Jumpline.com - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: Jumpline.com
Host's Web Site: Jumpline.com Web Hosting
Click the link above to visit this host's site

Average customer rating: 2.09 out of 10 based on 77 votes

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-75]


 

Jumpline Upgrades & Service Terrible - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 13, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 13, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: Standard Plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
We've had it with their upgrades and their failure to respond accurately or within a reasonable time. We've been down for over a week following their March upgrade, they've lost over 12 meg of files in the upgrade, and lost our email. They didn't communicate in a timely manner, didn't give us time to do a backup before the upgrade, and didn't inform us of the changes. They also removed SSH from our package even though we paid for it. We can no longer ftp into the site.
Then they send us an insulting email claiming how wonderful their upgrade has gone, how happy folks are with it. Reading this board, you can see how happy people are.

They have been consistent; every upgrade has been a problem, and they've communicated poorly each time.

What a shame.


Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Data and Pages and Email lost during upgrade - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 13, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 13, 2002): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
They have no idea what they are doing.  They won't answer the phones.  They suck!!!

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Not Good at All - Review by Larry Brister submitted on March 12, 2002
Customer's web site: www.fbccoralsprings.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 12, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Pro Plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
We are a Church Website and we also stream real audio and video with Jumpline.  Before their recent upgrade I had only one problem...we wanted to do live broadcasts and were surprised to find out that we could stream from archive, but not live...even though we had made it perfectly clear what we needed.

Jumplines recent upgrade has been a complete fiasco.  I will be surprised if they survive the total loss to their credibility.

A lot of their bad publicity could have been averted by simply providing someone in customer service to talk to.  Even though we would not be happy with all of the problems, it would at least show that Jumpline was making every effort to please their customers.

They obviously have a very poor quality technical staff.  I am appalled at how disastrous this upgrade has been...with no support as an added attraction.

We are seriousely considering moving all 4 of our sites elsewhere.  The headache surrounding the added work load for us has been nuclear class.

My recommendation?

This is a big planet.  There must be a better company somewhere.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Upgrade Problems - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 11, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Prior to the upgrade I would have rated them a 9 out of 10, however, since the upgrade, I have had nothing but problems! No notification of user name changes, and absolutly no customer support. In fact the upgrade put me over my quota, therefore knocking out my email.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Upgrade is a DISASTER!!! - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 11, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Plus Plan
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
As a professional developer, I know it can be difficult to plan a wide-spread upgrade but JumpLine appears to have done ABSOLUTELY NO PLANNING. Their latest efforts have been and continue to be a disaster. The upgrade has flopped and every attempt on their part to fix it is actually making it worse. Needless to say, the reason I'm here is to find a new host. Enough is enough...

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Don't even think about it! - Review by submitted on March 11, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
This company sucks.  My site was down for two days and I have had no e-mail for the past week.  THEY SUCK!!!!!!!!!

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Not worth it.. - Review by James Atkinson submitted on March 11, 2002
Customer's web site: www.cpmd.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: All plans
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
The company I work for hosts some 20 - 30 sites on Jumpline servers and other the past week we've had nothing but problems due to there so called 'upgrade'. I personally worked all weekend migrating our sites and trying to fix the problems we had.

At this moment none of our sites on jumpline has working email, some of them were on the standard plan and had their databases whiped out, and others are running month old backups.

Avoid these people at all costs.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Upgrade is bad news - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 11, 2002
Customer's web site: www.sotn.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 11, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Pro plan
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Jumpline upgraded all accounts with very little notice. Only a fraction of my files were moved to the new site, and access to the old machines is not available. Support is virtually non-existant. Stay away from this company!

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Jumpline DownGrade hosed us - Review by Rob Kleine submitted on March 11, 2002
Customer's web site: grandcanyonhiker.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Plus
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
With no advance notice, Jumpline dongraded their server software. In the process, they eliminated our shopping cart and disabled all scripts. Requests to Jumpline tech support have been unanswered for 5 days now. They do not answer the phone. If you value service, avoid Jumpline.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Worst... Customer Service... EVER - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 11, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Plus
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I agree with all the postings below. The "upgrade" of last week was an utter disaster. Two weeks worth of work lost. Users' email, lost. Functionality removed without warning.

