ICDSoft - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: ICDSoft
Host's Web Site: ICDSoft
Click the link above to visit this host's site

Average customer rating: 9.1 out of 10 based on 316 votes

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-100] [Reviews 101-150] [Reviews 151-200] [Reviews 201-250] [Reviews 251-300] [Reviews 301-314]


 

Untitled - Review by Bert submitted on June 28, 2003
Customer's web site: www.MastaX.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 28, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: 333MB
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Almost up, very easy to use control panel and a very friendly and fast helpdesk!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Smooth Transition from other provider (Yahoo) - Review by submitted on June 26, 2003
Customer's web site: www.drunkindewey.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 26, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: STD
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Smooth Transition from other provider

Just wanted to pass along my grade of A+ to ICDSoft.  I was nervous in transferring my web site from Yahoo Geocities since I have heard so many horror stories about sites being down for days.  My advice is simple:

Step 1 sign up with ICDSoft
Step 2 when you get your information publish your site to ICDSoft's temp URL that they provide with a small subtle difference so you can tell (and have others check as well) when hosting has been taken over by them.
2. Find who your registrar is and change the information to ICD's.
3. Once your site is pointing to ICD's give it a few days and then cancel your previous provider.

It is that simple. No headaches.

ICDSoft has been extremely responsive and helpful.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very few problems and a great value - Review by Erik submitted on June 26, 2003
Customer's web site: www.MemphisWeather.Net
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 26, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: The only one
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I signed up with ICDSoft in Jan '03 based on reviews from this site and I must say that I have been very pleased. Customer support is fantasic, as you can tell from other reviews, and you get a great deal for the low price of only $5/mo. Even domain name registration is only $5!

The only problems I have had were with transferring files via FTP (my FTP client frequently received "blocking calls" that cancelled the transfer and current FTP session). I determined that this was likely due to dropped packets between my location and their data servers in Hong Kong. However, just in the last couple of days, I am no longer seeing dropped packets and my FTP sessions seem to be working much better. Support says that they found "network problems in the form of lost packets" (which I had been trying to tell them about for a few months) and since that correspondence, things have improved greatly. The only other downside is somewhat slow load time for your website due to their data center being in Hong Kong. However, this is also not major problem for sites that are not extermely high traffic.

Overall, I am a satisfied customer that will use ICDSoft in the future and continue to recomend them to others.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great Service, Great Price - Review by Charles submitted on June 23, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 23, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Going on second year using ICDSoft and I have never had any problems. Their support service is fast and friendly. Also I have never noticed a downtime in service. Being a user of other hosting services I highly recommend ICDSoft.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Outstanding support - Review by submitted on June 22, 2003
Customer's web site: www.kazebeer.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 22, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: $5 per month
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Once again, ICDSoft proved it is one of the best hosts out there.  I read the unfavorable reviews on this site about the spam problem ICDSoft's backbone was having.  I contacted their support center about this on Saturday evening, and by Sunday morning their Abuse center explained the problem.

On June 5, 2003, their backbone ISP canceled the spammer's accounts and SPEWS removed the majority of ICDSoft's networks from their blacklist.  One small network remains, however (a 2nd level list used as insurance until SPEWS are assured no more spam will originate from those networks), and ICDSoft offered to move my site from this network to a newer server that is not blacklisted, free of charge.

My new account is already set up (within 18 minutes after ordering a new account), and I've received everything needed to change my DNS.  ICDSoft will transfer all of my files and mysql databases to my new server within 24 hours.

Additionally, I've requested numerous upgrades (php, ImageMagick, etc) throughout this year, and ICDSoft has done everything I've asked, and more.

If that isn't great support, I don't know what is!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent Service - Review by submitted on June 21, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 21, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Standard
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
ICDsoft provide the best service I have ever encountered.  The response time is just a few minutes with quick resolutions.
I really never had any problems, just questions that were are answered by professionals.

The system is stable, up-time is excellent, bandwidth is good, much can be done with the control panel, and the price/value ratio is unbeatable.

I am very satisfied with them.

Thanks.



Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

By far, NUMBER ONE!! - Review by Trey Davis submitted on June 20, 2003
Customer's web site: www.netwingsmedia.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 20, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I do web design for small and large business in the area, and I refer every single one of them to ICDSoft for hosting.  I've been through two separate pay-hosting services with my own site (www.netwingsmedia.com), and the two of them combined could not compete with ICDSoft!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Speed Issues? - Review by submitted on June 19, 2003
Customer's web site: sinha.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 19, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: $5, 333MB.
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
I've been hosting with ICDSoft for nearly a year.
Their features are great.
Their customer service is very very prompt and quite helpful.
The only thing that I've noticed is that the pages from my site don't load as fast as I would like them to. They're not very complex, I use notepad for making the pages.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Awesome - Review by Dylan submitted on June 15, 2003
Customer's web site: elevate.cc
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 15, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: 333Mb ?5GB transfer ? Unlimited emails
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
1. Great Support Program
2. Tons of different things offered to control your site (webmail, control panel - fabulous, qmail, a serparate support website).
3. Beautifully designed web pages

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

By Far the Best - Review by submitted on June 13, 2003
Customer's web site: lifecarecounseling.net
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 13, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
The service is not believable. It is so fast, friendly, and reliable that I am telling everyone about them.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Spam haven - Review by Patrick submitted on June 13, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 13, 2003): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
The problem with this service is that it hosts spammers.  As a result, You may find that email sent from ISP will be blocked by anti-spam software.  This is very frustrating if you trying to run a legitimate site.
ICDSoft representative's response:

ICDSoft.com has always had a very strict policy in concern with spamming and we have never allowed reported spammers to continue being hosted with us. We have over 27 000 clients on our servers and the possibility to occasionally host a spammer is much higher than with a smaller hosting company for instance. What distinguishes us is the fact that we have an Abuse Department and we deal with all issues connected with spam and other forms of abuse of our service.
We used to have a problem with the networks of our upstream provider iAdvantage, which used to be blacklisted by SPEWS.
We would like to announce that at the present moment no network of ours is listed in anti-spam blacklists. The problem with SPEWS has finally been resolved and this comes a result of the swift measures we took and the talks we had with iAdvantage management. Spammers are no longer tolerated on iAdvantage networks. All of ICDSoft networks were removed from the SPEWS blacklist on June 5, 2003. All of our users are now able to send e-mail messages to any host.

 

 

great ticket time - Review by submitted on June 13, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 13, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: only one
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
out of 10 tickets all were answered in less than 15 min all but two in under 10 min

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

The Model-T ISP - Review by submitted on June 10, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 10, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Only one plan!
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
The Ford Model-T was a great value in its time because Ford made only one model in one color and optimized their plant to make it. Provided you can live with 333MB storage and 5 GB transfer, the ICDSoft price and service can't be beat.

I moved 4 domains to them when Featuee-Price became flakey and set up was nearly instantaneous.

Support has always answered in minutes! Sometimes their English is quirky, but they do know the answers! Ping times can be frightening (>200 msec) but transfer rates are fine. Uptime has been solid.

Have had only two issues. My 4.76 Netscape for Mac hangs on the Mail Manager portion of their control panel, forcing me to use IE. And until recently they did not have reverse-DNS listings for their servers, which led AOL to suspect they were spammers!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Good but also Bad ! - Review by Peter submitted on June 10, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 10, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
They try to be helpful, and mostly are.
However they are hosted by a spammers haven IAdvantage.
This causes a lot of emails to bounce or never reach their destination.
Until ICDSoft stop using IAdvantage I could not suggest that anyone use them.
Cheap they are no doubt, but lack of useability for email makes them an expensive waste of money.
Unless of course you only want a site without email!
Come on ICDSoft sort this out.
ICDSoft representative's response:

ICDSoft.com has always had a very strict policy in concern with spamming and we have never allowed reported spammers to continue being hosted with us. We have over 27 000 clients on our servers and the possibility to occasionally host a spammer is much higher than with a smaller hosting company for instance. What distinguishes us is the fact that we have an Abuse Department and we deal with all issues connected with spam and other forms of abuse of our service.
We used to have a problem with the networks of our upstream provider iAdvantage, which used to be blacklisted by SPEWS.
We would like to announce that at the present moment no network of ours is listed in anti-spam blacklists. The problem with SPEWS has finally been resolved and this comes a result of the swift measures we took and the talks we had with iAdvantage management. Spammers are no longer tolerated on iAdvantage networks. All of ICDSoft networks were removed from the SPEWS blacklist on June 5, 2003. All of our users are now able to send e-mail messages to any host.

