Yahoo! GeoCities - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: Yahoo! GeoCities
Host URL:

Average customer rating: 3.08 out of 10 based on 59 votes

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-59]


 

Worst customer service - Review by Barbara F. submitted on August 4, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 4, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: GeoPlus
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Yahoo hosted my website for the past year.  One day my website was gone; they had trouble getting a charge through on my charge card.  They did not notify me or warn me in any way that they were disabling my website.  They just disabled it.  I've repeatedly tried emailing them for the past 2 weeks; finally got a response this morning; a cookie cutter response.  Still doesn't help me get my website back up.  I'm going to find a new web host and will never give my business to Yahoo again.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Good for beginers - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 24, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 24, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Geocites Pro
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
It was easy to use, no tech support though. But as gain more experince it became more of hassel. If would looking for something to start out and you have no idea what to do then this could be good place to start. I never had any problem with my site/sites being down, although I couldn't upload file sometimes.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

stop complaining! - Review by Mouharle submitted on June 3, 2003
Customer's web site: www.mouharle.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 3, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Used free, now using webhosting
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I have used the free service for years, and had never had any problems. Sure, it wasnt the best, but you have to remember, this service was FREE. Many people complain about poor quality from geocities, but you cannot complain because you are paying nothing! You get your own site, a website generator, a generous amount of space, free clipart and so on, for nothing. I believe people need to stop complaining. Geocities is a great service.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

I don't like it - Review by submitted on May 21, 2003
Customer's web site: www.vliegtuigjes.tk
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 21, 2003): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 6 out of 10
You have practicly no space

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

DISMAL customer service, buggy add-ons - Review by Lesley A. submitted on May 17, 2003
Customer's web site: www.zaksrealm.net
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 17, 2003): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I loved Geocities, before it merged with Yahoo.  I can understand the free services being taken away one by one in this tough economy, but the clincher for me was when my domain name stopped working, as well as my old Geocities site name (which they promised would not be discontinued after the switch to yahoo).  Guestbook and mailing list ceased to function.  Counter stats ceased to function.  ALL queries and complaints were answered with a 'thanks for bringing this to our attention' form letter.  Replies to clarify the form letter got the SAME form letter in reply. 
At one point they changed the TOS agreement to try to grab rights to web content, and refused to let you log into your account, even to cancel and erase everything, without agreeing to the new TOS.  THAT was stopped by massive protest.  Had I not already left, the final straw was when they discontinued FTP access and email forwarding to anyone but paying customers.  By that point I wasn't about to pay them a cent.  I switched to Earthlink and never looked back.  My old files are still just sitting there collecting dust.....it just kills me that they took a wonderful, friendly community like Geocities and just smashed it to bits.  Yahoo, you STINK!

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Terrible - Review by submitted on May 14, 2003
Customer's web site: joeconvert.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 14, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Geocities Pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
None of the "extras" Geocities offered ever worked (Front Page extensions, buit-in site building tools).  I paid to move my domain to another hosting company, and I've had no luck in completing the transaction.  I got the registry key for the domain registrar (Melbourne IT), but it won't process the dns change.  Melbourne IT says I have to contact Yahoo; Yahoo keeps replying with the same cut-and-paste messages about going back to Melbourne IT.  I cancelled my premium service, because their help page said to do so would initiate instructions about how to change my dns info; that turned out to be another link to Melbourne IT.  No phone support, and I can't get a real answer from a real person via e-mail.  Seems pretty deliberate to me.  I'll be forced to reinstate my Geocities service, and then they'll automatically bill me for my renewal.  Meanwhile, I'm out the 49:95 I paid to the new hosting company.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

the absolute worst - Review by submitted on May 5, 2003
Customer's web site: www.the1946gumballco.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 5, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
no support. have emailed countless times and never recieved a response. upload times vary according to when it feels like working.  more downtime than anything else.  very frustrating, but so is using any yahoo service, like there chat programs.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Customer Service?? HELLO???? - Review by submitted on May 5, 2003
Customer's web site: medievalgear.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 5, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Can not acces site to update, no CS responce in 4 days... can not call them.. HORRID!!! Their tools and features are nice, but if you can not access them they are pretty much useless.. I am going elswhere!!!!!!!!

