EarthLink - Reviews


Host Search

  Home
  Advanced Search
  Price Search
  Host Directory
  Plan Directories
  Add Plan
  Monitoring

 



Education

  FAQ
  Guide
  Quick Start
  Glossary
  Selecting a Host
  Gotchas
  Domain Names
  News
  Cheap Hosting
  Dedicated Server
.  Stats
  Resources

 

   Host: EarthLink
Host's Web Site: Earthlink Web Hosting
Click the link above to visit this host's site

Average customer rating: 5.41 out of 10 based on 35 votes


 

Good reliability, average customer service, high priced - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 28, 2003
Customer's web site: www.boomerlabs.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 28, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: ProSite
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 7 out of 10
Hey all,

I've had Earthlink for 3 years now.  I must start with saying that they have rock solid reliability, if their servers went down, I sure didn't notice nor did my customers.

I will say that customer on the other hand is average.  Long hold times, and poor email support are starting to annoy me as I look to add more and more features to my site.  Recently, Autoresponders stopped working with my webforms, it's been 6 weeks without resolution.

Also, their "resources" are mostly old freeware which haven't been updated in years.

The big downside is price.  My package is $35/mos compared to others in the $10-$15 range.  Not sure if they're worth the $25/mos premium.

I'll probably be changing service providers on the basis of price and some other features (mySQL for example) in the near future and I'll report on my findings with them.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Not for the Beginner - Review by Anonymous submitted on July 19, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 19, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Private
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
For a beginner, using Earthlink was very confusing. Documentation is lacking on FTP vs. FrontPage. Froget it if u want to combine Dreamweaver and Frontpage.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 26, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 26, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: intro web
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
Service very good - 24/7 phone & helpful - but it is very pricey.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Excellent Service! - Review by submitted on June 3, 2003
Customer's web site: www.purple-rose.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 3, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: Starter Site
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
My site has never been down or out of service in three years with Earthlink! Also, their customer service is exceptional.  I am never on hold very long and they always know how to resolve my issues.  I don't understand those who have rated otherwise on this company! Perhaps related to locale?

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

decent enough for a simple fansite - Review by Lesley A. submitted on May 17, 2003
Customer's web site: www.zaksrealm.net
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 17, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: don't remember
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
I signed on over 3 years ago- a refugee from the wreckage of Geocities once it merged with Yahoo- and have not had any problems beyond an initial setup glitch that was my fault, not theirs.  Their customer support was curteous and friendly, their billing department amenable to changes and adjustments.  I get a monthly newsletter that is irritating, but that's a small price to pay.  My site hasn't suffered any downtime that I'm aware of. 

Granted I have nothing fancy on my site other than a little javascript, but overall I give this service a high rating.  A little pricy, perhaps (without many options for fancy stuff), but definatly good for a basic personal site, especially if you already use Earthlink for your dialup service, too.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Earthlink: Okay, but unpleasant surprises - Review by Tom Brosnahan submitted on May 16, 2003
Customer's web site: www.infoexchange.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 16, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: First Site
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 6 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
Earthlink has hosted my site for about 3 years, and most of the time it's been okay. However, I find their own websites exceedingly confusing and difficult to use. Perhaps because it is an amalgam of several companies (bought up over the years), their procedures can be confusing.

Then there's yesterday: I just got broadband, wanted to tinker with my site's POP email addresses, fought through their websites for an hour, gave up and called for an online chat. It went fine, and I finally found my way to the control panel. The panel didn't let me do what I wanted to do, but I solved the problem elsewise. But...

Recently when I've uploaded pages to the Earthlink server the login message has informed me that I've used about 12% of my disk space allocation. Today I try to upload a page and all of a sudden I've used 113%! I'm over my limit! Wha'?

I think the chat guy noticed I had an old, cheap account and tweaked it so I'd upgrade. Okay, maybe it IS time to upgrade, but that's not how I'd like to be told.

I complained today. The Customer Support rep didn't answer my question about why my disk allocation had shrunk by an order of magnitude overnight, he suggested that I upgrade--at twice the cost of my current plan.

I have the feeling that Earthlink is not a bad company (AOL, anyone?), but it's sort of held together by spit, gum and bailing wire.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Earthlink - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 11, 2003
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 11, 2003): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: Basic - starter
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Earthlink provides a very good website statistics package with each of it's plans. Their telephone and on-line support is outstanding. I've incurred no downtime in 4 years through this service.
Their website control panell makes it very easy to add new features to your website. The instructions are quite easy to follow.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Nightmarish experience with Earthlink - Review by submitted on February 25, 2003
Customer's web site: www.junglephotos.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of February 25, 2003): Less than 3 months ago
Plan used: StarterSite/Pro Site
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I am looking for a new hosting company since I have had an awful experience with Earthlink. They are presently charging me over $500 for one month's over bandwidth, and won't negotiate. They charge $100 per 1GB over the allowance! This is the highest cost in the industry I believe. Most other companies charge $5-15 per GB.

