PowWeb - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: PowWeb
Host's Web Site: PowWeb Hosting
Click the link above to visit this host's site

Average customer rating: 4.69 out of 10 based on 110 votes

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-100] [Reviews 101-106]


 

Perfect Hosting - Review by nmsupplies submitted on October 22, 2002
Customer's web site: www.nmgroup.biz
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 22, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Powvalue
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I started hosting my site with PowWeb since January 2002.  I was immediately hit by their support and ease of use of their members area.  In April I joined their community forum to which I am now a Moderator.  Till date I have 3 packages and 4 websites and I hope to grow even more.

I must say that that Powweb are indeed a perfect hosting solution especially when comparing their price to other hosting companies

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Worst customer service I've ever experienced - Review by Larry submitted on October 7, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of October 7, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: One year plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Absolutely the worst customer service I've ever experienced among the 8 web hosting companies I've used. Doesn't respond to emails, confuses problems reported with those reported by others...'Fixes' problems that ain't even real. No apologies, or even a sorry when confronted with their errors and mistakes and incompetent service.

Give these guys a pass...

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

powweb - Review by submitted on September 28, 2002
Customer's web site: www.justlondonhotels.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 28, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: 7.95
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
People, If i read these comments before I hosted my site with Powweb, I would never go for it. I had my site hosted with powweb and i find it quite good. I had few problems here and then regarding SSL but everything is normal and smooth so far.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Not a good start. - Review by Anonymous submitted on September 26, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 26, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Standard $7 a month
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I've only been with Powweb for about four days.  My domain name just got pointed to Powweb yesterday, and I was excited to upload my site. 

Guess what? I can't access the ftp server.  I can't access my domain.  I can't access the temporary URL they provided.  Everything seems down (except for their page where they continue to sign up new customers.) So far, the server had been down continuously for just about 24 hours.

What have I gotten myself into? I'm going to give it another week or so, but will probably try to cash out on their 30-day money back guarantee.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Dave submitted on September 24, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 24, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
3 years - not one problem.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Poor Support and Up time - Review by submitted on September 18, 2002
Customer's web site: www.couryautomotive.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 18, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $7.77 plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
PowWeb has had our site down on and off for several weeks now and offer NO support! When emailing thier support staff you never receive a response from a person and you can never get through to thier phone number!!!

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

webmail is atrocious - Review by Anonymous submitted on September 18, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 18, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: monthly
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
I've only had a couple of problems with the uptime of my site (and it's loaded slowly on a few occasions), but the webmail is down constantly, and at one point during one of these outages my entire inbox was wiped out. Right now my site's up, my mail's down, and the forums are closed. How convenient.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Down time almost every day - Review by submitted on September 18, 2002
Customer's web site: eee.MapleOne.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 18, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Only one available
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I have been with POWWEB for 20 days and have had 4-5 complete days without service. The other days I had outages of 1-8 hours. I had one week with about 85% up time. First they say growing pains then they say they are adding servers, then they move to a new data center. Good price, factor in the down time and you will find that the $7.77 per month only includes about 20 days of uptime.

------
10/26/2002 1:37:15

Seems like I may have been a bit hasty. I joined PowWeb as they were experiencing problems. Having been with them for several months now, I must say it is definitely improving. I have had 3 weeks straight of 100% uptime. They now email me to tell me of any scheduled downtime etc. Way to go PowWeb, with the upgrades now done I would definitely recommend them to my Friends.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

They couldn't care less. - Review by David Munkhoff submitted on September 17, 2002
Customer's web site: www.davemunkhoff.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 17, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: They only have one plan.
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
My site was down once a week for hours. In September 2002, my site went down and never came back, after 2 days, they sent me a e-mail bragging about how smooth their latest move went. I complained to customer service and received a form letter a day and a half later. The accidently included all the letters and customer names & URLs they were responding to. I paid a year in advance and got 4 and a half months of bad service.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Down a lot lately much too much infact! - Review by submitted on September 15, 2002
Customer's web site: www.stepnstomp.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: The only have one!
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
The whole system went down about 3 hrs ago - and i mean everything - even thier own websites - i've increasingly seen bad reviews regarding this provider of late, who generaly i have been happy with - it does what i want at a price i can afford.  However if these outages continue i shall be forced to move else where, i have a few other websites in the pipeline maybe i might try a different host and see how the wind blows.  As for all these people that seem to have difficulty getting a refund ?? does your credit / debit card not come with a no quibble guarantee itself. All I have to do is tell my bank I dispute a payment for what ever reason and I am INSTANTLY refunded the money by the bank, who needs to argue with vendors? and who cares about money back guarantee time periods - for these people i suggest changing bank / card before web host provider.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

WEEKEND DOWNTIME, NO SUPPORT!! - Review by submitted on September 15, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
I'm not happy at all, no one available on the weekend, server is down, major effect on my internet business for the weekend. Weak answers on why emails are taking such a long time to be processed!!!
did I make a mistake??? POWWEB PROVE ME WRONG!!!! WEEKENDS!!!!!!!!!!!