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

No Customer Support or Refunds - Review by submitted on April 30, 2003
Customer's web site: www.PsychologicalTesting.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 30, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: GeoCities Plus
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Incredibly bad customer support.  They respond to e-mails after weeks or months, if at all.  My website was inaccessible for a month; when I ask for a refund of my $8.95 (hardly compensation for the loss), they refused, and e-mailed back a copy of their customer agreement: customers waive any expressed or implied warranty.  In order words, they can charge your credit card and do not have to provide a usable service!

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

They care only about your money!! - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 29, 2003
Customer's web site: royalbluebluegrassband.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 29, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: page builder pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
No support, no one to contact, sites crash often, nothing fits or looks like it does on the builder to the web, crappy options, poor advertising, terrible tools to edit with, you want more check out the page builder message boards. They are full of completely desperate people looking for help without any answer..

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Netmarketingstrategies - Review by submitted on April 24, 2003
Customer's web site: www.netmarketingstrategies
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 24, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Geocities Pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I am trying to contact yahoo for the past many weeks.My web site has been uploaded on the URL www.netmarketingstrategies.com which is hosted on Geocities Pro.For the past Three weeks our Web site is Down without any reason.There is definitly some thing wrong with the Geocities Pro Server.
I just asked the Geocities Pro Guys to transfer my domain to Thirdsphere.

Please contact quickly.
Dawar Ali Shah.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

No customer service - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 10, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 10, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: GeoCities Plus
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Our soccer association's website had been hosted by yahoo/geocities for several years without too many problems. Our domain name was registered with someone else.  Suddenly beginning in January 2003, our website could not be accessed through our domain name any longer. We have no idea what happened. I tried for 3 months to obtain customer service to no avail.  I sent countless e-mails and never once received a response. After much searching I found a phone number for Yahoo that was not toll free.  I was on hold for 45 minutes before anyone came on the line. I explained the problem and the woman said it would be taken care of within 24 hours and she said that one of their "engineers" needed to fix something. The problem was not taken care of even after a month went by. This occurred during our spring soccer registration period and no one could access our website.  Finally we dropped our service with yahoo/geocities in desparation and now have a new host - IPowerWeb.  We have not experienced any problems with the new host. Customer service has been very good. I am now waiting to see if Yahoo/Geocities will cease billing our credit card for old website after I cancelled it. 

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Not so bad but wish they were better - Review by submitted on April 5, 2003
Customer's web site: thekulesas.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 5, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: GeoCities Business Standard and Pro
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 6 out of 10
I've been with Yahoo Geocities for nearly a year now.  While their admin tools are very easy to use I'm frustrated by the fact that they don't have muliple domain name hosting.  That's frustrating.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

GOOD FREE PACKAGE WITH GEOCITIES - Review by submitted on April 2, 2003
Customer's web site: www.geocities.com/myangeljill
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 2, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: RIGHT NOW I AM USING THE FREE SPACE PLAN, BUT I INTEND TO PURCHASE THE PRO PLAN
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I HAVE HAD MY DAUGHTER'S MEMORIAL TRIBUTE THROUGH THE FREE GEOCITIES PLAN FOR APPROXIMATELY 2 MONTHS.  IT HAS BEEN GREAT.  THE ONLY PROBLEM I KEEP EXPERIENCING IS NOT BEING ABLE TO GET INTO THE SITE DUE TO EXCEEDING ALLOCATED SPACE.  THAT IS WHY I WANT TO PURCHASE A PLAN FOR NEW SPACE.  I COULD HAVE GONE WITH ANOTHER PROVIDER; HOWEVER, GEOCITIES MAKES IT EASIER TO LEARN HOW TO DO THINGS WITH YOUR SITE (WHICH I NEED VERY BADLY) AND I TRULY ENJOY BEING A PART OF THE GEOCITIES PLAN.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