 

 

Best Of the Best !!! - Review by Dennis submitted on June 10, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 10, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: They have only 1 plan
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I bought my domain for only 1 sinle purpose - To have personalised emails for me and my family. What ICDSOft provides are much more than all I need. For only $5 a month, they provide unlimited emails and enough webspace and bandwidth for my site. That's marvelous ! Now, I can have unlimited emails for all of my family members ! Above all, their customer support is the best that I have seen for my entire life. For whatever questions I have asked them (no matter at day time or night time), they can normally get back to you with the answers you need in less than 30mins. In fact, the average time that they took to reply my questions was only 10 mins ! Isn't that amazing ?!!! I really hope that they can continue providing such a good service forever !

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

These guys ROCK! - Review by submitted on June 7, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 7, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: they only got one
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I am still waiting for the full propogation of my nameserver change to the ICDsoft servers and already I can only say WOW! where was this bunch when I made all the wrong choices a year and a half ago.  This is the way a hosting service SHOULD work.  I was expecting to pay more and get less.  In fact, I already have paid more and got nothing but nightmares.  Oh, life is sweet if it keeps up like this after the honeymoon.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

The BEST - Review by submitted on June 5, 2003
Customer's web site: www.rtekpros.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 5, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Domain Registration and Hosting
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Best support of any company I have used.  The most features for the least cost.  You can not beat their service level at twice the price.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Just the best there is - Review by Paul submitted on June 3, 2003
Customer's web site: desertdigitalmemories.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 3, 2003): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
After a nasty experience with infinology this company is a refreshing breeze. My account was set up within hours, my technical questions are answered within 5 minutes and I am yet to experience a second of downtime.

However, a recent glitch - their upstream provider has gotten itself on an anti-spam list and a lot of my email was being rejected. I was able to get a workaround in my email client but I didn't see ICDSoft doing anything to fix the problem. I think its been a problem for several months now.

I host three domains with them and am very happy but I am not sure I could recommend them for the novice until they fix their email situation.
ICDSoft representative's response:

ICDSoft.com has always had a very strict policy in concern with spamming and we have never allowed reported spammers to continue being hosted with us. We have over 27 000 clients on our servers and the possibility to occasionally host a spammer is much higher than with a smaller hosting company for instance. What distinguishes us is the fact that we have an Abuse Department and we deal with all issues connected with spam and other forms of abuse of our service.
We used to have a problem with the networks of our upstream provider iAdvantage, which used to be blacklisted by SPEWS.
We would like to announce that at the present moment no network of ours is listed in anti-spam blacklists. The problem with SPEWS has finally been resolved and this comes a result of the swift measures we took and the talks we had with iAdvantage management. Spammers are no longer tolerated on iAdvantage networks. All of ICDSoft networks were removed from the SPEWS blacklist on June 5, 2003. All of our users are now able to send e-mail messages to any host.

 

 

Excellent. - Review by submitted on June 3, 2003
Customer's web site: www.cisco.global-kontakt.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 3, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: The only one.
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I do want fast host. I have it. I check others. For this money others provide less speed.

I do want reliable host. I have it.
I check it. It is really reliable.

I do want fast response from support team. I have it. Really fast.

Also I do need PHP, MySQL support. Of course I have it.

This is EXAMPLE WHAT is GOOD web space provider.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

bad news - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 2, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 2, 2003): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
Great hosting service, fast, reliable, efficient.

Now the bad news.  Are being dragged down by spamcop, spews and other services.

At first I had one email bounced a week, no problem there.  Now over 50% of emails are being bounced.

At this rate business is being impacted and thats not good.

Their solution so far has been to add domains to some back door system to get emails out, but I'm fed up of adding domains one at a time, coming in on a Monday morning finding my mailbox full of emails that could not be delivered.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Not Bad - Review by submitted on June 1, 2003
Customer's web site: www.aces-r-wild.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 1, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: basic?
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
The service is good, but some of the extras seriously lack...like ONE database, not submitting to search engines and not allowing Cronjobs

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This host is tops - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 30, 2003
Customer's web site: sidewalkmystic.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 30, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: I pay $60/year
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Love it.  Reasons?