This started on Feb 8th when I received a bill for $2364!! I almost had a heart attack. Upon investigation they admit they made a mistake and refund me for $1801. This doesn't compensate for the terrible shock of receiving a huge bill.

I get mixed information from everyone at Earthlink. e.g. payment plans are possible ("Here's the email address."), then sorry, they're not possible (email gets returned as undeliverable). I have spent many, many hours sorting things out. Wait times on the phone are never less than half an hour unless you call at 10:30 pm. Their Chat help service is passable but I have also got conflicting information from the attendants

I have just discovered that all customer hosting records prior to November 2002 are lost, due to an error during server migration. WOW! So I strongly recommend you avoid Earthlink.



Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Good experience - Review by submitted on January 31, 2003
Customer's web site: www.small-business-consultants.net
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 31, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Never had a problem with my site.  Earthlink support provided through LiveChat has been very good and esy to use.  Stats are provided by Urchin and are easy to use.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Need reliable CGI-- forgetaboutit ! - Review by doug submitted on January 20, 2003
Customer's web site: www.collectorsnursery.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 20, 2003): N/A
Plan used: 19.95 month
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Trying to put up a shopping cart, the only way I could get it to work was to remove it all and reinstall
all directories.  Changed permissions via ftp, and when I came
back they had reverted.  Perl scripts fail without the rightpermissions.


Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

30 MINUTE AVERAGE HOLD TIMES! - Review by Angela submitted on January 6, 2003
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 6, 2003): N/A
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
THE WORST, I MOVED ALL 3 DOMAINS TODAY!.
TRY BEFORE YOU BUY...JUST DIAL THE 800 NUMBER FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.
Your recorded message, any hour of the day or night, will be:
"Due to high call volume your call will be answered in approximately
25-30 minutes".
***Then you deal with incompetent 9.00 an hour CS Reps or Tech Support who can't help and refuse to get a Manager.
After threatening to close my account, I called the President Garry Betty, who would not return nor take my call!
ADIOS Earthlink!
BY THE WAY, CHECK OUT WHAT CUSTOMERS AND EMPLOYEES HAVE TO SAY AT:
EARTHLINKSUCKS.NET

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Awful Service and Extra Long Wait on Phone - Review by Heather submitted on January 6, 2003
Customer's web site: www.warnercenterbusinesspark.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 6, 2003): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 6 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
I got handed a project which already had earthlink as the webhost. All my experiences with them have not been positive. The average wait time on the phone for technical support is 15-20 minutes which is completely unacceptable. I tried to accomplish a simple task with them, redirect an old website to my new website. It took about 5 calls and over an hour of wait time to accomplish this task.

The customer support people on the phone are extremely nice and curtious, but the wait time and ability to get things done is unacceptable.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Good Service - Review by Anonymous submitted on January 5, 2003
Customer's web site: www.mommymojo.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of January 5, 2003): N/A
Plan used: StarterSite
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
They've been very helpful with any problems we've had. The online chat ability allows for quick resolution of a variety of problems. I was able to get help for a script they didn't even support from one of their techies.

One techie was a rather rude, but that's been the exception rather than the rule. The one techie assumed I was an idiot and treated me as such. I reported them to management when the rudeness got out of hand (along with sending a copy of the transcription) and received a free month of service from the Earthlink (this last was on my personal site, not the URL mentioned above). I was suitably impressed.

The service is rather pricey, but they're very reliable as far as uptime.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Prashanth submitted on November 19, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of November 19, 2002): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: N/A
Technical quality rating: N/A
Cost rating: N/A
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Earthlink is a FRAUD!

I had DSL service with them, and they didnt tell me that service at the first apartment I stayed in didnt count towards the one year commitment AND the two months _their_ technical people couldnt provide service at new place didnt count either towards the one year. So I ended up paying for two extra months at 50 bucks a months rather than the "early termination fee" of $150. OK this is not a web hosting issue but this goes to show what kind of ethics they have. I reached the top level manager and this is what I got. AVOID EARTHLINK!

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Earthlink sucks - AVOID!!!!! - Review by Anonymous submitted on September 25, 2002
Customer's web site: N/A
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 25, 2002): Private
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 1 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Earthlink is the WORST. Nothing works. Their building/editing/uploading functions are confusing and often in disrepair. You will never be able to get your site going. And forget about customer srevice... Hold times up to 60 minutes! Take your business elsewhere.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

I don't think so... - Review by Anonymous submitted on September 11, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 11, 2002): Private
Plan used: Advanced Site Business (hah!)
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
Still awaaaaaaaay back in php3 with NO MySQL support, no pro-offered expression of intent to upgrade.