sux0rs - Review by submitted on March 31, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 31, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I did not care for geocities because 1. they did not tell me there was a daily bandwidth limit and so when I announced my "wedding plans website" to my family it was down everyday.  I don't have that big of a family!!!!
and 2. after I cancelled with them after 3 months, they did not refund my money (I had paid for a year) like they said they would, and in fact charged me AGAIN the next year.  I could not find a way to settle this, they just said "no you did not cancel" (even though I still had the email telling me I was entitled to a refund) and so I ended up just eating the cost of ANOTHER year, since even though I cancelled right away they AGAIN did not refund my money. 

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Absolute nightmare!!!!!!!!! - Review by Robert submitted on March 30, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 30, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: $11.95/ month
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
These people do not exist. They are quick to take your money but if you have a problem forget about help. Run, Run far, Run fast, But most importantly... Run!!!!!!!!!!

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

No Prblems with Geocities yet! - Review by submitted on March 9, 2003
Customer's web site: www.geocities.com/locutus69_98
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 9, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Geocities Free
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I have had my page up on Geocities for over 4 years and other than the fact that uploads can only be 1.5 Megs I have not had any problems with them at all.  I haven't tried to use javascipt, but I have placed javascript applets (premade) and they have all worked good.
I just upgraded my account to Geocities Pro, so hopefully everything works out great.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Zero Support! - Review by submitted on March 5, 2003
Customer's web site: www.mceforms.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 5, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Trying to use the Standard Busines
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
It is impossible to talk to a human if you have any problems. I have encountered numerous problems trying to upgrade service, but can't talk to anyone and no one at customer support responds to my e-mail.....

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

It's kinda okay... - Review by Vickie submitted on March 4, 2003
Customer's web site: www.geocities.com/vickiediablos
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 4, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: free
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
I've used Yahoo Geocities for about 2 years now and it's so far so good. I didn't use the Geocities Pro, just the free service. Their ads are properly placed and file manager is very easy to use. Well of course this isn't the best server I've used but what could I ask for without paying a single penny? The thing I don't exactly like about it is that it doesn't seem to support javascripts very well. I mean, hello! Javascripts are everywhere now! But I'm quite okay with it.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Warren's Review of Yahoo Geocities - Review by submitted on March 2, 2003
Customer's web site: www.warrengalloway.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 2, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Geocitites Pro
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
This is a great way for all to get a start in web hosting, web designing and maintaining cheaply.

I love it thus far! No pop ups or baners!

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Finally got registry number for domain change. - Review by submitted on February 12, 2003
Customer's web site: 16model.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 12, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: webmaster
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I found a phone number on my bank statement after finding out that yahoo was still billing me after unable to access my website for three months now! But yet.. They claimed i still had a website with them...hahaha
Here is the phone #: 408-349-5151
You can get something done with this number. Just be prepared to be on the phone for over an hour or MORE. They will ask for all your yahoo info and transfer you to differant departments which will ask for the same info over and over. At one point i was disconnected and had to make another long distance call. I was after what seemed an eternity on the phone able to cancel EVERYTHING yahoo had me down for and after another 30 minutes or so also able to talk with a tech that gave me the registry number to transfer my domain name :)
After all that has happened,,, all i can say is that i wish i had NEVER heard the name Yahoo.com To end this posting i will say that yahoo is very simple for someone new to the internet, very expensive but simple. My sugestion though to people that are new is to learn insted of dealing with this hosting company!

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

So Far, So Good - Review by submitted on February 8, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 8, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Geocities Basic, Geocities Plus, Geocities Pro, and Geocities Business Starter
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I first started off with www.infospace.com before switching to Geocities, and have even tried Verisign (where I've purchased my URL) and liked it, but when I had first purchased it, it was under an old plan which does not allow for me to use under the new plan.  So I had to purchase a new URL with that service, and never renewed it.  I am more comfortable with Geocities anyways, especially when it comes to controlling my webpage.

