ICDSoft - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: ICDSoft
Host's Web Site: ICDSoft
Click the link above to visit this host's site

Average customer rating: 9.1 out of 10 based on 316 votes

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-100] [Reviews 101-150] [Reviews 151-200] [Reviews 201-250] [Reviews 251-300] [Reviews 301-314]


 

Mailing List Nightmare - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 26, 2002
Customer's web site: www.greatharvestgeneva.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 26, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5/month
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
If you are thinking of using ICDSoft to host your mailing list, be aware that they cannot at present support storing your email list as a MYSQL database.
I am going through a nightmare just to get them to answer the most fundamental questions about set up of my email list.
My list is currently in a MS Works databse and I asked suppport if I can export the data in CSV format and import it into an email databse for my list, just it avoid having to reenter all 2000 entries. They said "Sure! We support storing the data in a MySQL database table. You can import the CSV through our control panel".

I'm sure that they actually believed this. It doesn't work. And 5 days of back and forth through their email support interface proves to me that they don't have a clue about how to set this up.
First they referred my to the ezmlm.org web site (absolutely useless). Then, they said that the mail software is a 3rd party product that they don't provide support for! They don't "get it" that the problem is not with the mailing software, but THEIR OWN database interface! Why do they even offer this option if they won't support it? Unbelievable! Then, I was finally referred to a programmer for help. He told me to contact him via ICQ chat. Since he is in Europe, i had to get up at 3 a.m. CDT just to talk to him! When i finally did, he told me to contact him thru the email support system again! Unbelievable! Talk about a jerk-around!
The sad part is that a 10 minute phone call (which i offered to pay for!) would have straightened this out. For some reason, these guys are deathly afraid of telephone conversations!
Very frustrating. Only a few days from exiting this company for better treatment from support.
ICDSoft representative's response:

I have investigated thoroughly all the conversations between this user and our support staff.

Several points deserve to be noted:
1. Once our support knew that the DB was MS Works, they made it clear to the user that it is not possible to convert MS Works into MYSQL. They have never mentioned such statement as "You can import the CSV through our control panel"

2. Our system does support storing email list as a MYSQL database, the problem is MS Works cannot be converted to MYSQL, so it is not correct for this user to mention "they cannot at present support storing your email list as a MYSQL database"

3. Our system administrator has actully walked the extra mile, spent 3 hours just to write a perl program in order to help him transfer all entries of the mailing list to the new MYSQL DB automatically and he is shocked to see this user is "very frustrating"?! Remember he paid for hosting solution only.

 

 

Very, very good ! - Review by Marcel Uithoof submitted on June 25, 2002
Customer's web site: www.zonet.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 25, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: 60$ 1 year 333MB
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
06/24 09:15 am Order placed
06/24 09:20 am Website up and running

06/25 09:14 am Asked for extra domain parking
06/25 09:20 am Domain parking honoured and working instantly.

This is service in 'Optima Forma'

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

THIS SERVICE IS INCREDIBLE!!! - Review by Jeremy submitted on June 23, 2002
Customer's web site: www.creativemixes.net
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 23, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $60 + Domain Transfer
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I was a little unsure about ICDsoft at first, because I had never heard of a company charging so low for so much, but I tried it and definitely do not regret it.  The signup process was quick, although I used the second fastest method, PayPal.  I can only imagine how fast the other credit card processing was because I recieved an email saying my account was set up in less that one minute.  I used FreeServers premium before which was also $60 yearly but was horrible and had no features.  I am definitely pleased with ICDsoft and will use their hosting services as long as i have my website.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

ICDSoft - Review by Jack submitted on June 23, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 23, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $60 Annual Plan (Wow)
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
ICDSoft has recently moved to a web based service ticket/response system. While this is a little more cumbersome than just shooting them off an email, it works adequately (and I assume makes things a lot easier on their end).

