Tripod - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: Tripod
Host URL:

Average customer rating: 6.37 out of 10 based on 12 votes


 

Good, basic service. - Review by submitted on August 16, 2003
Customer's web site: baseball_gal.tripod.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 16, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Tripod Plus
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I've had my site hosted there for about 5 years now. I've had a couple of problems, where my site and all my files dissapeared for a few days, but they were back with no problems after sending a few frantic emails. Customer support pretty much sucks. You get the stanard "refer to online help" which is so confusing it can drive you mad. Over all, I'm still a pretty basic webmaster, so it's easy to use file manager has been good for me.  With as little as $4.95 a month, you get to ditch the pop ups and ads on your site. The pop ups if not will drive you mad. It's not one per page, but more like 3 minimum.

They have a new plan where you can get a domain name and be hosted there, which I'm trying with a different account. I am happy with it so far, except their subdomains.  You can link to your subdomain, except it shows in your browser window as the TRIPOD name, instead of your real subdomain.  Otherwise it's still your basic tripod file structure which is great for me.

Anyone who has any questions about their service, feel free to let me know.

Representative of Tripod?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Confusing and Poor Customer Support - Review by T. Hughes submitted on June 19, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 19, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
The software for building a web site was confusing, and did not seem logical.  I have emailed customer service, but got back a standard "read the friendly manual" reply.  I have spent two weeks trying to sort out the impenetrable mysteries of Tripod, and have decided that there is no reason that it should be this awkward. 

Representative of Tripod?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Good free host - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 12, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 12, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: free
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I'd have to say I only remember 1 time that I had problems with them, but that was a while ago. It is really simple to edit my site as well. I'd use 'em again. I still am as of right now.

Representative of Tripod?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Tripod web hosting - Review by submitted on May 7, 2003
Customer's web site: wallace487.tripod.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 7, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: I'm signed up for the $5/mo plan
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I like Tripod, but I started with them when they were a free web host.  I pay the $5 a month and get space and bandwidth for my very small site.  The tech support is always available when I need it, and I've never had any real problems with Tripod.

Representative of Tripod?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Al Thomspon submitted on March 28, 2003
Customer's web site: www.sportsabelia.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 28, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Free site
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
No problems over a year+

Representative of Tripod?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

An Excellent Free Host - Review by Chet Mancini submitted on March 14, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 14, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Free plan
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
When I changed from Netfirms to Tripod for free hosting I was pleasanly surprised.  They give you everything you need for a basic personal sites.  You can also make certain directories private, although I've never tried it.  The site has given me no problems as long as I use their useful File Manager (browser) uploading.  The FTP is always busy.  One other downside is that they give you banners and pop ups in the free plan.  However, they make up for a lot of this by giving you extremely useful html editing features, free images, a script editor, and a script library.

Representative of Tripod?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Student point of view - Review by Jim submitted on January 26, 2003
Customer's web site: colortek.tripod.com/index.html
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 26, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Free
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I am a beginner using my own development software. For me, Tripod is simply a place to host my site. It is impractical to use frames because tripod puts an advertisement in each one. I have never been unable to reach my site. Over all I like what I get for free.

Representative of Tripod?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Steven Jackson submitted on October 4, 2002
Customer's web site: www.tripod.com/jaxon
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 4, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Tripod Plus
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Good value for the dollar - never had to worry about stability.  Liked the character of the site, never felt tey were just there to take my money/show ads.

Representative of Tripod?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Have had no problems since day one in 1996 - Review by submitted on August 3, 2002
Customer's web site: stanman.tripod.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 3, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Don't remember
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I was one of Tripod's customers in the early days. Have had no technical trouble to speak of since 1996. Other than the slight negative that my Tripod site does not use my own domain name, I have been more than pleased with Tripod. Tripod allowed me my first primitive web presence and has continued to allow it without any outlay of cash from me. The tradeoff is pop-up advertisements, but, hey, there's no free lunch. For what it is, I'm satisfied and quite pleased with Tripod.

Representative of Tripod?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by dana submitted on July 29, 2002
Customer's web site: trentonace.tripod.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 29, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: basic- free
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
this web site is fine for beginners. you can use templates to post web pages without any html knowledge. this is not a good site for someone that wants to post their front page created web site. The best thing about this site is its free. It uses a sub domain name.

Representative of Tripod?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

No Sensible Support - A Waste of Time - Review by R. Gallagher submitted on July 26, 2002
Customer's web site: isidium.tripod.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 26, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Free Introductory Plan - Prior to full Signup.
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Technical Documentation is poor as the vital information is missed out.

Wrong URL and Essential publishing information given or that essential information missed out completely.

Support raerly addresses the questions asked - but gives some sort of stock answer as "a pretence of support".

Plenty of incorrect error messages -later issued web space appears to be incompletely engineered so that, from a usder's point of view, - it's a nightmare to work with.

The Frontpage invitation to "view the Website you have just published" takes you to a completely wrong web location.

17 e-mails requesting support - and still no nearer to resolving the mass of problems.

I have given-up trying to use this host - cut my losses and moved on.


R. Gallagher



Representative of Tripod?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

No thank you - Review by submitted on March 9, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 9, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
After a week of error messages, a snotty "go read the help board" e-mail from customer disservice, and an "would you like to upgrade" e-mail from sales, I have come to the conclusion that some very inept people have taken over what used to be a first-rate host.

Representative of Tripod?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.