OLM - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: OLM
Host URL:

Average customer rating: 6.79 out of 10 based on 41 votes


 

Untitled - Review by Scott K. submitted on August 30, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 30, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: basic e-commerce
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
Very good 24hour service.  Had to call them several times around midnight and they were right there.  Inexpensive and very reliable, site was never down.  Good value, good stats, so-so ecommerce tools (but they were free!).  Recommendable to your friends, not to your competition.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Reliable hosting, great support - Review by submitted on August 26, 2003
Customer's web site: abacuswebservices.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 26, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Reseller
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Over 2 years of hosting multiple sites OLM have proved themselves to be one of the best in the business.

While uptime is first class when you do have an issue support can be reached quickly and 99% of the time issues are resolved on the spot. On the occassions when this has not happended the follow up call has alway been successful.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 22, 2003
Customer's web site: www.vtcucc.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 22, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have had minimum problems...

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

OLM Is A Disappoinment - Review by Ed M submitted on August 19, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 19, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I've been a customer of OLM for more than two years and for the most part, the service has been quite good. On 8/18/03, the server my web page and email was on failed and all was lost. When I was able to log in as admin, all users were gone, all email boxes were gone. When I asked support why this happened, I was told "they don't provide backup for email."
The TOS states they don't provide routine backups, but this is unacceptable. I have backups of my files, but I can't backup my users.
I suspect other hosts would tell you the same thing, I just expected more from this company. I'll keep my domain here for a while, but will eventually look to moving the email to my own server.


Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Scott Roberts submitted on July 29, 2003
Customer's web site: heelspurs.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 29, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: the $29.95 plan
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I've been with them 6 years. Tech support answers phone very quickly. Their skill and level of "care" is very good. They stick with you until the problem is solved. I do not expect any company to be better. I have perfect freedom in breaking things on my own, and they'll get it fixed.  Here are the only problems i've had. 4 years ago there was a time when their secure server certificate expired so customers got a message.  3 or 4 years ago, i had problems with their secure server being overloaded at lunch. I don't know about today but they used to not notify you about bandwidth and space being near the limit and Monday morning your site would be dead with customers getting the message something like "You do not have permission to access this site." Sales department has never been as friendly as tech. There seems to be a gap or even lack of communication between them, but that might be a good thing.  They seem to be getting even better at support: 10 seconds instead of 30 seconds to get a techie on the phone and better professional tracking of on-going issues through email: they and you KNOW if your problem is fixed or not.  They've pissed me off at times on some, but i'm picky, they're getting even better, and i wouldn't dream of leaving.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

OK - Review by Ryan submitted on July 9, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 9, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
Uptime has been a problem, and customer service can be slow, but the packages are well worth the money they charge.  Getting additional software installed (those that require root access), are charged at $100 per hour! Thats a bit high.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Confusing fees for over bandwidth usage - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 30, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 30, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: I went with a plan in effect via CNet at the time, with 8G bandwidth per month @ $9.95 per month, no start-up fees.
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
I went with OLM because they offered 8G transfer a month instead of the 2G I was using each month at my previous webhost.  What a rude surprise to find out that somehow, even though I buffered my usage with 6 extra G and my hit rate is essentially the same, I am always over my allotment each month?! I am currently researching about changing to another host, much as I hate going through the changes.  They also keep billing me for fees that I've already paid.  I get automated messages from axxs.net each month, telling me I am over my bandwidth; but when I inquired about this, I was told I was not over my bandwidth.  I'm left very confused and quite frustrated.  On the plus side, their host service is faster than my old one, but that just doesn't make up for the confusion and frustration.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Super - Review by submitted on June 17, 2003
Customer's web site: www.antennasupply.com
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 17, 2003): N/A
Plan used: vds2
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have hosted with webintellects,hostway,valueweb,vortech and all thos were top line good no problems..olm goes the extra mile fast email support and just a min hold time for tech support on phone even on a sun night!...I never take time to write this stuff..but they are great and super price for all you get...and for domains i reccommend godaddy or directnic both are fast and high quailty..2nd choice ,check out webintellects, they are more spendy but almost as good

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

CA - Review by Darryl submitted on June 7, 2003
Customer's web site: www.herbscancleanse.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 7, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: cheapest
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
So far OLM.net has held my hand through ftp/e-mail set up. Very little hold time.  If theey could only update their Tech's with OS X I'd rate them a 10!

