Verio - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: Verio
Host URL:

Average customer rating: 5.37 out of 10 based on 39 votes


 

reliable - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 14, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 14, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: bronze
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
This has been a very reliable hosting service for me. 

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

They've been great for me - Review by David Willis submitted on July 19, 2003
Customer's web site: www.inthedarkproductions.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 19, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Bronze and Virtual Private Server (VPS2)
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I've been using them for 3 years on the Bronze plan and only had one problem when they changed something I didn't want changed. They changed it back, no problem.

I host several quicktime movies and they've always downloaded fast and reliable.  Now I'm upgrading to a Virtual Private Server for unlimited bandwidth for a business that will get a lot more hits. Tech support has been good for the VPS, but I wish they had more functions available in the control panel.  Anytime I need to do something, I call tech support, and they walk me through it by having me log on as root.  The VPS is much more complicated (and powreful) than a simple Bronze plan.  But so far (in the 1 month with VPS) they answer the phone quickly and do what it takes to get me going.
And for the features I need with the new ecommerce site, they have really good prices. Time will tell if the ecommerce is as good as the Bronze has been. So far, so good.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Became Verio customer through acquisition - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 11, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 11, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: signature hosting (it's a migration plan)
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
I was a Best.com customer starting in 1995. They were bought by HiWay with absolutely no change in service. Then Verio bought them and things started to change--some for the worse, a little for the better. Reliability is 100% okay with them, but tech support is non-existent. There are no self-help tech docs online because my "plan" doesn't exist. It's a migration plan. I believe they do this to force me into downgrading/upgrading to one of their public plans. Unfortunately, if I downgrade, I'll pay the same price and loose some key features I have that I like. And If I upgrade, I'll have to at minimum double my price to get the features I want to keep. Too much to ask for just so I can search their online tech support. Phone support isn't much better. Tech support guys can't answer my questions because they don't understand what is and isn't allowed on my plan and the migration team only knows basic setup answers. I've for a long time considered switching to another ISP so I don't have to feel like a customer with a personality disorder (and save some money); now that I've found this site to do my research, I'm finally putting things in motion.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Expensive, fast, lacking features - Review by Small business guy submitted on July 2, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 2, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Bronze Plus
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
I don't like that it doesn't support being able to offer a client a password protected folder to upload to (only download).  Also, expensive for the amount of disk space you get.  Good speed on transfers, and very reliable.  Not great bang for the buck in terms of features.  Customer support not very helpful in answering questions.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great until they called to "fix" something and wrecked my site - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 20, 2003
Customer's web site: www.retroworks.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 20, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Bronze and Windows Bronze
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
Signed up in 2000, no problems, reliable statistics.  I'm happy as a clam, never contacting Tech Asst.

2003- They call (2 people actually) cheerfully checking up how things are going and offering me help with my site.

They ask what would be nice, I say better "edit with Frontpage" I guess.  They say they'll switch me to Windows Plan.  (Later - I suspect its a switch from backbone Tier 1 to Tier 2 server, possible reason for their call...).  Helpful Ed says they'll take care of everything, move the site, etc. (I lose webmail, which he forgot to disclose, but it's an honest mistake)

Next day, site is moved, I start editing with Frontpage, works well. However I begin to notice my POP mail is "timing out".  After a few days I contact Tech Support.

LongStoryShort - After initially referring me to FAQs on how to set up POP mail (duh), I find someone who is actually reading my message.  She does good investigative work, but says there's a commonality with the messages which don't download (from a listserve which sends >50 per day, some coming through, some not - so I don't really know if its statistical probability or Windows plan can't deal with some email).  Her conclusion -- tell the people sending the emails to send them differently.  My conclusion - go back to the old Unix plan.

Here they get gruff.  I'm sent a curt message that my issue has been addressed, that incoming email is a "3rd party software issue".  They do not address my request to move back to Unix, just say case closed.

I go back and contact one of the friendly people from sales.  General impression - She's poorly armed.  She says the guy she spoke to informally read my email and says its obvious that Unix worked and Windows didn't and I should go back.  But she's supposed to say it's a 3rd party issue, so in other words I'll be charged for the move back.

I say Verio moved me, it didn't work, I don't want to be charged to move back.  Back and forth she says ok.  They send me a email advising me to make a backup of the site in case, and they'll move all the contents.

3 days later, no site. 

Lady suggests I switch to a plan costing $149/mo.  Short discussion.

I contact them again, THIS time she says there's "some misunderstanding", I should know I need to upload my own site from my hard drive.  They "never" transfer the site contents.  Please reread the instructions. 

1) I tell her they did it a month ago when they initiated the swap. (she stammers that it's a relatively new policy? then says a gruff person ("*master")refused to do it) 2)I reread their instructions and which clearly say they will move the site.  Moreover I remind them they initiated the plan change, not me.

