000 returned emails - which filled up all my webspace plus many many more problems. I have now left them and I am trying to get my money returned.
Whatever you do - DON'T use Jumpline.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Down and Slow - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 9, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 9, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Ever since they transfered over to their "new & improved" alliance, access speed has dropped, down time has risen and support all but died.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Deepak submitted on May 2, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 2, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: 2 plans - 2 sites
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Totally disorganized - they moved and whatever value they did provide went down the drain.
Customer support is clueless about user impact of changes.
Management is totally clueless about change management.
All that translates to bad business.
They lost functionality in the move.
They lost my data.
They lost my Web Site.
They lost my emails.
Not much left.
And they won't refund!
Don't go there and if you are jump before it is too late!

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

No More Excuses - Review by submitted on April 30, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 30, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Standard, Plus and Pro plans
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
This company is without a doubt totally messed up RIGHT NOW!

I have had six client's domains hosted with this company for the past year.  Translation: My reputation as a computer/web host consultant has been seriously damaged because of the trust I put into Jumpline.com!

Server uptime couldn't possibly be better then 85%.  I am 100% serious about that.

I am in the middle of attempting to transition my last two client domains away from them.  I haven't been able to get any response from them in weeks. 

I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO MY WORST ENEMY.



Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

No Support and Poor Maintenance. - Review by Scott submitted on April 10, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 10, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Jumpline changes their without letting users know and when you call or email them no one ever gets back to you!

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Jumpline Has NO Support - Review by Joseph Wilk submitted on March 24, 2002
Customer's web site: designcentercarpets.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 24, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: "Plus"
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
All told I have bee a customer for two years: Two with one my band's ebsite and one with business site.

I have been, for the last FOUR MONTHS, trying to get these bozos to explain why I cannot access mysq database via PHP. Can't connect, can't print the dreaded "Hello World" script, nothing. They won't even tell me what command to use to connect to the database!

Of course, I followed the advice of their "support" page, and bought several books (well over $150.00) to try and figure it out myself...To no avail.

Oh yeah: they just changed their servers without telling anyone before had (I guess all of us backing our stuff up would slow the servers down; heaven forbid the customer be apprised of anything!)

I had better service from the free hosting folks at Dreamwater: I got answeres to questions within hours instead of days or weeks. I only left the free hosting sites because of the banners they put up there...



Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Avoid Jumpline; Try Assorted Internet - Review by submitted on March 20, 2002
Customer's web site: www.perezkrewe.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 20, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Plus Plan -- 200MB space, $25/month
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Avoid Jumpline, I recommend AssortedInternet
For the last two years, I have hosted my site with jumpline.com.
Initially, I was thrilled with their service, support, and response time. However, I found that when I had more complicated problems, their support was sorely lacking. It doesn't matter that your response time is less than one hour if your response is useless.

In particular:

**I have never been able to SSH in from a Linux platform; I tried on 4 different computers from 4 different networks. Jumpline was distinctly unhelpful - "its not our problem, its yours"
**I have repeatedly asked jumpline for HTML::Template; they repeatedly responded that it "might be available in the future", but not necessarily soon.
**They lost my data twice, and their backups were always more than two months old. I have had to re-write scripts for my site more than one time.

Recently, jumpline "upgraded" their service. In the process, they lost all of our mail, re-installed two-month old data, lost the DBI programming module and refused to re-install it, set up a "virtual server" system that won't allow the use of scp for file copies, and implemented many other inconveniences. When they told me that they would not re-install DBI and I should re-write all my code to work without it, I started looking for a new hosting provider.

I found assortedinternet.com on webhostratings.com -- where they are rated a 10, but they were only rated by one person. I figured that was a good sign - people usually don't bother to rate services unless they are *unhappy*. For the same price as Jumpline, I was offered more space, more databases, more everything. THEN, when I e-mailed Assorted Internet about DBI and HTML::Template, their response was so refreshing -- "we ought to have it, but we'll be glad to install both for you if we don't" -- that I was immediately sold.

THEN - when I started moving stuff off the jumpline server onto the Assorted Internet server, I got such great support *as well* as a fast response time that I had my entire site working again in *ONE DAY*. Before I switched services, I had struggled with Jumpline for *TWO WEEKS* and had not made any progress in restoring the site they destroyed.

Most of the support Assorted Internet gave me has been simple question and answer, but there are two instances that stand out as extremely helpful -- the un-questioning installation of VIM (as opposed to straight vi) without argument and within hours, and
helping me work around what was offered through the online control panel when it limited my options. With Jumpline, I've been so used to not getting what I want and being thwarted when I try to do anything outside of the control panel that I have been stunned by the speed and *usefulness* of the support at Assorted Internet.

I'm posting everywhere I know to encourage people not to use Jumpline -- or to encourage them to leave Jumpline if they haven't yet. There *are* better hosting providers out there!!! I'm just sorry it took me 2 years to start shopping around....