1.  Price - $5/month
2.  Web file size - 333 - enough for 4000 pages
3.  Support - responses to my querries fly in and actually answer the question I asked

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great for personal and small business use. - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 27, 2003
Customer's web site: www.elmaweb.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 27, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
This was my first time having my own domain and actually paying for a web host.  The $5/month investment was well worth it.  The technical support is wonderful, and they reply within 30 minutes of submitting a ticket online.  The control panel to access website information is very user friendly, and little knowledge of the internet and computer is needed run the control panel.  Having unlimited emails is also a very comforting feature.
If you're a small business and will have low internet traffic, this is an affordable choice.  Or if you want a personal "for fun" domain, this is also great! It's not a big dent in your wallet for what you get.  Good luck!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Most excellent service - Review by submitted on May 24, 2003
Customer's web site: www.nicksildesigns.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 24, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have been in touch with many web hosting companies, but this, I must say is the best.

The customer service is awesome.  The options ICD gives you are excellent.  I haven't noticed any downtime...  All good things

The only thing I think that I may not like is that there servers are located in Hong Kong therefore giving it a long ping time.  Which for my website isn't such a big thing, and shouldn't be for most people unless you're runing a HIGH traffic site.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great Service - Review by submitted on May 23, 2003
Customer's web site: www.abtriplec.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 23, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
They were eager to get me up and running and were immediately helpful with setting up a form mail page. 

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Best Yet - Review by submitted on May 21, 2003
Customer's web site: xmeonline.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 21, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Only
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I don't know how they do it.  From pillar to post I've searched for a hosting company that would deliver prompt and friendly service.  ICDSoft.Com has made me stop looking.Best Service. Unbeatable Uptime...They're simply amazing!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Good value, shame they use iAdvantage - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 19, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 19, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: They only have one
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 6 out of 10
Good service and easy to set up.
Support respond quickly.
Sadly they use iAdvantage as their ISP and we therefore have lots of problems with bounced emails as the IP of our site is on so many blacklist due to iAdvantage being spammer friendly.
ICDSoft seem unable or maybe just unwilling to do anything avout this.  This makes me have to lower my rating from what would otherwise be a 10
ICDSoft representative's response:

We have contacted our upstream provider - iAdvantage about the issue with IP blacklisting and we have stated that we will move our business elsewhere unless they take the appropriate measures to ensure that no spammers and no adult sites are hosted on their networks.
IAdvantage contacted us back, promising that they will do their best to find and disable all sources of spam that originate from their networks.
Additionally, we have setup mail gateways so that we could stream all mail through non-blacklisted IPs.

Anton Atanassov,
Support Supervisor,
ICDSoft.com, SureSupport.com

 

 

Best. Host. Ever. - Review by Edith Frost submitted on May 17, 2003
Customer's web site: www.edithfrost.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 17, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: $60/year
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I've been at ICDSoft for a year now and wouldn't go anywhere else. Sixty bucks is a great bargain for this kind of first-rate service and support. (I was about to renew my account but they surprised me with free service for the next year due to customers I've referred! :-) Others have noted some minor speed issues due to their faraway location and I would agree with that, but for me it's not a problem. I would rather have pretty good speed and perfect service 100% of the time than have terrific speed but horrible service and extended outages like I've experienced at other hosts. I update my page daily and in a whole year at ICDSoft I haven't had a single outage that lasted longer than a minute or two. Those hiccups only happened once or twice, and didn't even last long enough for me to compose a message to support.  I think that's pretty amazing!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

FABULOUS!!!! - Review by submitted on May 14, 2003
Customer's web site: fernlogan.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 14, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Web Hosting and Web Mail
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
First: I LOVE their sense of graphic design and organization. The pages are so easy on the eye.

Second: They are FAST. My site and email were up and ready to go in less than 24 hrs.

Third: Their service is amazing. I have never used a support system that was so efficient and courteous. I love everything about this service.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Fabulous ISP - Review by submitted on May 12, 2003
Customer's web site: rulise.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 12, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: $5 domain registry and $5/month hosting for a year
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Excellent customer technical support and fast, accurate, informative question-answering that follows up to make sure I really found out what I needed to know, superb 'control panel' interface for my behind the scenes work access. 