I have never spoken to a technical support person at ICDSoft, because quite honestly I have never needed to. Their support people do a top-notch job of responding to web based requests. This holds true 24/7. I have sent them at least a dozen questions/requests at all hours of the day and night, and they have replied very promptly (usually within minutes).

It is worth mentioning again. There support is very responsive!!!

The only knock against ICDSoft is the performance of their servers. Uploads and downloads via FTP are very slow. Web page responses are often very slow. I have worked with their support people on this issue, and have been told that it is not due to any server hardware issue, but in fact is due strictly to the sheer distance of their servers from most of my web site patrons. I personally ping about 400-500ms to their server (from a variety of connections cable, DSL, T1, etc.). Any way you slice it, even though they claim to be sitting behind 100Mbps optical circuits, response time is going to be affected by this high latency.

Unless you absolutely need low latency, high performance hosting, then I would not hestitate to recommend ICDSoft. Their combination of dirt cheap prices and responsive service is a winning combination.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

These guys are the best - Review by submitted on June 22, 2002
Customer's web site: tobygoldman.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 22, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Basic plan - 333MB of storage, etc.
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I needed to find a host for a site I had set up for a friend. I was somewhat nervous about cheap providers, but ICDSoft had good ratings, so I tried them. The site was up and running with the domain name transferred within 24 hours of opening the account. They have responded promptly to all tech support questions, and all problems have been my fault not theirs. They provide a very simple control panel function to manage your site, including transferring your files to their server. You don't even need to use an FTP client. I highly recomment these people. Their service is better than any full-priced providers I have used, including ATT.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 21, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 21, 2002): N/A
Plan used: 333 MEG
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Inexpensive, lots of space, quick, painless setup. What else could you want?

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great Deal! - Review by G.D. submitted on June 18, 2002
Customer's web site: www.lilikoicandles.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 18, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Set up in a day, very easy to use control panel and more than enough space for the cost. 

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

#1_A+ - Review by Kathy submitted on June 18, 2002
Customer's web site: www.kathymaney.net
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 18, 2002): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Unbelievable service! The best ever.  Not enough words or space to describe the great job they do for the customer. 

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Amazing! - Review by submitted on June 17, 2002
Customer's web site: www.sunnykilogram.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 17, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5/month
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
ICDSoft provides amazing customer support...I had a problem with setting up my guest book, and I received back-and-forth responses within 10 minutes every single time.  The price is also unbelievable...only $5/month! I researched many different hosting companies and, after having read great reviews about ICDSoft, decided to go with them.  They're amazing...I'd recommend them to anybody who is looking for an affordable hosting solution with great customer service.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great Host! - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 16, 2002
Customer's web site: www.dbtphotography.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 16, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $60/yr
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have not had a single problem with this host whatsoever. They're great!!! (My previous web host cost more, took weeks to answer e-mail, and when e-mails were answered, it took another few weeks for a response.)

My site hosted by ICDSoft has not had anytime downtime either. The Control Panel feature they have for setting up additional e-mail accounts and site statistics works really well and is accessible anytime.

The plan price $60/yr is low, so I was kind of leery of signing up, but after reading the reviews on this site, I decided it was worth a shot. I've been very happy with the decision.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

