Yahoo! GeoCities - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: Yahoo! GeoCities
Host URL:

Average customer rating: 3.08 out of 10 based on 59 votes

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-59]


 

Geocities - Avoid at all Costs - Review by submitted on April 11, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 11, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: GeoCities PageBuilder Pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I've been with Geocities for over six months now, and really didn't have a complaint until they "upgraded" their system three weeks ago. What a nightmare! The new and "improved" PageBuilder is awful; not only does it NOT allow you to correct previously stored documents, it doesn't work itself. I'm VERY disappointed...

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Impossible to contact for help - Review by Dave submitted on April 4, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 4, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I had problems transferring my domain name to Geocities. Unfortunately I have no idea what those problems weer since they just refunded my money with no explanation. So did my current registrar not release my name or did I not do something right? Who knows? No response from Geocities to any of my e-mails. (Not even acknowledgement that they got my e-mails and will respond later)

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Stay Away - Review by Terry Korensek submitted on March 28, 2002
Customer's web site: www.lightscapephotography.net
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 28, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: GeoCities Advantage
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Nothing but problems right out of the gate. I have spent the last 2 days trying to setup some basic layouts of my new site & uploading files and am not happy so far.

My first problem was that my FTP wasn't uploading my 1500 gif files even though they're the same files I've used on a previous Yahoo site(not GeoCities). After spending a day digging through help files, I find out that my gif's naming system wasn't appropriate since they have spaces & parenthesis in them (even though these names worked fine on my previous Yahoo site). Granted, I can use 1-2 renaming utilities to rename the 1500 files, but it's still tedious & time consuming. But at least it's do-able if I spend a couple hours renaming.

So, after sorting out this headache, I go to my next step & am just dumbfounded at what I find out. I now try to upload a few screen savers which are .exe files, and once again, FTP won't upload. More reading tells me that .exe files are not allowed!!!??? HUH???? Unless I'm missing something very basic here, how can their advertised high-end business site be forbidden to have .EXE files??? If their policy is to forbid them, the least I could expect is to find a notice to this effect somewhere in their sales pitch. I did a fair amount of reading before applying for my domain & did't find a hint of this policy anywhere.

Don't bother trying to find a support phone number, it doesn't exist, or, if it does, they've done a damn good job of hiding it. My only recourse was to e-mail them with my concerns. Their e-mail reply was a form letter with 2 links to follow. The first link was to a page listing which files their hosting doesn't accept (exe & script). DUHH!! I already know that- that was the point of my email (did they read it?). The second link was to their "Disconnect Service" page. How's that for a response to my concerns??!! No explanation or apology for not disclosing their policy (before registration) of forbiding exe & script files. Mind you, this plan is the one they hawk as being THE choice for a high-end, professional site.

Oh, here's another good one. For 3 days I've tried to access their billing option page to add an option to my account. And every time I've tried for 3 days, I get an error message stating the system is "busy" & to try again in a few minutes. Of course, it's been "busy" for 3 days now. Apparently there's no way of changing my billing options, since they don't have a phone line either. Wait, it gets better. They have another link on their non-working billing options page which states: YOUR FEEDBACK HELPS US IMPROVE THE SERVICE FOR YOU AND OTHERS. TELL US WHAT YOU THINK. In case you can't guess what awaits when you click that link, it takes you to another page which says PAGE CAN NOT BE DISPLAYED.

Since Yahoo migrated to GeoCities, their hosting prices have increased, their service & support seem non-existant & they seem to have a scr*w you attitude. I'm out of here.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Upload problems - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 25, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 25, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: free hosting
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I have only used geocities for free hosting but I have had a number of problems uploading files.  File names change during upload and pages don't load correctly.  This site may be ok for free hosting but I wouldn't recommend it for small businesses. 

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Problems with Geocities - Review by submitted on March 15, 2002
Customer's web site: www.geocities.com/tonypresley1
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Geocites Plus ($4.95 per month)
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
A long-time user of Geocities, I have always been pleased with their service and would have rated them 8-10.  Then my site disappeared from Geocities without notice.  After more than 5 days I have not been able to receive any response from them after numerous attempts! My site includes a cancer help page which is very popular with cancer patients and I have received many e-mails asking what happened to my page?! To me, this is an emergency but to them (Geocities), it is evidently no big deal! They really seem to have no customer service and it looks like I am going to have to find another host. 

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

GeoCities is not worh it - Review by Anonymous submitted on February 7, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 7, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: 12.95 per month
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Geocities is only good if you want a cute personal site. If you want to use it for a business site beware. Constant problems. Email attachments can only be up to 1.5 meg. Say email support questions answered in 72 hrs. All you get in 72 hrs is a general email saying test the problem, it may have corrected itself. The problem never gets corrected. Space for web site small. Limited to 6 pages.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Problems - Review by submitted on January 18, 2002
Customer's web site: www.geocities.com/picturesofanimals
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 18, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Upon upload, files will take the name of another.  Example:"tiger.jpg" could become "sealion.html".  It happens on at least 30% of all uploads.  Of course, you get no tech support.  VERY frustrating.  Not worth the benefits of what they offer.  Geocities sucks.  There's no other way to put it.  It's fine if you're a 15 year old girl who has a couple poems and updates once every 5 months, but not a semi-serious webmaster would consider it.  It's a lot more work than it should be because of their problems.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Yahoo Bites - Review by Anonymous submitted on January 4, 2002
Customer's web site: ww.gulow.net
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 4, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: GeoCities Pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Quick rundown: The first week, images on my site will randomly either not load, or have a different image loaded in it's place.  After the first week, half the images on my site WILL NOT load.  Sending email to tech support only results in a reply that the problem has been fixed.  DO NOT USE THIS SUCK ASS COMPANY.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Yahoo Geocities - Review by submitted on December 31, 2001
Customer's web site: www.tekawiz.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 31, 2001): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: basic
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
For less $10 a month you get a pretty good package, including a versatile and easy to use web page editor and file manager. There is an online help community that is pretty useful. Front end is clear and well organized.

Representative of Yahoo! GeoCities?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-59]

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.