Help files are all confused, mixed up, and insufficient, as are their separate servers.  Domain transfer was an excessively frustrating and lengthy process (3 weeks), accomplished by myself in the end; sales staff initially put our plan on a server that did not support what we had requested.

Email requests for help have gone unanswered, although telephone support is A-1 *IF* you request technical.  Sales staff are NOT educated as to server platforms, scripting support, dns..

Earthlink should put a system in place whereby they flag themselves as to unresolved issues amidst all their various servers, departments, and plans, and assign and address them.

There's more but I can rant elsewhere.  Not recommended at $35/mo.  No way.

Think I'll go try IPowerWeb or something.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Sloppy Service - Review by submitted on September 3, 2002
Customer's web site: www.corner-magic.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of September 3, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Smartsite
Customer service rating: 3 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 4 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
I have been on hold with them trying to purchase my 4th domain name when I found this site to search for an altenate hosting vendor. With each domain registration I had to babysit them until it was complete. My site was down for over a week when I originally switched to them. Here I am trying to give them more business and they don't seem to want it.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

The best that I've tried - Review by Anonymous submitted on August 29, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 29, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Starter Site
Customer service rating: 8 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
Earthlink has been 100% better than two other services I tried. I left Earthlink 2 years ago, for cheaper rates, but I was very disappointed and wound up coming back to Earthlink.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Earthlink's been good to me - Review by Fred G submitted on August 19, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of August 19, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
They've always been very helpful to me...always helped me through any problems...I think they are a good service.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Earthlink..Great Job Hosting My Sites - Review by submitted on July 29, 2002
Customer's web site: geekmine.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 29, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: startersite, introweb,advanced site
Customer service rating: 10 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 9 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
Earthlink has done a great job for me. I have hosted a number of sites over the past three years with them. Domain registration was no problem.I have always been able to reach technical support( one time even at three in the morning)and I usually found out I was the cause of the problem not them.When they did make a mistake once, they made it right.I have been very satisfied with Earthlink.Personally I would rather pay for quality with a company that will be around. I have hosted elsewhere and had major problems. Staying with Earthlink

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Lousy Support, Too Much Down Time, Lost Email - Review by submitted on July 11, 2002
Customer's web site: www.ginni.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of July 11, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Starter
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 4 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
I started with Teleport a small ISP in Portland back in 1996, that was bought by OneMain.com, that was bought by Earthlink.  I have spent days on the phone trying to get things straightened out.  I have made 3 times the support calls and spent a hundred times the hours on the phone with Earthlink in a year+ that I spent with Teleport over 5 years.  The cost of hosting doubled because I have two domains with them.  One is a vanity site and the other is a non-profit info site, but now I am considering a business site and I will be going elsewhere.  Just where????

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Bottom line - they want your money! - Review by C B Hanson submitted on June 30, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 30, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Beginning plan
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 7 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 3 out of 10
I started with them a year ago, and everything was fine until my business took off, and I went over the allowed amount of business (5gp).  One month, it went up to 17 gp.  Not being computer-smart, I didn't realize this was a problem, until Earthlink took $2700 out of my account all at once.  I had to fight to get any of it back.  They don't have any system to warn you of this (I can see why).  Other companies do.  Have lost my trust in their company.  They weren't watching out for me, their customer.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Techs Don't Know Where to Install Perl Modules - Review by Anonymous submitted on June 29, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 month - 3 months
Date when last hosted by this company (as of June 29, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Startersite
Customer service rating: 2 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 3 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
The tech support is very good if you have basic cookie cutter questions and problems. Anything beyond that, they either don't care or don't know what to do to support their service..

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Review for Earthlink's Hosting Plan - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 28, 2002
Customer's web site: www.mrslinskitchen.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 28, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: SOHO
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 6 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
We have been hosted with Earthlink since 1997. We actually started out with Netcom then it became Mindspring after the company merger. Finally it became Earthlink last year. Throughout the few years we had with Earthlink, we had some problems with them especially during the renewal for our digital certificate ID. Some of the technical people are not capable of doing the renewal and screw up a few times. This is the major complaint that we have for this company. Connectivity for our website has been quite consistent except during the transfer from Netcom to Mindspring. We had some downtimes.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Downtime, lost info, bad customer service - Review by Anonymous submitted on May 8, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 8, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Biz Site
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 2 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Earthlink seems to suffer a lot of downtime, they have lost our E-Mail setup, Credit card info, they recently turned off our site without notice (because they lost our credit card info).
the site and E-Mail addresses were gone within minutes, they said it would take 24 - 72 hours to restore.
8 days have gone by at this time, and everything still isn't straightened out.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by webmaster submitted on May 2, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of May 2, 2002): 3 months - 1 year ago
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 8 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
excellent customer service.  knowledgeable tech support overall.

cancelled service due to boss' search for cheaper service!!