WOW! The price and service is unbelievable, but true! - Review by submitted on June 15, 2002
Customer's web site: www.corvetteclubofrichmond.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: the $5/month => $60 a year plan
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
After reading all sorts of reviews of this company and others, I decided to pick ICDSoft for my group's website. I'm so glad I did, their customer service is amazing, getting a reply in six mniutes to an email sent at 2am (my time) is wonderful. I love all of the features I get, now if I can only figure out what to do wtih all of the extra space and webservices I have. Wonderful, I will definately use them for my next two sites!!! Thank you guys!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Best hosting Service Ever - Review by submitted on June 13, 2002
Customer's web site: www.scaryland.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 13, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Standard Plan
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
ICDsoft.com is the very best hosting you will ever find. Super quick support, nice people to deal with and a great value for tons of great features. Use them and you will be glad you did. I have found my hosting service for all my needs.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Good Features, Great Price. - Review by Dale submitted on June 10, 2002
Customer's web site: gallery.davenzoo.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 10, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5 a month
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
For $5 a month you can't beat it. My support requests were answered in a timely fasion and the MySQL setup went through without a hitch.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Professional, FAST, flexible - Review by Greg Stilwell submitted on June 9, 2002
Customer's web site: ritesitehtml.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 9, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Their only plan; $5 a month
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I was a little wary of this host at first due to their low cost.  That concern has flown out of the window after receiving numerous FAST tech responses during my transition here from a different host.  Their support ticket system is responsive even in the middle of the night.  Need something not listed? Just ask.  High-end service for a low-end price; very nice.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Quick Response - Review by Haven Pope submitted on June 7, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 7, 2002): N/A
Plan used: Haven't purchase service yet.
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I've been researching web hosts using your site for three days now, and this host is, by far, the best I've seen.  Their prices are great and so are their features.  Per your suggestion, I contacted them with a few questions because I am interested in buying their service, and I received a personalized email response within an hour.  Not many webhosts, or companies in general, can boast a response rate that quick.  I was truly surprised and impressed.

Where do I sign?

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Server Location - Review by submitted on June 5, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 5, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: 65
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
The actual hosting location of your site will be in Hong Kong. Yes you heard me correctly. Run a trace route to your site and you will see that your packets end up in Hong Kong.  For a Southern California based host, it seems kind of odd. If it's too good to be true, it usually is.
ICDSoft representative's response:

It is a mystery for us as why this user thought we are a "Southern California based host". We have never advertised as US-based.

Just to make it clear:
While 90% of our clients are in USA and Canada, our NOC for support staff and programmers is located in Europe, and our Data Center is in Hong Kong.
The connectivity of Hong Kong is based on several submarine optical lines (100Mbit/sec. each) to USA, Japan, UK and Australia.



 

 

whew! - Review by James B submitted on June 5, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 5, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5/mo.
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have hosted with ipowerweb and powersurge previously. Powersurge was great but too expensive. If you want to wait 3 days for irrelevant responses, ipowerweb is for you. Icdsoft is the perfect combination. Great value and excellent support and service. I always receive a response within minutes and they go the extra mile everytime. I can run sourceforge gallery with them and they even tried themselves to correct a configuration issue, deleted a subdomain, researched the install and reinstalled. I would recommend them to anyone who has experienced the frustration of feeling helpless waiting for a response from "support". Great host.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Awesome host - Review by submitted on June 2, 2002
Customer's web site: www.leathrum.com
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 2, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Tech support is very fast, features are too numerous to count.  This is by far the best webhost I've run across.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

5 Star Rating !! - Review by vinu submitted on June 2, 2002
Customer's web site: www.vinuthomas.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 2, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $60 hosting
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
The best customer support I've interacted with. I usually get a response from them with in 10 minutes 24x7. Really excellent host with tons of features for just $60 a year.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Rough Edges - Review by submitted on May 30, 2002
Customer's web site: longwoodgolf.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 30, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Annual
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Getting started was a bit rough.  On-line help is limited and hard to follow.  Some on-line support reply were cryptic, but persistance led to resolution.

Would like ability to reset "Stats"
Would like ability to read all eMail at one time (multiple IDs)
ICDSoft representative's response:

I have reviewed all the tickets of this user, with the initial intention to scold the guys who caused such unsatisfaction (they are getting fined $10 for every wrong or incomplete answer), but what I found were perfect answers of the particular questions, and even some were answered by me while I was training new staff. Then I visited his site and can agree with the user that getting started is always rough, but this is the best way for all us to learn and to improve our skills :)

 

 

Excellent Support & Host - Review by Joyce submitted on May 26, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 26, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Their $65 plan - includes $5 domain registry
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
After much research, I finally got around to picking a host for my site & am very pleased with ICDsoft's service & support.  I really like how quickly their support team responds to our e-mail questions.  That's a definite A+ not having to wait a day or two to get answers.  I didn't disclose my site yet because it's not complete, but I highly recommend trying ICDsoft, especially if you're just starting out & want an excellent and affordable host. 