-aodom



Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Jump ship on Jumpline...and fast! - Review by andy submitted on March 19, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 19, 2002): N/A
Plan used: standard
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
After two weeks of getting their email tech support that was useless I finally got through to their phone tech support. What I expected was true: The unannouced upgrade that they did had bad code which screwed up my quota for my two domains which somehow kept me from getting email. These guys need to be sued! To make things worse, they have the balls to send me an invoice. For what? I will be filing a complaint with my visa card company and will fight this invoice. I'm off to find another host. They have no remorse and offer no remuneration. Their tech guy said that they "had" to do the upgrade quickly which caused the problems. Boy, did they screw this one up.
Andy

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

TERRIBLE!! - Review by submitted on March 19, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 19, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Standard
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I have been with jumpline for over a year now.  At first, I had no problems, not a whole lot of down time, and phone tech support.  Then, my email would be down every other day, and on the "other" day, my site would be down! I was on the phone with them almost every week asking what the hell was goping on.  Now, they have deleted half of my site, and it had reverted to a version from DECEMBER!!! No more phone tech support, no email response to my neumerous requests for help. 
I sell retail on the web and this had impacted my business in a terrible way.  People are ordering things from me that have been out of stock for months.  I am also not getting emails anymore, I guess that my email is down yet again.  BOTTOM LINE>>>>Jumpline has screwed up my business for the last 2 MONTHS!! The upgrade was not executed well, and as a result, I belive that Jumpline will be having big problems of their own.  I am jumping off of the boat, and far way from jumpline! Don't fix it if it isn't broken!!

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Say good-by to jumpline - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 19, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 19, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Standard
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I used to be a happy customer but their recent *upgrade* has been a complete fiasco. Say good-by to jumpline and I shall never deal with them.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

From OK to Really Really Bad - Review by Daniel submitted on March 18, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 18, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Recent upgrade a disaster. Half my site disappeared.  Front Page no longer works.  No response to support requests.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

who pulled the plug? - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 15, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 15, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: standard
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I have had three domains hosted at Jumpline.com, the longest for about 3 years.  They are all being moved to other hosts.

During the recent "upgrade":
- websites down for 4 days.
- email broken.
- annoying changes to login procedures.
- breaking of access methods.
- email support almost non-existent.

It is fair to say that new customers joining after the upgrade might not experience this trouble but there are so many other hosting companies to choose from.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

I've had it - Review by submitted on March 15, 2002
Customer's web site: www.firstbaptistchurcheagleriver.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 15, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: basic
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Things were OK until they made this big upgrade. Now my files are corrupt. Directorys are missing. text is scrambled in my files. No one responds to my support requests. I was not given notice so I could properly back up my files. My site has been down for 2 weeks now. No direct phone numbers are available. I think these guys are going under. They say they are partners with Quest Communication. Go to Quest and see if they mention Jumpline.com as a partner. Is this a mini Enron? Maybe time for a class action suite. I am having to answer to alot of people and I have no answers yet I continue to receive junk e-mail from Junkline.com telling me how great the new upgrade is.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Upgrade is Poor, lost data, lost address book, I am leaving them - Review by submitted on March 15, 2002
Customer's web site: www.tripirecords.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $25 plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I was two years with Jumpline without any problems. After the upgrade things are getting worse. Lost address books lost HTMLs etc etc.

I do not think they will get any better now with all the people leaving them!!!

It is a shame!!!

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Upgrade problems; lack of communications - Review by submitted on March 15, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 15, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Their support on this has been inadequate.  Can't find my data, may have been lost.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 15, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: standard
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
My site's been unavailable for a week because of Jumpline's botched server upgrade and tech support won't respond to email or accept phone calls!!! They are a disaster.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

No service - Review by submitted on March 14, 2002
Customer's web site: www.felver.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 14, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Plus
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I have 5 sites hosted by jumpline.com.  They started off with good service.  March 6th 2002 jumpline started upgrading their site.  All websites that I have were down on and off.  E-mail was lost, data was lost.  Jumpline must not know what a current backup is, because data was restored from old sources.  Their customer service has went to no customer service.  They do not allow you to talk to anyone on the phone since their upgrade.  Support requests have been answered with generic replies. 

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

These guys don't have a clue - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 14, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 14, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Standard Plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I was pretty happy with the these guys until the "upgrade"?. They never did have 99.9% uptime, as advertised, but the site statistics were good.  But now there is absolutely no support.  They disconnected the phone support and do not reply to email requests.  They didn't use the current backup so my site is out of date and I am unable to re-publish it. There was no advance notice of changes, email wasn't working, etc, etc.  You are on your own with this service.  If you want to be embarassed go ahead and sign up, otherwise find another host. That's what I'm going to do.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Unbelievably bad - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 13, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 13, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: standard
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
These guys started out great -- no problems and very cheap price.  If something ain't broke you shouldn't fix it, but these guys had an "upgrade" that ruined everything.  Web site down, emails bounce, and worst yet -- NO CUSTOMER SUPPORT.  I've been filling out online support request forms for days begging them to contact me.  They don't respond.  They don't even admit there's much of a problem on their web site.  No apologies, no indications of when these problems might be fixed.  These guys are horrible.  I am so outta this plan.  Stay away from these guys, unless you hate yourself.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-75]

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.