I've pretty much have been happy with this host, and have been with them for years.  I've recently invested more into my webpage by upgrading (two different types of account) to meet my needs.  I have had the server go down more than twice, which is more often than I like, but overall, geocities have been very reliable.  I mainly picked this host because it was easy to use, but mostly because I wanted a host that would be around for years, so that all my work won't be lost when a company folds.  I learned my lesson with a site that promotes photo albums online.  With Geocities being connected with Yahoo, I've been able to even save my photos on Yahoo's photo albums, so it's a "peace of mind"! And I've never had problems with billings.  That's a plus, especialy having to deal with AOL.  What a nightmare that was! I will continue to use this host until I find something better. 

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Its The Best - Review by mandy submitted on January 28, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 28, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: WebHosting Standard
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I've been working with GeoCities for awhile it's great the customer service was great both the e-mail and the customer service by phone was awsome the agents were grrrr8

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on January 26, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 26, 2003): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: GeoPlus
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
When it works, it's good, but this host has so much down time it's not even worth the small($10 monthly)cost.  There are very few ways to contact the host.  Email is by their input form to which I have never had an answer.  The server hosting my site has been down for over a week now and contacting them by (toll) telephone elicited the response that "they don't know what's wrong but that it will probably be fixed within 24 - 48 hours" It's been 72 hours since that quote and site still is not working.  Very poor service indeed.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

O.K. - Review by submitted on January 19, 2003
Customer's web site: andybud.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 19, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 6 out of 10
I have had geocities for about six months and have had few problems. When I began programming with JavaScript i noticed, though, that the site statistics had glitches and, for example, would display IE5.5 as an OS. I also had some issues with my domain during the Christmas holiday. Other than that, they're pretty good, but they charge too much. I might pay maybe 2.50 a month for their services, and am considering another host.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Furious & Frustrated - Review by Carrie submitted on January 18, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 18, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Pro plan (cheapest)
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
My site vanished for NO reason, and I can't get ahold of ANYONE for an explanation.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Well... - Review by submitted on January 15, 2003
Customer's web site: www.geocities.com/sailorarcher69
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 15, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Free
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
Geocities/Yahoo isn't that bad... while the customer service doesn't even really exist (they give you answers based on keywords in your questions) and the bandwith for the free sites in non-existant (but what can you expect, it's free) they have an okay program for no money and, to their credit, do warn you when they're going to change the program. Also, if you don't have enough room on one site, you can just get another email and get another. ;)

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

they should call it "Customer Don't Care" - Review by Anonymous submitted on January 14, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 14, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Geocities Pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Everything was great at first. Page Builder is a breeze to use and the pricing for Geocities Pro is fair.  Everything was fine until I had a problem not addressed in the FAQs. As far as I can tell NO ONE works at Geocities CustomerCare. I have sent at least ten e-mails with no response. Wait. That's not accurate. The webmaster and account information sections sent back automated e-mails telling me to contact GeoCities for help; they're the ones that never responded. I would not recommend this service to anyone.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Poor Customer Support - Review by Abdulla Hamoodi submitted on January 8, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 8, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Customer Support Panel seems like a black hole with absolutely no response or even acknowledgment following several repeat attempts.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Awful support, little help - Review by Anonymous submitted on January 5, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 5, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Don't remember - it was a paid plan, and I was helping some friends with their sites
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Nonexistant phone support, and it took a long time for response to online requests for help.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

they tell you they have SMTP but they do not offer SMTP - Review by Anonymous submitted on January 4, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 4, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: geocities Pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I have emiled and want to change the email address for my domain name but they have not unswered at all its been 15 days and 10 emails.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