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on May 25, 2002
Customer's web site: www.ren.ro
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 25, 2002): Private
Plan used: the $5.00 /month intend to pay for two ore more years
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
It looks like a most affordable and professional web-hosting solution.

That kind of services is a serious menace for other competitors in web-hosting field.

The servers configurations looks very good, the speed is also good.
The raised cofigurability is a plus
and I intend to place from now all my clients to that provider.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Two Thumbs Up - Review by Troy submitted on May 24, 2002
Customer's web site: www.jimnedvalleycofc.org
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 24, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I had built 2 previous sites with Your-Site.com and was always very happy with them. I tried to host this site through them, but they kept dragging their feet and claiming that my credit card was declined. To make a long story short, after 2 weeks of nonsense, I bolted and found ICDSoft on this website. I signed up for it based on the recommendations here, and the next day I was able to see that registration had taken place. I contacted support by e-mail and recieved VERY prompt replies each time. The only thing I'm not crazy about is the stats, but it seems o.k., just kind of cheesy. I really have no regrets about my decision to sign up with ICDSoft!!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Best Hosting I've Ever Had - Review by Ray submitted on May 24, 2002
Customer's web site: www.emmultimedia.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 24, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I've been in the web design business for about 7 years now and I can honestly say that ICDSoft is the best hosting company I've ever worked with! Their technical support is quick to answer any questions you may have, I've never had any down time, and their rates are absolutely incredible! If you're looking for a hosting company, look no further than ICDSoft!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent value - Review by submitted on May 24, 2002
Customer's web site: www.markberger.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 24, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Great value, lots of space and features. Tremendous customer support. Only downsize is that the servers seem to be hosted in Europe and I'm in California.
ICDSoft representative's response:

Just to make it clear:
While 90% of our clients are in USA and Canada, our support staff and our programmers are located in Europe, and our Data Center is located in Hong Kong.
The connectivity of Hong Kong is based on several submarine optical lines (100Mbit/sec. each) to USA, Japan, UK and Australia.
This "configuration" is the best we can arrange and this is one of the "secrets" of our success.

 

 

somebody on the other end... - Review by James submitted on May 24, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 24, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: they only have one...
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
i've transfered hosts 3 or 4 times now, and with icdsoft, it seems as if there is actually a support department answering requests.  i've never had to wait more than half an hour for an email response...often the wait is less than 5 minutes! The price is right, and you get CGI, SSI, MySQL, etc...

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Easy as pie. - Review by submitted on May 23, 2002
Customer's web site: www.slackeur.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 23, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: 333MB, 5GB per month
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
My new domain name was active in less than 24 hours.  Excellent value.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great service and the price is unbeatable - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 21, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 21, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I went through a nightmare trying to get my site hosted by another company, Siteturn Networks, who is supposed to be a top 20 host according to Hostindex.com. Well, after battling for 4 days trying to get any kind of response from them after having placed my order, I found this website and after going through the reviews, I decided to try ICDSoft. What a pleasure to actually be able to get someone to respond to you! My full site was setup in under 10 minutes! I had a technical question that I needed answered and the reply was received in under 15 minutes. Response times are great and I am definately going to recommend them to everyone I know.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Mike submitted on May 19, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 19, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $65/year
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
FAST: response to inquiry before signup
FAST: setup
FAST: connection speeds

So far ICDSoft has been about as near perfect as anyone could expect. Full-blown service for very good price, I hope it lasts!

