HalfPriceHosting - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: HalfPriceHosting
Host URL:

Average customer rating: 4.15 out of 10 based on 18 votes


 

No problems - Review by Greg submitted on June 12, 2003
Customer's web site: www.johnnyroadtrip.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 12, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: WebMasterDB
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I've been hosting with them for three years after two nightmare months at A+Net.  I have a site with 1,000 pages, and we get a lot of traffic.  We run java and asp; they had some asp issues a couple years ago but I've had no issues in that area for a year or so.  Technical support is friendly and helpful and quick to resolve issues, and it is available 24/7.

Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent for me - Review by Robbie submitted on June 2, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 2, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Webmaster
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
My first host, I have never had any problems with HPH. Tech support has always been prompt in replying to my emails - quite often settling any problems/queries within the hour. I've been with HPH for about 2/12 years now, and my experience so far has been very positive. 

Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Terrible Customer Service - Review by Andrew Cleaver submitted on May 26, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 26, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: standard hosting
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I asked them to cancel my account - I got billed anyway and was told that I could only have a credit.  I don't even have a site hosted there - but they cept my $150

Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Half price isn't that bad! - Review by Nelly submitted on April 4, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 4, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: windows webmaster
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
I host two sites at halfpricehosting and it hasn't been bad!
One of the sites is for a major league baseball player and there's been no complains from him or me!
The site are always up which is very important!
Their tech support is good and they repond within 24 hours always!
My only complain is their prices! Nothing half-price about them!!!
Many others offer the same plans for a lot cheaper!
Their unix plan with cgi & perl is $29.95 a month - RIDICOLOUS!
Half-price needs to lower their prices and offer more in their current packages!
Then, I would consider them a top host!

Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Were good but not now! - Review by KC submitted on March 17, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 17, 2003): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
This company was great when I first started with them.  Then they raised their rates.  Automatically renewed your account.  Cancelling the account was a nightmare.  You don't get what you pay for here.


Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Bad service, and they don't really care - Review by Anonymous submitted on February 12, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 12, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Webmaster/db
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I have been a customer of 1/2 price hosting for over 2 years and at first they were very good and I had no problems at all.  After the first year, the service went down which I think is caused because they were growing for a while and then hit a BUMP which cost them some sites.  They seem to have a hard time keeping technical support people.  I don't like having to use support, but when I do, I want respose quickly, and I have been getting anything but that.  I have had a problem that started when they "upgraded" my email to a new server, and even though they know about the problem, they are not willing to fix it because they would like me to move from using Eudora to access my mail, to using their built-in webmail product. 

I have already begun the process of moving my 4 sites to a new host, and I am very hapy that this current site is around to make that choice a lot easier for me.

Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Irresponsible, incompetent - Review by submitted on January 26, 2003
Customer's web site: www.mscookie.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 26, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: wed developer advanced
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Changed ip address for my stats server, they are too clueless to understand that if i have click thru watches set up, the ip address of the stats server being changed will result in a page not found error - two weeks before christmas! Techs are barely trained to read their manuals, constant dns problems and brief outages. Waste of time, if your site is mere a "business card" and not an ecomm site, you probably can't get too badly burned, unfortunately I have seen worse. 24/7 toll free tech support is a great benefit, unfortunately I have called it way too many times and way too many times been greeted by an unresponsive, uninterested, incompetent drone. If your website is a major component of your operation, stay the heck away from hph. Oh yeah, they claim to support .NET but that is really almost non-existent. The people that answer the phones won't answer any .NET questions. Support of .NEt only by email and they leave at 5 PM. They are way over their heads.

Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Bait and switch. - Review by The Chauffeur submitted on January 11, 2003
Customer's web site: www.limoraces.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 11, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: webmaster
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
1/2 price hosting was chosen for my project because of the services they supposedly offered with various plans but when I try to access these functions I am unable to make anything work. When I go to their support database the Q's and A's seem to be out of date. When support is called on the phone and you ask any tech questions they usually end up trying to sell you services that were supposed to be included in the hosting plan.
I've had quite a few problems with half price. Mostly, I think, because they are so departmentalized that when you try to correct one problem, it creates two other problems in their system. My credit card was even charged for hosting for someone elses domain name. I'm afraid to call them to get that corrected for fear that they will shut down my site accidentally or on purpose.
Bait and switch advertising is illegal in the real world, Why not in cyberspace as well?
I actually found webhostingratings.com when searching for a class action lawsuit for 1/2 price hosting as the defendant.
I suppose my last resort before that is to drive down to Louisville and plead with them to provide the services that they promise, and fail to deliver.
Meanwhile, I'm shopping for another mail server, maybe even another host.

Justin ~ www.limoraces.com

Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Do not try HalfPriceHosting! - Review by MJ submitted on January 8, 2003
Customer's web site: www.RockyMountainData.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 8, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Developer
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I had two accounts with HalfPriceHosting.  There were times I was double-billed and even triple-billed for several months in the past.  Each time I had to fax or email them proof that they had received money.  There also was a time when they didn't bill for a period of service until 6 months later, then sent a cancel notice, then couldn't even explain why the money was owed.  It got so bad I left them with 9 months still completely paid up rather than deal with them any more.

Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great hosting! - Review by Colleen submitted on December 17, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 17, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I've been with halfpricehosting.com for three years and have never had a problem.  I have a lot of graphics and again, have never had a problem.  My live stats are wonderful and always.  E-mails are superb through Outlook.  I rate them FIVE STARS.

Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

"OUCH!" Everything Included Costs Morea - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 29, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 29, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: WebmasterDB
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
The WebmasterDB account adds a
Database to your account. The only
problem is that you have to pay extra
every month in addition to the monthly
quoted charges for the plan.

Not only that but the SSL comes with
another charge of $25.00 per month
plus the setup. Hmm? I thought the
setup was included in the Webmaster
DB plan.  WATCH YOUR WALLET with
HalfPriceHosting - (should be
FullPriceHosing).

I agree with the mailto script of
the other poster. They actually create
a script for you under their domain
name to send a form for your site.
I have never heard of such a thing
as this. (No Java Either).

Watch your wallet/purse with HPH.

Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

A Dangerous Company - Review by submitted on June 13, 2002
Customer's web site: www.porthaven.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 13, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Standard $99/yr, which they discontinued.
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
HALFPRICEHOSTING.COM

WARNING!!!

This company is dangerous. They changed their plans 2 yrs ago. I asked to close my account.  This past February I receive a bill for $150.  Now I haven't even been using their host for 2yrs now. 

There is no record of cancellation. (And this was two years ago so I no longer have the records.) Anyways, you'd think that they'd work with me. They received $150 for a whole year of hosting I didn't use. So you'd think they'd be content with this...nope.  So now they are pursuing me for this $150. I mean if I was a large company I'd pay it and just shut 'em up. But I'm just an individual so $150 is a nice chunk out of my monthly paycheck.  Anyways, on top of the lousy service.  Double-talk...and other BS. This company shows no willingness to work with me. 

I am not one to usually post a negative comment. But this company has left me no choice.  Apparently, if I am to keep my credit rating I will have to deal with this thru the legal system.  Yeah, I made the mistake of not keeping two yr old records and have gone thru a couple computer systems as well. 

This company appears to be one that claims to keep and have all records, but doesn't.  Anyways, expect a lot of crap and hassle from this company if you ever have a problem.  No problem, you're okay. But this is a cheap company and if you ever have a problem hope to God you can find every single record because they won't have any.  (Yes, they know the legalities of contracts and will take advantage of you if you don't.)