Tech support ranged from unresponsive, to outright lying.

They have disconnected their customer service phone line - I think this pretty much says it all.

I'm transfering my domain elsewhere as soon as possible.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Better companies exist, find them! - Review by submitted on March 10, 2002
Customer's web site: chesleyconsultants.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 10, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Standard Plan
Customer service rating: 4 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
Jumpline used to offer a good package with features, claims uptime and availability, and support.

You will never be able to call support! You can e-mail and they will respond, but not often with anything resembling a solution to the problem, just an acknowledgment that something is wrong, or a statement that it is fixed.

Their servers are slow, they have been inflexible in supporting most features including updates to WebMail.

Their latest effort is updates to their hardware and software to provide better service--the result is a fiasco! First, they claimed to have informed all users of the upgrade and changes that would affect our domains. I received my only notification after the upgrades were in progress. Their changes broke all the e-mail accounts for every domain I have with Jumpline by making passwords invalid (they claimed the original pws would still work...), changing the POP username format (requiring changes to all servers and mail clients), and disabling features to stop mail from being received unless it is addressed to a valid mail account (instead, it goes to a catch all account). They also broke all the links to the WebMail/NeoMail so that users must now access the cgi-bin directory through a more complicated URL. They claim that fixes for some of these problems will be implemented, but no specific date or timeframe was offered.

Overall, this experience has convinced me that Jumpline is not a good value because they do not deliver and do not know how to work seamlessly behind the scenes to rollout updates and changes.

If you are an amateur and just want a domain hosted, there are cheaper plans from other companies. If you are a serious user expecting service and reliability, there are better companies.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Badly Planned Upgrade Jeopardized Site - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 10, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 10, 2002): Private
Plan used: Pro
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
We've had enough with Jumpline. It's not only once that our site has been jeopardized by their badly planned upgrade. First, our databases were not transferred; secondly, they transferred data 3-4 weeks old and asked us to either file for a data restoration or to transfer new data ourselves; thirdly, all our e-mail accounts are "deleted" when they do their upgrade; fourth, we're not informed of what changes needed on our part causing all our cgi scripts not working; fifth, poor support - support requests were responded by ignorant tech guys with always-engaged-telephone-support; sixth, our site is now down for more than 1 week! still no assistance offerred!

we're not only loosing business sales, but also customer's confidence, not to mentioned the extra overhead to try to get the site up and running again due to their negligence.

and the above is only the latest upgrade. we've had experiences where they mistakenly restored our data with old data (which we never requested, and this happened several times a year) or server down for unknown reason.

don't go for jumpline if u really want to have a peaceful mind.

they may be fast but the downtime is not something you'd want to trade off.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 9, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 9, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: basic
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Had more down-time problems than it was up.  Lost all me account info during an "upgrade" last year.  The upgrade this still has my site down for over 3 days and support is uncooperative/unavailable.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Very Bad Service - Review by submitted on March 9, 2002
Customer's web site: cpmd.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 9, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Reseller
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
We have over 20 sites hosted with this company for a year now.  The service started to deteriorate in October when Server 1900 crashed and it was 3 days before we were up again.  They do not do regular backups, proved at this time by the out of date websites that were replaced on the server.  We had to go back and upload every single one of our sites. 
Last week they upgraded the server without warning.  Every single one of our clients has lost email.  We are having to visit each one of them to reconfigure their email, in many cases 20-25 accounts.  The copies of the websites that Jumpline uploaded, were old and we have had to reupload all of our websites once again.
Databases are accessed on the server by anyone who has admin privileges to a website on the server.
No amount of emailing or telephone calls will get you help.  The telephone lines are always engaged and emails are ignored.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on March 8, 2002
Customer's web site: www.sustianblecomputersolutions.org
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 8, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
These guys did an upgrade and my e-mail bounced for two days.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Abysmal Service - Review by Marty Campisi submitted on March 8, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 8, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: STANDARD PLAN
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
I began my "tour" with Jumpline about a year ago. The first two months were bliss. Great technical and not too bad service either.