Did anyone mention the incredible customer support!!! ;)

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great host for newbie - Review by submitted on May 17, 2002
Customer's web site: jrmcdonald.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 17, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5.00/mo
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
This has been my first experience with a hosting service. I was formerly with CS.com and got tired of their arrogance and just plain taking customers for granted.

I contacted ICD and asked for some names of sites they hosted.  They not only gave me names of sites to view, but set me up with a trial site of my own.  I uploaded some stuff and liked what I saw.  I signed up.  Within an hour I was up and running with my site space.  I purchased a domain through them and it took a few hours to get that set up. (they said 24 hours, but it didn't take that long)

My experience has been as follows:
Prior to purchase - 10+ they were very accomodating and quick to answer questions.
After Purchase - 10+ All aspects of their service has been as advertised in every detail.
Site features - Since I am new to this world, I can't speak about how suitable this organization would be for every web application.  However everything I have had needed has been there.

I highly recommend these folks to anyone needing web space.  They offer more than anyone else I found, plus their service has been just incredible.  (PS: I do not work for, nor do I have any connection with this host other than as a paying customer)Check out my site - JRMcDonald.com.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Exceptional support - Review by submitted on May 16, 2002
Customer's web site: indigonetworksolutions.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 16, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: The only one they have, to my knowledge.
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
This host is a 10! Near IMMEDIATE response to my questions.  I had issues with the webmail not allowing me to login the first day, and they corrected the matter in minutes.  They also put modified the httpd.conf for me at my request, which GREATLY impressed me.  Throughput is good, web based administration is very intuitive and responsive.  Very professional, I highly recommend ICD as a host for the power-user and rookie alike.  Again the support is second to none.  ICD has their act together.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Responsive and nice control panel! - Review by submitted on May 14, 2002
Customer's web site: www.usa-taekwondo.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 14, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Only one available
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I reviewed this hosting provider based on these reviews but sent an email to support first to see if there was a telephone number to call in case I needed to reach them.  I got a response back in UNDER 20 MINUTES including a phone number.  WOW - for 5 bucks a month!

I had just hosted with winsave.com and waited 36 hours for a response and am now fighting them to cancel my account. 

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent service - Review by submitted on May 13, 2002
Customer's web site: www.cavitand.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 13, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: basic plan
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
They are a very cheap service, but they offer a great quality in their products.

The customer support is simply perfect: you write asking any question, about any issue you are having, and usually you don't need to wait more than 20 minutes for a reply!

At some point, I decided to contract their hosting services, but surprisingly I couldn't! They were refusing new customers while they trained new staff. They wanted to offer the best customer service, and since they were growing so fast, to satisfy their _current_ customers, they couldn't accept new ones, until the new members were properly trained and ready to work. I wish more companies took ICDSoft's policies as a way to keep their customers happy.

As for technical issues, I have had few, and were quickly resolved.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Best - Review by blanka submitted on May 9, 2002
Customer's web site: www.svconsulting.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 9, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: there is only one
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Great hosting. Excellent customer service. I just would send the message and in the next several minutes get the answer. It happens very rare that I have to praise someone, because usually if the service is cheap the customer service does not exist. I hope this great service will last.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Impressive customer support - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 8, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 8, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I have had the service for two days and have made two customer support enquiries, both of which were responded to with impressive speed.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great support - Review by submitted on May 7, 2002
Customer's web site: www.kazebeer.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 7, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Default
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I switched over from another provider, and I'm very pleased.  The quick response from technical support is fantastic! The 'control panel' is straight forward and easy to use.  You just can't beat everything that's offered for only $5/month.  Outstanding!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great host plan - Review by submitted on May 7, 2002
Customer's web site: www.elite-date.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 7, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $5 HOST PLAN
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I GIVE ICDSOFT.COM 10 RATING
FAST FAST FAST SERVICES SUPPORT
I GOT MY SITE UP ALL IN THE SAME DAY,WOW,I HOST 2 OTHER DOMAINS N SO FAR ICDSOFT HAS GIVEN ME GREAT RESPONSE.$5 FOR HOSTING CANT BEAT THAT DEAL! GREAT TECH SUPPORT!
"HAVENT HAD ANY PROBLEMS YET"
KEEP UP THE GREAT JOB ICDSOFT.COM