Issue still unresolved.  So - I had no problems for 3 years, but once I had a problem I got labelled a pain in the ass and they basically are acting like the PHONE COMPANY or something. 

I can't compare them to anyone else yet, so I don't want to nuke them on the rating.  But I'd say my experience is do not do business with them unless you are a big client.  They are sort of bipolar, initiating "we're all helpful" calls and saying I should use them more, then "we're gruff and you are a pain in the butt."

Probably 9 times out of 10 they are right and there's a pain in the butt client changing their minds. 

(From here, I'm going to speak to my brother in law, he's a bigwig at Sevenspace, the small company their VP was recruited from, and see if I can get a personal referral of help.  But that doesn't count for rating the service higher.)

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Extremely frustrating - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 5, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 5, 2003): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: Bronze
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Extremely poor service recently.  Definitely seen a decline over the past year, similar to many of the other reviews I've been reading. I've sent several requests for tech assistance due to a recent change to FREE-BSD servers (which was not asked for, and which caused many perfectly functional and simple Perl programs to stop working). But support was pretty much non-existent. I plan to move to another provider as soon as possible. Too bad. Back in the Tabnet days these folks were fine.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

chaos - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 22, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 22, 2003): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: something like bronze
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
customer service is a mess.
billing chaotic, sometimes bills,sometimes sends multiple billings.expend to spend half of your life on the phone to people who either cannot understand or who do not care.
verio expanded by buying several companies.  Old customers are now paying more than new customers for similar plans.  No one can figure out how to convert them, without cutting off the old plan and creating a new one (add a sign-up feature.) etc.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Service Getting Worse and Worse - Review by Dave submitted on April 22, 2003
Customer's web site: www.ryanvideo.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 22, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: bronze
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
Too much down time.  Email has been down for over 8 hours straight almost once a month for the past 6 months.  Email service has become unreliable.  Tech support burried under several layers of automated attendants.  I think their tech support is now being handled over seas - there is a definite language barrier dealing with their tech support people lately.  I wonder what they're doing with the $25 a month I'm paying them? Uptime guarantee is a joke and impossible to collect on.  These guys were great several years ago, but we're ready to dump them and move on.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Terrible - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 1, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 1, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: ecomerce silver
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Our site has been down for 5 days now as a result of a server move they decided to do. *we were not asked". Their customer support is horrible. They have not responded to email at all. When I call they are very patronizing but nothing happens. I have hosted with verio since it was tabnet in 1995. They have become too big to care what happens to you or your site.
DO NOT USE VERIO


Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

No proactive responses - Review by Jeff Okamoto submitted on February 24, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 24, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Inherited from Best
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
These folks have no clue at all. There have been numerous times when the total CPU idle time is less than 1%, and although the load average on my virtual server is less than 1, response time to interactive applications (such as elm) suffer greatly.

When I call to complain, they fix it quickly, but will absolutely refuse to admit that they should have seen this.  I've been a sysadmin for over 10 years, and I know there are tools that can track CPU usage.  They claim they cannot measure this except in realtime; in other words, they do not use performance measuring software.

I have spoken with reps such as Marco Navarro, Rich Burgi, Steven Sintay, David Bailey, John Aldridge, Robyn Campbell, David Godsey, and Eric Barzeele.  Not a single one of these folks will admit that 0% idle CPU is a bad thing. I do not understand this attitude at all.

On the flip side, though, the front-line folks are usually pretty good.  However, their second-tier support and management just don't have a clue.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Ok. . but expensive - Review by Anonymous submitted on January 24, 2003
Customer's web site: www.station27.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 24, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Bronze
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I've never had a problem with the service or quality of the hosting. . .some basic limitation like no PHP. Customer Service is good and you get one representative. The price however seems much more expensive than the competition and for many small sites like ours it's just too expensive. . . .

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Why consider Verio at all? - Review by submitted on January 20, 2003
Customer's web site: gswx.com, ricauto.com, ....
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 20, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Bronze
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
Technical facilities are minimal, every extra you need costs more and more. Customer service is a nightmare! It takes 3-4 tries before anyone even bothers to try to understand what you are asking them. For the same hosting I have now (from another company!) for $24.95/mo, Verio wants nearly $200/mo.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Reliable, helpful - Review by Anonymous submitted on January 5, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 5, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Bronze - we got excellent service for the lowest cost plan
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
Very good phone and e-mail support, and the help is accomodating for Mac users and beginners. Wait time for phone support never exceeded 10-15 minutes, was usually answered within 5-10 by curteous and knowledgable staff.

