VIA NET.WORKS - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: VIA NET.WORKS
Host's Web Site: VIANETWORKS.NET
Click the link above to visit this host's site

Average customer rating: 5.3 out of 10 based on 11 votes


 

Rotten - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 26, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 26, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Sharepoint Team Services
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
This company is only getting worse! Their entire staff has no idea what they're doing.

I couldn't log into my sharepoint site...come to find out they blew it away, all the users (66) and can't figure out how to fix it.  On top of that they won't even tell me what the problem was, or should I say IS.

Representative of VIA NET.WORKS?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Bad Admin - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 5, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 5, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
This company are ok as long as yyou don't need anything done.

Our emails have not come to us for a week, due to misinformation and general bad admin, not getting things done. It took a whole day to put the accounts into the right account holders name even though they had been told 5 times over 2 years that a particular person had left the company. This meant that any work imediately turned to a 2 day job. and if they were not chased on the hour every hour, nothing would get done.

I am not impressed with this company and on no account would I recomend it to anyone.

We are to move as soon as we can find a site that we feel is better.

Representative of VIA NET.WORKS?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

not recommended - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 18, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 18, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
1) After going through the signup process, I had to keep sending email asking "what's my logon information?" before being supplied with it.  Most hosting companies I've dealt with in the past send this information within an hour after signup.

2) Even though I had specified FrontPage server extensions, the extensions were not correctly configured until after a lengthy correspondence, incurring days of delay in obtaining access via Visual Studio .Net.

3) Performance has been nothing to write home about.  Another hosting company with which I do business provides better performance, to say nothing of customer support.

4) Repeated requests to cancel the account have thus far been ignored, although VIA NET.WORKS states on their site that enquiries will be handled within hours.

5) The overall impression is that of a company with good marketing skills but poor technical skills.  It looks to me as though they take a bargain-basement approach to staffing.

6) I signed up with VIA NET.WORKS because of their featured position in the Microsoft Visual Studio .Net Start Page.  DO NOT trust what you see in Visual Studio .Net when it comes to hosting providers: it lists some of the most expensive and least customer-friendly firms I've encountered.

Representative of VIA NET.WORKS?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Billing problems - Review by A Longtime Customer submitted on May 5, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 5, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Different plans
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
I continue to have billing problems, and then have to take valuable time to prove they have billed me for services twice. While they have been fairly good at providing the basic services, they have had continuing biling errors, which they make you prove before they will issue credit.

Representative of VIA NET.WORKS?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

they lied to me so I'm gone - Review by submitted on January 26, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 26, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I live in Spain and had used a certain unnamed company as my provider for years before vianetworks came along and bought out this local operation. You could see the quality and service go downhill right away.

After having my website hosted for years on their ordinary site as an ordinary user, I finally went out and bought a web domain (through them)and asked them to host it.

I would have gone elsewhere but there was one key thing involved. All my previous search engine work and hits had come from the plain IP address. Many people had me bookmarked at the old address.

After stating that this was my major concern, the salesperson promised me that my old address would be re-routed to my new domain address which they were hosting.

After a couple of months of this occurring, the re-direction suddenly disappeared. I called and e-mailed, spent lots of phone time with an administrative person on the phone, the same one who had made that promise to me about the re-directing.

But it was to no avail; they had "cleaned up" their hard-drives and gotten rid of stuff that was no longer valid. The admin-person said that what I was requesting was just not possible, unless of course I contracted their normal service once again, aside from the broadband and the webhosting. 

I wish I had heard these words at the very beginning. I am currently in the process of slowly leaving this company and moving on to a more reputable host.

I now use another company as my domain registrar. I now have another host. And soon I will also shift my broadband internet connection elsewhere, ending a 7 year relationship. In fact I'm quite sure that I am the longest serving customer they have. 



Representative of VIA NET.WORKS?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Outstanding - Review by Anonymous submitted on October 6, 2002
Customer's web site: www.haitimedical.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 6, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have hosted this site since it started with ViaNetworks. I never had any complaint about support or uptime. My site is monitored by Internetseer and I always see 100% uptime.

This is the best webhosting company, as far as I know. I have three other shared webhosting companies with which I deal, ViaNetworks is the best:

Always up - Outstanding customer support - great choice of components - great choice of plans.

Chexk it out !

Representative of VIA NET.WORKS?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Sinking ship... run away as fast as you can - Review by Steve submitted on June 22, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 22, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
These people have gotten worse and worse since they changed names from IMC Online to VIA Networks. Now their tech support has gotten so bad they tell you you have to buy a "dedicated" server to resolve any issue you may have. I had several friends that hosted here and we all got together and did a little test. ALL 7 of us got the same answer to any problem we threw at them... we had to get dedicated servers. I've seen half the staff layed off and there has been talk of other companies buying their customers. The administrators truly do not know what they are doing and their sales staff only cares about getting your money. Seems like the tech people don't even talk to the sales people, which leads me to believe they aren't even in the same building. They have had numerous outages, which they always blame on "routers on the internet between my location and their's". They only have roughly 12 tech support people, one of which I discovered to be a stripper at one of the local clubs there in Atlanta. These people have lot's of problems, all of which they deny. They also will randomly delete files here and there, only to charge their customers $100 for any kind of tape backup copy of the files they deleted.
Oh yeah, one other thing... THEY DO NOT HAVE ANY FIREWALLS OR ANY SECURITY! This is an open Microsoft network live on the internet. Hackers have their free reign to do anything they please, so make sure you don't try to do e-business there. You may want to search elsewhere for a better host and one that will be there tomorrow.

Representative of VIA NET.WORKS?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

No problems - Review by submitted on April 3, 2002
Customer's web site: rustyrobin.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 3, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: basic
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I haven't run into any problems with this hosting service.  I have used customer service once to change e-mail addresses and all went smoothly.

Representative of VIA NET.WORKS?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great support! - Review by Chuck Murphy submitted on February 15, 2002
Customer's web site: www.maasai.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 15, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: express web
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
It's very rare that I need tech support from VIA, but the great thing is that when I call, they pick up the phone IMMEDIATELY, and I'm connected to a knowledgeable person who can resolve the issue quickly.

Representative of VIA NET.WORKS?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Superior Windows hosting - Review by Erwin submitted on February 10, 2002
Customer's web site: www.haitimedical.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 10, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I have had my site hosted with Vianetworks (formerly Imconline) for almost 4 years - FOUR YEARS ! I randomly came accross that company but could not be luckier. Their strenghth is their wonderful 24/7/365 techsupport. This is no joke: response time is the same weekdays or weekends. The best of all, is that they provide a reliable webhosting. I don't think I remember my site beeing down once.

I wish they could provide a Custom-404-not-found page on all their shared NT plans. I would be even happier if they could offer just one MS-SQL with all their Windows hosting plans. The competition is tight since other companies are offering more for less. If they make that move (Custom 404 + MS SQL) they will definitely get more customers.[If they do that even just for my account, I will permanently place a banner for them on my first page !]

I went out of my way to write this review because I want to bring them more customers since they provide good services.

Representative of VIA NET.WORKS?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.