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very impressed!!! - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 5, 2002
Customer's web site: advancedelements.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 5, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I am very impressed with the tech support, and bang for the buck. I will move all my sites here! You can not beat it.
Advanced Elements, Inc.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Pretty good, but not scalable... - Review by submitted on May 2, 2002
Customer's web site: www.anre.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 2, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
Few problems with the host. this is definitely a good company, and the support people are great.

So why am I looking for a new hosting company? Well, it wasn't long before my site got pretty popular, and last month I had to take the most popular parts of my site (the forums) offline because I was just about to exceed the 5GB a month transfer limit. So I emailed ICDSoft asking how much it would cost to get that doubled... and, much to my surprise, they refused! They won't let me pay them to increase the bandwidth limit!

I'll keep using ICDHost to host some of the less popular areas of my site for the time being, but I'll have to pick a new host for the more popular parts.
ICDSoft representative's response:

We charge $5 per additional Gig of transfer. It is stated at our FAQ and at our "Features" page.
If the usage of the client is going over 5Gigs per month, he has to pay $5 per additional Gig, so if the client needs his bandwidth "doubled", the price is +$25 per month (5 Gigs X $5). Of course we will refuse such "deal" as the client may not use all the additional 5 Gigs and he will be in lose, so he must pay the additional usage only (if any). Period.

 

 

Can't go wrong - Review by submitted on April 30, 2002
Customer's web site: www.adampaul.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 30, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $65/yr - 333Mb + domain reg
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Very quick setup, excellent control panel, feature-rich, good online FAQ & help.  Getting my site set up couldn't have been easier.  Highly recommended based on my experience so far.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great host! - Review by submitted on April 28, 2002
Customer's web site: www.snakecharm.net
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 28, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: 333 mb/+domain name = $65/year
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have found the support to be the best! The longest they have ever taken to get back to me was 20 minutes! Their servers are fast, so the pages load quick.  I researched for several weeks before picking a host, and the research paid off...  i'm very satisfied.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Super Customer Service! - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 27, 2002
Customer's web site: www.online-pharmacies-guide.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 27, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Any issues I had (and they were few) were quickly resolved by a very competent customer service! For the price, you just can't beat it.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent Service - Review by Vinu Thomas submitted on April 26, 2002
Customer's web site: www.omtechsys.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 26, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Out of all the hosting companies I have dealt with in the past 6 years, ICDSoft is the best one so far. They have the best customer support I've ever dealt with. They reply and fix problems within 24 hours. Way to Go ICDSoft !


Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Good but not 10/10 good. - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 24, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 24, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: default
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
The stats are the best I've seen considering $65 fee including a year of domain name registration.

It's fast and support is very swift to respond BUT this webhost is still a work in progress. When they updated their file management software it was down for a week and when it was back it stopped working for me (i.e. I couldn't update/delete my own site). I was told "you're the only one who it doesn't work for so the problem must be with your server port settings".

I didn't agree but was ignored. As it turned out I solved the problem myself and it had nothing to do with the port settings, it was a browser compatibility issue which is what I had initially suggested to them (specifically Netscape 4.75 for mac). I wrote and informed them of this, never heard back and figured I'd just have to switch to IE. Then about a week later they rewrote/fixed the software so it worked with Netscape 4.75.

So the tech support I got was from someone who was convinced I couldn't know what I was talking about, but since they actually rewrote code and fixed the problem and everything else is pretty good I'll give them an 8. Or should that be a 6? Whatever depends what you value most (in my case I like that it's cheap).