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Do you get what you pay for? - Review by Steven A submitted on September 15, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 15, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: One year renewable - they only have one plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
Inexpensive, but outages last too long, tech support is glacially slow to respond and customer support pretty much isn't. If you need any level of reliability or technical assistance, find another host.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

powweb is Unreliable - Review by submitted on September 5, 2002
Customer's web site: www.koutayba.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 5, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Powvalue promotion
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
We have been hosted with them for a week and within this week our site went OFFLINE 4 days in a row, each day for a minimum of 3 hours OFFLINE to a maximum of 6 and a half hours on Sep 4 2002.

We have asked them several times to exaplin why this is happening, they have failed in the 6 times they replied to us to exaplin why, seems as if they are avoiding the question.

Aany questions we asked them was ignored and a reply of 'CAN YOU TRY AGAIN?" or 'WE checkd and everything seems fine' kind of answers, not once did they explain why the site was offline.

We tried to even call them and FAX them and nothing in return came out of them. We have wasted alot of time trying to contact them and so far we think we are wasting our money as well.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Internetworking Firewalls and Networks - Review by Chris Partsenidis submitted on September 1, 2002
Customer's web site: www.firewall.cx
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 1, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: One plan available - Powweb Value plan
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
Powweb has proven to be a very reliable web hosting provider. In the time I have been with them I have see some great improvements such as increase of my quota from 100MB to 250MB, additional 200 forwarding email addresses, newly designed operation center to help you manage your website/domain.

The support is quite good and they respond within 24 hours.

I can say I am pleased with them and would recommend them to anyone.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Lousy Customer Service - Review by Prisoner submitted on August 29, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 29, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: 7.77
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
They do not support all they sell. They refuse to answer email from customers who have paid for a year. They ban members from their support forum for no reason and with no explanation. I have been trying for three months to get a problem fixed with no result.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Poor Support - Review by submitted on August 27, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 27, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Regular 1yr plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
My site would die a couple of times per day and when sending the data to powweb to show it, they said they didn't look at my data and the server was fine. Then they told me tough. Don't email us again with any problems. Nice tech support.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Doesn't hurt your wallet...Great rates. - Review by Pankaj Lawande submitted on August 16, 2002
Customer's web site: www.lawande.info
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 16, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
This is one of the best web hosting facility i came across. I moved to them from yahoo. I moved to Powweb and have no complaints with them.

This is just my personal site but its a good way to keep my family in India updated about the happenings here.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Powweb not impressive - Review by Steve submitted on August 12, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 12, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: the only one they have
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Yeah, sure the prices are great...that's if they actually delivered what I wanted. As of now, my site has not been up for the past 36 hours, and I'm really getting mad. I've emailed them more than 24 hours ago, and I'm still awaiting a response from technical support. So I recently emailed billing for a refund, and hopefully I get a response from them saying my refund has been granted.

I'm going to try best-host.net, they have 5 OC48 connections, and a 99.9% uptime guarantee. Plus they give you 500 megs of space, UNLIMITED POP3 email accounts, 5-7 gigs of monthly transfer (that's all you need), and features such as Secure socket layer (SSL) and CGI-BIN at no additional cost. Plus, they're cheaper than powweb. If you buy more years of hosting up front, their prices are cheaper. It goes at low at $6.59 per month, for 5 years. You can also buy the IP directly for $900 and have free hosting for life after that. Let's try it guys!

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Lots of Downtime! HORRIBLE! - Review by steve submitted on August 11, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: they only have one plan :P
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
As I write this, my site has been down for the past 14 hours. Even when my site was up, which it was about 70 to 80% of the time, it loaded slower than I'd like. I personally requested a refund.

So for all of you opinionless, mindless media drones that gave powweb a 10/10 just to get a commission from their referral program, good luck to you!