How to Transfer Domain - Review by Sam submitted on January 2, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 2, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: $8.95 whatever plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I read all the reviews here while looking for how to transfer my domain to another host.  It took me 3 hours to find the info I needed but with this info it would only take you a few minutes, so here it is:

Call Yahoo at (480)349-5070 and work through their menu to get to premium yahoo services and the geocities premium services.  Then just tell them you need to transfer.  They will give you the registry key and web site to Melbourne IT(the registrar) to go change it.  The guy was even really nice and didn't even ask why I was leaving???????? Surprised me.  Once I found the phone numbers the whole process took me less than 5 minutes.  Hope this makes life easier for everyone.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Site was shut down for no reason - Review by submitted on December 13, 2002
Customer's web site: 16model.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 13, 2002): N/A
Plan used: basic
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I was with yahoo since 1995. In fact it was before yahoo even had anything to do with geocities. They one day just decided to shut the site down with no warning and no reason. I lost almost 7 years of work on friends pages, a tribute page for my deceased Mother, and three months of work 9 hours a day working on business pages on the site. I never heard one word from yahoo even after multiple emails and filling out forms. I am still after one month after being shut down trying to contact them to transfer my domain.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Never had any problem, vey functional - Review by Manuel C. submitted on November 18, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 18, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: the cheapest one
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I use geocities for free and paid hosting. I can't complain. On 2 occasions I needed support and received it within 24-48 hours. I liked that the answer was to the point and well structured and helped me solve my problem.
I admit that this company is not for high ends professional sites but for a large informative site like mine it is all I need and the display and control panels are very easy to use even for a novice. I particularly like to file manager system they use.
Pricing is correct for service
Speed could indeed be improved

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

suddenly terminated service - Review by submitted on November 12, 2002
Customer's web site: www.arlenadcock.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 12, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Geocities Pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
I paid for web hosting service to support my auctions.  They suddenly terminated it (I didnt find out for a couple of days), without even a email telling me.  Avoid.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Not that bad - Review by Mark submitted on October 11, 2002
Customer's web site: inhumangames.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 11, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Basic $19.95 plan
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I'm not sure why everyone is bashing Yahoo.  I used a basic Yahoo account before moving to a dedicated server.  I was happy with Yahoo.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Bad Web Host - Review by Jonathan Steeke submitted on September 13, 2002
Customer's web site: www.geocities.com/fsuseminolesboy
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 13, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Free Plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
geocities need to update services. Geocities doesn't support XSL. i can't get ftp on my account. geocities need to update Server line to T-3. And Geocities need Faster Red Head Linux operating system.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

How to transfer your Yahoo! domain. - Review by Jason submitted on September 10, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 10, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: WebMaster - $11.95/month
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
As I came to this site looking for an ASP capable hosting service, I noticed all of the complaints about Yahoo's Geocities.  I haven't noticed any problems in the two months of my WebMaster Service.  I did however, find a link to information about transfering your current Yahoo domain to another service.
http://help.yahoo.com/help/us/mail/mdom/mdom-08.html
Good luck.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

upload and down times! - Review by submitted on September 3, 2002
Customer's web site: www.geocities.com/kicksterrr
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 3, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: free and recently for the last 4 mo's or so, the basic plan!
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
i've been with geocities for two years and i tell ya, i've hade soo much down time it's not funny....

i could not upload and/or dl from my site when it was frre or sence i've started paying for it (to get more space and banner free).

i've tried other free hosting and i tell ya, geocities is by far the worst that i've expierienced in my internet days. :(

if i wer you, i would not go this way if you want relyable uptime.

As well as not having enough said about the down time and upload/dl abilities, there suport is almost imposible to find, i spent nearly an hr just trying to find any adress, phone number and hrs of operation. this is NOT good for a Co to make the client (or posible client) have such a hard time doing this, not good for buisness!

over all, this is why i give them a 3 and no higher!

i could go more but i think i've prooved my point with geocities! :(
i'm looking for another hosting Co and i'm curently looking at www.ICDSoft.com, they're based in hong kong and there techs are based in europe but most of all, they're getting great ratings! :) i like that!