Downtime was minimal.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Good - Review by Anonymous submitted on December 25, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 25, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
They have some of the best programmers in the industry on staff but they haven't kept up with the pricing. If you don't need technical support but you want a to be a rock solid reseller, Verio is the company.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

BIggest Acctng flaws...Bait N Switch - Review by submitted on November 30, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 30, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Bronze
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Currently in dispute.  Was sold bronze with a promotion (1 year discounted ,minus set up fees).

Two months following sign up, there were new charges; set up fees and additional months (no promotion!)
1st dispute was resolved with supervisor (I thought!).

A year later, accounting department claims fees were never paid (promotion) and recharging for set up and promotional months.

2nd dispute with accounting, and again I was informed the matter is resolved.

3rd dispute, one month later, acctg department charging for same issue.  They can't seem to get it in their heads.  Marketing & sales and accounting are attached to the same body, but one dosen't know what the other is doing!!!
Very unprofessional and unacceptable! Customer service is raw, sales lack in real product knowledge, and accounting is incompetent.  Turn over is too high, company unable to provide consistent good service.  Sounds like a business headed for trouble.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Flooded with spam, otherwise OK - Review by submitted on November 21, 2002
Customer's web site: www.perique.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 21, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: basic plan
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
Our web site seems to work all right most of the time.  However, since Verio took over my previous web hosting company, we are flooded with spam, usaually more than 100/day! I complained to them about this several times and they could do nothing, however my previous web host obviously knew something that Verio doesn't, since we never got spam before.  Today I had more than 400 junk messages, which is why I am now looking for another web host.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

I have had good luck with them - Review by David submitted on September 20, 2002
Customer's web site: www.ingersollcenter.org
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 20, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Bronze
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
So far, in three years, one page on the site was down for 4 hours, because its permissions had been reset by verio, they apologised, which impressed me.
Any technical questions I have had have been answered quickly and professionally, I recommend them.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

very poor customer service - Review by Robert submitted on September 19, 2002
Customer's web site: www.rowbear.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 19, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: least expensive
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
impossible to get any response on phone or via e-mail

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

They're fine! - Review by submitted on September 16, 2002
Customer's web site: you-suck.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 16, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Bronze
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I started with them in 1997 (actually, with HiWay whom they took over), and never left.  Uptime is good, they've increased bandwidth and disk allocations a couple of times, and it just works.  Not the cheapest, but darn good value for money. 

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very reliable; good customer service - Review by Anonymous submitted on September 12, 2002
Customer's web site: www.trentadue.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 12, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Bronze
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
Verio has been hosting our website for over two years and we have had very few problems with them.  As website administrator, I am frequently accessing the site and have experienced very little downtime.

However, they are a bit pricey for my personal website, so I'm going to use some other host.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Customer Service Just Passes the Buck - Review by Tammy submitted on August 22, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 22, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
I am only receiving half of my e-mails and when contacting customer service they tell me the information that they need to fix my problem. I send in the information and they say they never get it and close the ticket. So every month it seems like I am calling in the problem and opening another ticket and also giving the old ticket numbers. It is just a circle of helplessness. I donít have a problem with my web site going down. It does go down ever so often, but they are pretty good about getting it right back up.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Work in progress - Review by Nancy submitted on August 17, 2002
Customer's web site: www.burlingamepezmuseum.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 17, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
Verio has gone through a lot of changes in the past few years but seems to have finally stabilized after the recent purchase by earthlink.  Reliable uptime and decent traffic throughput.  The old Best was better at customer service but hopefully they'll improve

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Too much downtime - Review by submitted on August 14, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 14, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Bronze
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I have had pages with them for around a year or so, and i hadnt been dissapointed until recently. It has been down several times for whole days, and in the last three weeks or so, it has been down for at least an hour every day.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

great service - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 15, 2002
Customer's web site: terriewilliams.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: gold
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
great provider. never any problems. they inform you way in advance when they schedule maintenance on your server and customer service is always willing to go the extra bit.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Expensive - Review by doug submitted on June 30, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 30, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Bronze Unix and then later Bronze 2000
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
I have to agree with what lampfire.com guy said in a previous review - for advanced hosting (using asp, php, chron jobs, etc) the services fall short. My asp site kept crashing because my Access databases were too big. Their solution - upgrade my account to php/MySQL. "Great", I said, "How much?"

Their answer: $100/month. (hear sounds of me choking on my Cheez-its)

There are about 1000 other hosting compaies that can do it for so much cheaper.

But their tech support is very good, and really went the extra mile for me on a few occasions. I'm just to cheap of a guy to stick around with this comapny.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Reliable - Review by S Williams submitted on June 21, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 21, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Bronze
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Never had any down-time - excellent host - great customer service!