I think powweb definitely has the potential to be the best though. The features they have for their price are phenominal. But the problem is that my site is never up, so it doesnt matter.



Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

The Worst - Review by submitted on August 10, 2002
Customer's web site: ridland.ca
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 10, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Value Plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Email appears to work only with Outlook.  I hate Outlook, but couldn't get Eudora to work, or Mozilla or Netscape or .... Customer support is non-existent.  24 hours to respond with a message saying reading the FAQs.  My email to them specifically said I had read the FAQs and they were of no help.  So another 24 hours to say, "well you are the only one facing this problem" which is a bald faced lie.  One only has to check their forums to see that a huge number of users are having the same problem. 

This company relys on its users to support each other.

P.S.  Now Outlook has stopped working.

I'm going to pay a little more and more to a decent hosting company.

Cancel my account Powweb.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

No Technical Support - Review by Andrew Ridland submitted on August 6, 2002
Customer's web site: ridland.ca
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 6, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Pow Value
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
There is very little technical support.  Replies usually amount to "have you read the FAQs?" Response time is terrible, waiting at least 24 hours for a response.  My website went down after being hosted for only two days.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Their customer service could not be worse - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 3, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 3, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: standard plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I could not pay a balance, $30, on one of my accounts because I used my credit card on another account.  After a week of trying to resolve this matter my website was removed.  Incoherant, irresponsible, laughable, unbelieveable are all words to describe this company.  Please choose another service, surely there can be no worse.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Powweb - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 31, 2002
Customer's web site: www.freespeechforums.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 31, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
They do have occasional down time, but the speed and value are not to be beat.

Customer service needs worked on.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

3 years...would never leave - Review by submitted on July 26, 2002
Customer's web site: www.berkswebguy.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 26, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I love Powweb.  Been with them for 3 years, and they never up the price...only the service and limits.

The forums themselves are a priceless tool.  I went from copying html to hard-coding html, PHP, Perl, etc.

The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is that support is sometimes a little slow to respond...but the forums usually can resolve your problem in half the time.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Complete server down. - Review by submitted on July 25, 2002
Customer's web site: www.smcelectronics.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 25, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Yearly billing
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
This server farm has had a complete
server shutdown for almost 48 hours.
Many, many websites and business
sites are down.
They have completely pulled the
plug on all customer support.
No emails were sent about this
shutdown. Most of their tech support
is in the form of a public message
board. They pulled the plug on
this board. No information given
on ETA of completion of repairs.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Extremely Long Outage - Review by Charles submitted on July 25, 2002
Customer's web site: www.corollavacation.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 25, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: powvalue
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
As of this writing, (July 25, 2002) my website has been down in excess of 24 hours.  Powweb did not even notify its customers when the problem was first discovered.  The next day, they posted a message on the Powweb message board stating that the server was experiencing some problems. Later that posted another entry on the board stating that they were experiencing a denial of service attack.  With that last message, the established a special message board for members to decide whether they wanted their sites moved to a new server.  Yes...they wanted this type of information posted out in the open where everyone could see it.  My still isn't up.  Powweb is not responding to any of my emails.  As of this evening, they have shut down the message board because there are so many messages flying back and forth.  I have requested to be moved to a new server, but I have not gotten any response.  I don't know what is happening, and I can't get to any of my files.  I have only been with Powweb for 23 days and I am not happy.  If I ever get my site back up, I will probably move to another hosting provider.  Up until this point, I have been pretty happy.  However, it is clear that Powweb was not prepared for this problem, and they do not have a good plan for communication with their customers.  They don't even have a plan to get people back up and running. 

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Bad to worse - Review by submitted on July 16, 2002
Customer's web site: www.consideration.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 16, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: The standard $93/year deal
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
When I wrote regarding these boobs last night, I thought they'd just mislaid my web site, since all of the files were gone.  I expected that once they discovered their mistake, they'd restore the missing data and I'd be back in business, albeit with a 24-36 hour hole in my customers' access.

Today, when I still hadn't gotten any response, I wrote back ... and the tech who'd initially told me the problem was my DNS information (remember, I maintain my own DNS records -- thank god, or I'm sure they'd have found a way to screw those up too) told me ... now wait for it, this is a classic ... TO EMPTY MY CACHE.  Talk about clueless.  I doubt she could even spell computer.

I demanded that she escalate my problem to someone who might be able to understand it, at least.  Within an hour, the page displaying the name of the server and the IP (which was all anyone trying to get to my site saw for the first 24 hours of this fiasco) had been replaced with this cheesy "Under Construction" page that they apparently posted -- I sure as hell didn't.