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Owsome Downtime. Keep away! - Review by submitted on April 14, 2002
Customer's web site: www.netsekuritas.net
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 14, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: StarterSite
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 2 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 2 out of 10
Our web page still cannot be contacted, after a couple of days.
None at EARTHLINK pay any attention to our mails. It takes 3 days to have a reply for mails. Huh... What a company!
I wonder how I got there.  We have lost a fortune because of this hosting company. We want our mony and loses back!

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Not go if you are using FrontPage 2002 - Review by submitted on April 3, 2002
Customer's web site: www.ennsproperties.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 3, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Smart site (this plan is probably no longer available)
Customer service rating: 5 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 5 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 5 out of 10
I started using Mindspring back in 1999 when someone else maintained my site using FrontPage 98.  I now use FrontPage 2002 and maintain the site myself and it has been a challenge to say the least.(I switched over to Earthlink from Mindspring after they merged.) Evidently, Microsoft has not yet manufacturered a patch for the particular servers they use - (I was told this by an Earthlink tech) - so according to him, (and I graciously thanked him for his honesty), the chances of them updating the server extensions to 2002 program are doubtful.  I have called customer service in web hosting several times to verify this and they always say they will call back, but never do.  I would not recommend them if you are a FrontPage user, and I am currently researching different hosting options, perferrably a provider with a Microsoft based server.  Also when you are having a problem it greatly depends on the tech that you get.  I have hung up and called back if I got a "bum" tech.  They also have gotten so big (from the merger) that one location doesn't speak to the other location, so if there is a server down, your tech just may not be aware of it.  Mindspring was ok I guess for the most part, but maybe also because I was really not on top of their service back then and didn't pay attention to the server problems.  I also think that with all the advertising that they have been doing lately they may have grown too quickly, and can not handle all of the business.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 3, 2002
Customer's web site: www.event-full.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 1 year - 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 3, 2002): 1 year - 3 years ago
Plan used: Pasadena Server Platform
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 5 out of 10
Overall rating: 8 out of 10
over 2 years with this service with only 1 issue due to a massive goof from Sprint.  Excellent tech support. Knowledgeable staff.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Just Stay Away! Nobody trusts them! - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 2, 2002
Customer's web site: www.netsekuritas.net
Length of time hosted by this company: Private
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 2, 2002): Private
Plan used: StarterSite
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
Nothing works correctly. I tried to set up our mail aliases fo 12 days, still no assistance by Earthlink. They answerour request with arrogance, saying "Thank you, blaaaa, ... We have received your mail your answer will be proceseed within/after 3 labor days...".
Ther have gone now multiples of 3 work days.


Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Horrible Service! Nothing Works! - Review by Anonymous submitted on April 1, 2002
Customer's web site: Submitted but not made public
Length of time hosted by this company: less than a month
Date when last hosted by this company (as of April 1, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: N/A
Customer service rating: 1 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 3 out of 10
Cost rating: 1 out of 10
Overall rating: 1 out of 10
According to our agreement with Erthlink, Earthlink should provide customer e-mail aliases. This is also advertised on the Erthlinks web page. As they suggested, we set up aliases by use of their own online service panel. It was actually a fake window that pretended to do every alias setup, but nothing shown up. Since the second day of this our company has been writing e-mails to get solved that. It has been now more than 10 days, Erthlink is still unable to help us. They were showing ignorance, replying our e-mails and online chats with a lot of diversions of the main subject. Now, I am looking for a honest, service minded, and non-swindle hosting company to move our web hosting to.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Untitled - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 25, 2002
Customer's web site: thestudioNY.com
Length of time hosted by this company: 3 months - 1 year
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 25, 2002): Current customer
Plan used: Entrepreneur
Customer service rating: 7 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 9 out of 10
Cost rating: 7 out of 10
Overall rating: 9 out of 10
The site has been very stable, Their technical help has been great. So far I have no complaints - and I am currently on my second generation of my site.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

Consisten Good Service - Review by Anonymous submitted on March 25, 2002
Customer's web site: www.storyfest.com
Length of time hosted by this company: over 3 years
Date when last hosted by this company (as of March 25, 2002): Over 3 years ago
Plan used: Entrepeneur Package
Customer service rating: 9 out of 10
Technical quality rating: 10 out of 10
Cost rating: 8 out of 10
Overall rating: 10 out of 10
good support.  system is up and running -- very little down time in the past three years.  easy to use tools.

Representative of EarthLink?  Click here to respond to this review.

 

 

This page is not connected with the company.  These reviews and ratings are only the opinion of the poster, are no substitute for your own research, and should not be relied upon for any purpose.  


 2003 Advameg, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.