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Reliable and Flexible - Review by eTekkie submitted on May 29, 2003
Customer's web site: peconicphoto.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 29, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: VDS-2
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I've been an OLM customer since 1997 and OLM is better than the majority of webhosting firms. The two things that stand out are technology and price.
Over the past year, OLM made improvements by introducing new hosting technology labled "VDS" or Virtual Dedicated Server on Linux i686 servers. The Web GUI is HostingDirector 3.5 provided by sphera.com. The packages come with "value apps" like Webalizer for configurable statistics tracking and reporting, Perl, FrontPage 2002 Extensions, GNU Compiler, Mod PHP, Python, Neomail, Mail Form, CreditCardPHP, Verisign SSL, Open SSL, MySQL, My SQL Libs, PHPMyAdmin, etc... Although great for experienced Linux users and Webmasters, this amount of technology can be daunting for beginners. Customizing the value apps and Apache configuration settings requires knowledge of Linux/Unix. Also, don't expect 100% uptime. No hosting company has 100% uptime, so don't let occasional problems like backbone issues that are beyond the control of OLM get you bent out of shape. If a webhosting company claims to have 100%, take that with a grain of salt!
OLM has stayed very competitive with their pricing. Publicly OLM lists basic hosting from $9.95 to $29.95. However, the also have specials below these prices ranging from $7.95 to $24.95. I recommed the VDS-2 package -- you get a unique IP and the ability to host 5 additional domains. Overall, the packages are kick-a$$!


Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Dismal uptime, poor monitoring - Review by submitted on May 4, 2003
Customer's web site: www.kabal.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 4, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Basic plan
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
They would go down for a day a time, at least once a month, and I would have to call them before they'd even have a clue that my site had fone down.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Better than Most Hosts - Review by BBailey submitted on March 18, 2003
Customer's web site: baileycomputers.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 18, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Personal & E-Commerce
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
After being with Jumpline.com for 3 years with no telephone support, I went with OLM.net because of the 24 hr support they offer. I didn't have any problems with them until Miva Merchant decided to quit offering end-user support and most of OLM's support team is not knowledgeable enough to help you or won't. Recently, trying to talk to someone that understands English appears to present a communication problem. Overall, OLM does answer the phone, does offer a lot of options at reasonable rates and willing to work with you on anything other than E-Commerce. Until I can find a hosting company that can offer the same or more than OLM.net with no problems, I will stay with them and their few minor inconviences.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great service from OLM - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 9, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 9, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Starter
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I've set up three sites using OLM over the past four years.  I've learned a lot from the sales and tech support folks, who are always helpful yet professional.  I've never had a complaint from visitors about the accessiblity.  I'd highly recommend OLM, Starter package to any individual or home or small business whether they are novices or experts.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Reliable and Cheap - Review by submitted on March 5, 2003
Customer's web site: www.HarborKnoll.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 5, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Special-VDS-2
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I've been an OLM customer since 1997 and have had +10 websites hosted at OLM.NET and AXXS.NET I recently transferred HarborKnoll.com from BlizzardInternet.com. Blizzard Internet Marketing is the worst company ever! Avoid this company! Blizzard is owned by a couple in San Diego, Trent and Susan Blizzard, who resell webhosting for HugeHosting.com at +200% markup to naive new comers; but that's another review! The only difference between OLM's old SE packages and their new VDS technology is reliability, configurability, Webalizer Stats and price. For $16.95/month, I have a unique IP, 500M of disk space, 20GB of Transfer/Month, 100 POP email accounts, and I can host 4 addition Domains under the same IP. This is a rocking deal! Overall, OLM has made huge leaps in performance to improve server uptime by upgrading their routers and servers.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

The best host - Review by Kimberly submitted on February 28, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 28, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: se1 se2 se3
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
A web designer for 3 years now I have tried innumerable web hosts.
Most were mediocre and others just plain awful. Then I found OLM
There downtime is almost nonexistent (over a year and a half and down only once for 10 minutes) the speed is ranked one of the fastest hosting services out there. Cnet did a review not to long ago and said pretty much the same thing.
There is two downsides though and they are the price, which is pretty steep to set up and the cheapest package they offer is still $9.99.
The other down side is that OLM is definitely not for beginner web designer (unless they like to jump head first into the technical side) The sites help section is ok but not the best in the world but there 24/7 phone support is just that.
The bottom line is that for the clients that need the speed and features OLM is the best out there. But for my clients that just need there site up and donít want to pay a lot of money, I go with ezoshosting.com

