CommuniTech.Net - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: CommuniTech.Net
Host's Web Site:
Click the link above to visit this host's site

Average customer rating: 5.77 out of 10 based on 26 votes


 

No good - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 8, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 8, 2003): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Very poor speed and service since Interland acquired Communitech last year

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

terrible quality, incompetent tech support - Review by Matt submitted on July 28, 2003
Customer's web site: square-haven.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 28, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Horrible service since acquired by interland. I am searching for a new host and stumbled upon this site in the process.

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very bad service since Interland acquired Communitech - Review by Harry submitted on July 11, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 11, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Standard Unix
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
The amount of Downtime is way higher than before the acquistion. The support staff is totally unknowledgeble about the workings of Communitech operations..

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Interland killed them. - Review by Erich submitted on June 26, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 26, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Unix
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I have worked with Communitech for 4 years and referred ALL my clients to them - absolutely great company.

Then Interland acquired them... I am scrambling now to get all my clients OFF of Communitech/Interland as their servers are down constantly, if they are up, they are incessantly slow, and customer support is anything BUT timely...  when they made their big "switch", I tried to give them the benefit of the doubt as they worked through the technical aspects, but the service and performance have gone even lower.

It's sad to see what has happened to a once-great company.  I would _never_ recommend Communitech or Interland.  I hate to give such terrible ratings given such an excellent past - but it really does suck that badly now.

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Communitech goes downhill - Review by Richard Calo submitted on May 21, 2003
Customer's web site: thepromsite.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 21, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Standard plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Communitech used to be the best around--until they were purchased by Interland. In the past three months, since they moved the communitech servers to Atlanta, service has really been disrupted. Downtime averages 12 hours per stretch with at least 2-4 12 hour downtimes per month, and the email servers go down even more often. I'm writing this because at this moment I am looking for a new hosting service and I stumbled onto this site. Today, all my sites (4 of them) have been down for over 12 hours. Since this is my peak season, and I depend extensively on email (not to mention site visitors) for business, I can no longer consider the hosting level and reliability that communitech offers as viable for serious, business oriented websites.

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Problems since Interland aquired them. - Review by submitted on May 16, 2003
Customer's web site: www.metzener.com/dave
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 16, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Standard Unix
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Ever since Interland aquired CommuniTech.net, I have had nothing but problems with their pop server. It seems to go down at least once a day. I have called their support staff and got a "Hope it get's resolved soon" comment from one of their tech's.

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Use to be excellent but since Interland took over it's the pits - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 22, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 22, 2003): Private
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: Private
Technical quality rating: Private
Cost rating: Private
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Since Interland consolidated servers which mover them from Kansas City to Atlanta, I've had nothing but problems with everything about my account. Customer suipport ius clueless about how Communitech's system runs & the products they featured..

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Lack of technical skills - Review by submitted on April 17, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 17, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: It was a rollover from AT&T Beready
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Communitech took over the AT&T business ready servers business from AT&T. We had the beready serer for 2 years without any problems. With communitech running the operations both our DNS and mail has been interrupted numerous times due to modifications of our Name servers without expressed permission of the users. Repeated attempts to rectify the problems have only resulted in flustration.  The technicain understood basic network theory but lack knowledge related to hosting virtual hosts which may have different requirements than canned box internet servers.  Communitech lack understanding related to leased operations and management of non-standard unix boxes.  Simple DNS management issues overwhelm them.

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Now Interland - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 16, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 16, 2003): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: Private
Technical quality rating: Private
Cost rating: Private
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Was great until now. Merged with Interland. Check Interland's ratings to get a better idea of what to expect from Communitech now.

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Not Happy - Review by Ed Koon submitted on April 10, 2003
Customer's web site: www.freshfloridacars.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 10, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
This was once a good company that provided top notch service. However since being bought out by Interland they have became horable! the smtp server just plain sucks! Now they are moving everyones servers to the interland domain with no prior notice. Site up and down! Im moving elsewhere when my yearly contract is up.

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by brent submitted on April 3, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 3, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: unix virtual server
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
since it's acquisition by interland, communitech's service has gone down hill rapidly. Email servers, and sites hosted by communitech have been repeatedly down, causing resold accounts to leave. As I type this there is a 'global network failure' on their systems. Tech support hold time exceeds one hour...

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent Before Interland - Review by David submitted on April 1, 2003
Customer's web site: www.thenetweb.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 1, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Unix Standard
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Ever since I signed up with CommuniTech they have only gotten better. What started as a college-kid and high-school kid teaming up to start a company became one of Kansas City, MO's largest technology companies worth millions.

When I began hosting with them, they had a few problems with features (getting them to work..although they have SO many features, all included at no extra cost, that problems with a couple of the newer ones wasn't a big deal for most people). However, they have grown through several new fully custom control panel interfaces, feature upgrades, and support improvements that they had become my only choice as the best web host on the Internet. And I've been with them since the "Unix Standard" account was their ONLY account! (They now offer 3 Unix and 3 Windows virtual accounts, and several platforms of dedicated servers.) The price premium isn't really a premium, I wouldn't consider paying less than $20 to $20/month for webhosting to get anything worth using for business purposes.