Within the last two months, things have deteriorated. In November 2001, the server they had my site on crashed. Lost all the HTML data.
Luckily, I had a month old backup....disasterous yes.

The standard plan I was on included SQL access and php and cgi etc. Fairly robust for the price.

Last week 03/01/02 we learn that Jumpline is upgrading. Great!

Yesterday the site crashed and wsa retored with a 2 week old backup. No explanation. Calls to support # went dead. Phones are off. No answers to email.

And to top it off, the plan has been changed with NO NOTIFICATION to users.

I have since lost my database and it will no longer be supported. Once again, none of this was communicated to us. Just woke up one morning and SURPRISE.

Needless to say, I ahve cancelled my 3 accounts this morning.

I would think twice about service with Jumpline. If you do, back up your sire everyday and forget about tech support.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Server Upgrade - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 8, 2002
Customer's web site: www.pecoso.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 8, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: low and middle priced on different sites.
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Their recent server upgrade went very poorly.  Many problems including replacing my site an one of the sites I support with an old version.  Also did not properly move their webmail.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Their site is down more than it's up - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 8, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 8, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: 200.00 yearly
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Customer service never responds to your e-mails. Their phone line (land line) is always busy (both 800 and 614 number) They can never seem to figure out what the problem is. Do not give them money. Do not join! I cant even get a live human so I can get out of this hosting!

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Bad went to worse - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 7, 2002
Customer's web site: www.thefastforwardband.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 7, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: 14.95 Plan
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
They did an upgrade to their system and when they restored both of my websites they used 4 month old data backups. I lost dedicated ip addresses from them going to virtual servers, I lost fuctionality on both of my websites, they deleted my address books and couldn't restore them, and it took over 4 hours to get them on the phone. I will transfer my websites ASAP!!

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 7, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: N/A
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 7, 2002): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
They rised the prices and removed features for each plan; now you have to pay more.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Their 'backup' destroyed my site - Review by Jim Wharmby submitted on March 7, 2002
Customer's web site: www.vasting.com
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 7, 2002): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
They did an 'upgrade' which trashed my site completely. I lost all my CGI and email access. While investigating, I discovered they'd 'upgraded' my site from a backup more than two weeks old, and had changed the permissions on half my CGI files so that they would not run.

Their customer support was pathetic; eventually they just stopped answering my queries. I've cancelled my account.

I strongly recommend buying your web hosting from a company that is competent to provide web hosting. Jumpline, I am afraid, is not.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by submitted on March 7, 2002
Customer's web site: www.rbdesigns.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 7, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: pro
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
They are terrible, suppurt is terrible...

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Email messages disappeared/command line access terminated - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 7, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 7, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: basic
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
An upgrade was done with no notice that caused email to stop working. Even after making the changes, email didn't reliably come through. Messages would just disappear. I could have checked via telnet, but Jumpline chose to terminate this service as part of my plan.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

low speed,, downtime - Review by submitted on March 7, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 7, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: basic
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
jumpline is the 3rd web hosting company i have used. they are better than the prior two. However, there are a few things to be aware of. First, the speed you will get on your domain is very slow due to the massive traffic and domains sharing the bandwidth. Second, one domain failed to meet 99.5% up time for the year 2001 which is the reason I wanted their service in the first place. This included an entire business day of downtime on 6/5/01. Jumpline never informed customers nor tried to make any reconciliations for this outage.

Jumpline just made an upgrade to their system (3/6/02). All kinds of strange new problems to deal with such as a new rule that every pop box has to have at least a 6 character password. each pop box username must include a %domain.com trailer, and they removed https access from their basic plan without telling me causing my e-business to be broken.

As can be seen, there is a disregard to provide a quality service to the customer. I have been disappointed at the speed, reliability, and unnecessary rules in place.



Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

They couldn't do a backup of database - Review by Anonymous submitted on January 24, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 24, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: 14.95
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Suddenly, they do something to my database, half of my tables are deleted, and for the past 48 hrs I've been trying to request for a backup restore and they haven't been able. Will Never use jumpline.com again. I'm going to cancel my 2 sites with them.

Representative of Jumpline.com?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 
[Reviews 1-50] [Reviews 51-75]

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.