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

If they'd only done the Window OS - Review by submitted on May 12, 2003
Customer's web site: leerskov.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 12, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Great Price.
Generous Space.
Incredible Suppport.
Quite functional and always reliable.

I have three sites and not the slightest hint of dissatisfaction.

I am thinking we should send Gates and his screw-up crew over there to learn how computer systems ought to work.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

An honest review - Review by submitted on May 12, 2003
Customer's web site: www.virtualraceday.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 12, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: $60 per year
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I signed up with ICDsoft last August after reading the reviews here. And I would like to add back to this page to say how pleased I am with their service. 9 months in, I think I am at a point where I can make a good judgement on this company.

#1 - Their SUPPORT is THE BEST
My average response time is about 4 minutes. The people behind the support are knowledgeable people, and they fixed for me various problems, including scripts. Better still, they are happy to explain what it was that you did wrong (because yes, even though we like to blame the company, it is usually our fault).

#2 - Their PRICE is OUTSTANDING
Value for money, hard to find without a cost cutting method somewhere. But believe me these guys have everything covered.

#3 - FEATURES FEATURE FEATURES!
Their web based control panel it excellent, easy to use, and if you ever have trouble.... go ask support, have a cup of coffee and by the time your finished, so is the problem.

A+ ladies and gents, don't bother going anywhere else.


Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

If you are in the market for 100% uptime, what I think is the lowest price and stability, easy choice ICDsoft.com - Review by submitted on May 10, 2003
Customer's web site: www.empireradio.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 10, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: The only plan they have
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Most of my surfers are from Canada. there is a bit of latency loading my ICD hosted pages.

However, I rated them 10/10. Why you wonder? These guys answered my most idiotic questions.

LOL I am a developer for a company employing 34,000 employees. I don't know what bonus these people get paid but they are top notch. I would pay way more for their service.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great find! - Review by jim submitted on May 8, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 8, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Have been using them for about 3 months and am very pleased. Support questions are answered in hours.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Ted submitted on May 7, 2003
Customer's web site: www.adventuresafari.co.nz
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 7, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Hosting Plan
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
This company gives excellent service with fast and efficient tech support.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Well done host - Review by submitted on May 4, 2003
Customer's web site: www.metstech.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 4, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: basic, two web sites
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I had to switch due to the collapse of Featureprice. I had to switch quickly since my business email just stopped with my former provider.

I found the set up very easy, boom boom, ftp transfer and everything was done. Duplicated email accounts and it was finished. As of 24 hours later, erverything is working!

My site is simple so relatively long transfer times (170 ms on a ping from California) don't worry me, the ease of setup was what really impressed me. This company could not have done a better job. Well done ICDsoft!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great host - Review by submitted on May 3, 2003
Customer's web site: jhkruer.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 3, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: $5 plan
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
ICDSoft is a great, cheap host.  The support is fast and efficient, and sometimes can actually DO something for you.  They make nice little PHP-programs, too, that can save you some time.  :)

The only problem is their speed- for they are in Hong Kong.  But the service quality outways this problem.  The speed isn't too bad.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

spammer's haven - Review by Chris submitted on May 2, 2003
Customer's web site: 4himarks.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 2, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: only one
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I have no complaints about the service. ICDSoft themselves may just be guilty of bad judgement. Their upstream ISP though, is a company called Iadvantage, which apparently hosts numerous spammers and porn sites. They are blacklisted all over the place. This means mail from you or your users that originates at their SMTP server could well be blocked as spam. See http://spews.org/ask.cgi?S1901
ICDSoft representative's response:

We have contacted our upstream provider - iAdvantage about the issue with IP blacklisting and we have stated that we will move our business elsewhere unless they take the appropriate measures to ensure that no spammers and no adult sites are hosted on their networks.
IAdvantage contacted us back, promising that they will do their best to find and disable all sources of spam that originate from their networks.
Additionally, we have setup mail gateways so that we could stream all mail through non-blacklisted IPs.