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

no support - Review by Michael Wardle submitted on September 1, 2002
Customer's web site: www.endbracket.net
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 1, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: GeoCities Pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
I transferred hosting of my domain name to Yahoo GeoCities as part of a Yahoo GeoCities Pro service over a week ago.  The introductory materials stated my service would be active within 48 hours, but I'm still waiting over 120 hours later.

Attempting to contact customer service about this matter has resulted in several template responses.  I responded to each fully, provided the requested information, and I did everything asked of me.  So far none of their support staff has even come close to activating my service or solving this problem.

Until then, my mail address doesn't work, and trying to browse my Web site shows a GeoCities error page, so I'm currently left with nothing.

Browsing the backup URL (a long GeoCities address) shows that the service is very slow, and automatically adds extra tags to the bottom of each page which breaks their standards compliance.

If you ever have problems (and you will), their customer service proves highly inadequate.

The services they provide at first seem to be good value, but given the service doesn't work, any perceived value is moot.

Avoid.


Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

A hint for those desparate to get away from Yahoo - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 21, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 21, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Webmaster
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Like many of the people who posted comments here, I had a lot of trouble getting my domain transferred once I left geocities.  But I did manage to get my nameservers switched to the new host.  It's just that they expect you to crawl on your hands and knees through their help system to find it.  They use Internet Names Worldwide (http://www.inww.com/
) as their registrar (if you were unfortunate enough to have registered it through them).  You'll just need to find your registry key, which geocities will give you if you email them with your: 1. name, 2. date of birth, 3. Zip Code, 4. domain name, AND 5. last 4 digits of credit card used to pay for the account.  The support email for GeoCities' premium services is (geo-premium-support@yahoo-inc.com), and while they were not exactly speedy, they did answer my emails in less than 48 hours each.

So, while I would never recommend these guys, I'm not yet ready to denounce Yahoo as an anathema.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

GeoCities -- Avoid It!! - Review by submitted on August 20, 2002
Customer's web site: miner.islandstuff.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 20, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Webmaster
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
GeoCities has no support. Good luck if you wish to switch to a new host too! My big mistake was letting GeoCities register my domain name for me. I have no access to administer it. I can't update the name servers and am getting no assistance from anyone at GeoCities. I even contacted the Registrar directly and have not heard from them yet, other than that I can't manage the name without a registry key and I have to get that from GeoCities, who (did I mention this?) DON'T ANSWER any inquiries. What ever you do, register your domain name with a separate registrar, and you can find a much better host for the same or less money than GeoCities.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

bah, don't even consider - Review by submitted on August 2, 2002
Customer's web site: www.geocities.com/Yosemite/Forest/6258/index.html
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 2, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: free one
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
don't even consider this one, no ftp with free plan, tried yesterday to update my site, couldn't even get my files uploaded, just click the upload button and they give you an add for their pay services, which are an absolute rip off...

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

avoid at all costs - Review by submitted on July 25, 2002
Customer's web site: bushtit.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 25, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: webmaster
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Extremlely limited in what you can access and what you can do with your account. Not flexible at all.

Not only that, you get ZERO support.  If you send an email to support, all you'll get back is a computer generated form-letter that has absolutely nothing to do with your problem. 

When I cancelled my account, I needed their involvement to transfer the domain to a new host. Its been over a month and over 100 emails and I still cant get any help. I'm now in the process of initiating legal action against them for depriving me of the use of the domain i own.



Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

But...it's not free anymore! - Review by submitted on July 4, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 4, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Geocities Pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Geocities starts out by deceiving their customers into thinking they're getting things like "4 email accounts" (which turn out to be nothing but fixed forwarding addresses leading to your 4 meg online Yahoo address) -- they tell you it uses Frontpage extensions (my experience and that of participants in discussion groups says otherwise) -- they offer you "priority email" customer support (I literally got no answers to my inquiries, even after waiting days).
They then move on to a system that often does not work right. For this they charge you a fee ($15 setup and $8.95 a month) that you could have used to get real, honest web hosting somewhere else.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Site got cancled - Review by submitted on May 20, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 20, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Geocities free
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
TOS was not clear and scattered about the site.
never got to talk to a person, only got an automated responce (e-mail) from them when I tried to find out what the problem was. I had to promise to remove everything to get my site back.
overall, if your looking for a site to show off your pet pictures, then use this site, be very careful of what you say or display. even if your not in the wrong, all it takes is one person to be affended by ANYTHING and they will cancle your site. check out http://net4tv.com/voice/Story.cfm?storyID=1987 for related information

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Money Troubles passed to Customer - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 8, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 8, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Webmaster Pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
After having been a paying customer on Geocities for over 2 years I have found myself out in the cold.  Not only did I have problems with my service, but I received no response from customer support at all.  After 2 months, many messages to customer support, and a complaint to the Better Business Bureau, I have had to shutdown my website.  They won't even release my domain so that another provider can host it.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by RK submitted on April 30, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 30, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Premium 2
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Deplorable tech support.  Forever hold for phone assistance.  Apathetic support personnel.  Online tech support marginal at best.  A major travesty to be avoided at all costs.  Even email requests for assistance go unanswered.  Just a horrible buch of folks to deal with (assuming you can get hold of a live body) Shopping around for another host.  Can't wait to dump this outfit.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on April 27, 2002
Customer's web site: www.jenterprises.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 27, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Advantage
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
First of all the support is N/A, theres not any. In their file manager they have add ins like "stock quotes", go to my site and look on the bottom and you'll see some stock quotes, oh, but these are the ones that I wrote, the ones on "their" program didn't (and still don't) work. They thanked me for bringing this to their attention, thats been 6 mo's (and several emails) ago.
Gets better.
I really like the ease of which you can ie... organize, create, edit, etc.. your site. Which leads to the discomfort of searching for another host because of this last problem. As of Apr 24th "Yahoo" (the real geocities in case you didn't know) changed their policy on "free" access and fowarding of email. Well, except for those customers (not unlike myself) who allready had a premium service and would not need to "subscribe" to the pay for service. Since we were allready paying for our 10 or so pop email accounts. Oh did I say email accounts? They're gone! I have been continusally emailing them since their service changed to have the problem looked into and the only (3) reponces I've recieved have been to tell me I MUST MAKE SURE MY CAPS LOCK KEY ISN"T ON or if I forgot my password they'll email me another etc....! GO FIGURE! I knew my typing was bad but JEEZE, it don't take a blonde secretary to figure out it's on their end. So if they don't correct the problem before I find another host, I'm outa here. Maybe even if they do get it fixed if I can find a host with the good features they offer. And there are many. And not the least of which is the price. If they had at least had a support staff that made an attempt to (appear) they were trying to solve your problems, I would be a life long devoted customer.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very Disappointed - Review by submitted on April 11, 2002
Customer's web site: www.brionesweb.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Geocities Pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Had a free home page with Geocities for some time and recently switched to a Geocities Pro account. Liked the pricing and the offer.  Had some minor headaches initially but worked through them. Then I received an error message while editing/saving a page. Ultimately, the viewable page is my edited version but the saved page is the unedited version. Zero customer support to resolve this issue despite numerous emails -- only received auto-response.

Mysteriously dropped all of my links. Just like that. One day they worked, then, nothing. Had to manually redo all links.

Then bought MS FrontPage 2002 after ensuring that it was compatible with their system. Nothing but grief when trying to upload pages. Two weeks and still unable to make progress. Can't speak to a real person in customer support.

If it's a free service, fine, auto-respond all day, but when I'm paying for a service I expect a real person's response.

That's why I'm here today...looking for new host.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-59]

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.