I am, however, currently concerned with their aquisition by Interland. They were aquired back in Feb. of 2002, and said that nothing would change, including location and staff, they'd just have a new owner.

Well, nothing changed. For a year. Now, they're moving their whole data center to Interland's Atlanta data center and closing the Kansas City office altogether within a few months (it's April 2nd, 2003 as I write this). The founders of CommuniTech have left after working for Interland for a short period of time, and may not have been promply compensated for the sale of their company (blame-game still going on, full details not yet known).

And, Interland isn't know for it's awesome service or support. This leads me to the sad choice of picking another provider. This time it will be for a dedicated server, where I will move my 5 resold accounts from CommuniTech over to the dedicated along with my account, and possibly some new ones now that I have the extra space (and the extra cost of a dedicated server!). I get more control now, and more features (whatever I want to install), but I have to pick the dedicated host with the best system and bandwidth (I've been carefully reviewing fine print for three days, covering probably 50 dedicated hosting providers...rackspace.com is dead AWESOME if you have money to spend like dollars were pesos, but I'll probably go with superbservers.net/services/linux.php or possibly valueweb.com or poplogic.com), and I'm sad to be leaving CommuniTech. If it had remained under original ownership or had been left completely autonomous (it has always been profitible, why change it?) after aquisition, I may have changed my mind and stayed around for years to come.

I will probably complete my move within a month or two, after I finally decide on a dedicated server in my price range. I don't know what will happen to CommuniTech, but as I prepare to leave it remains very solid for it's virtual accounts at least, with no noticable changes so far (since nothing has really happened with the move yet). Dedicated servers with them that have been moved to Interland in Atlanta have had a few complaints on their customer forums, but I do not have first-hand experience. Hopefully the situation will get better, or at least back to where it used to be.

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very nice folks - Review by submitted on January 29, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 29, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: unix
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Never had any problems that they were not on top of quickly. Control panel is great and step-by-step instructions for everything i need to do, very clear, customized to my accounts.

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

great service - Review by yoda submitted on January 11, 2003
Customer's web site: www.childscry.org
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 11, 2003): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
99.99% uptime, great support and reliabilty for many years now

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent - Review by Tim Ward submitted on January 4, 2003
Customer's web site: www.mclift.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 4, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Standard
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
This is a good example of: "You get what you pay for".

They may cost a little more then the other hosts, but you'll be pleased with the customer service, and server performance!



Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Fast & Responsive - Review by submitted on September 24, 2002
Customer's web site: www.atlanticpacificent.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 24, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: UNIX Standard Plan
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Set-up was withing 24 hours.  Has an 800 number with real people who actually answer the phone.
Has live-chat with sales and tech-support.
Have only been with them for 2 months but so far, support is great!

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

I lost my website and e-mail - Review by submitted on May 8, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 8, 2002): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Iíve had the worst experience with CommuniTech.net.  First, it took them a whole week before my domain could be found on the Internet.  Then 2 years later, they forget to renew my domain name.  So I lost my website and all its e-mail.  More of my horror story can be found at http://www.manuelsweb.com/communitech.htm

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 6, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 6, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Cheapest One
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Had them for about 5 years now, and maybe had a problem about twice. They are always up and if they need to be down for an upgrade or something,they let you know well in advance. If you can afford it and need the up time, a good choice.

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Good value, good sertvice - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 4, 2002
Customer's web site: www.gcmac.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 4, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: UNIX $29/mo
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
We moved our busy user group site to their system two years agi, and we've been very happy. Great uptime, lots of added value services and scripts, and outstanding ease of use FTP. I've installed GCI scripts on my Communitech accounts without problems. After using them for a year I moved a number of very busy clients to them, without a problem. Reasonable rates, excellent transfer and server space options, and a good control panel. Now that they are a division of interland, I hope the service continues, simply backed by a bigger company.

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great Host - Review by submitted on April 14, 2002
Customer's web site: okay.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 14, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: UNIX Standard
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I've used Communitech since 1999. They have huge feature selection, responsive customer service, and very high reliability. After putting up my site, I've since put up 6 more for other people using Communitech. We use the RealAudio/Video feature heavily.

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very Happy - Review by Josh Utterback submitted on April 2, 2002
Customer's web site: wmffl.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 2, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: UNIX Standard Plan
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I've had my site hosted at a number of different companies and Communitech has definatly been the best.  The uptime is very reliable and consistant and they offer plenty of extras.  I've been very happy with them.

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Good and Bad - Review by John Bender submitted on March 2, 2002
Customer's web site: asofttouch.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 2, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Virtual Hosting
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I was with CT for over a year there support was sometimes good and at other times they did not even answer trouble tickets. My pages loaded slowly and email was even slower. They do have a lot of extras which is why I was there for so long.

Representative of CommuniTech.Net?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


© 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.