Anton Atanassov,
Support Supervisor,
ICDSoft.com, SureSupport.com

 

 

Incredible Price, Features and Support!!! - Review by submitted on April 28, 2003
Customer's web site: www.engenheiros.biz
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 28, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I was a little skeptical about doing business with these guys based on the ridiculous price they ask for hosting and register a domain name (just $5/yr for a domain registration with the hosting plan, a $65/yr total, does anybody believe this???). Anyway, I thought this price could worth a try, and, less then 30 minutes later (just the time to lunch) I was receiving the email saying that my "Website Hosting Account" was ready, complete with the domain fully functional?! But, the best part was still to come when I filled a ticket asking for support and was answered less than 3 (yes, three!!!) minutes later, in a Sunday afternoon!!! What can I say more? I can only expect this level of quality to be maintained, because I just signed last Saturday afternoon.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Prompt but ineffective - Review by Kurt Amesbury submitted on April 26, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 26, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: They only have one plan that I know of.
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
I signed up for ICD based on the recommendations I read on this site and spent 8 days struggling with one frustration after another.  I estimate that more than 50% of my development time over that interval was spent trying to compensate for "missing pieces" of their system.

To begin with, there's no telnet or ssh, so lots of debugging tools are just not available. This was especially problematic since the site that worked flawlessly on the local development machine, failed completely on their machine. It was a bit of a struggle to get access to my error log (it was not available as a default) - and utlimately required writing another script to process the file.  As soon as I DID get a look at the log, I saw an immediate permissions problem.  Since the first line tech staff apparently doesn't really know anything about perl scripting, they made a couple of erroneous responses before they kicked the question upstairs.  Unfortunately, their second tier tech support is in Europe and not available 24/7, which means a day's delay, and they didn't bother to tell me it would take that long for a response.  (10 minute response time is really outstanding - except when you wind up waiting 12 hours for it.)

When I got the answer back, they initially blamed my code.  I wasted more time going through the code and finally put together a very short, detailed example that demonstrated the problem was theirs.

Turns out they weren't supporting the FindBin module.

So sorry.  Just as with ssh and telnet, FindBin is not available because it's a possible "security" problem.

Likewise with Cwd.

By this point I had spent nearly 4 days stepping on "land mines" - chasing problems that cropped up because they had disabled various aspects of *nix/perl as I know it.  I'd asked repeatedly for a list of ALL disabled modules.  (Nothing is more frustrating than to write code that works perfectly, only to find that the standard modules you had counted on don't exist on the target machine.) The folks at ICD pointed me at their marketing "features" list and effectively said, "You can find out what we support here." But that's a little too much like going to a car dealership, having the dealer tell you to look at the sticker to see the car's features, but letting you find out while trying to drive the car home that the he has removed the crankshaft, the pistons and the distributor.  I do not mean to imply any dishonesty on ICD's part.  I think they were trying very hard to be helpful - it's just that they seemed more interested in a "secure" system than one that could be used for functions beyond serving basic web sites.

By this point, I'd had enough and requested a refund - which they agreed to.  They claim they have issued a credit.  (It's too early to tell whether they actually have, but I don't anticipate a problem.)

My summary assessment of ICD is that if you don't have anything that's very complicated, or out of the ordinary, they are probably a pretty good service.  Their tech support was always prompt on the first iteration (even if they were wrong several times) and turn-around at the second tier was usually less than a full day (though they could make a greater effort to provide *correct* information.  Getting an incorrect response at record speed isn't all that helpful.) The control panel is a good one - but there's no facility for reporting execution errors in cgi scripts. 

Got a basic web site you want to host? These folks are probably a great choice.  For anything more complex, I cannot recommend them.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great - Review by Lasse Laaksonen submitted on April 26, 2003
Customer's web site: www.pahviloota.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 26, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
After having used ICDsoft for now over a half year I'm still totally satisfied.. okay, there are a few things youd like to change like the 5gb / a month transferlimit, but for 5$ a month thats really good. The Support is also awesome, answers within an hour.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Best Value, Very Good Service - Review by submitted on April 21, 2003
Customer's web site: WebsterRidge.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 21, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: They only have the one...
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I like them - god response time, very few errors on their part.
Ya gotta be careful with english - sometimes I have been misunderstood.
Very willing to help in non-standard setup (like secure directories outside of the web-tree).
Too bad they do not offer extra disk space - I've had to take one site to another vendor - and I did not want to!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Cheap yet excellent customer service - Review by sally submitted on April 19, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 19, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: $5/month
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I've only been hosted with them for less than a month and so far I'm quite satisfied.  They have responded to all my questions in less than five minutes but one, which took 7 minutes.....it was about my cgi script.  I overlooked something on my script which generated the error message.  These guys actually checked my script and pinpointed the line in the script which was responsible for the error message.  There are times that the control panel is a little bit slow but it's not a big issue for me.  Overall, I'm very satisfied with my experience with ICDSoft. 