I FINALLY got a message back (hours later, of course) from some drone who said they weren't responsible for lost data and I'd have to reload the site myself.  That was the first time -- in a 24-hour time period, mind you -- that anyone was bright enough to figure out that my site was completely gone.

I've dealt with two techs there in the past who were good; in fact, I inadvertantly caused trouble for one of them that helped me out of a jam one of their more clueless techs got me into.  So as far as I can tell, there is only one person left there that has anything between his ears beside air. 

I'm still waiting for an answer as to what REALLY happened, who screwed up, etc.  Needless to say, I'm here shopping for a new hosting company.  I've already lost two perspective clients because of these cretins.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Going downhill fast - Review by submitted on July 16, 2002
Customer's web site: www.consideration.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 16, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: The $93/year deal
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
I've hosted this site with Powweb for over a year now, and I've noticed significant increases in down time over the last three months.  As of this writing, my primary site has been down for 20 hours, and although DNS and FTP access were restored 15 hours ago, my web site files have completely disappeared.  My root directory is completely empty.  I am not amused, nor are the clients whose portfolios I host.

I got a message from their customer support around 5 hours into this outage that "there was a problem with your DNS," that they'd corrected it and I'd be back within 6 hours.  Wrong! And what they don't realize, apparently, is that I administer my own DNS records.  I've sent three messages now asking that my files be restored, and have yet to receive a response to any of them (except the form "message received" response).

Although the form messages promises a reply within 24 hours, I've frequently had to wait longer than that.  Unfortunately, this is becoming a more and more frequent occurrence.  I probably won't be with them much longer, and I'll probably take my other site, www.flashquake.org with me when I go. 

I feel badly now, because I've recommended them to other people (and not for the referral bonus), and so far one of them has complained to me.  It's only a matter of time before the other ones do too.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

PowWeb: Worst in 8 years - Review by submitted on July 7, 2002
Customer's web site: www.checksnet.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 7, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: $99 annual prepay
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
As a software publisher & webmaster since 1995, I've hosted with others, large & small. By far, the worst experience was my 4 months with PowWeb. I moved my site from them in June 2002 after numerous service outages, server failures and email delivery "glitches" became more frequent (every 10 days for up to 5 hours at a time). As if that weren't bad enough, the closest thing to an apology or "make good" was a form email 12 hours after the fact. Need help evenings, weekends or holidays? Want a refund for the unused portion of the year you paid for? Forget about it! If you have any enemies, tell them to host with powweb. 

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

The best host ever - Review by submitted on July 4, 2002
Customer's web site: www.powweb.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 4, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
YEP sign up now ~!

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Still twidling my thumbs waiting for my site. - Review by submitted on June 28, 2002
Customer's web site: www.desacs.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 28, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: The only one they offer
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
It's been 2 hours since my last hit.  I can't go to Powweb forum because they are down too.  99.7 percent uptime is what they promise.  Here is what I have...


saturday--93.1%...Sunday--72.9%...Monday--90.5%...Tuesday--100%...Wednesday--97.9...--Thursday--100%.....Average uptime only 92.38%.  To my customers that is a very long time to be down.  Many of my customers rely on me to be up for background images on their auctions. 

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

So far, so good - Review by submitted on June 23, 2002
Customer's web site: www.ibert.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 23, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: PowValue
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I only moved my domain to PowWeb about four weeks ago, but what I've seen has been impressive. I can't comment on the quality of customer service because so far, I have not had a reason to contact them.

Site set-up was a breeze, they even let you administer your own DNS zone file, just about anything I could want is included.

The whole thing has an air of confidence in the customer about it. "If you really want to do this, go ahead, but don't come crying later if it doesn't work" is a lot more to my liking than "You can't do that, you might break something".

I would say PowWeb is not ideal for everyone (because I think you can break something if you're not careful), but for an IT and internet professional who does know what he's doing it's pretty good.

On the whole, I have been very satisfied with them for the short time I've been their customer. I sure hope it stays that way!

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Good Service - Review by joel submitted on June 14, 2002
Customer's web site: hangglidemt.com
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 14, 2002): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
While there is no 800 number available, tech support is both timely and courteous and extremely professional.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Zach submitted on June 10, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 10, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Only One 7.77 Per Month
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I really like Powweb,They have a community forum that has dedicated people that lend you a helping hand when you most need it. About the only thing I dislike about them is that they run PHP in CGI mode, and that the database costs extra. Otherwise the service is great!!