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

incompetent - Review by chris submitted on February 11, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 11, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
When OLM's hosting worked it was OK.  But all hosts, even the best, experience problems and it is the speed and quality of support that are important.  OLM distinguished themselves by consistently providing little or no support.  Our e-commerce web site went down for 2 days at one point before they responded to our email.  Email responses were cryptic or unintelligible at best.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Stay Away - Review by Zeke submitted on January 25, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 25, 2003): N/A
Plan used: Webmaster-VS
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Dont believe the ad's.  The customer service and technical support are the worst I have had.
I'am sure that there are some people there that know what they are doing, but I never had the pleasure.
Once they get your money say goodbye to any kind of professional customer service from this provider. 

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Started off great, but then service became poor. - Review by Amy submitted on January 21, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 21, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: OLM3
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
I started with OLM.net based on the suggestion of a friend who is using them for webhosting.  Service was fine for about 8 months, but for the past few months, outages became commonplace, and all support would do was keep it open for a few days and then close it.  No explanation was ever given nor did uptime get any better.  On the other hand, my friend (who was on a different server) has not had any downtime with them.  I became very disappointed with their service and cancelled.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

They have ALWAYS BEEN GOOD TO ME - Review by submitted on December 15, 2002
Customer's web site: 247giftgallery.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have called at 3 AM and got someone knowledgeable. I have used 9 differnet hosts before OLM. Their web control board could use some work, but at least they do what they say they will do & they work with you to correct any problems ... a lot more then some fo the other hosts I have used

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

The original Dilberts - Review by Lowery submitted on December 2, 2002
Customer's web site: 1.ag
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 2, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Webmaster
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
For months now, after paying these bozos $90/month, and losing half of our customers because their email can't be made to work, they tell us "Sorry, you need an upgrade on the dedicated server we supply." These people are the absolute worst. Avoid them like the plague. As soon as we can move our stuff, we're gone.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

High Failure Rates - Review by David N submitted on November 13, 2002
Customer's web site: www.northforkweddings.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 13, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: HS1, HSE (http://olm.net/whir/)
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
I've been an OLM customer since 1997 with a dozen different websites hosted at their locations in IL (dedicated servers) and CT (shared servers). With any company, you'll run into bumps on the road sooner or later. Since September 2002, the web server hosting NorthForkWeddings.com has been down over a dozen times. Some causes were due to CGI abuse by other customers on the same server, http server shutdowns, backbone interruptions, etc... Although they guarantee an SLA of 99.9% availability, their support staff is ill-equipped to monitor and take action. They're not very proative. This morning, a monitoring company I've hired emailed me at 1:02 AM informing me of a 404 error. OLM took no action taken until I called them at 8:00AM. I've been in contact with their billing, sales, and technical staff with assurances that the problems on this particular server would be rectified. Unfortunately, the failures continue, like the one this morning. If you've ramped a marketing campaign with search engine submissions, it take days to recover your URL listings when the crawlers encounter 404 errors. This is unfortunate because I found them to be reliable before this year.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

no trouble after initial setup - Review by Chris Morse submitted on October 7, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 7, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I had a few issues with the initial setup (mostly DNS server issues and 1 email account) but they were handled adequately and I have had great uptime.  In fact, I've never found it down. Ever. 

Although, I find that late at night the shell access is very slow but I assume that's due to backups being performed.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great so far... - Review by submitted on September 22, 2002
Customer's web site: www.appleandoakpress.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 22, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: E-commerce SE-3
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
We signed up for their Commerce SE-3 service.  It's $49.95 per month, plus a $25 set up fee and offers good storage and bandwidth, plus lots of mailboxes.  We were quickly notified of need for some information for our domain name transfer.  Our prompt reply got the name reply got name transferred within 24 hours so the interruption in our site's service was minimal.  Their web pages are generally well-designed, clear and easy to understand.  The introductory panel is clear and gives good information.  The system administrator control panel design is good--it puts most common items at the sysad's fingertips.