ICDSoft representative's response:

This client is right about the Netscape issue. My programmers used too many tables and some versions of Netscape are getting crazy when have to deal with multiple tables.
I had discussion with the programmers as i don't like the idea if the customers are asked to use different browser. My designers also agreed with me, so they helped the programmers to modify the File manager and the Mail Manager also, to avoid the bug in Netscape 4.7X.
The decision to suspend the File manager for a week was mine. My security staff found way how any server can be hacked by the very simple File Manager (any File Manager). I had to decide: to take the risk to keep this File Manager for one more week on all our servers (and to pray whole week that the bad guys won't discover the security hole) or to cut this module for a week, but to get some clients angry. I chosed the second one and i don't feel regret coz it... let the clients judge me and i believe they will understand.
To those competitors who read my words: please spend some money on security experts and ask them to check out your File Manager (any versions, by any vendor) as you may have X-ray bomb at your servers :)

 

 

Fast & fantastic interface - Review by submitted on April 24, 2002
Customer's web site: www.roelenmichal.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 24, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: basic
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Within 1 hour after clicking OK during registration i got the confirmation that my domain was up and running. The interface to control all settings of the account is fabulous. Very simple to use and very fast.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great everything.... - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 21, 2002
Customer's web site: www.caughtoncanvas.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 21, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Standard Plan
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
This host is great... so good in fact I'm about to transfer my other site to this host... and the old host I was pretty happy with as well.  These guys have a great price at unbeatable service.  My emails are always answered in 5-10 min... thats just unbelieveable to me.  You'll also notice that an ICDSoft rep replied with viable remarks to the person that rated their hosting capabilities 2/10. (See reviews below) This shows that actually CARE what people are saying about them...  In researching the many different hosts available for my wife's new art site, I came across many hosts who had reviews that trashed their service and price.  I never saw a reply from any of their reps defending their actions or apologizing for shotty service.  You can't go wrong with ICDSoft.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

all value - Review by Allan Kintz submitted on April 21, 2002
Customer's web site: www.allankintz.com
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 21, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Definitely the best value of hosts I've found.  Very easy to set up. Could use better support I think.  But I haven't had any problems at all.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Clean and Simple - Review by submitted on April 18, 2002
Customer's web site: hallack.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 18, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: basic plan
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
This was my first attempt at hosting my our domain and it counldn't have been any easier. The control panel is simply beautiful, both easy to use with great functionality.

You can't beat the deal: 333MB, limitless emails, and more for $65/year.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very Poor Support - Disappointed - Review by Bryan Bateman submitted on April 17, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 17, 2002): N/A
Plan used: Tried to set up the basic plan $per month
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I have been trying to set up my site with them but have been frustratde at every turn. Would not offer any reference sites. System wouldn't take my card details and their support won't answer my mails to resolve the problems. On screen they looked good, the site was fast, but I have to look elsewhere now.
ICDSoft representative's response:

As we said many times: We will never disclose ANY of our clients.
That's why we cannot give URL/sites for reference even of it costs us lapsed sale.
About the credit card processing: We are using ClickBank.com to accept credit card payments behalf of us, and it doesn't depends on us if ClickBank refused someone's credit card.
About the answering of questions: We provide support at www.suresupport.com and there is NO WAY someone's question to remain unanswered.
I think the person who posted this review is not our client...

 

 

Good Web Host !!! - Review by submitted on April 15, 2002
Customer's web site: www.gameandbookshop.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: 65 dollars for hosting and domain registration
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I heard lots of horror stories about shady hosting. These guys have their stuff togethor. For 60 bucks a year you get over 300 mb space, 5 gigs transfer, good hosting with unlimited emails. Throw in another 5 bucks and they register for you a domain name. HAHAHA!!! Beat that. Not to mention support, if you need it. ;0 This company is going places. GOOD GOOD WEBHOST!!!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-100] [Reviews 101-150] [Reviews 151-200] [Reviews 201-250] [Reviews 251-300] [Reviews 301-314]

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.