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on June 10, 2002
Customer's web site: www.bigtube.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 10, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
First time in a year the site is down, and the nameservers and all are not responding. This could be bad.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

never again - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 10, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 10, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
My site, as well as their main site went down roughly 5 hours ago.  No site, no email, and they refuse to answer the phone.

Support at this company is also fairly poor.  The day after I signed up I emailed support for my true unix path and they replied to me many hours later stating they do not offer support for CGI.  Being that they are the only people that can tell me the "true unix path" I corrected them and almost 24 hours later they were kind enough to supply the information.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Great when they are up! - Review by submitted on May 26, 2002
Customer's web site: www.domelby.com
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 26, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: $7.99 per month, all you can down time you can eat.
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
The servers seem to be down every weekend so far that I have been here.  The email server has been down for at least 2 days now.  I am working very hard to run my business, I just wished they would do the same.  When I have a problem, I expect more than just a auto generated email reply.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Poor Management - Review by Kaye submitted on May 19, 2002
Customer's web site: english-zone.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 19, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
They charged me for more bandwidth than the monthly meter showed. Their bandwidth measurement, and the bandwidth measurement that the reports showed were two totally different numbers. I had to pay the difference. Not fair - found another host.
PowWeb representative's response:

This specific domain has a problem w/ leeching and they refused to do anything about it despite being told where to go to see this (logs) and how to prevent it (tutorials in our community forum).

We gave them plenty of warning (contacted them when they first started using only 400 MB per day). They refused to even look into it. So when they used over our allowed transfer, we charged them.

Funny how ppl finally take notice when you charge them. ;)

 

 

Very happy. - Review by submitted on May 11, 2002
Customer's web site: www.toxikholokaust.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: The only one
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I hear people happy, and also people pissed. What the heck do you expect for 7 bucks a month? We paid 200 a month for a DSL pipe on our OWN servers, and they even went bankrupt, leaving us in the dust for almost 6 months. Im very happy, even though I cant run my ASP, and unix is still just has backable as MS. happy with the fact they arent on my case about the fact my site is a hacking site. Not happy that its currently down, but its good, cause its 11pm Est on saturday..
Very happy overall.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Up & Down - Review by John submitted on May 11, 2002
Customer's web site: alicekaye.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 11, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: 1 year plan
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
It was fairly easy to use & transfer the site to powweb.  Their online documentation could be better.

They also do not seem to be up as often as I would like.  Right now I can not connect to my site (alicekaye.com) or any powweb pages to see what is going in.

Phone suport numbers eare either non existant or are very burried within their pages (when you can get to them).

Also they are slower to serve up pages then other providers I work with.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 7, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 7, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
They seem to be contradictory on several things.

I signed up a couple accounts with them almost a year ago, and the service has been pretty lacking. I gave up trying to host anything worthwhile on there after I tried to show a few demos and the servers were down. 

The attitude is "if you don't like what you see here then leave!" Only catch is they don't refund your $$$ after 30 days. I made the mistake of paying a year, since I heard all the good things about them.... little did I know. :(

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Decent value, but false advertising - Review by submitted on May 1, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 1, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: the only one they have.
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
They say:
"Web Hosting - Get Everything for $7.77/month!! - Includes 100MB, 12 Gigs
Transfer, 50 Emails, Control Panel, CGI-BIN, FTP, PHP4, MySQL, SSL, SSI,
FrontPage, Free Setup, Excellent Tehnical Support And More! -
http://www.powweb.com"

But you'd better read the fine print? Want that MySQL they promised you? That's another $30 setup fee (ka-ching!). Want the SSL they promised you? That's another $30 (ka-ching!).

Now, I don't know what their idea of "MySQL, SSL" and "Free setup" is, but to me, it means I won't be charged for set-up. Once I had my site hosted there, I asked about it, and they tried to nail me with these fees. I asked them about the above, and all they replied with is (to paraphrase) "yes, setup is free. It will cost you $60 to have MySQL and SSL setup. Would you like us to do it?". DoH!

I am taking advantage of their 30 day money back guarantee and going elsewhere. This is blatant false advertising.
PowWeb representative's response:

We make it quite clear what our additional services are and what the costs are for those services:

http://powweb.com/additional.html

http://powweb.com/pow1detail.html

 

 

Great company - Review by Amy submitted on May 1, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 1, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Value
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Powweb does a great job. My website has been down approximately 5-6 hours (that I or my visitors know about) over the past year. They recently upgraded space to 200MB, 100 email accounts, 10 FTP accounts and bandwidth to 16GB. 16GB! All this for $7.77 a month.