I am so adamant about the dangers of this company that I will in fact put my name on this post, feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

- Jason
www.porthaven.com

Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Satisfied customer - Review by sandy submitted on May 24, 2002
Customer's web site: www.hostalavistababy.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 24, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Web Master Plan
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I have two websites with this host. One is a business site, and the other is a gardening forum, using Active Server Pages. I have had my business website with them for almost three years. I had the gardening forum with another company, ReadyHosting, for a few months. There were so many problems with Ready Hosting, including so much down time that it made me crazy, that I switched that forum to Half Price Hosting, too.

I have been very happy with HPH. I really don't know a thing about the technical side of hosting, or what all the options in each package mean. All I know is that they have always been available when needed. I can either call their 800 number, which is a plus, since I've seen other hosting companies that don't even have a phone number listed, much less a toll free one! I have also used their on-line chat tech support and have been very happy with it. I usually make my calls late at night, and have never had to wait long for a tech. Plus, they usually know what they're doing. And if they don't, they ask someone else. I have never had a tech who was nasty or rude. In fact, they've all been extremely helpful.

My only complaints with the company are that sometimes their servers get very busy, which slows down the loading of my ASP forum. Slows it WAY down, or rarely I'll get an error message and the forum won't be displayed. This doesn't occur too often, though, and when it does it's just a quick phone call to HPH tech support, and they reboot the server, and things are back up and running.

The other complaint I have is that I would prefer to be billed automatically, rather than have both of the sites go down because I've forgotten to pay the bill on the other site. This happened to me once. I was not aware I had forgotten to pay the bill on my business site. This caused not only my business site, but also my gardening forum, which WAS paid in full, to go down. I don't like this kind of billing tactic. My sites have different billing dates. If one isn't paid for, I don't see how it should affect the site that IS paid for. The paid-for site should NOT be down. I wish they would just keep my credit card number on file, and email me that the renewal date is coming up and tell me they will automatically bill my credit card.


Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

No Forms - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 28, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 28, 2002): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
I was with HPH for a long time.
In that time I noticed a real
degradation of services. Oh, they
have a 800 number but don't expect
to receive much help.  Tech support
is non-existant and their live
online chat doesn't work.

So, you want to have an interactive
Website? Well, if you want a form
you need to keep looking around. HPH
has no email forms you can use for
your site. They have a stock form
available in the control panel but it
resolves to HPH. "REAL PROFESSIONAL".

To stop spam on their Windows
servers they have NO mail programs
installed to write your scripts.
Wow, I have never heard of such
malarky.

So, you want to add ecommerce to your
Website? Their stock shopping cart
is so bland that even Dr. Korvorkian
would leave your site in dismay.

They have a great stats package that
other sites should adopt.

Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

When it works - great. But . . . . - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 6, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 6, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: Webmaster
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
You get a lot for the money . . . when things work.  It seems there are constant issues with things such as DSN's getting changed without informing customers, or other changes that take a site down without notice leaving my customers to contact me that the site is down.  Tech support has been good, but it's difficult to get through at times.  I have several people that I support sites for, and they use halfpricehosting.  For the most part the company is good, but it's value is diminshed by these nagging disruptions to service.

Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Inconsistent service - Review by submitted on March 1, 2002
Customer's web site: www.centralcityair.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 1, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Webmaster
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Works good for a while, then failures recur.  Discussion group corruption a serious problem.  Tech support willing but not able.

Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

The price isn't the only thing that is half - Review by Anonymous submitted on December 23, 2001
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of December 23, 2001): Current customer
Plan used: Webmaster
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
When you work with them you also get half@ss service...

Last month I paid for my websites domain for a year and upgraded it since they switched there pricing plans and around and the features I used to pay 100 bucks for where now in the higher service tier. No problem. The customer service rep emailed me back and let me know everything was take care of. Guess what they didn't do? Register my domai and my site is down! I have been trying to get in contact with them with no luck.

Also, They don't warn you when site had to be paid for and give you a few days to pay it. They just take you site down then give you a warning. They quick to take you money and give you no service

Representative of HalfPriceHosting?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.