Tera-Byte - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: Tera-Byte
Host URL:

Average customer rating: 5.79 out of 10 based on 28 votes


 

Avoid em - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 16, 2003
Customer's web site: www.Jimland.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 16, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: dedicated RaQ4
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Avoid TB at all costs.

Shoddy service, out of date servers, they say things happen but give no proof, they will cost you a LOT of $ and headaches. RackShack.net kills them in all catagories.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on June 19, 2003
Customer's web site: movievehicles.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 19, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: 4U
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
These people respond to email requests within hours, rarely have problems, and work hard to fix anything that goes wrong.  I had trouble believing that you could get all this for the price, but it is true.  These are good people.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Security Nightmare! - Review by Former Customer submitted on May 25, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 25, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Plan 4 Unix
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
No backups, and security is a joke! And support is just terrible! If you host with them and ever run into a problem you will be screwed!

Also take a look at this:
"Tera-byte.com - buyer beware!"
http://www.veganic.com/redirection.html

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Down again today - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 20, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 20, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: 4U
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 6 out of 10
Our company's been hosted by Tera-Byte for years. Usually the service is good, but it is uneven.

1. Over the past couple of years we have had two extended outages, one lasting 2 and a half days. Email was flakey yesterday and today we've been down all morning. There have been other shorter outages.

2. They tend to change things. For example, Front Page extensions just disappeared one day. They were happy to put it back, but it takes time to find out what they did. They changed something in their FTP service so that some FTP clients won't work with it (e.g. Windows command line FTP and Front Page FTP--anything that won't support passive mode) and never announced the change.

3. The ENSIM Control Panel is excruciatingly slow (it took 2 minutes for one page to respond). It's also confusing and clumsy. The documentation is sparse, hard to use, and slow to access.

In defense of Tera-Byte, I have never experienced the support problems that some other raters mention. I use email support, and the answers are courteous, correct and quick. Their plans offer several things that I like, including low-cost static IP and real FTP accounts.

However, I'm in the process of migrating my sites elsewhere because of up-time issues.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Downtime all the time - Review by submitted on March 26, 2003
Customer's web site: 66.96.228.57
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 26, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: ebay
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
It seems in my experience that this host is down ALOT. At least once a day in my experience. BUT 5 gigs of space and 5 gigs of transfer for $4/month aint bad so I guess you get what you pay for?!

The companies homepage has a banner ad at the bottom thats always screwed up and not working.....the phone number listed is an answering machine to some lackie at a corporation somewhere.

I think this host is nothing more than some corporations IT guy with an extra terminal sitting around and needs the extra money bad enough to leech off the companies bandwidth , hoping noone will notice. Either that or they just dont give a damn. I mean how hard is it to maintain a banner ad? HELLO...spend 5 minutes and delete it. DUH.
Tera-Byte representative's response:

im not quite sure who this person is speaking about but we have no plans like the one he mentions, we have no answering machines in our offices (telephones are answered live 24/7, we have no banners on our homepage and the ip listed isnt ours.

 

 

Dedicated Raq4 - Review by Jeff submitted on February 26, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 26, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Their network has been reliable with very little downtime.  They will reboot the server if there is a problem.  Because I have an unmanaged server if there is a problem and they need to fix it, they charge $50 and hour.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

They are a great company! - Review by Eric submitted on February 12, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 12, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: 4U
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have had my site hosted with them for two years now with no problems to report. I have found there support both knowledgeable and fast. I love the fact that they also offer support via an IRC channel. There pricing structure is among the very best for the high quality of service and features they offer.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Almost gave them a 10... - Review by submitted on January 3, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 3, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: 3R
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I was just sitting here, writing a glowing review (after a year of hosting), when I wanted to check something on my website.  The server hard drive had crashed, and the backup they had made was old and contained nothing about the user accounts (including their webpages) or the database.  They had to reset my passwords, and I had to set up 50 users and try to find an old copy of each of their websites.

On ther other hand, everything before today has been wonderful.  I've never gotten an answering machine on their toll-free phoneline, and the person on the other end is always courteous and helpful.  The site management tool was a little slow, but I never saw the site go down (except for that time yesterday).