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very helpful - Review by submitted on April 18, 2003
Customer's web site: rgcle.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 18, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: smallest
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
The help these folks give is excellent and prompt - usually a substantive answer within minutes; within a day if it requires a system programmer effort. Their mailing list is nice, and the unlimited mailboxes is handy. The only negative is that response times for FTP and POP are a few milliseconds longer for North Americans due to the hops to Hong Kong, but this is very tolerable.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

exceptional service - Review by David submitted on April 17, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 17, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: standard annual plan
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I've been using icdsoft as my site host for about a year.  During that time, I've contacted support about a dozen times, mostly with relatively straightforward questions.  On each occasion, I've received a written and helpful response within MINUTES.  That's less time then I usually spend on hold when calling other providers.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great Service - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 14, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 14, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Only one plan
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
The price is one of the greatest. $5 per month including a domain. The support is the greatest. Replies are within 10 mins. 24/7. Speed is not exactly the quickest but is acceptable. They also provide a lot of features too.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Novice problem solving - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 12, 2003
Customer's web site: dollu.com
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 12, 2003): N/A
Plan used: $60/year renew $40
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I am fairly new to frint page and had a few problems that they diagnosed and walked me through the solutions on. Very friendly!

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

The Best - Review by submitted on April 11, 2003
Customer's web site: bsatroop210.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 11, 2003): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: Basic
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Very responsive tech support, usually within 20 minutes. The best price, always up, no problems. And they continue to add features to the basic plan

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Better than previous host! - Review by submitted on April 4, 2003
Customer's web site: www.midsungroup.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 4, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I moved my company's hosting to ICDSoft a few weeks back and since I did we have been up and running smoothly. Our previous host was Feature Price and the service, tech support, and up time was lousy! We run a company and rely on e-mail and a web presence to interact with our customers and conduct our day to day affairs. With our previous host we had more problems, specifically with e-mail, than not. Our e-mail was down on average 2-3 times daily, which was totally unacceptable. The only way to reach support was e-mail which is fine if they responded in a timely fashion which was not the case. In order for you to get quick support you had to pay an additional $25 per incident and it still took atleast 24 hours to get a reply. From my experience so far with ICD I can only say that the few times I had to contact support the response was very quick, and the fact that I got a response was a huge plus considering our previous host. The Control Panel to work on your site couldn't be any easier to use even for beginners and the uptime and speed of the site serves our needs perfectly. And this point in time I am very pleased and should the time come when I'm not you'll be the first to hear about it. Oh I almost forgot to mention that the price can't be beat for what you get, and personally I wasn't shopping for value, I just wanted a reliable host with reliable service, up-time, and support, all of which I have so far.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Did you say $5? - Review by Greg Kolar submitted on April 3, 2003
Customer's web site: www.digitalvid.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 3, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: $5
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
First, a frustration.  I worked for a week solid to determine why some of my email would not be forwarded to my Highstream account.  It turns out that highstream.net requires a "reverse DNS" resolution.  ICDSof's "multivirtual shared hosting environment" doesn't allow for this.  I now get email directly from my domain instead of through highstream.  If I hadn't struggled with this issue, I'ld give them a 10.

The control panel makes the regular "Joe" feel powerful.

Where else can you get so much for so little with lightning support response.  I don't miss paying 123hostme $20+/month with triple the MB of storage.

Their business plan will probably cause them to rake in the cash.  ICDSoft - the McDonald's (price) and the old-fashioned Texaco (service) of the internet.

Representative of ICDSoft?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-100] [Reviews 101-150] [Reviews 151-200] [Reviews 201-250] [Reviews 251-300] [Reviews 301-314]

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.