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Friendly People, No Results - Review by David Cloutman submitted on May 21, 2002
Customer's web site: www.lampfire.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 21, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Silver Unix
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
Verio is a great service for the average marketing puke. As long as you publish flat HTML files and use Verio's free CGI scripts, you'll be satisfied with the genrally good uptime, decent stats packages, and polite 24/7 tech support. This last item might even justify paying the extra cost of their services. However, if you're a geeky programmer like me, welcome to Hell.

Most Verio customers are hosting static sites, so if you ever call them with a serious sytems question regarding the environment, the first person you deal with probably won't know how to fix your problem. Usually the issue is escalated to an administrator, and then its a coin toss as to whether or not your issue is properly resolved.

The key problem I've had with Verio is inconsistency in their environment. I find that when I use PHP to write a file, it will not consistenly assign ownership to the file, and that sometimes files are created that cannot be deleted by PHP scripts, or via FTP. Verio's solution to this problem was to suggest that I purchase one of their $150 / month virtual server accounts so I could get ssh access, which they claim is a security threat in a shared enviroment. This is, of course, rubbish.

More recently, Verio updated PHP, but did such a sloppy job configuring it that the error messages stopped displaying. It took me two weeks and a terse message to Verio's management team to convince them that developers need those messages to do rapid PHP development. After that, my error messages came back - for a week. Then they disappeared again.

Another problem I encountered was with chron jobs. Two of my Verio hosted clients have chron jobs that should back up the database on a nightly basis. Starting a chron job requires a call to tech support, I have never gotten a chron job to run on Verio more than once. Also, chron jobs can only be run at certain times of the early morning, and may not properly accomodate west coast users.

I haven't made extensive use of Verio's Perl or Python capabilities, however I would say, based upon my use of PHP, that you shouldn't even think about doing any major server side development in a shared Verio environment. Their staff and their servers are not adequately prepared for this.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Expensive and Horrible Service - Review by susan submitted on May 21, 2002
Customer's web site: www.freiman.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 21, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Bronze
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
They don't have a resonably priced entry level hosting plan for personal sites and their customer service call center is designed to keep you waiting for at least 30 minutes.  They're fine if you're a business and can get all your answers through their web site, but transferring domains is a nightmare.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Speedy, but lacking in features - Review by Mike submitted on May 19, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 19, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Bronze and Silver Plans
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
Verio offers exceptional uptime and consistently fast page-loads; however, their plans are frustratingly lacking in features. UNIX plans under $49.95 per month, for example, do not support multimedia streaming (which is limited to RealMedia support even on the $99.95-per-month plan), mailing lists, ASP, Javascript, PHP, MySQL, VB, or SSL. Verio also does not allow telnet (SSH or otherwise) access to any shared accounts, and their typical account setup fee is a steep $50.00.

The speed of Verio's hosting is nice, but their consistently "bare-bones" plans are far too expensive.


Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Verio works for me... - Review by submitted on May 14, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 14, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Marketplace (e-commerce) and Win2K Silver
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Their Windows uptime is better than I have found anywhere else. Support personnel are fairly knowledgable and easy to access. My simple site is built/maintained with FrontPage2002 and it works great, as does my email. I don't get a lot of spam from them asking me to upgrade to another plan. It's not the lowest-price service, but their support and uptime make it worth it.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

OK Overall - Review by submitted on May 9, 2002
Customer's web site: witmerassociates.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 9, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Bronze
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
Price seems high compared with other high-value hosts.  Their server is down during our business hours about once a quarter for a few hours.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Horrible Customer Service - Review by submitted on May 3, 2002
Customer's web site: seatechinc.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 3, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Bronze Plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Verio's customer service has soured my view of them.  We are currently looking for another company to host our site.  Their customer service people are rude and are unwilling to work out problems with customers. 

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Too big - Review by Chris KAminski submitted on March 23, 2002
Customer's web site: lonebird.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 23, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: bronz
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Routeing email thru known spammmers then refusing to admit it. Then I was told by one of their reps on the phone that Verio is so big, what is one customer more or less.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Verio Bait and Switch - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 17, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 17, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Silver
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Verio has hosted my site for many years (through acquisition of my original hosting co.) They recently eliminated email support punting that to Earthlink.  So my costs have almost doubled and my satisfaction is greatly diminished.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Service has gone downhill noticeably - Review by Lea submitted on March 15, 2002
Customer's web site: www.rarepsects.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 15, 2002): N/A
Plan used: Silver
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 6 out of 10
I hosted with Verio for over two years, and despite the high price, was initially very pleased. Over the past year or so, Verio has had increased downtime, sluggish onsite response, failure to upgrade to newer extensions and mime types, lack of support for newer versions of PHP, SQL, etc. Between the hosting fee, constant slowdowns, and lackluster feature set; Verio is no longer worth the money for me.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 7, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 7, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
Not ever been down.  Everything works.  No problems.

Representative of Verio?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


© 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.