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Needs better Perl support - Review by R submitted on December 10, 2002
Customer's web site: www.trasureboards.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 10, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: 4U
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Tera-Byte seems to be a bit clueless sometimes.  They do not have the full-install of Perl and it's associated modules installed on their servers.  They tell me - "Install it yourself into your own directories" - but yet to install it - their customers would need root permissions access... Not so at TeraByte.  And the refure to install the modules....  If I had only known... Well, when our year is up - it'll be time to move anyway.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

A customer service disaster! - Review by Anonymous submitted on December 1, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 1, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Plan 1 Unix
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Obnoxious and unhelpful, and not very technically literate either.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very good - Review by submitted on November 17, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 17, 2002): N/A
Plan used: 4U
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
10/10 for features and price, 7/10 support.  For the more advanced webmaster.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Pretty Good - Review by Lisa Tam submitted on November 11, 2002
Customer's web site: www.faerieveil.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Plan 1 Unix
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
Tera-Byte offers solid service, a combination of inexpensive pricing with technical reliability. However I would suggest this webhost for the more experienced. First, because the control panel features maybe aren't evident to a beginner. Second, their customer service is okay but not stellar. In my case I've had two billing and registration problems, which were solved in a few days. But, if you are a self-reliant webmaster who's looking for a deal, Tera-Byte will do the job.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

As good as it gets... - Review by Anonymous submitted on September 18, 2002
Customer's web site: nouveaumedia.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 18, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: the $99 for one year plan
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
...for the money. They are consistent and pretty good at answering questions and solving problems fast.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Run, run FAST from this company - Review by Anonymous submitted on September 3, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 3, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Dedicated
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Can't say much, we are considering legal action against them.

Fraudulent billing practices, unbinding on-line contract they enforce through extortion, poor tech support, poor techs, lots of downtime, etc. etc.
Can't wait to sue their butts!

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Works for me - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 23, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 23, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: 3U and 4U
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I have my personal web site with Tera-Byte as well as the company I work for. Their customer support has been very responsive and the web site access has been quick. The only down side is that their site management pages respond slowly, not that I use them much.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Not recommended at all. - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 19, 2002
Customer's web site: www.silkthread.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 19, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: 3U
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I don't recommend this host at all.  About a year ago they completely deleted everything I had on their servers WITHOUT NOTIFYING ME to update their system or whatever they were doing (they never really did tell me).  Their support sucks, they talk down to you and aren't helpful at all.  A couple weeks ago, they suspended my account due to "non-payment".  The thing is, they never billed me or my credit card.  When I tried to resolve the issue, they forwarded me to a website to update my billing information, but it wouldn't go through because my information was the same as it was before.  I tried emailing them again and didn't receive a response.  I am now happily hosted by ICDSoft (www.icdsoft.com).

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on June 5, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 5, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
Good reliability, decent (not great) speed, the only real problem was terrible support documentation that made setting certain kinds of things up more of a hassle than necessary. That was two years ago though, so they may have improved. Their response time to email was quite good though, usually within hours.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Mostly good - Review by Ian Sharpe submitted on May 13, 2002
Customer's web site: www.iansharpe.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 13, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: 4U
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
Good value for money and prompt responses to support requests BUT from the UK at least, my site runs a little slow and has done on two different servers at Tera-Byte. Also downtime has been slightly higher than I would have liked and I have just put some monitoring in place.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Not Bad.. - Review by .: JAY :. submitted on May 5, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 5, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Service is just awesome:
400Mb and unlimited bandwidth...
Can't beat that, but their e-mail support is very slow and no fallow-ups what so ever.
I was exchanging e-mails with this person from Tera-Byte for two days and finally i called the 877 number and problem that i had was gone within 5 minutes.
Just depends who you talk to, as usual.
But overal - pretty good service.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Unreliable - Review by Nick submitted on April 28, 2002
Customer's web site: rathernotsay.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 28, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: shared server space
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
They reboot your sever without telling you on shared hosting accounts.  They also don't respond to problems fast enough. 



Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by lisa submitted on April 26, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 26, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
it sucks period. there a bunch of idiots who cant get there things straight.

they also enjoy charging your credit card for things you didn't order.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Harvey submitted on April 12, 2002
Customer's web site: www.webcentro.com.au
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 12, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Plan 4
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
Very good value for money with a good range of features.  Their support via e-mail is reasonably good. The 24x7 support helps as we are in Australia - our timezone is 16 hours ahead of them.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very good - Review by submitted on March 28, 2002
Customer's web site: snakk.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 28, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Windows
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Tera-Byte Inc. is an very good and stable host, they have a realy good support team that answer your questions an minutes!!

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Bang for the buck - Review by submitted on March 22, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 22, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
At under 10 a month for 200 megs and 20GB of transfer, you can't go wrong. They pick the phone up prmptly and take care of your problem.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Poor service - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 16, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 16, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: 3R & WS
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Plan was set up very quickly but 2 weeks later when I realized I needed to upgrade it took them 16 days and then the new account wouldn't work. Took them three weeks to tell me they did not know what was wrong. Then they did not want to refund my money. Idiots.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on February 25, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 25, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
24 hour tech support, but it's all staffed by idiots! They just want you to shut up, not help you.

Representative of Tera-Byte?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.