Lonex - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: Lonex
Host's Web Site: Lonex.com
Click the link above to visit this host's site

Average customer rating: 5.11 out of 10 based on 5 votes


 

So far so good - except for downtime - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 30, 2003
Customer's web site: www.universal-anime.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 30, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Corporate Package
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
We like Lonex, and are glad that we signed on with you.  The file manager is very clear, transferring documents is a breeze, and the editor is excellent.  The only factor that is proving to be a problem for us is the downtime when trying to upload images.  We have had to wait for over two hours each evening in order to complete our work.

Representative of Lonex?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

heh - Review by submitted on August 22, 2003
Customer's web site: www.e-ldreams.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 22, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: not sure
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Well our serers go Down alot, you charged me 10 dollars just to get my site up for no reason... And now i get 2000 emails a day by some guy saying download attached email... This is sad guys.

Representative of Lonex?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Ashish submitted on August 20, 2003
Customer's web site: www.shashibooks.com
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 20, 2003): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
There was a bug in the ftp upload script which they corrected within 24 hours of reporting it.

Representative of Lonex?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

superb - Review by Hristo submitted on June 5, 2003
Customer's web site: it.lonex.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 5, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: business
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
handy interface, stabile speed, excellent support

Representative of Lonex?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

A lot of downtime and fouling http headers - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 30, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 30, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Almost every single day my site was down for longer periods of time. Trying to open my website in a browser was returning a variety of different errors like "Connection refused", "Permission denied" and "Premature or of headers".

Besides, when I decided to look at raw http headers sent to my browser by their server, I discovered that the headers sent back request the browser not to cache anything with content expiration in 1981, but to reload every sinlge page, image or style sheet. Which increases the bandwidth usage dramatically. Was that done intentional to foul the customers to run out of bandwidth faster or was it just unprofessional configuration? I don't know, but it made the site extremly slow.

Definitively stay away from this hosting provider.

Here are the http headers sent back from the server:

HTTP/1.x 200 OK
Date: Fri, 30 May 2003 23:01:32 GMT
Server: Apache/2.0.45 (Debian GNU/Linux)
X-Powered-By: PHP/4.2.3
Expires: Thu, 19 Nov 1981 08:52:00 GMT
Cache-Control: no-store, no-cache, must-revalidate, post-check=0, pre-check=0
Pragma: no-cache
Keep-Alive: timeout=15, max=100
Connection: Keep-Alive
Transfer-Encoding: chunked
Content-Type: text/html

Lonex representative's response:

It is not obliged the problems mentioned by our customer (the message above) to be caused by our server:

Connection refused: there are at least two options for this message - if the customer used a proxy server and the proxy server is not configured well or if our web server was down. If it was our web server - this happened while we moved the servers from the old ISP LikeWhoa located in New York and the new ISP is in Fremont, CA and the movement occured with a little influence on the servers. Also we notified all of our customers about the movement and the possibility of a partial downtime during the movement. The web server was down for a short periods in a couple of days while we moved our servers away from LikeWhoa as they was blacklisted in SPEWS, SpamCop and many other antispam lists as they was hosting a lot of adult servers and a lot of spammers. Now Lonex is not in any antispam list and our customers can send and receive emails from everywhere.

Premission denied: this is an error of any file with wrong premission. The premission of each file must be set by the customer and the easiest way to do this is through the File Manager (only on the script files the premission must be always set).

Premature or of headers: this is an error which shows when the script is with wrong headers inside. It does not have anything to do with our server.

There are too many reasons for the problem with the cache. Only a few possibilities are web proxy or the cache expiration can be set inside the script.

At the end I'll write that this customer should have contacted our 24/7 customer support as our support representative would tell him/her within about 15 minutes what to do and our administrators would even make the proper changes or give him/her a suggestion how he/she can solve the "Premission denied", the "Premature or of headers" and the cache problems. The server movement we did is a step forward as now the new ISP is running very stable, more faster and it is not blacklisted anywhere.

For any problem there is resolution and it is not a reason to bypass the support and to go on his/her own. If the customer still has problems he/she is welcome to contact the support for assistance.

Kalin Blaskoff
Lonex.com Manager

 

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.