They are a great value! The old saying "You get what you pay for" doesn't hold true in their book, because their package is worth more than $7.77 a month...

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Nice Job Powweb!! - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 21, 2002
Customer's web site: www.gameandbookshop.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 21, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Nice Price, Good Servers, Great Customer service. The guy that rated them 1/10 earlier seems to have had his registrars transferred over to Powweb now. ;0 People like him need to calm down. Keep up the good work Powweb!!

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent Customer Support - Review by jhat submitted on April 9, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 9, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I have only had my site hosted by Powweb for a very short time and so far i'm impressed.  These guys really seem concerned about their customers.  I have already recieved 4 responses to emails.  All of them have been sent without more than 12 hour period.  Price is good too.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Decent Hosting, Terrible Account Managment - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 4, 2002
Customer's web site: www.kohlmancg.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 4, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Only Have 1 Plan
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 4 out of 10
I've had 4 sites hosted with PowWeb over the last 2 years and while the reliability of the hosting service is decent, there has been a real decline in their ability to manage accounts.  Simple items such as billing, responding to issues, changing credit card info, etc. simply do not work correctly.  The most frustrating issue in the last year has been their billing system.  I've had two sites/clients who had had web sites closed for failure to to pay, even though they has credit cards on file and payments were set for automatice billing.  When they did go to their account to make a payment, the account management site would state the account was up to date and would refuse payment.

Three sites (including one of mine) have moved to somehwat more expensive hosts as a result of the frustration, which is a shame really because the reliability of the service is about 8/10 overall and considering the price that is not bad. 

Still an OK hosting company if money is the most important factor and you are willing to have to deal with the screwed-up account management.  I am no longer recommending them for businesses however.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Good Value - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 22, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 22, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: The basic plan for $7.77
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 10 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
I currently host close to 10 site with Powweb and I have found the experience to be great! The only issue I have is the new interface for support tends to be confusing when you first experience it.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

A Deal @ 7.77/mo ..... ok - Review by submitted on March 20, 2002
Customer's web site: www.max-tech.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 20, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: powvalue 7.77 / month
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
I have had them for several months, seems their servers go down about once a month for several hours, usuall in the evening, I suppose for maintenance, since it is a regular event each month. My site also seems to load slow more than I like.

As for their email, it goes down atleast a couple times a month, for hours. This is irritating, but I don't think I have lost any emails.

When I first signed up, I transferred my domain to their so-called sister company 15domains.com, they say in their FAQ's that if you register with 15domains your domain will automaticaly point to their servers, they did after 2 calls to customer support and I changed them myself, my site was down for almost a week during the transition.

They have a very good ops support section with a forum.  It is very helpful and has answers to just about any question you might have.

All in all, I think you get quite a bit for the price, the only drawback is the down times, which I didn't have with the last host, but the last host was also 29.95 a month for less than powweb has to offer.

Bottom line.... you get your money's worth.....


Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

OK for the price - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 9, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 9, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
Adequate for my individual home page use. Some of the user interfaces are a bit klunky.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

these people are psycho - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 8, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 8, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: The only one.
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
If you go over 12GB/month, they charge $8/GB, and it seems they aren't interested in helping you to keep your site under 12GB, but rather if you go near it they want you to go over so they get more money.  As best I can tell, their tech support wouldn't answer my questions.

You can't remove your credit card number out of their system, it's like they're just waiting for them to find something to charge you for.  It isn't my card, so I don't want it in there, but they can't remove it because "they have to keep it by law".  What a lie.

There is no telnet access for 'security reasons', even though you can upload executables with ftp and execute them with CGI-BIN.  I asked what security this gave them.  They said "As for Telent, this is total out of the question; we do not all clients to telent becasue we are preventing and protecting them form potential system
attacts." The spelling/grammer is them, I just copy and pasted.

If your site goes over 400MB/day, they send you an email, if you don't print it out, sign it, and fax it to them in 24 hours they cancel your account, keeping your money I assume.  I don't know, their tech support didn't answer this question for me either.  Like I said, they only read the first two lines.

If only I had come here first.  As for the service, I'm not even going to upload anything, I'll just get my money back, so I don't know.

Representative of PowWeb?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-100] [Reviews 101-106]

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.