Here's a shocker: THEY HAVE AN ACTUAL USER'S GUIDE! With a drop-down table of contents, and an index, and a search feature, and a glossary, an', an', an' an' EVERYTHING! Our webmaster thought he was having a flashback to 1995 when people still did such things, but determined that, yes, it IS a user's guide, and a pretty good one.

Instructions on how to get started and set up your site are available in the user's guide and on the FAQ sheet.  The FAQ sheet could be a bit more forthcoming for a few things, but most of the questions have links to separate instructions, many of which are highly detailed and well illustrated.  The instructions for setting up outgoing mail are typical of these: a nine-step process, highly detailed, illustrated with screen shots, straight-forward, and clear, and just generally great! They have the good sense to open them in a separate window so that you can view instructions while you do the operations in the other window.

The FAQ sheet gives wrong location for FTP upload directory, but our webmaster found correct directory with a little poking around; the directory and addressing for files is somewhat confusing since the host software assumes the default directory and is somewhat reluctant to accept other addresses.

As is common today, you need to create a support account, something we hate.  We found ourselves unable to log in once we had created the account and so found ourselves in the position of needing support to find out how to get support.  They thoughtfully provided a toll-free number in our welcome e-mail.  Our call was answered immediately.  It took several calls to determine problem (which was at our end); tech support personnel were always friendly and helpful and we were put on hold for only the briefest period (perhaps one minute) on one of the calls.

The file manager is ungodly slow; copying, moving and deleting are done by checking boxes one at a time rather than more convenient selection or drag-and-drop. For our site with roughly 85 files, this can be quite cumbersome.  In addition, the default directory for files is several levels deep, which adds to the time required for initial access.  On-screen instructions are sparse, but the layout is uncluttered and the use of common icons makes understanding fairly easy.  File management includes file upload capability which saves trouble of using ftp access through other software; however, it seems to run somewhat slower than ftp software (WS_FTP).

Mail login is easy and fast; they thoughtfully standardized mailbox name types and the site name is already filled in login box.  The web-based squirrel mail layout is attractive, clear, easy-to-read, and well organized.  It also responds fast, faster than our Yahoo mailboxes or our former host ValueWeb, no doubt because of their decision to keep graphics to a bare minimum and rely on text for selection operations and options.

We've had some intermittent trouble accessing various services such as e-mail (get page not found errors); we're unclear if this is result of server downtime or browser problems.  However,it hasn't been so bad as to interfere significantly with our operations.

So far we're pretty happy with OLM and we feel comfortable recommending their service for your small business.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

VERY POOR - Review by Anonymous submitted on September 12, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 12, 2002): Private
Plan used: the $35 one
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Outdated software and missing Linux libraries means that if your site is dynamic in any way you're probably going to run into some problems that they won't be able to or willing to correct.  The servers frequently have outages, most recently they blew out all the power and UPS systems for their entire buidling. The tech support personnel can only handle simple problems and know little or nothing about truly technical problems.

If your site is dynamic in any way or depends on 99.9% uptime, avoid OLM.  They may have a 99.9% uptime guarantee, but that does you no good if they don't live up to it and your business suffers.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Lots o downtime. And setup problems. - Review by Jared submitted on September 10, 2002
Customer's web site: www.digitthefossilworkshop.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 10, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: SE-3
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
The site seems to go down at least once or twice a month.  Usually in the middle of the day and sometimes for as long as 8 hours.  They offer partial refunds for downtime, but you must file an on-line incidentas soon as the site goes down to get credit.
Installing non-standard executables and modules was a real pain in the butt. The underlying server directory structure is aliased all over the place and you often cannot get permissions you need, even with tech support assisting.
The tech support guys are generally not informed or knowledgeable about problems that arise.  Most end up having to have an admin take over.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Unix tools suck - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 27, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 27, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: SE1
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
I have been with OLM (and their sister company WebAxxs) for a few years.  It is a bit of a mixed bag.  I am now forced to move one of my sites elsewherer, because their UNIX shell can't run a standard GNU 'configure' file...  even after spending hours with tech support.

Other similar problems... I had to ask them to get access to 'make', there is no 'du' or 'which', etc...

On the upside, there tech support people are often very helpful.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Most of the time down! slow .. - Review by Jeff submitted on August 14, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 14, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Price is high & most of the time with out notice the server is down!
Not good at all!

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

downtime issues - Review by submitted on August 12, 2002
Customer's web site: www.rentadj.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 12, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
I have 2 sites with olm, support is usually fine, but they tend to go down for several hours at a time (I'm in the middle of a 2 hour outage with no end in sight right now).



Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent - Review by submitted on July 25, 2002
Customer's web site: luxuryhomelinks.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 25, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: cheapest
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Uptime is 100% as far as I can see - after 15 months of hosting. Only once had a problem and customer service response was fast and the correction was made instantly.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on July 11, 2002
Customer's web site: arthurhammer.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 11, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10


Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Website down several times - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 9, 2002
Customer's web site: screamsophie.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 9, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
My site is down right now and I get a busy signal when calling their support number. Service has been good in the past, but they aren't meeting their 99.9% uptime guarantee!

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Poor support - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 11, 2002
Customer's web site: baileycomputers.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 11, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: $14.95
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I started with Jumpline in 1998 when they were still Netquest2000.net. Then they moved their headquarters to Ohio and I never experienced any problems or down time. In fact, up until this past year, I never had any problems with them except their support. But it seems the past year, this company has developed an I DON'T CARE ATTITUDE with their customers and the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing.
Sadly, you cannot pick up a phone and call support for a question. You mail get an email response in 24 hours, then again, you may not. When looking for a hosting company for a customers site, Jumpline's site advertised they had an ecommerce in their software so I placed the customers site with them, only to find out within 24 hours that their ecommerce was not currently working and it would be a couple of more months before they had one. I then had to place the customer elsewhere. After having such lousy support from Jumpline, I found OLM.net and they have been the most wonderful people to deal with. I have called all hours of the night and have always talked to a live person that will go through your site with you to correct your problems. The only problem I have encountered so far with them is the MIVA MERCHANT that they know little about and Miva won't support anymore without an annual subscription. They will, however, send an email on your behalf to Miva detailing the problems and reply to you on Miva's answer.
After dealing with people with attitudes at Jumpline, OLM.net has been like a breath of fresh air. I don't think I could not refer Jumpline to anyone after this past years experience.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Smooth and reliable host - Review by Jocelyn submitted on June 9, 2002
Customer's web site: www.skategreatinc.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 9, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Starter
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
It took a bit longer than stated to get the site up and running, but I've never had a problem with them in the year and a half I've been there.  I have a pretty basic site with no CGI etc.  Highly recommended.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Becky Gates submitted on June 5, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 5, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Starter plan
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
OLM has been our host for over 2 years. Very reliable, no problems. Questions answered promptly and courteously.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great service & support - Review by submitted on April 27, 2002
Customer's web site: www.nhtobacco.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 27, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: E-commerce plan
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Switched to OLM after a terrible experience with webhosting.com.  I have been very happy with OLM.  Very reliable service and excellent support.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 23, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 23, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Standard
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Very reliable, great uptime. Strongly encourage others to try OLM.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Never had a problem - Review by Wilson submitted on March 15, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Essential
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I've never experienced any downtime in my 1 1/2 years on OLM.  I haven't needed to use support much, but they were fast and nice when I did.  What more could you want for $8.95/month?

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 14, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 14, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Starter
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Not impressed with service.  Have been having problems with site.  OLM tech doesn't know enough about problem to service properly.  Gone down hill past couple years.  Getting worst.  Currently looking for different host.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

aok - Review by j laing submitted on March 9, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 9, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: personal
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Been there two years.Good assistance.Never a problem.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Extremely UNRELIABLE !! - Review by Lamont submitted on February 22, 2002
Customer's web site: ridingamerica.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 22, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
After being with OLM.net for only a month I have found that my website has been unavailable on a daily basis for periods from 5 to 45 minutes. Tech support responds quickly with written responses but not with better service. As I write this, I am unable to access my site and I am NOT impressed.

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

good support? - Review by Anonymous submitted on January 31, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 31, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: ecom1
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
they may have good support but you will need it ... they keep fixing one problem just to create another

Representative of OLM?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


© 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.